Customer Reviews for

Thursdays at Eight

Average Rating 4
( 88 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 88 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted September 30, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    BRILLIANT, INSIGHTFUL AND MOST ENDEARING!

    THURSDAYS AT EIGHT is heart warming, sweet, and just wonderful! I want to be the characters' friend! Macomber writes with such great humor, heart and grace. Four friends meet for breakfast and coffee every Thursday and share their lives with each other, their struggles, accomplishments, and the inner workings of their minds. This is wonderfully sentimental and genuine as we watch their individual growth from the encouragement from each other. This is brilliant, insightful and most endearing!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A touching, heartfelt wonderful story!

    This is a wonderful book about four women who attend a journal writing class and decide to continue meeting every Thursday at Eight.
    Liz is a widow in her late fifties whose children have moved out of town. Claire is in her forties and went through an ugly divorce and is raising two teenage sons. Julia is turning forty and Karen is in her twenties. Four women, four different points of view and each facing different problems; they all experience great changes in their lives and look to each other for advice and support. This is a wonderful book of camaraderie that brings warmth and good feelings to the heart.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    WONDERFUL

    I just recently received this book from a coworker earlier this week.I was reading another book at the time but left that one at home and she gave me this-she had finished it.anyway I started reading it at lunch time then when I got home later that night after doing some things I picked it back up and finished it at 1am-I couldn't put it down!I laughed and I cried.I was tired the next day but it was worth it.I have read MANY of your books over the years but this one tugs at your heart strings!I truly recommend this book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2008

    My Favorite Debbie Macomber book.

    Out of all Debbie Macomber's books this has to be my favorite. I enjoyed the Cedar Cove series and the Good Yarn series but this is the book that I continue to remember. It is thought provoking and the stories of the women are profound. I read very few books twice and this is one I will read again.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    insightful interealtionships of four women

    The four women met at a university class. Each one needs something different because undesirable change has come into their respective lives. Though on the surface they share little in common, the female quartet meet every Thursday at 8:00 AM at the Mocha Moments Café and experience the camaraderie that helps them adapt to unwanted change. <P>Over thirteen months divorced with two teenage sons, Clare Craig seeks new beginnings, but still feels haunted by her spouse¿s desertion for a younger woman. Though her husband died six years ago, fifty-seven years old Liz Kenyon still grieves him as memories of his last moments when the semi hit his vehicle haunts her though she was not there to see him die. Still in her twenties, Karen Curtis still believes in her high school drama class dream though no one else, including her parents and Jeff, does. This forces her to grow up and think of abandoning her deepest desires. Julia Murcheson turns forty this year and begins to feel the empty nest syndrome as her teens get nearer to college, that is until she learns she is pregnant. <P>Debbie Macomber shows why she is one of the most powerful, highly regarded authors on the stage today. THURSDAYS AT EIGHT is a brilliant, insightful look at relationships through the interaction of four women, who depend on one another and their weekly breakfast to survive radical change. Each of the main protagonists seem real and their problems genuine, as many reader will testify. The four subplots cleverly blend into a great contemporary tale that demonstrate why Ms. Macomber consistently provides some of the best literature in new and used bookstores. <P>Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2001

    Another Macomber Hit!

    This is a book you just don't want to end. Macomber makes her characters come to life. Each of them are like people you know and are going through much of the same things in their lives.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2001

    Avid Debbie Macomber fan from Northern Maine

    Let me just say BRAVO! I am an avid fan of Debbie Macomber and have read many of her books. This one tops all of them. I think Debbie could easily make a series of books out of this one. I would like to see a book on each of these women seperatly, and then another book that brings them all together. There a few unanswered questions about these women, and I hope this isn't her only book about these very interesting ladies. I have resorted to trying to find some of her out of print books because I have read all of the ones in print. I am glad she is re-releasing some of her older material so I have a chance to read the out of prints. I highly reccomend anything by Mrs. Macomber

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2013

    Thursdays at Eight is the 65th stand-alone novel by popular Amer

    Thursdays at Eight is the 65th stand-alone novel by popular American author, Debbie Macomber. In this novel, Macomber takes what are essentially four short stories and entwines them by having the main characters meet on Thursdays at Eight for breakfast, chat, love and support. The women are quite different, not just their ages, but also their attitude to life. Clare’s husband left her for a younger woman: her sons are angry and she is stunned by how much anger and bitterness she still feels towards her ex, even a year after their acrimonious divorce. Then her youngest son starts to meet with his father in secret. Hospital Administrator, Liz is managing to cope with being a widow, but her loneliness is intensified by her daughter’s family moving to another state, and her son moving out of home. Then, a slightly younger paediatrician with a womanising reputation sets out to woo her, but does she want what he’s offering? Substitute teacher and would-be actress, Karen wishes her mother would just accept her as she is and stop comparing her with her respectable sister. But is the life her sister has quite as perfect as everyone believes? With her fledgling yarn shop finally taking off, Julia is pleased with her life at forty, until she finds she is pregnant. Macomber uses two formats to present her stories: each woman keeps a journal and these entries, together with third-person narration, tell the story. Macomber manages to touch on many aspects of everyday life: divorce, grief and loss, cancer, empty-nest syndrome, domestic violence, late-in-life pregnancy, career choices, selfish teenagers and crack babies. Each chapter is prefaced with an interesting and often funny quote from a well-known woman. There are lots of words of wisdom in this feel-good offering from Debbie Macomber.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2009

    Thursdays at Eight

    As with other Debbie Maccomber books Thursdays at Eight gets you involved with the lives of the characters in the story. The difference with this one is it the lives of four women who do not live in the same neighborhood nor are they conncect by family. It has some very interesting twists to the life stores of each women. Enjoyed it very much.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2006

    What friendship is all about

    I love this book so much that I bought two copies and keep sharing it with friends. I now read as many of this author's book as I can. One friend that I introduced this author too reads McComber's books to her blind sister.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2003

    Read it----Read it--It is just great!!

    This is the first book I have read by Debbie Macomber. I found it in the drug store and liked the attractive cover and reading about the synopsis of it, made me inquisitive. What a great story. I love , love the characters. It is so well-written, one wants to read every sentence. I know it is old hat to say' I couldn't put it down.' But I couldn't -it was so good. I didn't want to finish it.I absolutely want to read more writings from this author. She is a great writer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    Bonds of friendship and the power of women

    The bonds of friendship are often the strength we need to manuever difficulr situations in life and give us hope. The love, motivation, and power that can come from a group of dedicated women is amazing. These two vital elements are distinctly brought out in this book. Grab your kleenx too. When I need hope I turn to this book to give me a boost.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2012

    If Debbie Macomber writes it, you know it's great!

    Ms. Macomber's books are always great to read. They're heartwarming and memorable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A sweet story

    I've read this author before. This was a sweet story, but I did'nt feel that the characters were in sync with each other. They did not seem truly connected. Something was missing, but it was a sweet idea.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2011

    A must read!

    This book is written so well. If you like this authir you'll love this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Macomber Best story!

    The characters were written so real, the issues they encountered and special moments they shared are what I enjoyed the most. I actually purchased a few copies and sent to some special friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2010

    As expected

    Debbie Macomber always comes thru. Great rainy day read, not too much thinking involved just a nice escape.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good Quick Read

    A good quick read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2005

    great read! :)

    This was the first book I have read by Debbie Macomber and I think I will find some more of hers to read. WOW! From the start of the book, I was envious of the friendship that the four women had. I absolutely couldn't put this book down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2005

    Great Read!

    I enjoyed this book. It gives a great look out on how women's lives differ. I enjoyed reading the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 88 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5