Customer Reviews for

Thunder of Heaven: A Joshua Jordan Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Absolutely Rivetting

This series is absolutely the most rivetting I have ever read, especially considering our world today.

posted by MyJunkNStuff on October 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Okay, but not great

Overview:
Not quite as climatic as the first book was, but still written well. Unfortunately, this book does have much more emphasis on the pre-mil point of view, which is a big detractor for me.

Plot:
I was surprised to see the strongly pre-millennialist Christi...
Overview:
Not quite as climatic as the first book was, but still written well. Unfortunately, this book does have much more emphasis on the pre-mil point of view, which is a big detractor for me.

Plot:
I was surprised to see the strongly pre-millennialist Christians in the book fighting to uphold that which they know to be right & good - or in other words, fighting for what they think they know they are going to lose. From what I know of pre-mils, dispensationalists in particular, it seems that according to their worldview they ought to wish for things to be getting worse, as they believe that this is inevitable anyway and the world needs to be in a state of almost total depravity for the Lord to return.

Other aspects of the plot were fairly well written, although, as I stated above, I liked the first book of the series much better.

Characters:
As in the first book of this series, one of the (christian) women in this book is in the military. This character also does a somewhat poor job guarding her heart.

However, I do appreciate the close bonds seen among the main family. They are not perfect, but they don't all seem to hate & despise each other - something which seems to be very prevalent in books nowadays.

Also, you might want to be aware of the fact that all of the Christians in this book are pre-mil, and that not once is there even of mention of the fact that not all Christians believe this way.

My Rating:
?????????? 5 out of 10 stars


I was given a free copy of this book by Zondervan in exchange for my honest review.

posted by HannahJane on June 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    Absolutely Rivetting

    This series is absolutely the most rivetting I have ever read, especially considering our world today.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2011

    Awesome

    This book was awesome I could hardly put it down. It kept my attention from beginning to end. I hope there will be more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    How close are we to hearing the rumbling of thunder in the distance?

    Joshua Jordan's reputation is on the line when his controversial RTS system fails to protect Flight 199 as it takes off from Chicago and is show down by a terrorist missile. The government is taking no chances and starts an investigation of Joshua's entire defense program. Unfortunately, the Israelis, longtime allies of the United States, are desperate for the technology. When Joshua flies to the Middle East to assure them of the RTS's reliability, he is captured by the Iranians who wan the secret for the defense tool for their own use.

    With Joshua out of the country, Abigail Jordan is left in charge of the Roundtable and sets out to defend her husband to the media and to the commission set up to investigate RTS. But America is under attack - a bombing in the Mall of America and rumors of even more potential atrocities have this covert team desperate to find additional bombs before they are set off.

    As man vs. man and nation vs. nation come together in an epic battle, nature takes over and makes the final blow. And as world events begin setting the stage for the "end of days' foretold in Revelation, Joshua Jordan must weigh the personal price he must pay to save the nation he loves.

    From Tim LaHaye, creator and coauthor of the world-renowned Left Behind Series - the most successful adult fiction series ever written - and Craig Parshall comes this epic story ripped from the headlines of world events and filtered through Scriptural prophecy. Set in the very near future, Thunder of Heaven chronicles the earth-shattering events leading up to the Apocalypse foretold in Revelation.

    My Review:

    I was sold from the first page and glued to this riveting fictional tale of the thunders of Biblical prophecy about to be unveiled in the latest sequel to Edge of Apocalypse. Not knowing which direction the threats would be coming from the terrorist plot for nuclear bombs within the US, to the imminent threat against Israel's demise from Iran, it seems like no place is safe anywhere on Earth. While the pages of the Bible get closer to Revelations final chapters, the story keeps the reader on the edge of their seat until end. This one rates a 5 out of 5 stars in my opinion and a must read for followers of Bible Prophecy, end-times fiction. Makes you wonder just how close are we to hearing the proverbial rumblings of thunder on the horizon even now.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2014

    Great

    If you don't feel the Holy Spirit and the hand of GOD in chapter 65 throughs the end of the second paragragh then your disconnected somewhere. Great read, better than the first book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2013

    Hello

    Is anyone on?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    Firepaw to Silverstar

    Firepaw waits

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    Silverkit

    Looks wistfully at the lucky kits.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    Silverstar

    Today is a important day for two kits snowkit come here snowkit till you earn your warrior name ou will be know as snowpaw your mentor will be spirtheart i hope you pas on all that you know to this younge apprentice now linchenkit come here till you earn your warroir name you will be know as linchenpaw your mentor will be spookyclaw i know you are a great warrior and i have know you for some moons i know that you will be a great mentor for this young apprentice teach him well. SNOWPAW LINCHENPAW SNOWW LINCHENPAW

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    RIVITING Couldnt put it down

    Just like the Left Behind Series I could not put this book down Amazing reading

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    I throughly enjoyed the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    RAWR

    Willowcloud|•| "MY NOOK IS JACKED UP!!!!!!"

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Intense with a clear salvation plan. Very Good!

    I really enjoyed reading this series. I liked how the book was written. It is engaging and thought provoking, relating the story line to things that can be happening now. Also I especially liked that salvation is clearly laid out to whomever chooses to seek it out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2011

    This is an awesome read, don't miss it.

    This is an awesome book. Tim LaHaye has done it again. The story grips you from the first few pages and you don't want to put it down. The political climate of the US is eerily close to present day. The desires of other nations to destroy the US and Israel is current. And the way they attempted to do it is so possible it is scarey. You have to wonder is there are secret groups meeting and acting to save America from plots of destruction that the government is ignoring. Then the way Israel survives is Biblical. I'm anxiously waiting for his next book. This is a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2