Customer Reviews for

Through the Zombie Glass (White Rabbit Chronicles Series #2)

Average Rating 5
( 61 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(51)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

OUTSTANDING!! I have just finished this second book and from s

OUTSTANDING!! I have just finished this second book and
from start to finish you experience , twists and turns, romance and
suspense. I love the character development and Gena ALWAYS throws
in a NO SHE DIDN'T moment.

I would definitely recommend this book to an...
OUTSTANDING!! I have just finished this second book and
from start to finish you experience , twists and turns, romance and
suspense. I love the character development and Gena ALWAYS throws
in a NO SHE DIDN'T moment.

I would definitely recommend this book to any reader and they wouldn’t be disappointed.

Ali Bell and her crew learn a good lesson….FAITH.

And the journey continues….

posted by WHiggins on September 24, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I read the firt one

Is this one as good as the first oneor np

posted by Anonymous on October 29, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    THROUGH THE ZOMBIE GLASS was exactly what I expected and more! I

    THROUGH THE ZOMBIE GLASS was exactly what I expected and more! I loved the drama and the fast-paced action that comes along with this series. I also nearly fell out of my chair due to all the yummy scenes between Cole and Ali. The storyline was hardcore and the characters were very well-developed. I look forward to reading more from Gena Showalter!!! 

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Title: ¿Through the zombie glass¿  Author: Gena Showalter Public

    Title: “Through the zombie glass” 
    Author: Gena Showalter
    Publication date: September 24th, 2013
    Type of book: Teen paranormal
    Is this a part of a series, If yes, which number? Yes, it is book #2. Book #1-“Alice in Zombieland”.
    Summary: No summary for a second book because of spoilers. Just know that all the danger, zombies, kick ass fighting, romance, and fun from the first book follows through to the second. I can’t wait for book three.
    Favorite bits: “Cole”. I do have some other favorite things about this book but I don’t want to spoil anything. You will just have to read it and find out for yourself. Honestly, I don’t know how you could read the first book and not want to immediately pick up book two. I love Gena’s writing so much!
    Problematic bits: Like many teen series with romance, “Through the zombie glass” has quite a bit of relationship drama. Reading as many teen books as I do, I am use to this kind of thing and find that I don’t mind it so much. That being said, I did have many times in this book where I wanted to reach inside the book and shake some of the characters. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Totally recommend this

    I love this series and this book right here, had me on the edge of my seat with Ali. If I were you, I'd check this out like pronto!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    See my review for book one:  Alice in Zombieland Through the

    See my review for book one:  Alice in Zombieland




    Through the Zombie Glass picks up as Alice is recovering after the end of book one.  Her special abilities are growing and she is struggling to get a grip on them and what they mean.  We continue to learn more about the nature of the zombies, the evil corporation Anima, and the rest of the slayers.  But Cole and Alice's relationship is at risk - their visions have shifted and something very unexpected begins to happen.  There's nothing wrong with a little bit of romantic tension, but I really wanted to smack the crap out of both of them to knock some sense into them.




    The slayers are noticing that the zombies are changing - they seem to be driven, but no one knows by what.  When Alice becomes infected in a new strange way she must figure out how to cure herself before she ends up killing everyone around her.  Book two was far more exciting and I think it made a big leap forward in the storyline.  We know so much more about pretty much everything - and it would seem that all the secrets have been confessed (finally), but now that they are so much closer together - they realize they have so much more at stake than they thought.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog*** Through the

    ***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog***




    Through the Zombie Glass by Gena Showalter
    Book Two of the White Rabbit Chronicles
    Publisher: Harlequin Teen
    Publication Date: September 24, 2013
    Rating: 4 stars
    Source: eARC from Edelweiss




    Summary (from Goodreads):




    Inspired by the childhood classic Alice in Wonderland, this harrowing and romantic story features teen zombie slayer Alice Bell who has lost so much—family, friends, her home. After a strange new zombie attack, Alice fears she may be losing her mind as well. A terrible darkness blooms inside her, urging her to do wicked things. The whispers of the dead assault her ears and mirrors seem to come frighteningly to life. She’s never needed her team of zombie slayers more—including her boyfriend, Cole—than she does now. But as Cole strangely withdraws and the zombies gain new strength, Ali knows one false step may doom them all.




    What I Liked:




    I'm not sure which book I liked better: Alice in Zombieland or Through the Zombie Glass. But it's safe to say that I really liked (LOVED) them both! I loved them both, but for very different reasons. This book definitely had a darker tone than the first book. Things were not as smooth for the characters. But I loved this book, with all of that!




    I'll try not to spoil anything in THIS book, but I can't guarantee that I won't spoil things in the first book.




    Ali is officially a zombie slayer. She's dating the "boss" of the slayer team, Cole Holland, who is hot and yummy, and sweet, and moody and bossy. She has an awesome Nana, an amazing best friend Kat. She occasionally sees her dead little sister, Emma. Life is pretty good!




    Except it's not. At the end of book one, Ali took on a ton of zombie toxin. So much, that something is changing in Ali. A new presence, Zombie Ali, seems to be manifesting. And it's destroying Ali's life. Ali can't seem to control Z.A., and only with a constant injection of the antidote does Ali feel a little better.




    To make matters worse, Ali shares visions with someone other than Cole - a new slayer named Gavin. The visions are ambiguous, but Cole fears that Alie and Gavin are seeing something similar to what he and Ali saw in their first glances. So, Ali and Cole's relationship deteriorates.




    That's kind of the big thing in this book. Cole and Ali are not together anymore. One of Cole's exes, Veronica, shows up as well. Cole broke up with Ali, but we both know that the two of them regret that. I think Ali handles the break-up very well. 




    Despite the horrible crumbling relationship, I found that Ali was strong, even with the dark presence. She tried her best to be a competent slayer, but Z.A. gets in the way. The Hazmats get in the way. A spy, unknown to the group, gets in the way. Nothing is going Ali's (or the group's) way.




    So, you know that the romance between Ali and Cole dissipates - in terms of the relationship, that their no longer dating. BUT, Showalter still finds ways to put them together, and all that pent-up frustration and time apart wears the two of them down - especially Cole.




    I still liked Cole, despite his breaking up with Ali for basically no rational reason. I understood why, and in the end, I'm glad he learned his lesson. The end for everything - Z.A., Cole and Ali, Kat and Frosty, Reeve and Bronx - all ends pretty well. I'm not going to say that everything is resolved, but things, zombie- and relationship-related, is settled.




    What I Did Not Like:




    The drama between Veronica and Ali is so silly. I don't know why Ali stooped to Veronica's level. I can understand why Showalter put certain interactions between the two of them in the book, but I still didn't like it. If I were dealing with an ex of the boy I still loved, but was no longer with, I would ignore her shenanigans. 




    Also, like the first book, this book is longggg. Which isn't a bad thing, because I like long books, but like the first book, I felt the length sometimes. Other times, I just ripped right through the book!




    Would I Recommend It:




    I would TOTALLY recommend this book, even to people that didn't like book two. For those of you that thought book one was insta-lovey, this book will change your mind. Distance makes the heart grow fonder, and in Cole and Ali's case, that is true!




    Rating:




    4 stars. I cannot wait to read book three! I wonder what the title will be. I can't wait to see it, and read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1