Customer Reviews for

Throw Them All Out: How Politicians and Their Friends Get Rich off Insider Stock Tips, Land Deals, and Cronyism That Would Send the Rest of Us to Prison

Average Rating 4
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

blood boiling!

Unbelievable, what our law makers can get away with. Between this and the book "Nancy Pelosi's Amgen Conflict" it is clear that our leaders are getting rich off of our tax dollars.

posted by juiceboxguy on November 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

everyone insider trades

Wall Street's 'expert committees'
401k managers' age-based (not economy based) junk investment strategies for average Joes.
Influencers crashing markets with fake bad news and buying low real quick
Influencers booming markets with fake good news and selling high real...
Wall Street's 'expert committees'
401k managers' age-based (not economy based) junk investment strategies for average Joes.
Influencers crashing markets with fake bad news and buying low real quick
Influencers booming markets with fake good news and selling high real quick
(Helped by Media repeating whatever anyone tells them to say)
Doctors charging 50 bucks for cash and 150 for insurance, and refusing cash
Outsourcing
Fear tactics and cost of Health Insurance
Banks giving us .05 percent interest on deposits they place in Fed bonds for more interest
85 percent of national debt is corporations and individuals parking money with the Fed who's less crooked than Wall Street more or less
Anyone who says they'll invest tax savings in jobs, rather than simply pocket the extra money for themselves or buy more Fed bonds
Just about any professional who invents a need then sells the solution

Obama's a newbie. If you want to go after the real career politicians, there are 57 Congressmen who are a part of the 1 percent.
Ameriguy

posted by Ameriguy on November 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 22, 2011

    blood boiling!

    Unbelievable, what our law makers can get away with. Between this and the book "Nancy Pelosi's Amgen Conflict" it is clear that our leaders are getting rich off of our tax dollars.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    Highly recommend

    This one will make your blood boil! Schweizer has done a very thorough job of investigating the shameless shenanigans of our elected officials as they use their positions in Washington for personal gain. It's legal, but morally reprehensible, but then....they write the laws. A solid case for term limits! Every American should read this book!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2011

    Must Read

    Well written, gets down to it, names names, shows the thieves behind the curtain and exactly how the rotten system works. For instance, you'll find out that if sitting house members and/or senators use their office, inside information they get from hearings or investigations, they can use that information to make themselves rich. And it's not against the law. They passed a law exempting themselves. Anybody else gets jail time.

    It's a quick read, 174 pages, packed with what you need to know and nothing else.

    Any citizen who wants to be informed, and understand how we got where we are, must read this book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2011

    everyone insider trades

    Wall Street's 'expert committees'
    401k managers' age-based (not economy based) junk investment strategies for average Joes.
    Influencers crashing markets with fake bad news and buying low real quick
    Influencers booming markets with fake good news and selling high real quick
    (Helped by Media repeating whatever anyone tells them to say)
    Doctors charging 50 bucks for cash and 150 for insurance, and refusing cash
    Outsourcing
    Fear tactics and cost of Health Insurance
    Banks giving us .05 percent interest on deposits they place in Fed bonds for more interest
    85 percent of national debt is corporations and individuals parking money with the Fed who's less crooked than Wall Street more or less
    Anyone who says they'll invest tax savings in jobs, rather than simply pocket the extra money for themselves or buy more Fed bonds
    Just about any professional who invents a need then sells the solution

    Obama's a newbie. If you want to go after the real career politicians, there are 57 Congressmen who are a part of the 1 percent.
    Ameriguy

    4 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    HIGHLY RECOMMEND FOR A PERMANENT SPOT ON YOUR LIBRARY SHELF

    We keep voting politicians back into their seats in Washington DC every election thinking everything will be OK. Well, if you really want to see what your elected officials are doing, READ THIS BOOK! What they are allowing themselves to do would be criminal to us and we as the people would be placed in jail for years (ask Martha Stewart).

    I believe that everyone from the age of 16 to 106 years old should read this book BEFORE THEY EVER VOTE AGAIN.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2012

    Throw Them All Out, by Peter Schweizer, is an investigation int

    Throw Them All Out, by Peter Schweizer, is an investigation into the secret money deals and insider trading of the American government. In this book, Schweizer outlines how politicians sneak past rules and regulations to get rich easily. This is what he calls “crony capitalism”, a mutation of natural capitalism that aims at personal gains, even if it goes against the law. This book offers ways to stop this illegal money making and overcome the politician’s power to influence the economy. Schweizer also writes about the various functions of government and duties of government officials and how they play into back-door money making. This book is an interesting insight into the secret dealings of the American government. The author’s style was not as engaging as I wish it was and his diction lacked imagination, but the content of the book was intriguing and kept me interested until the end. I would suggest this book for any reader who is interested in the functions of government and how political corruption is affecting the American economy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2012

    Not able to Read

    B+N wont give me my money back. Can't Read the book because it is not compatible with my reader.

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    LEGAL GRAFT AND CRONY CAPITALISM POISONING OUR POLITICS

    Did you know that median net worth for Congressmen jumped 15 percent between 2004 and 2010? Undoubtedly you do know that the median net worth of all Americans fell 8 percent during that period. During the 2009 recession, Congressmen individually increased their net worth by 6% while average Americans net worth plunged 22%. Why is the above true? Because Congress has excluded itself from being subject to "the rule of law," a fundamental policy for healthy democracies. Peter Schweizer's book reveals that the US Congress has exempted itself and members from ever being prosecuted for conflict of interest and insider trading. Most irritating of all: Congress has inside information on health care and many POLITICAL LEADERS have used that to enrich themselves in pharmaceutical stocks. As Schweizer reports, the problem in Washington is not gridlock but is a "corruption of the public spirit." A powerful book about just how far we have fallen in recent decades. Remember that Ben Franklin once told someone that this country is a democratic republic, "if you can keep it." We are busy today losing it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    questianable activitys of our congress

    "throw them all out" is an amazing book. the arthur has researched the money dealings of many of our top congress men and women and senators and how they use their inside influences to gain money matters and self gain for themselfs. this book shows that if the voters were to engadge in these same unethical practices they would be in trouble with the law.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    Highly recommended - you gotta read this!

    This book is a real eye opener, diligently researched, and yes, it will make you want to "throw them all out" or better yet, right into prison. Oh, but darn, Congress made what would get the rest of us long prison terms perfectly legal for them. You have to read this to begin to see the depth of the corruption. It's as if our law makers have gone hog wild raking in all they can before the system colapses.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2011

    Great Book!

    Good reading, well referenced! Easy reading on Nook. One of the very best works in the political genre.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    a must

    This book has already had its main stream effects. We should throw them out and then take them to court...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    Stunning!

    One of the best books I've read all year!

    Amazing detail regarding how and why our government is so broken. I must say that I can't watch or read the news about our govt officials without feeling completely digusted though.

    I want to a give a copy og this book to everyone I know. Especially my friends and family who say, "I dont pay attention to politics because it doesn't affect me." This book is a real eye-opener.

    I couldn't put it down and I want to know more. And if ever there was a reason to vote for MB in 2012..... Holy Cow!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2