Customer Reviews for

Through the Window: The Terrifying True Story of Cross-Country Killer Tommy Lynn Sells

Average Rating 4
( 64 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Through the Window: A Look at a Serial Killer

This book is incredibly well-written and researched. I'll never look at guys with signs on the side of the road saying 'Will Work for Food' the same way again. What I liked about this book was the writer's ability to put herself in everyone's point of view. ...
This book is incredibly well-written and researched. I'll never look at guys with signs on the side of the road saying 'Will Work for Food' the same way again. What I liked about this book was the writer's ability to put herself in everyone's point of view. If you want a book that you can't put down that's a true story, buy this book!

posted by Anonymous on June 17, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Its just a timeline

I couldnt finish it. Its so monotonous.

posted by Anonymous on November 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2003

    Through the Window: A Look at a Serial Killer

    This book is incredibly well-written and researched. I'll never look at guys with signs on the side of the road saying 'Will Work for Food' the same way again. What I liked about this book was the writer's ability to put herself in everyone's point of view. If you want a book that you can't put down that's a true story, buy this book!

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2006

    this book was an experience

    this book was great right out of the gate never stopped the suspense.this man was truely a monster. i completed this book in 2 days never put it down even took it to work.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2011

    Pure evil

    Loved this book. After reading hundreds of true crime books and researching as many serial killers i could possibly learn about, tommy lynn sells is by far the worst i have ever read about. Just the way he can committ murder without even thinking about it or remorse gives me the heebie jeebies. Definately a must read

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2011

    A MUST READ

    This book is a must read! Will keep you on edge all the through!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2008

    Horrific

    I literally had chills running down my spine as I read about the unspeakable brutality this beast inflicted upon his victims. It got the point where I couldn't read it night while my husband was gone because it was so disturbing. If you like to be scared to death you'll love this book and the stories of his unspeakable killings.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    Ok, this is the only book that ever spooked me

    This book is excellent, well written, and very difficult to put down. I love true crime books, as I love learning how the crimes are solved, not who committed them, or their reasons why. However, this book, unlike the many other books I read, really spooked me. The way Tommy Lyn Sells killed his victims, his reasons, the fact that he travelled coast to coast, and, the fact that he really had no particular profile in terma of his chosen victims. He just picked his victims at random, and if an adult female, he brutally raped sometimes before killing her. I work the overnight shift as a nurse, and the location is very rural, and safe. I do take one 15 min break, which I normally walk outside. After I read this book, which is superbly written, I was not able to walk for 3 weeks from being spooked. I also waited for another co-worker to walk inside with me. It takes a lot to spook me. This book is that good. You will not be disappointed.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2009

    A "must read"

    Diane Fanning is an excellent author and this is one of her best books. Well written, very descriptive, well-researched.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Fantastic!!

    I love this book! Couldn't put it down. The author Diane Fanning really did her work here describing the events with great details.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2011

    Great book

    Wow,never knew evil like this could get aeay with such horror for so long. A scary and great read. I highly recommend,

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2011

    Its just a timeline

    I couldnt finish it. Its so monotonous.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2011

    Highly Recommended-a must on your wish list

    A must read for everyone who loves true crime. Sit back with your favorite beverage, lock your doors, no better yet your windows, and enjoy. Diane Fanning didnt miss a beat in this chiller. Somehow I missed hearing about the killer Tommy Lynn Sells. I ordered the book immediately when I saw it. I couldnt imagine the destruction brought on by this inhumane madman. To know there are people like this walking among us is freightening. If you only read one book this year make it Through the Window.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2011

    Great read

    The book is written very well. Made me so sad to think that a child had to experience something so horrible. Thank God there were decent people that helped him to get through the aftermath.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2011

    Wow!

    Couldn't put it down!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2008

    Very Gory

    In the book, it never mentioned that Tommy Lynn Sells allegedly murdered an entire family in Ina, Illinois in November of 1987 in a very brutal fashion. I would like to know as well as other people if he actually is the one who committed this brutal murder so that there will be some closure to the relatives of this family who was murdered.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2008

    Just try and put this book down

    I have read numorous books about serial killers and this book was the one that made me have to just stop reading for a second because how shocking & sick this mans crimes were. This book is very graphic and you can just picture what these men,women,& children went through at the hands of this truly savage man. If your looking for a shocker and into reading about serial killers or murder in general this is a must read for sure,this story is one you won't forget!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2003

    Chilling

    This tightly written book had me shaking in my shoes. It's riveting.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Wow

    Very well researched..very disturbing. My heart goes to all the victims n families........

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    recommended

    recommended

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2005

    Unlike Any Other

    I would suggest this book to any true crime fan. I have read numerous books on this subject and am familiar with the stories of many serial killers. But none I have read about (Gacy, Bundy, Dahmer, the Hillside Stranglers to name a few) have been as riveting as this case. This book goes into great detail about each murder to the point where you become paranoid at every sound you hear, every stranger you see. This book is definitely not for the faint-hearted.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2003

    Unreal!

    I bought this book not realizing how good it would be. Lately, true crime is nothing more then a bunch of newspaper articles put into a book. Well written and keeps you on the edge of your seat, 'Through the Window' is unreal! What is even more amazing is how many times Sells himself was facing death but managed to survive....ugh! There was only one editing oversight: One of the victims was referred to as 'Eileen' at first, and then the name became 'Elaine'. Other then that, you will want to read 'Window'.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4