Customer Reviews for

Thunderstruck

Average Rating 4
( 199 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(69)

4 Star

(60)

3 Star

(48)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Great Book, Read the others

I have listned to Jacob's storm, and read Devil in the White City. I recommended those to everyone, and recommend this one, also. I have read other historical, non fiction books, but this author has a gift for making all the details of the social, scientific, and hostor...
I have listned to Jacob's storm, and read Devil in the White City. I recommended those to everyone, and recommend this one, also. I have read other historical, non fiction books, but this author has a gift for making all the details of the social, scientific, and hostorical events fit together. A terrific book! Read all of his others, too.

posted by Anonymous on February 20, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Rushed to print

Compared to 'Devil and the White City' this book was very disappointing. Written following the model of 'Devil' Larsen developed two themes,the story of a doctor who brutally kills his wife and the invention of the wireless communication by Marconi. Unfortunately, the b...
Compared to 'Devil and the White City' this book was very disappointing. Written following the model of 'Devil' Larsen developed two themes,the story of a doctor who brutally kills his wife and the invention of the wireless communication by Marconi. Unfortunately, the book lacks the extensive research needed to create the depth of character and environment so masterfully done in 'Devil'. Chapters end abruptly and story threads dangle. It seemed that Larsen was trying to capitalize on his 'Devil' success and rushed this one to print. I'm sorry I bought the hardcover and do not recommend it.

posted by Anonymous on January 24, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 200 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2007

    Great Book, Read the others

    I have listned to Jacob's storm, and read Devil in the White City. I recommended those to everyone, and recommend this one, also. I have read other historical, non fiction books, but this author has a gift for making all the details of the social, scientific, and hostorical events fit together. A terrific book! Read all of his others, too.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Another great book by Larson

    After reading "Devil in the White City" I downloaded "Thunderstruck". I was not disappointed. He has a wonderful way of drawing in the reader and adding twists and turns that are unexpected. His attention to detail and use of primary source documents are great for history fans. I will definitely be reading more from this author.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2009

    Very Well Done

    Well researched and well written. Interesting the way Larsen intertwines the invention of wireless with the story of the homicide and how wireless was used to catch the killer.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2010

    Great read!

    Loved this book! Almost as good as Devil in the White City.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2007

    A good read...

    I am not a fan of historicals but Devil in the White City converted me. This book gives you a 'feel' for the times and at the same time follows Marconi on his quest and the murderer, Crippen to his downfall. Altogether a good read.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2006

    A definate read for all Larson fans.

    Thunderstruck is a must read for any fan of Erik Larson, the amazing narration reminds one of Devil in the White City. Set around the time of Devil in the White City but in Europe the book follows a murdering couple and the invention of the device that would lead to their capture. An engrossing read that you cant put down after starting. 5 out of 5.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2007

    No Sophmore Slump here...

    Well written, and though it did not measure up to Devil in The White City, we shouldn't penalize him for not reaching the pinnacle he reached in DWC. This is still a fascinating book which of course blends historic data into a wonderful plot.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2011

    Great Book but not Larson's best

    I still think that Devil in the White City is Larson's best book to date. This book mimics the style of DitWC but is not nearly as strong a story to tell. Still a so-so book by Erik Larson is a lot better than much of what is out there. I recommend Isaac's Storm and Lethal Passage as books by Larson that I enjoyed more than this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2007

    Very Disappointed

    I was so excited to read this book. I loved Devil in the White City. But this book was a bore. You actually felt bad for Crippen. And the Marconi sections couldn't have been more dull. Unless you really want to tackle this book, pass on it.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2007

    Rushed to print

    Compared to 'Devil and the White City' this book was very disappointing. Written following the model of 'Devil' Larsen developed two themes,the story of a doctor who brutally kills his wife and the invention of the wireless communication by Marconi. Unfortunately, the book lacks the extensive research needed to create the depth of character and environment so masterfully done in 'Devil'. Chapters end abruptly and story threads dangle. It seemed that Larsen was trying to capitalize on his 'Devil' success and rushed this one to print. I'm sorry I bought the hardcover and do not recommend it.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    A bit boring.

    Not nearly as good as White City. Interesting info about Marconi etc. but the story itself is rather boring. Just my opinion.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    Fascinating read!

    History with a mystery! Highly recommend.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2011

    Not near as good as Devil in the White City.

    I found the story disjointed. Larson would move from Marconi to Crippen and back without any cohesion. The time frames kept changing back and forth: 1904, 1910, 1903. Not sure if Larson or the editors are at fault here. I think there are two books in here: one on Marconi's wireless with the scientific backbiting and a second story about Crippen, Belle and the New Scotland Yard. It took awhile to figure out relation of title to wireless telegraphy. I read the whole book expecting to read about Marconi's experiments in Atlantic Highlands,NJ at the Twin Lights Lighthouse but there was no mention of it. It was disappointing. I should have borrowed this from the library and saved my money.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2007

    Not his best

    I was a bit disappointed--perhaps my expectations were a bit high after reading Devil and Storm. I ,too, found the story of Marconi a bit tedious, and Dr. Crippen a hopelessly boring character whose actions, though heinous, weren't all that hard to fathom. It's a 'I wish I waited for the paperback.'

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    Not Devil in the White City

    Boring and tedious compared to his other works. The Marconi portions of the book ruined an otherwise interesting story. I'd pass on this book if I could do it over again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    Ok not the best

    Not the best

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2011

    Highly recommended

    Fascinating story. Everyone knows that Marconi "invented" the wireless, but the actual account is much more interesting. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys reading about history.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2011

    Another Larson great!

    Another dual storyline tale from Erik Larson. Great read about a the invention of wireless communication and its use in the capture of wanted man for a horrific crime.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2006

    Fasinating but rather tedious

    The parallels between Marconi and Crippen are something only Larsen could dream up. In my opinion, it gets a bit tiresome reading about Marconi's new towers and how mild mannered Dr. Crippen is. When the chase is on at the end the book is worthwhile but it will take patience to wait that long

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2014

    Extus Moon

    I dont know where that is

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 200 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10