Customer Reviews for

Through the Ever Night (Under the Never Sky Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 166 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(120)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Veronica Rossi has done it again. I really, really didn't think

Veronica Rossi has done it again. I really, really didn't think it could get any better after Under the Never Sky. It is very rare that an author can manage to pull of a sequel to a highly acclaimed novel that manages to be just as good as the first. In the first book o...
Veronica Rossi has done it again. I really, really didn't think it could get any better after Under the Never Sky. It is very rare that an author can manage to pull of a sequel to a highly acclaimed novel that manages to be just as good as the first. In the first book of a series, everything is new and exciting. You've never met any of these characters before, and sometimes you get a whole new world to discover. You can't possibly beat that.

Well, Veronica Rossi managed to do just that in Through the Ever Night. I loved this book so much that I can't even possibly describe it in my own words without putting it to shame. It was so incredible that I'm just speechless. And I've had a few months to process it already.

The thing about this book that allowed it to be just as good as its predecessor is that it was still willing to keep things fresh without destroying everything we learned in the first novel. There is nothing that I can't stand more than an author who runs out of ideas for their books but keeps making up things to keep the story going anyways. This DOES NOT happen here.

I was able to learn more things about this world and the characters within it because they grew and offered new possibilities. But they were still the same characters that I fell absolutely, head-over-heels in love with in Under the Never Sky.

Aria is still an extremely strong heroine but has her own faults so that she appears human. Perry is responsible and loyal to a fault, especially to those who don't deserve him. Cinder is a troubled child with a history that nobody has heard until now. He's lost everything he's ever cared about, and now that he's found a new home, he will do anything to protect it.

And Roar. There are no beautifully lyrical thoughts that I can give to describe him because he'd probably twist them into something either extremely suggestive or hilarious (probably both) and I'd die of laughter. He's just too awesome to contain himself, and he knows it. He will do anything to bring a smile to the faces of those he cares about, and he's just a huge teddy bear. I've become more attached to Roar than any other character.

Though the Ever Night pulled me around on an intense emotional roller coaster. I know that sounds cheesy, but there's really not a better way to describe what happened. One moment I would be flying with joy because my favorite characters are all together and happy, and the very next I'm nearly in tears because I don't know if they'll ever be that way again.

For me, emotional books can be very scary. I'll experience a whole range of feelings that I probably didn't even know I was capable of, but the one thing that is not acceptable is anger. I am absolutely not allowed to get mad at the book I'm reading because then I'm automatically thrown out of that world to silently seethe in my own. I don't want to do that. I may be allowed to get mad at the characters for doing stupid things, but if I get mad at the actual book, it looses all of its magic. The task of navigating the line between the two is no small feat, but this book managed to do just that. I want to thank Veronica Rossi from the very bottom of my heart for creating such an incredible novel for me to get lost in, and filling it with so much perfection that I just don't know what to do with other than embrace with everything inside of me. Thank you.

Taylor

posted by MarkedByBooks on January 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Plot spoilers

Entirely too many plot spoilers here giving away the entire story line. There is no reason for you to do that. If you want to give away the story get a job as a book critic at a paper, but stop doing it here. You ruin it for other readers and it is rude and inconsiderat...
Entirely too many plot spoilers here giving away the entire story line. There is no reason for you to do that. If you want to give away the story get a job as a book critic at a paper, but stop doing it here. You ruin it for other readers and it is rude and inconsiderate and just plain mean.

posted by 8888649 on November 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 120 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    To all boys

    I.....um kindof....would like a boyfriend? Please? My mum just abandoned me........My name is Reina. Im 14 and with brown hair and grey eyes....please reply

    0 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    Zangoose

    ZANG! The zangoose says to Emma excitedly

    0 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    Eevee

    Yawns

    0 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    Reshiram and dave

    Reshiram: Goes back down. Dave: faints.

    0 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    Dunsparce

    Dunsparce pops out of the groubd. " so this is where the party is at?"

    0 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    Emma

    "Heeey star. Guess what?"

    0 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    KELDEO TO EVERYONE URGENT

    WE ARE MOVING TO Spinark RES ONE

    0 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    Wells

    Hi.

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    I love this series and can't wait for the next book. The characters are interesting and the plot has been fast moving. Once I started, I couldn't put it down.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    H

    Best book ever imho!!! I couldnt put it down!!!!! I reallllly hope that there will be a third book coming out sometime soon....... (!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2013

    I loved this book! If you love the distopian fiction genre, you

    I loved this book! If you love the distopian fiction genre, you will love this book as well. I read the first book of the series and did not want to stop flowing right into this one.

    I was drawn in to the story and felt like I was there experiencing everything as they were in the book- something I love and hate at the same time because I chose to read on rather than sleep...
    I have only read a couple of books that made me want to give up sleep to see what was going to happen in the next chapter! When I did have to put down the book it left my mind racing at the possibilities the following day at work until I had a chance to pick up the book and continue.

    I would highly recommend this series, I cannot wait for the next one to come out in January 2014!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I read the first books in this series, Under the Never Sky, a co

    I read the first books in this series, Under the Never Sky, a couple of months ago and was pleasantly surprised by how much I loved it,
    and was eager to get my hands on this sequel when it arrived and I have to say it did not disappoint.

    The world that Rossi has built is one of the most compelling I've read. I'm fascinated by the mystery of the Aether, and was excited to get
    more information about it. I loved delving deeper into the world of the Outsiders, and seeing how all the clans/tribes/whatever they are
    called interact with each other.

    The character development was fantastic as well. I love the Aria/Roar/Perry dynamic and I have such a soft spot for Roar. He's by far my
    favorite character and I loved watching the friendship between him and Aria grow. They are good for each other, and kept me smiling
    while Aria and Perry were separated. The romance between Aria and Perry was swoon worthy, I just wish there had been more of a
    development of it in this book.

    Things I didn't like so much: I did find some of Perry's actions super annoying, and his jealousy and suspicion of the friendship between
    Aria and Roar to be a little out of place. The guy can smell their true feelings, but we're really supposed to believe that he thinks they are
    having an affair? It made no sense to me. I also was pretty bored by his story line for the most part. Aria and Roar's adventure was by far
    the more fascinating and I found myself getting annoyed with the narration switch because I got so invested in what was happening with
    them that I just didn't care about what Perry was up to.

    I won't deny that this one got to a slow start for me, but once I got through the first few chapters I didn't want to put it down, and I'm eager
    for the next installment.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    This book was just as good as the first which is extremely hard

    This book was just as good as the first which is extremely hard to accomplish by ANY writer. I know what I'm saying when I say this book is a must-read. The YA category is going down the drain with all these stories all being the same with their fake love and fake characters and awful story lines. But this? THIS? Is AMAZING. And it's the SECOND book! The first was glorious too! Just read em.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    Can't wait for the 3rd book

    I know this is a "teen book", however, this 60 something loves it. The characters are all so believable, the storyline is great and I love it that it's all about the story...not cheap sex scenes. I know it takes awhile to write each book, but I'll be anticipating the next sequel. Great job, Veronica!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Under the never sky

    Do youself a favor and read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is how you avoid Sequel Suck Syndrome!

    As good as Through The Ever Night was, I'm thrilled to report that it's even better than its predecessor! Through The Ever Night offers more depth and detail into the characters, their world, special talents as well as their growing predicaments. The stakes are even higher in this book and Rossi isn't afraid to be bold. A lot of good people die and we're left questioning the motivations of some of our favourite characters. One of my favourite things about Under The Never Sky was watching Aria's evolution from a helpless Dweller to a strong, independent woman. By now, Aria's done a complete 180 and she's comfortable in her own skin. Her biggest challenge in this book is finding out where she belongs and I think a lot of us can identify with that struggle, in a way. And where Aria made the biggest leap in Book #1, Perry did here. His journey as a leader isn't an easy one by any means and he has a lot to prove because his people are riddled with mistrust and fear while their land is being attacked by outside forces and Aether alike. Perry has to fight to prove himself a capable leader and struggles to right the wrongs caused by his brother's betrayal. To the Tides, fealty is not assumed when you become Blood Lord, it's earned and Perry has his fair share of obstacles to overcome. His arc from tribe member to Blood Lord was a gratifying one, hard as it was to watch. Through The Ever Night was a rollercoaster of ups and downs as the characters try to find themselves and their way to the Still Blue. Everyone has their own agenda and the tension brought about from trying to figure out the characters motives will keep you wanting to know more. It was interesting to see where Rossi took many of the characters --- some went to very dark places and others whom we presumed were bad, turned out to be not-so-bad afterall. But I do have to say, my heart broke particularly for Roar in this book. I loved how the final bit of action segwayed into this nearly perfect ending, leaving me in shock and awe and ready for the battle to come. Perfection.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    Excellent

    Love, love, love this series. Very fast paced and detailed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    Fantastic series

    Great characters and storyline. Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Perrylicious Sequel! There is soooo much I want to say about thi

    Perrylicious Sequel!
    There is soooo much I want to say about this book but it really comes down to this, IT.WAS.FANFREAKINGTASTIC! Once again Veronica Rossi has managed to transport me into a realm of smart-eyes, aether storms and a blond haired, green eyed Savage who wouldn't need to use his gift in order to scent exactly how much I *hearts* him!

    I fell in love with Aria and Perry in Under the Never Sky and their heart-stopping journey of love, sacrifice and forgiveness continues in Through the Ever Night as they search for a way to be together in a world that seeks to keep them apart.

    This is a sequel that does NOT disappoint! It's filled with action, suspense and romantic tension that kept me on the edge of my seat for the entire book. There was a lot of pacing and chest clutching toward the end, but one of the things I enjoy about Veronica's writing is how she gives the reader just enough closure to be okay until the next book. (And by "OK" I really mean, you won't have a full blown book heart attack.)

    Perry, Aria and Roar are focused on finding Liv and Talon still needs to be rescued but the atmosphere in the Tides is tense with Perry as Blood Lord. Dissension, doubt and fear has everyone on edge and Aria's presence doesn't help things. Aria's struggling with feeling like she doesn't fit in and longs to find someplace to call home. She and Roar decide finding Sable and whatever information they can about the Still Blue will not only bring peace to the Tides but maybe Liv too. When they finally reach the Horns though, nothing is what they expected and Aria will realize that "home" is anywhere the people you love and who love you are.

    Perry faces a tribe divided, threats of attack and a temptation almost too strong to ignore, forcing him to decide if what he feels for Aria is worth fighting for. *yells at the Tides, "Can't you see he's doing the best he can?! Lay off my Perry people!* He's surrounded by people claiming to be his friend but an unlikely source offers up some wise advice concerning love, bringing with it forgiveness and healing. *clutches Perry*

    "Then he told [redacted] that love was like the waves on the sea, gentle and good sometimes, rough and terrible at others, but that it was endless and stronger than the sky and the earth and everything in between."

    Aria and Perry are faced with making some tough choices and both will learn that sometimes, we must forgo what we want most in order to serve the greater good.
    Before all is said and done, sacrifices will be made, lives will be lost leaving hearts shattered, but there is still hope. Hope for the Still Blue and hope for a new beginning.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

       So, I couldn't be happy until I bought and started this book.

       So, I couldn't be happy until I bought and started this book. I was going to wait to get it from the library, so I tried to read 3 other books, and wasn't feeling it. So I put myself out of my misery and bought it. 
       Then I read the summary, and I knew that more heartache and trouble were in store for Aria and Perry, but I just had to see more of their romance and find out what happens next. The characters did not let me down, they continued to be amazing and blow me away. I couldn't stop thinking about them and this world. Every time I had to put down the book I was thinking about Aria and Perry and Roar in the back of my mind and this beautiful but dark and treacherous world that Ms. Rossi has created. 
        There were times that I wanted to cry, and I couldn't believe the obstacles and heart ache that happened. There were others that made me smile and still others that made me want to fan myself. Or possibly zap myself into Aria's shoes so I am there with Perry. There were other moments that I wanted to smack some sense into them because of the choices, or almost VERY bad decisions made. But luckily my rage wasn't waranted at the specific moment where I was ready to give up on my book boyfriend. 
        Here is an example of the swoon worthiness:
    Perry’s hand settled on her hip, his grip firm. She felt their kiss shift into something deeper as his mouth moved with more urgency over hers. Suddenly there was real heat between them, and she had to force herself to draw away.
    When she did, a soft curse slipped through Perry’s lips. His eyes were half-lidded, unfocused. He looked as overcome as she felt.
    Aria leaned by his ear. “We’ll pick that up when we’re alone.
    He laughed. “That better be soon.”
        Yeah. Hose me down now. But I digress. 
        The twists were amazing, and I was shocked that the unlikely alliance that formed, and also very glad to see the return of some of the characters that I liked a lot but wasn't sure I would see again after the end of the first book. 
        The depth of the characters just really amazes me. They are so complex and they really found a way into my heart. I learned so much more about Perry in this one, and it was such a joy to be in his head. It was difficult watching him grow into the position of Blood Lord, but it was worth every minute.
        I just loved the devotion and loyalty in this book. The measures that Aria and Perry would not only take for each other but their friends such as Roar and Cinder, and the people that they are connected to by leadership, family, or place they grew up.  
        And while I loved Roar in the first book, he has gone to a whole other level in this one. He never fails to bring a smile to my face, but knowing he is in so much pain makes my heart hurt too. His friendship with Aria deepens even more in this one, and I really appreciate that. It is not a love thing at all, but shows the depths that you can care for someone without being IN love. 
        This series has worked its way into my top ten and maybe even higher. Aria and Perry's romance is up there with my favorite couples and the cast of secondary characters, esp Roar is there as well. 
         I appreciated the continuing world building in this one, especially a more detailed description of the aether. I can picture this world in my head and feel myself right in the story with the characters. 
         The pacing was great. There was always character development or action to keep things moving, and I almost wanted to press slow motion at times to savor the happy and together moments of Aria and Perry before the next impending disaster. Because you know there will be one. 
         While I of course am still craving more of this world and of Aria and Perry, I think that Through the Ever Night ended at a good spot and it didn't make me want to through my kindle because it felt like it stopped in the middle of a chapter, like some books do with cliffies. It was heart breaking though!!




    Bottom Line: Loved it even more than the 1st. Perfection. Lots of character growth, swoon moments and heartache.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 120 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 6