Customer Reviews for

Tick Tock

Average Rating 4
( 169 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(75)

4 Star

(53)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

"Tick Tock"

My favorite Koontz book of all time. Koontz takes his reader's on a creepy scary adventure of a ride while throwing in some of the funniest lines and most interesting characters he's ever written. You'll love this book. Creepy and scary but I laughed so many times wh...
My favorite Koontz book of all time. Koontz takes his reader's on a creepy scary adventure of a ride while throwing in some of the funniest lines and most interesting characters he's ever written. You'll love this book. Creepy and scary but I laughed so many times while reading it I couldn't put it down and had to read it in one sitting. You will love the characters and the plot.

posted by PatsyAnn on November 16, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

THE WORST

The worst book I have ever read . I was so mad I wasted my time reading this . I mean really I thought Dean Koontz kid wrote this .

posted by Dr-Spaghetti on June 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 169 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted November 16, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    "Tick Tock"

    My favorite Koontz book of all time. Koontz takes his reader's on a creepy scary adventure of a ride while throwing in some of the funniest lines and most interesting characters he's ever written. You'll love this book. Creepy and scary but I laughed so many times while reading it I couldn't put it down and had to read it in one sitting. You will love the characters and the plot.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This caught me off guard

    I got to admit I couldnt get past page 60 because it was just humorously weird and the lead character tommy phan didnt get my attention. But once again I ran out of books to read so I gave it another try and yet again I'm glad I did. It is very offbeat and quirky and weird and pretty humorous and when they introduce the second main character "del payne" thats when the book really takes off. She comes into the story around page 70 or so and from there the story quickens and doesnt disappoint. next to "rya rayne" from twilight eyes , del payne is my favorite character ever developed. Then again my taste is very different. But for the doubters who couldnt get through this book I really suggest you give it another shot and see if you dont fall inlove with del and her smartass humorous/G.I. Jane personality......

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2008

    The Reason

    Some people don't like this book because it's not scary. You have to understand the reason behind it. DK wrote this book after finishing Dark Rivers of the Heart, one of his darkest stories. When you write such a dark book it can consume you. He wrote Tick Tock as a release for all that darkness. Personally I thought it was refreshing and fantastic. I'm half Filipino so I love the asian love from Dean. I'm also a hopeless romantic (don't tell anyone or I'll thump ya) and found this book to be very much so in a supernatural sci-fi sorta way.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    Great book!

    This book mixes some awesome "comic-relief" dialouge with intense action sequences, throw a little violence mixed with a love story and you got thus story. It was a great read, I couldn't put it down!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    Too Funny!! Very much recommended!

    This is probably the only book I've read of Dean Koontz that actually made me laugh!! I did get tired of the 'Vette obsession in the first few chapters, but then it got to going and I thoroughly enjoyed it. After all the DARK, DARK stuff Koontz writes this was a refreshing, funny read. I especially liked all the dialogue, fun, snappy, good to read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A very off-beat read

    The characters were somewhat weak and I almost got annoyed reading this book because I wanted the story to pick up in the middle.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    THE WORST

    The worst book I have ever read . I was so mad I wasted my time reading this . I mean really I thought Dean Koontz kid wrote this .

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2006

    Not What I expected

    This is the only book by Mr. Koontz that I have not liked. The only reason I had even bought this book was because I had thought that it was a sequel to Dragon Tears, my all time favorite book, but boy was I wrong. I mean why would an author make a title of a book the same name a person in another book was given, it's just misleading. But besides any ties to other books, I thought it was kinda boring and the end was very anti-climatic, I would explain why I think that but I don't want to ruin it for anyone.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2003

    Not good enough...

    Although the book kept me at the edge of my seat as I read how the two main characters played hide-and-seek with the 'villian', I was sort of disappointed when I came to point where the truth is told. After all the hype and actions in more than 1/2 of the book, I had thought that the monster is something more that. It has lifted me high up into the air only to let me fall down.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    Um

    I started to read it and had to put it down. VERY slow beginning and I just couldn't get into it, but you could give it a try. Love Dean Koontz anyway.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very entertaining.

    What do you say to a humorous supernatural thriller? I enjoyed it so much. The tongue-in-cheek humor throughout was refreshing. The ghoul amazing. And the characters are superb. I read this novel quickly as it is a little shorter than some. You'll love "Delivery Payne" and "Tommy Phan" the main characters. Enjoy it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2011

    great

    loved this book so much I sat for the entire day reading it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2011

    This one got me hooked!

    Ticktock is the first Koontz novel I read, years ago. I managed to lose my copy and though I have read this one at least three times over the years I cannot wait to read it again. LOL funny andu suspenseful at the same time. I consider this one a 'must read'.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2010

    More Off the Wall than Usual

    SLOW, SLOW to start but as I got into it, I started liking it. Rather "different" from my experience with reading Dean Koontz, not quite as creepy as he normally writes. Then, when it finally dawns on you that this is actually more comedic, it's rather a hoot! Enjoyed it overall.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2009

    My favorite Dean Koontz book

    I wanted to give up on the book, but hung in there to be happily surprised. Great humor, unusual twists, terrific ending. Great stuff!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    weird

    This book is just plain weird and I felt kinda detached from the characters..not one of Koontz best books.Read Phantoms,now that's a good book.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2009

    this was great lol

    this book was hilarous! It was just wonderful. Every happened just as I wanted it to with the two main characters. For the people that are looking for a scary book, you need to find a different one, becasue this one was writen to lighten Koontz's mood after writing his most dark and complex book Dark Rivers of The Heart. But I absoutly loved this book, although I thought the end was kinda strange at first, I really liked it lol.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2008

    Dean Koontzs' Tick Tock is a masterpiece

    Tick Tock is an outstanding book full of suspensful twists and turns which will have readers hungry for more. I give this book six out of five stars and reccomend it to an older audiance. this book is a must have for fiction lovers!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2008

    Fun and enjoyable

    Very humorous and fun to read. Great characters with a funny and interesting storyline. Love the ending. Recommended to anyone that just wants to take a step out of reality for a little bit.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2003

    Ummm

    This book was exciting for the first seven chapters. Then, the rug was pulled from under it. I have a theory as to what happened: Dean was writing the script and when he was up to chapter 8, his wife informed him that 'Dinner's ready', so he threw together a quick ending.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 169 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9