Customer Reviews for

Thursdays in the Park

Average Rating 4
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Written to best relate to the 60+ reader, this story can serve t

Written to best relate to the 60+ reader, this story can serve to give younger readers food for thought with all of the questions about love and relationships that Hilary Boyd poses with her character Jeanie.  Thirty years married to her husband George, their lack of in...
Written to best relate to the 60+ reader, this story can serve to give younger readers food for thought with all of the questions about love and relationships that Hilary Boyd poses with her character Jeanie.  Thirty years married to her husband George, their lack of intimacy is a subject not touched upon: instead Jeanie fills her life with children, friends and grandchildren, and her weekly outing to the park on Thursdays.  




The regular weekly outing is mirrored by Ray and his grandson, and the two take steps as they  get to know one another.  Where George is close mouthed and ignores her, Ray listens, is charming and appears to be in touch with his emotions.   Jeanie finds herself examining her life: was the right one the one she had built a life and family with, or the one who made her feel wanted, desired and heard? 




What emerges is a softly growing romance, with a journey of searching on Jeanie’s part: wondering just how her life might have been different, or might be if she were bolder.  Solidly comfortable with a sense of the middle class white picket fence families, this story resonates with readers of all ages.  Familiar refrains of thoughts of ‘what if’ or ‘what may have been’ and beautifully wrought prose make this a comfortable and enjoyable read for a quiet afternoon. 




I received an eBook copy from the publisher via Edelweiss for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility. 

posted by gaele on October 1, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Smarmy rationalizations for a cheating wife. Aside from that, no

Smarmy rationalizations for a cheating wife. Aside from that, not badly written.

posted by elpolloflatulato on February 13, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Written to best relate to the 60+ reader, this story can serve t

    Written to best relate to the 60+ reader, this story can serve to give younger readers food for thought with all of the questions about love and relationships that Hilary Boyd poses with her character Jeanie.  Thirty years married to her husband George, their lack of intimacy is a subject not touched upon: instead Jeanie fills her life with children, friends and grandchildren, and her weekly outing to the park on Thursdays.  




    The regular weekly outing is mirrored by Ray and his grandson, and the two take steps as they  get to know one another.  Where George is close mouthed and ignores her, Ray listens, is charming and appears to be in touch with his emotions.   Jeanie finds herself examining her life: was the right one the one she had built a life and family with, or the one who made her feel wanted, desired and heard? 




    What emerges is a softly growing romance, with a journey of searching on Jeanie’s part: wondering just how her life might have been different, or might be if she were bolder.  Solidly comfortable with a sense of the middle class white picket fence families, this story resonates with readers of all ages.  Familiar refrains of thoughts of ‘what if’ or ‘what may have been’ and beautifully wrought prose make this a comfortable and enjoyable read for a quiet afternoon. 




    I received an eBook copy from the publisher via Edelweiss for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility. 

    17 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    Smarmy rationalizations for a cheating wife. Aside from that, no

    Smarmy rationalizations for a cheating wife. Aside from that, not badly written.

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    Loved this book!

    Loved the story line, the characters and the ending! It's so refreshing to read a book with realistic people in this age group (50+) when most romance stories are all about the 20-somethings and their rich boyfriends!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    Well done

    Manipulation personafied. It is hard to realize it in long term marriages. When one does resist, they are made to think it is their fault. One person calls all the shots, therefore has all the power. Like being caught in quicksand. Before you know lt ,it is too late to do anything about it. I have seen it countless times throughout my life. Every women should read this story. Maggie

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    Inspiring

    What a great book. The author put it together perfectly. Very heart warming, decisions to make. You can love someone but not be in love with them. Well worth reading

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2014

    I really, really enjoyed reading this book. It's relevant in to

    I really, really enjoyed reading this book. It's relevant in today's world, where people of a certain age are not considered old or seniors and are still emotional, sexual and loving people. The relationships in this book are very easy to relate to and I also enjoyed the ending. I highly recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2014

    Very Good Reading!

    This takes place in England. What I loved about this book is that it was a story middle aged women could relate tono matter what country you live in. I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2014

    Yes! Finally A book to relate to

    Really got into this book. So down to earth. Can't tell you how it relates to so many women. She stood up to what her own needs and wants were. So many of us feel we have to "obey and serve" our husbands and others and, completely forget about ourselves. To have someone always call you Old Girl when you are a young 60, that deflates your self-ego, and makes you want to just scream! And to find love at that age is wonderful. We are wives, not their mothers! Are there any more books by Ms Boyd? Want to read all of them if they are as good as Thursdays in the Park. A must read for every woman! Couldn't put it down until all was read>

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    I would not recommend this :(

    I thought this might be interesting in 'the human condition' way, but, was not impressed with the writing and as a result didn't finish it :(

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2014

    Would recommend to friends

    I liked this book a lot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2014

    A book about mature love.....

    Very sweet book, a little slow in spots but still a worthy read. Book has to do with "mature" love, loss, change and the effects of all these themes on a family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    inspirational

    must read if you believe in heavenly encounters or have had such an experience, which I have.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    The perfect summer read.

    I enjoyed the English dialog.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    Only So So

    Found it a slow read and a little bit far fetched.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    Oh yeah

    Bby hey

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    I think this is one of the best books that I have read in a long

    I think this is one of the best books that I have read in a long time. I like that is a couple in sixties as that is my age .Also, that it is set in London. I enjoy books that are set in London, Ireland or Scotland for a change. It reminds of Rosemunde Pltcher or Maeve .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    The story line catches your interest.

    The book was really good. reminds me of Wednesdays with Shorty, a love story of my own.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    I really liked this book.jeaniedid not try to start an affair it

    I really liked this book.jeaniedid not try to start an affair it just happens.the story was really good for a little older group of people .at times happy other times sad ,a book I really didn't want to end.it was well written and you could relate to the story.Carol

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2014

    Thursdays in the Park

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book, well done. It was an easy read, a lot of strong feelings with patient love, sadness, also respect for others feelings. Great story. A good book for a book club discussion.
    I would read more books by this author.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2014

    highly recommended

    loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2