BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Thumped

Average Rating 4
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Yayy!

Cant wait loved first book! Second cmment

posted by 10545997 on January 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

1st!

Cant wait for this. First comment!

posted by 6200524 on December 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Yayy!

    Cant wait loved first book! Second cmment

    7 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    1st!

    Cant wait for this. First comment!

    6 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Thumped by Megan McCafferty is much more compelling than the fir

    Thumped by Megan McCafferty is much more compelling than the first (Bumped)!
    In the beginning, it lays out what has taken place right after the ending of the first novel, and then jumps right back into the happenings of Melody and Harmony in present time. This isn't a spoiler but as a refresher: from book one (Bumped) we've read that Harmony and Johndoe "spent the night" together...so, in Thumped Harmony has finally gotten 'BUMPED' and the kicker is - so is Melody!
    Like the first novel, the story goes back and forth alternating from Harmony's POV to Melody's POV. Harmony, in her third trimester, has decided to go back to Goodside with Ram and to deliver her baby there, and Melody with her preggo self has chosen to stay in Otherside as a couple with Johndoe. Yup, you read that right - MELODY and Johndoe are an item!
    I am so liking the new writing style and greatly appreciating that Megan decided to drop the lingo/dialect from the first book. Some terms were still kept, but this time around it took less time to read, understand, and take in what was going on. This book was putty in my hands. I got done reading it in a quickness because it was that much more enjoyable. The sarcasm was hilarious, the drama was awing, and the whole thing was thought provoking. Megan McCafferty skillfully covered many grounds in such a few pages; there was parenthood, consensual and non-consensual sex, pro/anti-procreating, religion, promiscuity, and SO much more!
    Trying to give a review for this novel without naming points of great importance, or even parts that you were keen on would ruin the experience and impact of what this novel will convey. Thumped offers an overload of things to think and wonder about of the present that will have you replaying verses over and over in your mind days after you've finished reading it.
    A FUN AND GREAT MUST READ SEQUEL!!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Satisfying Sequel

    “Thumped is book 2 of 2 in a young adult series about a dystopic world in which a virus renders the human race infertile after the age of 18. Teen girls are forced into breeding contracts and reproductive arrangements, often against their will. Melody and Harmony are twins that had been separated at birth and they are at the end of their fertile years at the age of 17. The second book does a great job of picking up where the first book started and addressing the theme. It's a quick and easy read. While I would have rated it 3 1/2 stars, I'm rounding up because this series was such an unexpected "like" for me. I also appreciate the fact that the author ended the series after one book and a sequel, instead of trying to go for a cash cow trilogy, like most YA authors today. Don't expect the moon from them, but these books (Bumped and Thumped) could surprise you!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    better then the first

    Like I mentioned for for the first book I did not know how it was going to be but overall I loved how the characters turned out, the ending was simple and kind of perfect. Great read for in between series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2012

    An impressive finale to follow a weaker start to this series. Th

    An impressive finale to follow a weaker start to this series. Thumped has more of everything that I like as a reader, more substance, more character development, and a strong finish. It's an easy read but will keep your attention for all 300 pages. There were still some things missing, but hey, we can't have it all, right? For a look at the humorous side of dystopian society, check out Thumped, and it's prequel, Bumped.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2012

    In the sequel to Bumped, Megan McCafferty has created this world

    In the sequel to Bumped, Megan McCafferty has created this world that has placed the world at a different perspective if a virus effects humanity. Like Bumped, the main focus of the novel was about teenage pregnancy but beyond that the importance of yourself and family. Melody and Harmony both grow up during this novel through the thirty-five weeks. These twins show that you are not alone and during the read it was really fun read with all the characters. I loved them all in the first books, and even more in Thumped. The writing is awesome as always, I could read this series again for how influential it is and how pregnancy at a young age is still happening today.

    The novel starts with Harmony back in Goodside who which are evil in my opinion despite the religion but as Harmony realizes she is not happy about her life and is still thinking about the father of her twins Jondoe (I love his character) Jondoe is so funny he lightens up the mood with his personality and the way he changes his life style for Melody who showed him the way to think of God in a different life. In the different point of views from both Melody and Harmony we she that Melody is living a life of fame and her romance with Zen is continually growing.

    As both twins want each other in their lives they also think that during Harmony's pregnancy that Melody is also pregnant with Jondoe's children so the impending wait of the Double twins due date. The plot was very well put together and along with the knowledge gained from the book that McCafferty does perfectly tell us that contraception is important to wait to have a family rather than selling babies to parents who cant have any due to the virus. It was refreshing to get to see these characters again in their final chapter in Thumped and how much their characters changed in this novel rather in Bumped. The realization and issues brought up in this book today show that Melody has independence for herself as well as her twin Harmony.

    Megan has done another great job with Thumped and has shown the world today. It was full of unexpected things as well as the way her characters all of whom illustrate the importance that contraception should be used to prevent teenage pregnancy. I also learned many new things from Jondoe lol. Overall it was a good sequel with a lot of messages.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2014

    Just Finished

    It was much better than the first book but you have to read the first book to understand what is going on. If you have spare time read this book but it is not a must have sort of book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2014

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    3.5 I forgot how much I liked the story of Melody and Harmony.

    3.5

    I forgot how much I liked the story of Melody and Harmony. This is a world that I can’t fathom. The plot is interesting.

    Thumped is much more fast-paced than Bumped was. The events take place over a couple of days. I was shocked at the way Harmony’s community treated her. But that’s how things go when you fear things that do not conform to your ideals/thoughts. Melody is the one that I think grows the most in this story. She struggles with what the right and wrong thing to do is. Guilt eats at her, and she doesn’t know how to deal with it.

    I like the direction the book went. The characters want to make a change with how things are done. They don’t want teenagers to feel like they have to get pregnant. The morality of exploiting young people is a big presence in this book. I think the author did a great job of portraying this. The only thing that I don’t think was hashed out well is the ending. Things just kind of leave off, and we don’t know if things change, or stay the same.

    Overall, Thumped is an interesting read, and speaks to the sociologist in me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    Thumped

    This book would be much better without the ending. First, Melody loses consciousness when she falls on her belly. She wakes up in the birthcenter and they explain that they gave her the contents of some nasty cruel bottle or what not that kills babies and removes them. First of all, who just takes two innocent lives like that just because of things the mother has done? If people did that in real life, I'd walk into every hospital in existence and rescue the newborn babies from the people who want to kill them. I can't stand murder, especially child murder. And then there's the case with Harmony's twins. They're born alive and nobody kills them, which is good, but why does Harmony give her daughters to the Jaydens? And why do they consider Faith and Mercy "their" daughters? That's really unfair. I never really got a clear idea of who the father is, but Harmony is definitely the mother. She was pregnant and gave birth to them VIA C SECTION, for goodness sake! In my opinion, anyone who has to get cut open to give birth deserves to keep their child or children. But no, she had to go and give her precious newborns to A STUPID COUPLE WHO NEVER THOUGHT OF HAVING KIDS WHEN THEY WERE TEENAGERS! Doesn't anyone in this book have a freakin LIFE!? Get one, then, or at least get a brain! Then you'll want your twins back, Harmony! In conclusion, if I had written this book, it would've been MUCH MUCH BETTER AND BUMPED IS PROBABLY TERRIBLE TOO BUT I'LL NEVER FIND CUZ I'M NEVER READING IT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Short but awesome

    I loooooved it just like the first one. I couldnt put it down for a second!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This story picks up as Harmony is getting closer to her due date

    This story picks up as Harmony is getting closer to her due date. I have to say that I was excited to get back to this story to see how it would all end. We catch up with Melody and Jondoe at a event for them. Melody seems to have it all going for her as she is bumped with Jondoe and set to deliver twins. She is what all other girls dream of being and yet she is not happy. I love that this story was showing the other side of the teen surrogate business and showed how unhappy these girls can really be. It may not be all that it is cracked up to be as we are starting to see. Melody and Zen are getting closer but they can't be together and it is starting to get to Melody. I love that they were starting to get more into each other and willing to admit how much they really cared for each other.




    Harmony meanwhile was starting to question everything she was thought to believe in and wanted answers. She soon learns that nobody else feels like she does in Goodside and they are starting to question her sanity. I love that Harmony was willing to take risks and decided to think for herself. I also like that Ram was willing to help her and not cut her off like other people had done. I think this book ramped up the action more and it made for a quicker read. We move along to Melody and Jondoe going to rescue Harmony and bring her back to Otherside. When this happens Harmony and Jondoe have a chance to finally sort out their feelings. I have to say that Jondoe grew on me more in this book than the first one. He really started to show that he cared more about something than himself and was willing to take risks. I liked where the relationship between Harmony and Jondoe was heading. They have potential for so much more.




    The author took a lot of risks with this book and they paid off. I feel like the characters got closure and I wasn't left with any unanswered questions. It was wrapped up really well. I like that the fall out of the babies being born and the events that took place from there made the world really take a look at what they were doing. It made people take a step back and realize these were really teen girls asked to make sure hard choices at such young ages. There were some that were ready to handle it and then you get others that it is just too much for them to have to shoulder. They shouldn't even have to worry about these issues. Overall I think the author did a great job with this unique concept. It was different from anything out there but still such a real issue that could have really happened. It makes you wonder just what side of the fence you would be on if you had to chose. I highly recommend this book to others and think you should definitely pick up a copy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2012

    I did not like this book, for the ages its rated for I thought t

    I did not like this book, for the ages its rated for I thought the content was very mature, I would not recommend this book and parents I would make sure my younger pre teens do not read this

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    loved this book and loved the first

    loved this book and loved the first

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Amazing!!!!!!

    Better than bumped.

    I LOVE IT!!!!

    Everyone should read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2012

    I really did enjoy the Bumped series as a whole (Thumped is the

    I really did enjoy the Bumped series as a whole (Thumped is the sequel). However, Bumped was not the best book I've ever read. For most of Bumped I was trying to keep up with the language (teen slang of the future apparently) and trying to depict what was happening. Once I finished Bumped and started Thumped, I had a feel for the characters and the world they lived in, and frankly I couldn't put the book down after that. Bumped alone does not develop the characters enough or make me care like I should have, but both books together tell an amazing story that I'd recommend to anyone interested in this kind of book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Loved it

    I loved this book u should read it

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2012

    Great Squeal

    Def a wonderful companion to the first book Bumped.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    Bet Best

    Best book that i hav evvvvvvver read love it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2