Customer Reviews for

Tiassa (Vlad Taltos Series #13)

Average Rating 4
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    Very disappointing.

    I wasted enough time reading this book, but I had to give a warning to prospective readers. Don't bother, it doesn't move the story forward, it doesn't present a story in and of itself. This book is obviously just something that was knocked out quickly in an attempt to be clever and make some quick cash for the author.

    If you must read it, get it at the library, or borrow it from some poor sucker that already bought it, personally, I wish I could get my money back.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2011

    Disappointing

    I read Steven Brust avidly, In the dozen or so books in the Vlad series plus the Khaavren Romances; The Phoenix Guards, Five Hundred Years After,
    The Paths of the Dead, The Lord of Castle Black and Sethra Lavode. I have rarely missed picking one up within days of publishing.

    This is the first time I truly wish I could get my money back. This story seems to be a a loose collection of short stories, loosely related. The final section leaves you scratching your head, completely unsatisfied as you feel like it ended in the middle of the story.

    Shame on you, Mr. Brust, and shame on your publisher for putting such a poor example of your wonderful skills on the shelves.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2011

    A bit of let down

    Unfortunately to me this is the weakest book in the whole Vlad series:(
    The whole book felt like several short stories poorly tied together - practically no connection to the story line in Iorich which I guess is what I really hoped for.... Overall its worth reading as a part of an excellent series as it does add small touches to the overall story but I could not recommend it on its own strengths...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2014

    Awesome

    This book is essentially a series of short stories that involve one object. This novel also reveals some mysteries that have been swirling about the series for some time.

    Take your time and re-read the entire series before reading this book and this novel be much more enjoyable. That includes the side stories set in this universe.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    I do not recommend the 13th book unless you just have to have the set

    I will start by saying that I have read all the Vlad and the The Khaavren Romances, I love reading this Author. But this 13th book is a disappointment. The story line did not carry on from book 12, and more to the point it felt like it had been hastily thrown together as a bunch of short with a weak connection around the Silver Tiassa. Even the writing style switched between that of a Vlad story and that used in Phoenix Guard.
    For me it was not worth the price and instead of tying up loose ends it just created more, like who and what was the strange Visitor that Sethra introduced at the beginning to Vlad. and what did it have to do with the rest of the book, nothing.
    Sorry Mr Brust, not you best effort.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2011

    Not Brust's best work

    A disappointing work that lacks continuity, resolution and focus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2012

    Taltos is extra yummy goodness every time.

    As the taltos series has matured, and now that vlad is effectively immortal if he plays it fairly safe, it has been a lovely read across all the books.

    I have been a huge fan of Brust since the first thing I read, and so far he has never failed to entertain.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 29, 2012

    Tiassa is excellent

    This is another of Brust's intriguing, non-linear series and belongs with the rest.

    Don S.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2011

    Brust is back on track

    Tiassa is a return to form for Steven Brust in several ways: not only is it an interwoven tale of Vlad and Khaavren of the Phoenix Guards, but it's also a return (in parts) to the young Vlad. The different threads of the narrative touch on almost every character in the series, including a certain little girl who may or may not exist, but can trip through time.

    My only complaint is that it's just too short; I always want more. Very highly recommended.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3