Customer Reviews for

Thyroid Diet Plan: How to Lose Weight, Increase Energy, and Manage Thyroid Symptoms

Average Rating 4.5
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    Although I have a healthy thyroid, a member of my family does no

    Although I have a healthy thyroid, a member of my family does not so I read this book to learn more about the condition. The book is very informative and translates medical jargon into easy to understand language. This is a practical guide that includes recipes and menu planning to help control the condition. Most ingredients in the recipes are things you probably already have in your pantry. Very useful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    Thyroid Diet Plan is my go-to weapon for managing hypothyroidism

    Thyroid Diet Plan is my go-to weapon for managing hypothyroidism. It outlines a solid multi-faceted plan:  careful identification of food allergies, proper determination of BMR(Base Metabolic Rate), a diet to optimize nutrition absorption/caloric intake and proper exercise. It also supplies a 30 day diet plan complete with recipes. It touches on all of the issues working against somebody suffering from thyroid related issues and discusses the best ways to counter them. If you’re looking to beat hypothyroidism, this is a fantastic place to start.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    If you¿ve been diagnosed with hyperthyroidism, this book is a gr

    If you’ve been diagnosed with hyperthyroidism, this book is a great start to knowing what is happening in your body and how to fix it. There are tons of recipes that look really tasty and a lot of guidelines for foods to eat and avoid. Plus how exercise plays a major roll in getting it under control.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    This is one of the most knowledgeable books on thyroid disease I

    This is one of the most knowledgeable books on thyroid disease I have ever read. If you have thyroid disease and you don’t know what to do, this is just the book you need. With this book, you are armed with the knowledge and understanding of thyroid disease, treatment methods, and even a 30 day meal plan that breaks down your healthy meals daily from breakfast to dinner, plus easy to make snack foods that you can enjoy at any time. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2013

    Did you know that 59 million Americans suffer from thyroid disea

    Did you know that 59 million Americans suffer from thyroid disease? Neither did I. This diet book touches on symptoms of the disorder, and then offers ways to treat them through proper nutrition, exercise, and meal planning. Even if you don’t have a thyroid problem, this book still functions as an excellent health guide, and the fact that it features a meal plan and lots of tasty recipes makes it seem like you’re getting two books in one! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2013

    Great Resource, Great Recipes  This book is a great tool for th

    Great Resource, Great Recipes

     This book is a great tool for those recently diagnosed with a thyroid disorder.  It offers great insight into how the thyroid functions and how our lifestyle plays a major role in regards to its well-being.  The book concludes with a 30 day diet plan which contains nutritional and delicious recipes for anyone interested in living a healthy lifestyle. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    This is an excellent book on the thyroid gland and its functions

    This is an excellent book on the thyroid gland and its functions.   It explains in easy-to-understand terms how all the food types work to nourish our bodies.  It goes on to show how certain foods will react negatively on the thyroid gland and those foods which promote healthy thyroid function.  If you presently take thyroid medications or you have just been diagnosed with thyroid issues, this book can guide you to achieving the very best results from medication and proper diet to maintain thyroid health and function.  The best part of the book are the recipes!!  This would also make a nice gift for your favorite health "foodie" or anyone else who enjoys cooking, to say nothing of it showing how varied healthy eating can be.  Even if you are perfectly healthy and don't have thyroid issues, this would be a welcome addition to anyone's library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2013

    This book totally changed the way that I think about my thyroid

    This book totally changed the way that I think about my thyroid condition. I had no idea that changing your diet could make you feel so much better! In just a few days, I feel like I've already rebalanced my whole body, so I can't wait to see what happens next. All the recipes I've tried were really tasty and the advice sections are great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    This book is really helpful for anyone with thyroid problems. No

    This book is really helpful for anyone with thyroid problems. Not only does it tell you about symptoms but it also, walks you through every step of testing and treatment. It also explains what the thyroid does, which was helpful for me because I knew nothing about it. The most helpful part for me was the explanation foods to eat and avoid. This section included 30 days worth of meals with recipes. This really kick started my ability to deal with my thyroid because it gave me an easy starting place. I would definitely recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2013

    The Thyroid Diet Plan is a great book in helping to identify thy

    The Thyroid Diet Plan is a great book in helping to identify thyroid problems and whether you should get tested. At the beginning of the book, there is detailed explanation on symptoms of thyroid conditions and what happens during testing. The breakdown of how your metabolism is affected by your thyroid helps to understand and identify problems with weight loss. All of the information portrayed in the book is clearly written and easy to understand. In addition, the book includes recipes and a thirty day meal plan to help you shed any weight that you have gained due to thyroid disease. This book will definitely help someone understand their thyroid disease and get it in check.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    The Thyroid Diet Plan is an introduction to the thyroid gland, w

    The Thyroid Diet Plan is an introduction to the thyroid gland, why we need it, and what happens when it is not functioning optimally. But, this book is so much more, as it basically offers valuable advice on losing weight, having more energy, and getting healthier. Americans are getting fatter and unhealthier every year; though this book is ostensibly about the thyroid, it offers plenty of solutions for our unhealthy diets and lifestyles. The recipe section, filled with delicious concoctions, makes this book stand out from the rest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    A Plan for Overcoming Thyroid Disease  Poor lifestyle choices ha

    A Plan for Overcoming Thyroid Disease 
    Poor lifestyle choices have resulted in millions of Americans suffering from thyroid disease. This
    book provides a primer on the thyroid gland, including its role in regulating metabolism, which in turn
    directly affects weight control and other health issues. While genetic effects on metabolism are
    inescapable, the reader will gain valuable insights on how proper diet and sensible exercise can
    reduce or eliminate symptoms. The 30-day meal plan and extensive recipe collection are truly
    impressive and give the reader a dietary road map to achieving good thyroid health. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    The Thyroid Diet Plan is a great book! It helped me to understan

    The Thyroid Diet Plan is a great book! It helped me to understand Thyroid disorders and how to use clean eating and exercise to get my body on a healthier track. In my opinion, the first step to a healthy lifestyle is knowledge. This book definitely gave me that as well as an easy food plan to follow. I will definitely be passing along this book to others!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2013

    I would recommend "The Thyroid Diet Plan" to anyone on

    I would recommend "The Thyroid Diet Plan" to anyone on the journey to living a healthier lifestyle. With 30 simple and delicious meal plans that will have your mouth watering, your body will thank you for reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This book offers a wealth of information on the function of the

    This book offers a wealth of information on the function of the thyroid, its relationship within the body and detailed information on the symptoms it causes when related to illness. You will acquire in depth information about the science behind the hormonal balances of the thyroid gland, its effects throughout the body as well as the current medications, supplements and treatments that are available on today’s market to help treat thyroid conditions. The best part of all is the recipes and detailed dieting plans that cover every aspect of healthy eating imaginable. This book is a perfect source for a healthy balanced every day diet, which you could really learn from even if you don’t have thyroid issues at all. The recipes are amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2013

    If you experiencing unexplained weight gain or loss, fatigue, ca

    If you experiencing unexplained weight gain or loss, fatigue, carpal tunnel syndrome, depression, dry skin, shortness of breath, or heart palpitations, you might have thyroid issues. The Thyroid Diet Plan: How to Lose Weight, Increase Energy, and Manage Thyroid Symptoms is a comprehensive guide to self-diagnosing and improving thyroid function through exercise and diet. Even if you are currently taking medication for hyperthyroidism or hypothyroidism, this book provides abundant exercise tips and delicious recipes that will help boost and maintain healthy thyroid function while revving up your metabolism. A 30-day meal plan, which includes recipes for breakfast, lunch, dinner, dessert, and snacks, helps you kick-start a new eating regimen; exercise tips help you kick-start your metabolism to achieve optimum health. The yummy and super easy recipes feature lean protein, such as fish, legumes, eggs, and chicken, whole grains, and lots of fruits and veggies. Who thought you could eat Banana Cream Pie Parfaits, Baked Ziti, Bouillabaisse, Banana Bread, Deviled Eggs, and Hearty Clam Spaghetti and still lose weight?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2013

    The Thyroid Diet Plan is a shocking expos¿ as to what we¿ve been

    The Thyroid Diet Plan is a shocking expos¿ as to what we’ve been going to our bodies. According to The Thyroid Diet Plan, one study conducted by Stanford University, found newborn babies had extremely high, toxic levels of DDT, mercury and lead in the babies’ first poopy-diaper. Next, another test was conducted by the Mt. Sinai School of Medicine and found over 160 in ”industrial” chemicals in the patients' blood. If these studies are any indication as to the national profile, we need to read The Thyroid Diet Plan. The recipes may seem complex but give them a chance. They're delicious! Further, did you also know that a healthy thyroid actually stops all those food cravings? This means we will lose weight. Let's get our thyroids checked, because according to The Thyroid Diet Plan, this small, humble gland controls everything!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2013

    This book offers a thirty day meal plan that will appeal to anyo

    This book offers a thirty day meal plan that will appeal to anyone: losing weight and eating thyroid healthy become a gourmet project that will spoil you, not deprive you. Fabulous recipes like the grilled eggplant pesto stack, hearty clam spaghetti, Moroccan tomato and roasted red pepper salad, spicy scrambled eggs, and mouthwatering smoothies will please the whole family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2013

    Whether you have a thyroid condition or just want to eat healthi

    Whether you have a thyroid condition or just want to eat healthier, this book gives you the resources to do that in a tasty way. I like that it explained so much about the medical side and gave hints on managing medications before eating. The recipes are new and different, they will appeal to both adventurous cooks and those preferring the “tried and true”.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2013

    The Thyroid Diet Plan is easy to read and understand.

    The Thyroid Diet Plan is easy to read and understand. The book explains what the functions of the thyroid gland are and how it affects the entire body when it does not work properly. By making small changes to our diet and managing stress we can reduce inflammation which helps strengthen the thyroid and our entire body. The meal planner makes it easy to try out different food combinations while the recipes offer healthy alternatives without giving up flavor. This a great book to reference back to again and again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2