Customer Reviews for

Thunder from the Sea

Average Rating 4.5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Ilove it

    I love this book it is one of my favorites

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Very good book

    I think that in the story Thunder from the sea was a great book in all the story it had some dull parts in the story. And when he gets settled in he went down stairs and went to the table to have a cup of tea with the new family.

    In the story he meets a bunch of new people at his new home and then he meets this dog and his name is Thunder. And when he m reason and the reason is because Thunder is trying to tell them that a tidal wave is coming but nobody knows what is wrong with him.


    So today I told you how that the boy went to his new home and he meets this dog and the dog starts acting weird for some t this dog named Thunder and the dog kept acting weird because he knew that there was a tidal wave coming but no one else knew that there was one coming bout Thunder knew there was

    In the story I told you about how he met his family and a dog and the dogs name as Thunder. And then Thunder senses that a tidal wave is coming but nobody else knows except for Thunder " The End "

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2009

    Thunder from the sea rocks!

    thunder from the sea is a science fiction novel. It is about a boy named Tom who gets adopted by a couple who's names are Enoch and Fiona. THey dont have any children so Tom usually just plays with the kids in the neighborhood. One of the boys names is Bert and he is very mean. One day, when tom is fishing with Enoch and some neighbors he rescues a newfoundland dog from a storm . He names him Thunder. What he didnt know was how great of a dog thunder could be. The neighbors claimed that they spotted the dog first and they were angry with Tom, especially Bert. When a terrible storm is coming and fiona is expecting a baby soon, it is thunder to the rescue! to find out what happens next youll just have to read the book!Now, there are many posotives and negatives about this book. Some things that I liked were that it had a great storyline, It was very well written, it was a good legnth (not too long and not too short), and it was very exciting. One thing that I wasnt so crazy about was the character Bert. I thought he was a little to mean and obnoxious and I would of liked if you could see the other side of him. Also, I thought it was a little unrealistic how tom found Thunder. I think that if it was a rapid storm and a dog was swimming for it's life in the water it would of dround. Next, I would like to comment on the Writing style of the author. I think that the writing style of Joan Haitt Harlow is very formal. She wrote with vocabulary for ages ten to fourteen, so i think that her writing is a little advanced for some people. Also, I think that Joan writes with a very fluid style. I would highly reccomend this book to any dog lovers. Thunder from the Sea is adventurous, exciting, funny, and it will cheer you up when you are down. This book is good for if you are board or just want to escape into your own little world. I hope you enjoyed my review and will want to read this magnifiscent book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2009

    PlEASE READ!!!!!

    In Thunder From the Sea by Joan Hiatt Harlowone, three people on a rainy day were on a boat. Tom was hungry so he ate some lunch and it did not agree with his stomach. He went over the side of the ship and he threw up his lunch. After a while he didn't feel good so he sat down to rest and fell asleep. A banging noise woke him up. He went and looked and they were on a deserted island with his mom and his family. After spending some time on the island overcoming many obstacles, they discover the true meaning of family.
    I recommend this book to anyone who would like this genre (adventure). It is a great book to read you would want to read it again and again. The author puts your mind in the book. It was not hard to concentrate because I was so deeply in the book it was that interesting. Yes, I connected to the characters and the event that were going on in the book. My mind was wondering what was going to happen in the story. Overall I was excited to get back to the book to see what would happen next.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2008

    Thunder from the Sea

    Thunder from the Sea is so wonderful and full of adventures that you would like to read it forever and forever. My mom had to force me to stop reading. The book has happy moments because in this one part the real owner of Thunder gave Tom the dog and just left in his boat. The very sad moment was when Tom couldn¿t find Thunder for days and Tom was miserable for those couple of days, with the awesome characters Tom, Enoch, Fiona, and Thunder. Tom is a 12 or 13 year old boy who goes fishing with Enoch in a storm. He finds a dog in the middle of the ocean who can predict bad weather. The dog has a white streak in the center of his chest. This good book took place in an island called Back o` the Moon Island. This book relates to me because one time I wanted a dog so badly. I found one at the park. We had to return him to his owner. That is how this book relates to me. I would recommend this book to my mom and my big brother because I know that they like these books and because they read these books a lot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2008

    an amazing book!!!!

    Okay i just have to say this book is amazing and for dog lovers.I really love this book that i keep reading it when ever i have time.Now i won't tell you the ending you have to get that book and find out for your self you'll be glad you read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2008

    I read this book and loved it!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I would give this book the best award it could have! It is sad that a person, Mr.Fowler comes to get him but very happy that he lets Tom keep Thunder. It is strange that they found Thunder in th sea, but they are right that he looks like thunder and has a white streak that looks like lightning. I love this book, I could read it over and over again! Joan Hiatt Harlow is my favorite author. I can say so much more about this book, and i will. It is shocking that Thunder warned them about a tidal wave an earth quake and got Fiona to the docter when she was about to have a baby. Thunder is the best dog a person could have. 'characters:Murrays=Fiona, Enoch, Tom, Thunder And April Bosworths=Bert, Amos, Ruby, and Nancy Rideouts=Ken, Margeret, Rowena And Eddie).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2007

    Calling all Dog Lovers!!

    A young boy named Tom rescues a newfoundland dog from the sea, which he names Thunder. Tom has already been adopted by two kind people, Enoch and Fiona. They soon, like Tom, grow attached to the dog they call Thunder. But a person who claims he owns Thunder comes along. Will Tom be forced to give up his beloved Thunder?!?! Great for all fellow dog lovers!! You must read this book!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2007

    great for dog lovers!

    this was a very good book. it always kept you wanting to read it and was very suspensful. i recomend it if you liked star in the storm. it was sad and happy at some points and i loved it! and now im starting to read shawdows on the sea and it started out really good and i can wait to finish it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2004

    Great book! You must read!

    I loved this book! And when I say love, I mean LOVE!!! While I was reading this book, my eyes were glued to it and I had my nose in it whenever I could. Possibly the best book I've read!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Zack's schedule

    1. Math
    2. English
    3. Chorus
    4. Lunch
    5. Science
    6. Shop
    7. Social Studies
    8. Gym

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Sam's Schedule

    Art<p>
    Gym>
    Lunch <p>
    Chorus<p>
    History<p>

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2013

    Good

    This book was overall good but in the begginig it was kindof slow:(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    Movie

    Can't to see if theres a movie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Great Book

    Loooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooved this book! Great writing by Joan Hiatt Harlow. This is a MUST read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    LOVE IT!!!!!!!

    I LOVE THIS BOOK!!!!!! MY FAVORITE!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Awesome

    I read this in 3rd grade and i read it ahain in fifth its a great book and i reallly loved it now and then not mosstly for third graders but im an advaanced reader more for fifth and up

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Greatest book ever

    I love this book i never read or heard of a more loyal dog
    A reader and dog lover,
    Hannah Grace

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    Awsome book

    Im 11and this is great book i recomend it to middle schoolers it might be kinda long for some peoole it has about 250 pages
    Its a good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    Perfect!

    A must read for all mystery lovers!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2