BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Through the Grinder (Coffeehouse Mystery Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A character driven mystery

    After divorcing her husband Matteo, Clare took their daughter to New Jersey where they went suburban for a decade until Joy accepts a school in Manhattan. Clare eagerly agrees to a job offer by her former mother- in-law in the family owned business The Village Blend so that she can be near Joy. She relocates to a duplex above the store while her daughter and her former mother-in-law hope that is the first step in binging Clare and her ex-husband Matt together....................................... Clare is more interested in monitoring Joy¿s men rather than meeting any males for herself. During a social gala hosted above the Village Blend, Clare meets and falls in love with Bruce Bowman; he reciprocates her feelings. Clare¿s friend Detective Mike Quinn warns her to avoid Bruce because he is the prime suspect in the murders of three women that he knew whose deaths were disguised as suicides. Clare refuses to believe Bruce is capable of homicide and with the help of Matt sets out to affirm her belief.............................. THROUGH THE GRINDER is a fascinating mystery mostly because readers see the killer¿s point of view as he strikes at the victims. Though the logic why Bruce is a lead suspect seems thin, Quinn¿s jealousy forces him to rationalize his opinion. Though the tale takes a little time to introduce the cast once Clare takes Manhattan, readers gain an engrossing amateur sleuth serial killer that stars a brave, quirky heroine................................ Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2014

    Good book

    Great mystery

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2013

    This husband and wife team definitely writes one of the best coz

    This husband and wife team definitely writes one of the best cozy series going.  The mystery is exciting and I learn more and more about coffee and New York with each continuing book.  My favorite type of cozy!  This is the second in the series and unlike some cozies, there is nothing repetitive or unnecessary within the story line.




    There is someone calling themselves "The Genius" pushing women to their deaths, making it look like a suicide.  Meanwhile, back at The Village Blend coffee shop, finding interesting and deserving men to date becomes a topic in the shop.  Clare, store manager and divorced from the store's owner's son, Matteo, is trying to monitor her grown daughter's dating choices.  In doing so, the store hosts a social gathering where men and women can meet and match themselves with potential dates.  While checking out men for her daughter, Clare meets  her own "Mr Right", but her policeman friend warns her that this man is a suspect in these recent murders.  Clare believes he's not the murderer and sets out with Matteo to find the real murderer.




    Suspense builds as we read the inner thoughts of "The Genius".  Clare's relations continue with her divorced husband, cooking school student daughter, and meddling mother-in-law which is a fun story in itself.  Clues point to a variety of people, with a shocking surprise in the end.  Definitely will continue with this fun series! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    Quite Enjoyable!

    Loved this book. Will continue to read series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2011

    A really good series

    This is an interesting series, and I will follow through on all of them. It makes me want coffee about every third page, but it is very informative about different types and how different coffee drinks are made. However, it is not OBSESSED with coffee to the detriment of the story itself. I enjoy the main character as well as the other characters in this series... and I enjoy the descriptions of New York City. The mystery is also very good, and keeps you guessing. I recommend this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2011

    Drop everything, and read this book!

    A real page-turner! I could not put this book down. If you like coffee, and mysteries, this book is for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2011

    Couldn't put it down

    This mystery kept me reading and I love the coffee references. I found myself wanting a cup while reading. The descriptions are very detailed. All it takes is imagination and you are there..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2010

    This mystery kept me guessing til the end!

    I loved this book! The story line kept me on my toes til the very end. When you think you have it figured out...guess again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Fun and Quick Read

    I just discovered this series and think its great. The 'who dun it' is always a surprise and I enjoy the references to making coffee throughout the book. In fact it makes me want to have a cup while I am reading. A mystery with some good information. So if you love coffee, than this is a double treat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    Through the Grinder is awesome!!!

    I really enjoyed this book and the rest of the series. I hope the author will add more. The books were quick reads, did not want to stop reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2008

    Extremely Good Story

    New York's 'meet' market is hilariously portrayed in this 2nd colorful coffeehouse mystery. There's also real danger and suspense, and I thoroughly enjoyed this well written mystery. Here's the basic plot: Clare Cosi (the main character/amateur sleuth of this series) joins an online dating site, primarily to check it out because she can't stop her grown daughter from using it. As she uses the site, she meets a man named Bruce. At the same time, someone appears to be murdering women who are attached to the site and making the murders look like suicides. Detective Mike Quinn is very suspicious of Clare's new boyfriend. While he sees evidence that Bruce is the killer, Clare thinks Mike is wrong and sets out to prove it. The characters in this series are wonderfully developed. All of their ups and downs in relating to each other are deftly handled against plotlines of puzzling murders. There are several very good red herrings in this tale. I thought I knew exactly who the killer was, but I was wrong, and I didn't come close to guessing the ending, which is not only exceptional, it sets up the third, fourth, and fifth books in this series very nicely. What Clare Cosi goes through in this installment makes her even stronger than she was before the book started, which is why I like this second book in the 'Coffeehouse Mystery' series so much and can highly recommend it to anyone who wants to read the entire series. Good job.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2