Customer Reviews for

Thunder Bay (Cork O'Connor Series #7)

Average Rating 4.5
( 77 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2010

    Thunder Bay by William Kent Krueger is well worth your time!

    Having been a fan of Tony Hillerman and other authors who chronicle Native American culture, I was looking for a new author who combined Native American characters and good mystery writing. Thunder Bay by William Kent Krueger is the third book in the series about Cork O'Connor that I have read and I am continually pleased by these novels. Thunder Bay was particularly satisfying because it centers around a back story of one of the recurring characters in the series and gives a wonderful history of the relationships between Native American and Caucasian cultures during the early 20th century. The story moves back and forth between the past and the present and is exciting and touching. I couldn't put this book down and am anxious to read more of the Cork O'Connor series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    Thunderclan

    Does Thunderclan still reside here?

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2012

    I have not this Novel yet! If it is like the rest of his it will great!!

    I am reading Copper River at this time and have not looked at this one.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    Good book

    I love this book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2014

    Cork O'Conner has just retired as Sherif of Aurora, Minnesota to

    Cork O'Conner has just retired as Sherif of Aurora, Minnesota to spend more time with his family.  Daughter, Jenny, actually does seem to need more attention as she has decisions to make now that she's graduated from high school.  But Cork's good friend, Henry Meloux, the Ojibwe medicine man, asks Cork to help him fine his son whom he's never seen.  Cork never knew that he had a son, and that son is now 73 years old, so he wonders at the sudden need to find him. This story goes from present day, to the 1920's to tell Henry's story, back to the present again.  When someone tries to kill Henry today, the mystery grows. 




    I have thoroughly enjoyed every one of these Cork O'Conner western mysteries.  The inner connection between all the peoples in that area have added much to these mysteries.  Cork is such a complex character as sherif, family man, park Ojibwe and part white, and outdoorsman. Kruger's writing is spectacular, setting scenery that sets me right there in my immagination.  I listened to this on Audible and highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2014

    Thnderu

    Sits.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2014

    Annex Frost

    She padded in.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    Great series must read!

    Love his style of writing. Spins a great tale!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    Rainpelt

    ...

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    I need a pet actally a mini pegasus.....

    That can change into any size her name would be glory be my pegasus named glory at princess school res 2 oh ad my name is Angel &#9786

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2014

    Heather&co

    Hunting land, covered in large towering oaks.
    ~Amberstar

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2013

    Wolfsun

    She listems to the prophecy the words flooding back into her memory. I will do my best to be the best warrior i can be until i must embrace my destiny. She padsback to camp.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    Octopuskit

    Sat where Lilystar was sleeping wailing.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2013

    Lilystar to Velvetstar, Goldenstripe, and Wolfsun

    The tabby sat facing the only cats who shared a past with her. Explaining quickly she started, "Long ago Goldenstripe received a prophecy that stated, "The silver lily will bloosom until the golden sun destroys it. Then the lone wolf will come to power..." This was while Wolfsun was an apprentice. We all discussed it and came to the conclusion that I was the silver lily, Goldenstrpe the golden sun, and Wolfsun the lone wolf. I was frightened by the thought that Goldenstripe would hurt me but he reassured me he never would and I trusted him." Pausing, Lilystar looks lovingly at her mate, memories flashing in her eyes like fish. She continued, "With my return and the problems of leadership, I have been confused and unsure of where I belong. Afterall it is hard to divert off the known path to explore the new. But now I think I understand what my destiny is. Goldenstripe did destroy the silver lily but not directly. I wandered and became lost when I thought he died. This misunderstanding caused a lot of heartache and in the end it has destroyed me. My leadership is no more... But perhaps this is what Starclan wished for me. Maybe my time as leader is over for now. I served my clan as best as I could and now my part of the prophecy has been fulfilled. I think it is time for the lone wolf to come to power next." Glancing at Velvetstar, she quickly adds, "This does not mean I think your leadership should be undermined. With everything that's happened, I haven't gotten a chance to thank you for saving my clan Velvetstar. I am extremely grateful and you have proven yourself a worthy leader of Horseclan. And the best friend a cat could ask for..." Blinking gratefully at her friend, Lilystar meowed, "I do not wish to live anywhere except for in Horseclan. I may have extra lives but I only want to serve Horseclan. I wish to stay with Wolfsun and have Goldenstripe at my side while following you Velvetstar. If this is my destiny, then I will embrace it. As I believe Wolfsun will one day embrace hers." Growing silent, the leader waits for the cats who mean the most to her to respond. ~ Accepting Lilystar P.S. Literally not making any of this up nor did I come up with the prophecy in the first place. I don't know where it came from. But it's crazy how well it seems to fit with this part of Lilystar's life. I didn't want to make Lilystar the jerk who just shows up and fights for her leadership (although without this prophecy she probably would not back down. You know her! Fighting for what she believes in! And if she thought she could help her clan by being leader again... ya...) It is a nice way to have Lilystar step down but still remain in Horseclan. I am wondering, however, if I can retain some say in the clan. Not in clan meetings, final decisions, patrols, or those sort of things persay (unless you let me). Rather I enjoy putting up prey posts, camp sites, clan bios... Stuff along those lines. Would that be okay Velvetstar? If you could explain what I can do that'd be helpful. Also I will respond to your posts at the last result of our camp since I want to let the clan read this just so they are aware of what is going on (although their characters will be clueless about Wolfsun's part in it)! I was thinking I could hold one last clan meeting to explain this all...

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    DawnFlight

    Ok! Where do bios go?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    Cloverpaw

    Bends down close to the ground, the tip of her tail twitchig in exitement. She picks a target(Sparrowstar's tail.) and pounces.* Did i do good?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    Ella

    Oh wait wrong place this isnt the human rp

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    To all read

    M story at taken resone

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    Warykit

    Yay!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    Silverbird

    "Lionstorm, would you like to hunt with me?" She blinks her dazzling blue eyes. ~Silverbird

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4