Customer Reviews for

Thunder from the Sea

Average Rating 4.5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Ilove it

    I love this book it is one of my favorites

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Very good book

    I think that in the story Thunder from the sea was a great book in all the story it had some dull parts in the story. And when he gets settled in he went down stairs and went to the table to have a cup of tea with the new family.

    In the story he meets a bunch of new people at his new home and then he meets this dog and his name is Thunder. And when he m reason and the reason is because Thunder is trying to tell them that a tidal wave is coming but nobody knows what is wrong with him.


    So today I told you how that the boy went to his new home and he meets this dog and the dog starts acting weird for some t this dog named Thunder and the dog kept acting weird because he knew that there was a tidal wave coming but no one else knew that there was one coming bout Thunder knew there was

    In the story I told you about how he met his family and a dog and the dogs name as Thunder. And then Thunder senses that a tidal wave is coming but nobody else knows except for Thunder " The End "

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2009

    PlEASE READ!!!!!

    In Thunder From the Sea by Joan Hiatt Harlowone, three people on a rainy day were on a boat. Tom was hungry so he ate some lunch and it did not agree with his stomach. He went over the side of the ship and he threw up his lunch. After a while he didn't feel good so he sat down to rest and fell asleep. A banging noise woke him up. He went and looked and they were on a deserted island with his mom and his family. After spending some time on the island overcoming many obstacles, they discover the true meaning of family.
    I recommend this book to anyone who would like this genre (adventure). It is a great book to read you would want to read it again and again. The author puts your mind in the book. It was not hard to concentrate because I was so deeply in the book it was that interesting. Yes, I connected to the characters and the event that were going on in the book. My mind was wondering what was going to happen in the story. Overall I was excited to get back to the book to see what would happen next.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2008

    an amazing book!!!!

    Okay i just have to say this book is amazing and for dog lovers.I really love this book that i keep reading it when ever i have time.Now i won't tell you the ending you have to get that book and find out for your self you'll be glad you read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2008

    I read this book and loved it!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I would give this book the best award it could have! It is sad that a person, Mr.Fowler comes to get him but very happy that he lets Tom keep Thunder. It is strange that they found Thunder in th sea, but they are right that he looks like thunder and has a white streak that looks like lightning. I love this book, I could read it over and over again! Joan Hiatt Harlow is my favorite author. I can say so much more about this book, and i will. It is shocking that Thunder warned them about a tidal wave an earth quake and got Fiona to the docter when she was about to have a baby. Thunder is the best dog a person could have. 'characters:Murrays=Fiona, Enoch, Tom, Thunder And April Bosworths=Bert, Amos, Ruby, and Nancy Rideouts=Ken, Margeret, Rowena And Eddie).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2007

    great for dog lovers!

    this was a very good book. it always kept you wanting to read it and was very suspensful. i recomend it if you liked star in the storm. it was sad and happy at some points and i loved it! and now im starting to read shawdows on the sea and it started out really good and i can wait to finish it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2004

    Great book! You must read!

    I loved this book! And when I say love, I mean LOVE!!! While I was reading this book, my eyes were glued to it and I had my nose in it whenever I could. Possibly the best book I've read!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Zack's schedule

    1. Math
    2. English
    3. Chorus
    4. Lunch
    5. Science
    6. Shop
    7. Social Studies
    8. Gym

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Sam's Schedule

    Art<p>
    Gym>
    Lunch <p>
    Chorus<p>
    History<p>

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    Movie

    Can't to see if theres a movie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Great Book

    Loooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooved this book! Great writing by Joan Hiatt Harlow. This is a MUST read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    LOVE IT!!!!!!!

    I LOVE THIS BOOK!!!!!! MY FAVORITE!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Awesome

    I read this in 3rd grade and i read it ahain in fifth its a great book and i reallly loved it now and then not mosstly for third graders but im an advaanced reader more for fifth and up

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Greatest book ever

    I love this book i never read or heard of a more loyal dog
    A reader and dog lover,
    Hannah Grace

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    Awsome book

    Im 11and this is great book i recomend it to middle schoolers it might be kinda long for some peoole it has about 250 pages
    Its a good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    My Book review on "Thunder from the Sea"

    Thunder from the sea is a great book based on a friendship between an orphaned boy and a dog found lost at sea. Tom the main Character Was adopted from an orphanage. He found a dog named Thunder who had been lost at sea for hours. Tom met Bert, who was a mean little kid. I like the parts were they fight over Thunder and He bites Bert's leg, which was funny.

    Thunder decides who he wants to be with, but Bert's dad was not happy he set out to find Thunders real owner If It was the last thing he did. Amos did not find the real owner. He said that he needed the dog. I think that was a lie, I think he tried to find the real owner because he was jealous that Tom had the dog and him and Bert didn't. I recommend this book to all who like to read, I'm not that much into reading but this was a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Amazing!

    Ever wondered how it would feel to live in the somewhat "olden" days? Tom Campbell knows what it feels like. This story is about an orphan named Tom who is adopted by Enoch and his loving wife, Fiona. At first, Tom loves being with his new family and enjoys helping Enoch do chores or little tasks. Then, in the midst of a storm, Tom discovers a dog in the ocean. Tom has never had a dog so you could expect what a boy like him would say- "Can we keep him?" This wonderful story is highly recommended (by me) for kids in 5th-8th grade. You do not have to be in this age group to enjoy such a novel! It's a book worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2011

    THUNDER

    the best book i ever read, and i've read alot!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Book title and author: Thunder From the sea. Joan Hiatt Harlow Title of review: Number of stars (1 to 5): 5 stars

    Thunder from the sea is the number one book; I would defiantly recommend it to all middle school students. This book is a miraculous fictional adventure story about a boy named Tom Cambell, who has lived at the St. Anthony`s and Grenfell Mission all his life. His parents were very ill at the time, so the mission decided to take him in to there foster care. Tom cambell now thirteen years of age is being taken into a fisherman named Enoch's, and a woman named Fiona's care. Tom has never remembered a time when he had a real family, with a mom and dad and I dog of his own.
    One day when Enoch and tom were fishing a black dog had came onto there boat, tom was so excited. Does he finally have a real dog of his own, a real family and a place to call home? Will he runs into trouble, he knew he couldn't actually live a good life with nothing to go wrong. Tom now has surprises ahead of him would Thunders owner come looking for him, would another member come in to their life, would they actually adopt him, and make them a real family of his own ????
    The characters in this book are very clear with there words, It's defiantly an exhilarating story. I hope all of u who read this book love it like I do. This book is defiantly for animal lovers, who would love a heart pounding story about a boy and his family; he'd do anything to save them. Thanks for reading my book review on Thunder from the Sea.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2008

    GREAT BOOK

    GREAT GREAT GREAT GREAT GREAT GREAT GREAT GREAT GREAT GREAT GREAT GREAT GGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRREEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAATTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRREEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAATTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT BOOK

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2