Customer Reviews for

Thunder and Ashes (Morningstar Strain Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 103 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(62)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Addictive-couldn't put it down!

Great zombie + apocalypse read... TNA til the end!

posted by MJMasonGma on May 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Thunder and Ashes

Thunder and Ashes find the survivors of the Morningstar virus trying to make it to Omaha where there is a government lab that may have the cure. But across the vast wasteland are zombies and other survivors who don't want to play nice. This novel is filled with zombies,...
Thunder and Ashes find the survivors of the Morningstar virus trying to make it to Omaha where there is a government lab that may have the cure. But across the vast wasteland are zombies and other survivors who don't want to play nice. This novel is filled with zombies, apocalyptic scenarios and a great cast of good and bad characters. Easy to read, but just a cut above your average zombie story.

posted by grumpydan on November 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted May 2, 2013

    Addictive-couldn't put it down!

    Great zombie + apocalypse read... TNA til the end!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2012

    I fell in love with this series. I think it is really well writt

    I fell in love with this series. I think it is really well written and I got invested in the story and characters. I am so glad that the 3rd book is coming out, I was really worried and saddened that with Mr.Recht passing we would not get a conclusion to the series. I heard he had a good portion of the 3rd book written and outlined and I hope the co-author continues with the same style.

    Series is totally worth the read if you like or love zombies.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2014

    GREAT BOOK

    I've read it three times now and it is just as good as the first time. I just can't wait until the trilogy is competed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Good fix

    I just "happened" upon The Morningstar series and have to say, they are very well written. Plenty of character development and a very good plot.

    Good Stuff Z.A.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2011

    Im reading it now

    I read book one lovef it book two even more, im glad to here there a book 3 coming out so if yoy like zombes as much ad i do this is a most read ,it get you from the first page

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    Great start to a great trilogy

    I have been a fan of zombie fiction for many years now and i can say without a doubt The Morningstar saga is my personal favorite. Great charicters, great action, a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    Dont worry

    Borowing nook. The family had a ghost writer finish the book, right now its in editing. Should be out soon

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2011

    bad news

    i hate to be the one to break the bad news, but mr. recht passed away some time ago.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2011

    So good I read it twice in a row.

    The first book grabbed me and the second one bit down on me. One of the great books out there. Hope there is a third book because this is just too good to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Bridget's Review

    I love a good zombie read! I was on the edge of my seat throughout most of this book and I couldn't help but hope for a cure. If you're a fan of Dawn of the Dead or other horror movies, you'll enjoy Thunder & Ashes. I give it four stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2010

    Read Plague of the Dead first...

    A very nice sequel that builds and extends the original. After finishing "Plague of the Dead" I knew there was a sequel in the making. What I like is you could read and enjoy this book as a stand alone but there is just enough tie in to the first book that readers of both get a sense of excitement in bringing the 2 stories together. If you recently read the first you will remember enough that the stories build well within each other. The author does not bang it over your head that this person did a certain action in the first book just assumes that you know who it is and lets you piece them together. This is a much better option to let fans of the first do this than make us all feel stupid and dumb down the book by explaining the previous characters all over. Including those that appear in the first and last pages. It is not a book that I would say is a MUST read but if this is your kind of style I would recommend it. I liked it very much. It was an easy read that I read the first 130 pages the first night and finished the book the next day. Not sure why the publish date is 11-23-10 unless BN just accidentally released the book early but I'm glad I got my hands on it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4