Customer Reviews for

Thunder in the Morning Calm (Pacific Rim Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted July 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    a super thriller

    .S. Navy Lieutenant Commander Gunner McCormick as the intelligence officer assigned to the Pacific Rim Carrier Strike Force 10 arrives at the office of Naval Intelligence in Suitland, Maryland for a top secret briefing on the fleet joining the South Koreans in a joint exercise in the Yellow Sea. However, the historical background catches Gunner's attention when the report states there are probably still POWs in North Korea though the "Forgotten War" ended in an armistice six decades ago.

    Back on the USS Harry Truman in the Yellow Sea, Gunner debriefs the officers and obtains permission for leave from Admiral Hampton as long as he leaves a number where he can be reached. He says he will spend time in Seoul. Thinking of part of the Soldier Creed "will never leave a fallen comrade" and using his inheritance, Gunner obtains the help of two retired soldiers, Jung-Hoon and Jackrabbit, to make a daring unauthorized three person commando raid to liberate the POWs.

    The entertaining first Pacific Rim military thriller will obviously remind readers of Rambo (even Gunner's recruits tell him that), but is much more as Don Brown places a spotlight on the Korean Police Action with its sixty years' armistice. The story line rotates between following Gunner and what has happened and is happening in a prison camp in North Korea. Although over the top of Baekdu Mountain, readers will appreciate this terrific rescue attempt with a fascinating late twist as Thunder In the Morning Calm is a super thriller that pays homage to our military especially those who fought in the 1950s in Korea.

    Harriet Klausner

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Once a Marine, always a Marine, and no one gets left behind in this mission!

    Gunner will get answers. Or he will die trying.

    Lieutenant Commander "Gunner" McCormick is assigned as an intelligence officer to Carrier Strike Force 10 - deployed to the Yellow Sea at the invitation of South Korea for joint exercises with the US Navy. During his pre-deployment briefing, he discovers a TOP-SECRET MEMO revealing rumors that the North Koreans may still be holding a handful of elderly Americans from the Korean War in secret prison camps.

    As it happens, Gunner's grandfather, who was a young Marine officer in the Korean War, disappeared at Chosin Reservoir over sixty years ago and is still listed as MIA in North Korea. Sworn to silence about what he has read, the top-secret memo eats at him. Gunner decides to spend all his inheritance and break every military regulation in the book to finance his own three-man commando squad on a suicide mission north of the DMZ to search for clues about the fate of his grandfather. Risking his career, his fortune, and his life, Gunner will get his answers, or he will die trying.

    My Review:

    I received Thunder In the Morning Calm by Don Brown compliments of Christian Fiction Blog Alliance for my honest review and I was not disappointed. After reading The Malacca Conspiracy, I knew I had to read this one as well. Don Brown's writing style is designed to capture you within the first chapter and from then on, he guarantees to keep you glued to the book until you finish the final page. Believing that there are still missing MIA's that are unaccounted for, I couldn't wait to get my hands on this book and see how it turns out.

    From the time, Gunner reads a small blurb outlined in a top-secret memo that it may or may not be true about MIA's still being held in North Korea in prison camps and that one of them may just be his missing grandfather, he takes a chance to fund a risky search and rescue mission. Relying on retired US Army Lt Colonel Jack Davenport "Jackrabbit" and retired Colonel Jung-Hoon Sohn of the Army of the Republic of Korea to help him locate the prison camps, Gunner is prepared to save any American being held there even if it turns out its not his grandfather.

    Where this journey will lead them will completely alter the lives of everyone involved and bring about an unexpected ending. I award this novel a perfect 5 out of 5 stars and can't wait to keep adding more novels by Don Brown to my library. If you love military, black ops, rescue stories, then this one will not disappoint but make you a fan for life!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2012

    I really enjoy reading military fiction. I'm no expert in navy t

    I really enjoy reading military fiction. I'm no expert in navy terminology and I found this book very understandable. It also provides maps of the places where Gunner and his team were going--this is very clarifying.

    Gunner is a Luitenant Commander on a navy ship, stationed in the Yellow Sea nearby South and North Korea. He heard about the possibility that older American Marines are held captive in North Korea. Gunner's grandfather was captured during the Korean war 60 years ago and he's determined to find out where those older American Marines are imprisoned and to free them and bring them back to their families in the US.

    Gunner asked for some time off to visit South Korea. He didn't tell the Admiral about his plans. He has contacted two retired warriors--an American living in South Korea nicknamed Jackrabbit and a South Korean Colonel named Jung Hoon. Both hate the communists and want to help Gunner on his mission to try to free the Americans.
    They start planning the mission and soon they're on their way to North Korea. Of course you can't get into North Korea very easily and they run into some resistance.
    Will they find the Americans? Will they all get out of North Korea alive?

    The author did a great job writing this book. I literally found myself on the edge of my seat a good couple of times. This was my first book by Don Brown and I'm looking forward to read more of his books.
    Great job, Don!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The North Korean War, Police Action, or Korean Conflict, whichev

    The North Korean War, Police Action, or Korean Conflict, whichever one would call it, occurred many years ago in the 1950’s and has been mostly forgotten except for those that survived, their families, and the families of those that were killed or missing. This excellently written story revolves around a prison camp in North Korea where a few American prisoners could possibly still exist from that war, now being quite old in their 80’s, if any survived. The story starts in a North Korean Prison where three that did survive that war were still alive but their day-to-day health was quite delicate. Their treatment, even for a healthy young prisoner, was torturous with no regard for age or health consideration. Keith, Robert, and Frank only existed, since no human should have had to endure those conditions. There was a woman that came in from outside the prison camp who would do some things to assist these men but she was limited to very little in the way of supplies.

    Lieutenant Commander Gunner McCormick, United States Navy, was summoned to a meeting at the secret location of the Office of Naval Intelligence, unaware of the subject of his meeting. When Gunner left the meeting he knew there was a possibility that some Marines still could be alive in North Korea and he would do anything to attempt to rescue them. Gunner traveled across the nation and was then flown to the aircraft carrier, The USS Harry Truman, which was in the Yellow Sea just off the Korean Coast. Thus started the adventures of Gunner that caused international intrigue, infiltration of enemy territory, battles of life or death, and even some live battles that were unexpected.

    The story takes Gunner from the ship and started him on his way to attempt to find some Marines that might or might not be alive. His travels through some very hostile areas, both militarily and where nature showed its fury, had danger with every step. Gunner had two others with him to assist him, John “Jackrabbit” Davenport, and Colonel Jung-Hoon, both of who had been in special missions most of their lives. They made a tight knit group who eventually bonded to safeguard each other’s lives during this dangerous and wild mission.

    You will learn a lot of history of the area, geography, people in general, and a vast knowledge of the locations of various important areas as you roam through enemy territory. Gunner’s grandfather had gone missing in North Korea. It was unknown if he survived or not but this quest to find any still existing prisoners prodded Gunner even harder. Don’t miss this adventure.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Thrilling

    This book pulls you in right from the beginning and does not let you go until the very end. A very good book to read. A great war time read without all the gore and swearing you see in so many other books

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    Must read

    A book every American should read. The truespirit of our military forces and Christains around the world. Could not put down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    God Bless America!

    If you enjoy books full of military operations, incompetent hostiles, and navy battles, this is a worthy book in those regards. The fact that everything came from a Christian standpoint made it even better. The mechanics of war are examined in an interesting way, watching them play out as a possible war approaches. Brown develops his characters well, even if they appear for a meager two pages. Gunner, determined to find Americans still held captive and give them freedom at last, keeps in prayer with God all the time. From the start of his deployment to the conclusion of his mission, he shows us that a person can really serve both God and America. God bless America. This book was provided free by Zondervan. I was not required to write a positive review, and the opinions expressed are my own.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    A Touching Military Action

    I really loved this book. It's full of military action and suspense, but the storyline is very touching. It is set in modern times and a young marine is stationed in the Yellow Sea when he finds out that POWs, listed as MIA from the North Korean War, might still be in North Korea and one of them might be his grandfather. At times this book had me holding my breath, but the ending was worth it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2011

    Great Story, Action Packed, Highly Recommended!

    This book captures your attention from beginning to end. It's the first book I've read by Don Brown but won't be the last. Our hero, Lt. Commander "Gunner" McCormick reads a top secret report about a joint exercise in the Yellow Sea. In it he reads a section which states there may be POW's in North Korea in a secret camp. He asks for and receives permission to take a leave in Seoul, there he recruits two retired soldiers and the action begins to locate that camp. His grandfather just might be one of those prisoners and if not, he would still bring those there home. It is indeed worth reading and you won't be disappointed...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    no disappoint here

    I'm a hard nosed sun-of-a-gun of 67 yrs, but I gotta tell ya, the ending of this book had me in tears. This is a must read. Will be reading more of Don Brown.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2011

    Must Read

    This is an action packed story that is set in modern times. Cdr McCormick, Intelligence Officer stationed aboard the U.S.S. Harry S. Truman, is recalled to the States for a briefing regarding a deployment in the Yellow Sea. Information contained in the briefing notes prompts the Cdr to request leave in order to pursue a personal mission. Thunder in the Morning Calm is an excellent example of christian fiction that will be enjoyable to all audiences. I recommend this as a must read to anyone who enjoys thrillers in the category of Flynn, Thor, Clancy, etc.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    Awesome story

    What an incredible story. I laughed and cried and cheered. I cannot even conceive of spending most of my life in a brutal prison forgotten by everyone but family. There are still about 8,000 missing. I will read more of Don Brown. He's already on my wish list. Highly recommened.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2011

    Could not put this book down!

    I love all of Don Brown's books but I think this latest is my favorite. It was a fantastic story with great characters. I could not put this book down and found myself at times holding my breath. I really enjoyed learning more about Korea and the Korean War.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2014

    Action-packed from start to finish, this unabashedly patriotic t

    Action-packed from start to finish, this unabashedly patriotic tale has the makings for a made-for-TV movie. This work is labeled faith-based fiction, and that theme is evident throughout.

    You may recognize performer Dick Hill from the Jack Reacher audiobooks. If you like his narration in that series, you will almost certainly enjoy this performance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    Mysticalfeather Bio

    Name
    Mysticalfeather

    Age
    Twenty seven moons

    Gender
    Female

    Appearance
    A silvery bengal with blue eyes

    Mate
    Looking

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    Enderstar

    Gender: tom | looks: black tom with purple eyes and half of his face is torn off | personality: negative |

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    mary higgins clark

    P

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    Cole

    Name/above. Age/12. Gender/boy. Rank/cadet.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    Exciting

    Good fast moving novel

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2013

    Recommended

    A fanciful, but entertaining yarn.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3