Customer Reviews for

Thunder Cake

Average Rating 4.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    great for those rain days

    great for the days when the thunder scares the little ones help pass the time and not be so afraid

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2010

    The Best Book

    If you are afraid of thunder this is a book that you can relate to. The book, Thundercake, by Patricia Polacco is awesome because it teaches a very valuable lesson. The little girl in this story is afraid of thunder. When she visits her Babushka, thunder comes into town! When the little girl goes under the bed, her Babushka asks," Why do you go under the bed?" The little girl said that she is afraid of the thunder. When her Babushka hears that she says, "Let's go make thundercakes." The little girl counts how many miles the thunder is away from them. They have to bake the cakes before the lightening reaches them. If you want to find out if they make it or not, then you have to read the whole book. I think this book was awesome so I give Thundercake an excellent 5 out of 5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Afraid of Thunder?

    Patricia Polacco writes a dear story of a grandmother, her Babushka, and her granddaughter, Patricia herself, that will help, if not banish your thunder fears. It is a true story, told in a way you can interact during the story and after it is over, bake your own Thunder Cake using the recipe at the end. Polacco is a teller of unforgettable tales, most if not all, are based on true experiences. After reading all her books, some many times, to hundreds of children, I promise you too will find her books enchanting. Polacco does her own art work, which is delightful. I met her once and told her that I loved Chicken Sunday the best. She smiled at me and replied, " How kind of you." I would like to suggest you discover Polacco's talents that will bring you and your listeners joy beyond measure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2009

    Help with fear of thunder

    Great way to help children overcome fear of thunder. Fantastic illustrations. Interactive as recipe for Thundercake is included.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2008

    I have loved this bookever since I was a child, and still have never forgot it. I think that all of Patricia's books should be shared with children all over the world.

    Patricia Pollaco gives warmth and wisdom in every book that she writes, and makes them unforgetable through the ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2008

    Wonderful Story

    This is a sweet story of the relationship of a little girl and her grandmother. The little girl is scared of thunderstorms and other things on her grandma's farm. Grandma shows her how to be brave.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2007

    A really good book

    The book Thunder Cake is a good book. It helps kids get rid of their fear of thunder storms. In the book there is a thunder storm and they bake a cake to make them forget about the storm. That¿s why it makes kids get rid of there of their fear of thunder storms. It¿s a good book for children .For parents that like baking there is a recipe on the back. I give this book a five star rating. This is a really good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2007

    A spectacular book!

    Thunder cake is an amazing book. It's about a girl at her grandma's and whenever she hears thunder she hides under her bed. Her grandma shows the girl how brave she really is. Her grandma teaches her to make a thunder cake. To make a thunder cake you have to make it right when the storm is happening. When she overcomes her fear they all eat Thunder cake. It was a great book. I liked how the text filled the room with warmth and love,I also liked how it had a recipe of the thunder cake at the back of the book! This is a great book for a stormy day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2006

    A Must Read

    I love this book. This book, Thunder Cake has been my all time favorite since the third grade, now I'm in the 10th, and still love it. If I am correct, this was the first book I ever checked out of my school library. I have read this book 20 times. It's a great story to read to young children. It's about a girl, Patricia Polacco, who visits her grandmother and helps out on the farm. The title comes from the name of the cake Patricia and her grandmother makes. At the end of the story there is the ingredients to the cake. This is fun because you and your child could actually pretend that you are like Patricia and her grandmother and make you own thunder cake. So help make this one of your childs favorite book and buy it and read it, and you would have fun with it to!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2006

    When would the storm arrive?

    With the help of her grandmother the little girl discovered her courage and overcame her fear of thunderstorms. While the text conveys tension and reminds the reader about the storm, the pictures provide warmth and comfort. The reader is absorbed into the picture forgetting about the storm.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2006

    Thuender Cake Review

    Thunder Cake is an extravegant book.I liked how a girl overcame her fear of thunder by bakeing a cake.The girl's grandma makes her do brave chores. By completeing those tasks she overcomes things without knowing it. I espcially love that they have the recipe for thunder cake in the back of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2003

    Favorite Author

    She is my favorite author! All her books just make you love her and her family. After you read one of her books you will want to read more so you can meet her other family members. Oh, the characters she has! Warmth and love fill the text!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2003

    Thundercake Takes you back to your childhood

    Thunder Cake is such a wonderful book it teaches children not to fear thunderstorms and also gives them something to look forward to. My children thought of there grandmother when we read this book. And it made them feel really good as there grandmother has sinced past away.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1