Customer Reviews for

Through the Storm: A Real Story of Fame and Family in a Tabloid World

Average Rating 4
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2010

    Whole New Respect

    I have a whole new respect for Lynne Spears. I'm so glad she shared her story and I took the time to read it. I think sometimes we forget that we are all human as Lynne tries to remind us. She shares her mistakes as a mother of a child growing up in showbiz, mistakes any one of us could make. A foreigner in an industy that is cut-throat, she treads through, trying to appease her daughters and do what she thinks is right. Thanks for telling your story Lynne.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Book Review of "Through the Storm" by: Lynne Spears & Lorilee Cracker By: Amanda Bradbury

    This is not a tell all book behind Britney Spears' life, but it does offer a lot of insight into her world and her families world and how she journeyed to where she currently is in life. This book was very enlightening and informative about family, friends and life. You will learn a lot more than you think by reading this book. I thoroughly enjoyed the motherly advice from Lynne Spears. By reading this book you can gain a better understanding of her and her whole family. You get the full story behind her life from beginning up until now. You can see that they are real people, rather than what the media and paparazzi make them out to be. You'll read about their trials and tribulations, hard times and difficult situations and come to realize that they too are not perfect people and that they are in fact just as real as you and me. The overall message of the book is to convey the message of their story and Lynne wrote this book as a tribute and gift for her family, both children and grandchildren. In this book you notice that she is a very spiritual and strong willed southern Christian woman and you can tell that she clearly wants to convey her beliefs and faith to her children and grandchildren. I would recommend this book to anyone who wants a deeper look at the real and genuine people of Lynne's family. I am a book review blogger for Thomas Nelson Publishing Company. If you would like to become a book review blogger too go to the following site: brb.thomasnelson.com Also, check out the prodcut page for "Through the Storm" at http://www.brb.thomasnelson.com/blogger/resources/9781595551566

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    hmmm...what can I say about this book. Let's start with what I already knew and what is it that I know now.

    When you read a memoir or an autobiography it is very difficult to separate the person from the book. Judging the book is judging the person writing it. I'll try not to but it might be a little difficult here.

    I knew absolutely nothing about her mother. This book is more about her life and how she faced the difficult times. She clears at the beginning of the book that this book does not contain any gossip. I did not start this book in intention of getting any inside scoop, I just wanted to know how an extremely successful pop star who had everything could throw away her life like this. As I said I really like Britney Spears.

    Lynne Spears was born in a small town in Kentucky, Louisiana. She was very close to her mom who was a war bride from London. I think she had one sister Sandra and a brother Sonny. There is in fact a lot on Sandra in the book. Lynne married Jamie Spears and gave birth to Brian after a short time. After that she had Britney and 10 years later, an unplanned child Jamie Lynn(named after herself and her husband). Jamie was an on-off alcoholic and Lynne had to struggle with managing the finances and also worrying about her relationship with her husband. Although I have read a lot of reviews which said she tried to blame Jamie for many things that went wrong, I don't see it that way. Living with an alcoholic is very difficult and something that has permanent consequences on any family. I don't think there was a blame game as far as Jamie was concerned.

    Britney was very talented and loved performing since she was really young. Although the tabloids said she was a stage mom and wanted to gain fame and wealth through her daughter, Lynne Spears denies it. She says she never pushed her daughter into something she didn't want to do. As she puts it, 'doors opened and we just walked in'. As Britney became famous after her single 'baby one more time', she lost control of her daughter. She left everything to Britney's managers and the record company.

    After a while, she and Britney were estranged. She does not really go much into why and how. When Sam Mufti came into the picture she decided to take control of the situation with the help of her husband persuaded the court to put a restraining order on him. I felt really uncomfortable and sad after reading the section on Sam Mufti. I never liked him in the first place and reading the book has intensified my dislike.

    Lynne does not give any more information on Britney than the tabloids did and that's something I really liked about the book. She has also written some really disturbing incidents concerning the media which were really shocking. She says although she knew fame comes with a price, she didn't know how big the price would be.

    Conclusion: This book is a good reminder of how a perfectly normal, close knit family from a rural American town can go through when they are thrown into sudden fame and scrutiny. I think the real purpose in writing this book was to clear her side of the things (although Lynne says it isn't), but that's how the book comes across. From the way I see it, Lynne and her family was incapable of handling the package that fame comes in. The only accusation I'll throw on her after reading the book is being too passive and naive. I think she did her best with whatever she had and the only way she knew how to. I have more compassion towards Britney and her family now and I really hope that Britney manages to come out of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Not your tabloid stuff

    Not too long ago I was given the opportunity to read Through the Storm: A Real Story of Fame and Family in a Tabloid World by Lynne Spears, mother of Britney and Jamie Lynn Spears. <BR/><BR/>I have to admit that I was a bit turned off of the idea of reading about the lives of Britney and Jamie Lynn. We see enough of them in the media these days. Those media hounds just won't leave people alone!<BR/><BR/>I was surprised that the book was NOT all about the girls, but more so Lynne's humble beginnings and their lives BEFORE all the current tabloid stuff got shoved in our faces on a daily basis. It talks about what the Spears family went through and all the ups and downs they experienced before, during and after the fame of their daughters. <BR/><BR/>It is evident in this book that Lynne Spears relies heavily on her faith to get her through the hard times.<BR/><BR/>Lynne talks about not only Britney and Jamie Lynn growing up but she also talks about her siblings and parents, her values, her faith, her hometown and her marriage to Jamie Spears, who is an Alcoholic. She also talks about how the Alcoholism effected the family. <BR/><BR/>You will learn a bit of insight into Britney and Jamie Lynn, and how driven Britney was even at a very young age. If you are looking for tabloid stuff then don't bother reading this book. You won't find any of it here. <BR/><BR/>Lynne also talks about the loss of her sister, which truly affected her deeply. She obviously loved and cared for her sister very much and I felt her pain in her writing. <BR/><BR/>All in all I thought it was a very good book and an interesting read into the lives of the Spears family that the tabloids don't show you. They come across as a typical family. No family is perfect and without "flaws" and the Spears family is just like any other family, except they have two famous daughters. <BR/><BR/>My only real problem with the book is that it doesn't flow well enough for me. It sort of jumps around a lot. It's not really in chronological order, per say.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2008

    An inspiring read about what's really important!

    I first picked up this book to get the real dirt on Britney and Jamie Lynn Spears, two of America's favorite celebrity icons. But what I found hidden in the text of this novel was quite the opposite. There was no juicy gossip on Britney's latest breakdown or new rumors about Jamie Lynn. Instead, I found inspiring words that made my mind drift off and ponder what's really important. The book talks about the ups and downs the family went through before, during, and after fame. Some of the important concepts I came up with based on the themes Lynne Spears wrote about in this book were; the power of faith, the importance of listening to your instincts, and the bond between a family. I enjoyed this book because it discussed topics almost every human being can relate to- the struggle to hang on, the hardships of losing people you love, and most significantly having the courage to go on. Plus, it cleared up some facts about Britney to help heal at least a small part of her damaged reputation. I didn¿t like this book because it only briefly touched base on some things I would have wanted to know a little more about, straight from the source. Things such as what might have brought Britney to shave her head. The main reason why people should read this book is not to learn more about how to become famous or to get facts about the Spears¿ family. But rather to put things in perspective. So many people go about their everyday lives thinking that there will always be tomorrow. Well, this book reminds us that tomorrow might not always come. In that case, we must cherish what we have now. In my opinion this is a 4-star book and worth the read! So, if you like this book another you may want to check out would be ¿A Mother¿s Gift¿ which was co-written by Lynne and Britney Spears. It¿s another heart-warming story about the everlasting bond a mother and daughter share.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2008

    Lynne Spears Tells Her Side of the Story

    ¿Through the Storm, A Real Story of Fame and Family in a Tabloid World¿ by Lynne Spears is an account of Lynne¿s life, seen through her eyes. If you read this book thinking it will give you inside information about Britney or Jamie Lynn Spears, you will be disappointed. Instead, you will learn about Lynne, her parents and siblings, her hometown and its effect on her values, and her marriage. She is very candid about her husband¿s alcoholism and the struggles the family went through. Those of us who grew up in the South, and/or those who have experienced alcoholism in the family will be able to relate to her story. However, most of us can not relate to having a child determined to be a superstar, nor can we imagine what life would look like under the scrutiny of tabloid journalism. Lynne ponders decisions she made in the beginning of Britney¿s career and points out that her image as ¿pushy stage mother¿ is terribly incorrect and unfair¿after all, she was walking in unfamiliar territory. A good part of the book also discusses the paparazzi and their constant surveillance of the Spears family. Was the loss of privacy too big a price to pay for celebrity status? There is no question that Britney¿s stardom affected her entire family. This book is an interesting read; you may walk away feeling sorry for the family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2008

    Through The Storm

    When I first chose to read this book, I honestly didn¿t think it would be very good. We all get tired of hearing about the dreaded life of Britney Spears¿¿what¿s she into now?¿ We all ask. However, once I started reading it, I found it difficult to put it down. Lynne Spears is actually a quite talented story teller. This book gives some first person insight to the ordeal with Britney, as well as with Jamie Lynn¿s pregnancy. It opened my eyes to the things that we the public know nothing about. The media turns things around, and makes up stories that have no merit, and we all know this, but Through The Storm helped me to realize that the things we see in the magazines about Britney are not always true, and we are hardly getting the whole story. Although it is pretty well written, Lynne Spears does tend to bounce around quite a bit. The timeline is off. For example, in the matter of a few paragraphs, she talks about Jamie Lynn as a three year old, then Jamie Lynn as a fifteen year old, then Jamie Lynn as a six year old. The book does not go in chronological order. It is still an interesting story, and it is one of hope and mercy. The main idea of the book is that God loves us, regardless of the paths we choose, and that none of us are perfect. Some of us are just in the spotlight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2008

    Better Than I Expected

    From all of the hype on the news, I expected this book to be 2 things: 1)A Parenting book and 2)A book that dished all of the dirt on Lynne Spears' children. I was thankful to find out that it was neither.<BR/><BR/>This is a book by a woman who wants the world to see her family through her eyes. She wants to have you (the reader) see that she did the best she could with her children and allowed them to be themselves as she walked beside of them in life.<BR/><BR/>She didn't dish out any tabloid style dirt on her children but rather painted them as real people who would like nothing more than to live a normal life without people taking advantage of them. I found myself empathizing with Lynne in her plight to help her children achieve their goals but getting caught up in allowing others to make decisions for them that she either didn't understand or agree with.<BR/><BR/>I found that the book was refreshingly honest and drew me into seeing the Spears family as just that...a family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2008

    Through The Storm a Painful Read

    One thing Through The Storm is not is a book on parenting, so get off that dead horse right now. It's more a mother¿s explanation of her family, albeit her very notable family. Mrs. Spears recounts her life and marriage and, as you might imagine, the birth and raising of her children. She touches on the large moments in their lives, but keeps the focus on her perceptions and reactions to the events. To its credit, Through the Storm is not a Tell-All in disguise, and it does offer a perspective of events that I suspect is absent from the frantic reporting on the Spears family. And yet, the book is still very much about Britney Spears and, to a lesser extent, Jamie Lynn.<BR/><BR/>The story is, in essence, both inspiring and tragic. A young woman from very humble beginnings ends up with a daughter whose talent changes all their lives, and not always for the better. There is indeed a dark side to what was a fairy-tale rise to fame. As to any claims that Mrs. Spears pushed Britney into her career, I can only say that long before Mrs. Spears attempts to address the issue, it was plain to me that Britney Spears was one of those children who did not need to be pushed. There are simply kids who are like that. From an early age, they burn with passion, whether it be for writing, football, science, or, even, singing. Given what she had on her hands, Mrs. Spears did a remarkable job. <BR/><BR/>That said, I had a lot of trouble getting through this book. It was often painfully difficult to read. Thankfully, it's not very long (206 pages). This book offers no personal insight whatsoever, no sense that its author has thought deeply about anything. It's written in such a simplistic manner that by the end of chapter one I wanted to tear out my eyeballs. That didn't change until the final two chapters, which were quite riveting despite there being massive logical gaps in the narrative. <BR/><BR/>There's no meat to this story. It's vapidly written and even more vapidly told. If Mrs. Spears has anything but superficial insight into herself or her children, it's not presented in these pages. Both girls are held up as idealized, sparkly and numbingly saccharine Stepford-esque daughters. You'd think her children were nothing but sweetness and light during their entire childhoods. And how could that be? They grew up in a house with an alcoholic father, where money was tight and their mother was doing whatever it took to keep them together financially and spiritually. Everyone involved in such a family pays a price, fame or no fame. And that's without the incredible stress of Britney's notoriety.<BR/><BR/>Through the Storm offers a perspective missing from the sensationalized reports of the Spears family, but unless you don't mind reading a book written at a fourth-grade level, this is a pass.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    An attempt at the limelight

    I became interested in this book because I recently became addicted to the Britney Spears ¿Womanizer¿ song. I know! You do not have to say it¿I know. Anyway¿<BR/><BR/>When I read the introduction to the book I was hopeful that it would be a heartfelt memoir from a mother who loves all her children unconditionally. Lynne Spears begins the book by asserting that this book is dedicated to her children and she wants them to know how much she loves them, no matter what horrible things have happened in their lives. She goes on to state that this book will not be gossip about her children but is instead her own memoir and thoughts on the fame and tabloid stories her daughters have experienced. <BR/><BR/>The beginning of the book is about Lynne¿s parents, her childhood, adolescence, marriage, and relationships with her sister and friends. The deeper into the book I delved the more annoyed I became. Lynne constantly mentioned Britney¿s and Jamie Lynn¿s situations throughout her own history. Though she mentioned her first born, Bryan, in the beginning and throughout the book his part seemed to be an afterthought that was added in later when she realized he should be a part of the story.<BR/><BR/>I felt as if Lynne Spears was ¿name dropping¿ throughout the book and making herself seem more important than she actually is. She mentioned her own heartache by watching Britney¿s career and its downward spiral. Including how devastated she was as she watched her middle child shave her head on television. <BR/><BR/>I also noticed that throughout the story she made excuses as to why she could not be with Britney in certain instances. She did not travel with Britney when she recorded her first album. She was not with Britney when her children were taken away. She was not with Britney when she spiraled out of control and infamously shaved her head. The book was riddled with instances of how she was needed elsewhere.<BR/><BR/>All in all, I believe this book was Lynne¿s attempt to clear her name in the public eye and make her children out to be victims of fame and fortune. The book was erratic at best and followed no true timeline or direction. I am glad I did not purchase this book as I would have been disappointed by the loss of money. But then, who am I? Each reader forms his or her opinions independent of my thoughts or perceptions. But if you choose to partake in this ¿narrative¿ be wary of the strategies that went into this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A good insight into the family but not a great read.

    I'll be the first one to admit it... I was hoping for a juicy tell-all before I started reading this book but right in the intro Lynne tells us that's not what this book is. It's mostly a look into her life that led her to make the decisions she did in regards to her children. <BR/><BR/>Overall it was an okay read but I found the book disjointed and the stories jumbled. I understand the Lynne is not a professional writer but I've read other memoirs with co-writers that were put together much better than Through the Storm was. All lot of what's written is repeated a couple of times in the book and oftentimes within the next paragraph. <BR/><BR/>I felt Lynne's emotion trying to burst through the pages but it just didn't quite make it and this made a lot of the writing seem forced and unnatural. I also felt this way about the Christian aspects of the book. Her faith just didn't ring true to me.<BR/><BR/>**SPOILER ALERT** <BR/>What was especially shocking to me, was how Lynne glossed over the fact that at aged twenty-one while driving her brother to the ER she accidentally hit a twelve year old on his bike and he later died. To me this would have been a devastating, life changing event but it was mentioned over one or two paragraphs then not mentioned again. <BR/>** END SPOILER**<BR/><BR/>Reading this book did change my view on the Spears family and I¿m glad I read it but I just wish it was put together in a more organized fashion. As far as my recommendation goes I'd say read it if you come across it but don't run out and pick it up expecting and "insider's look" at the Britney's life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Lynn Spears: Through the Storm

    Wow! I know that¿s not how the standard book review starts but that¿s how this one does. To say I devoured this book would be a total understated fact. This book is not a tell-all about Britney, it¿s far from it. It¿s the story of a loving and trusting Southern woman who got caught up in the thunderous storm of Hollywood and its treachery.<BR/><BR/>Lynne¿s love of her family, not just her children but her parents and siblings and also her friends and town-folk is as deep as love can get. Her husband, Jamie struggled with alcoholism which was profound and deeply painful for many years. This was a huge burden to Lynne, Jamie and their family but she has trudged through the muck of adversity and divorce to still remain friends with her ex-husband. Through the connection of cograndparenting the two have created a bond that¿s possibly even stronger than they had when they were married.<BR/><BR/>I felt as though Lynne was a good friend telling me her precious stories about her friends and loved ones and the memories that she holds dear from teaching Second Grade for seven years. First and foremost Lynne is a teacher and keeps it in her heart to this day. The toll fame has taken on her family is in these pages but the main focus is her undying faith in God and the love she has for her family, her friends and the townspeople that have forever stood by her side no matter what.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    Great Book

    I read this book in about 2 days. I think it was tastefully written and gives an inside view of her family and strong faith. It's a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2008

    LOVED IT ,, LOVED IT ...LOVED IT !!!

    I really enjoyed this book. The media is so wrong for the way they made this family look so bad. Like in the book Lynn talks about losing her sister and two weeks later she watched on tv as her daughter shaved her head . That had to be very hard . But the media never cared to just leave them alone for not even two weeks after her aunts death to give them room . That is just sad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2008

    Just my opinion

    I read this book within two days, I just couldn't put it down. I was expecting a tell-all-book but this was far from it, I really liked it and it is very well written. My only negative thing about it was that there was alot of discussion about God, to me it was a little much. but that is just my opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2008

    Touched

    I have been a huge Britney Spears fan since the beginning of her career. Seeing her fall apart this past year broke my heart. Reading this book has given such great insight into the Spears' family and how misunderstood they are. The industry picked them apart for the sake of the almighty dollar and left nothing left but hurt and grief. Lynne takes us through the journey of the past few years as she lived it, and its nothing like what most people thought. After reading, I have renewed faith in myself and Britney! I'm truly touched by this brave woman's story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2008

    Amazing

    This book was great. It showed just how normal the Spears truly are. It was very nicely written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2008

    Great Book

    This book was amazing I couldn't put it down!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2008

    Not a tell all

    I just finished reading the book and I was pleasantly suprised that the book did not expose information that the media predicted. This book only contains the peek into the life of Lynne herself and her family. I think people shouldn't believe everything they read in the tabloids because many of those stories are fabricated and stretched beyond limit. A great glimpse into the struggles of a family from a small town who live big lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2008

    major page turner

    I litteraly just finished reading the book, and it took me less then 24 hours to read it. It really explains a lot of things that we as the public never understood!!! I loved this book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3