Customer Reviews for

Tick Tock

Average Rating 4
( 169 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(75)

4 Star

(53)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

"Tick Tock"

My favorite Koontz book of all time. Koontz takes his reader's on a creepy scary adventure of a ride while throwing in some of the funniest lines and most interesting characters he's ever written. You'll love this book. Creepy and scary but I laughed so many times wh...
My favorite Koontz book of all time. Koontz takes his reader's on a creepy scary adventure of a ride while throwing in some of the funniest lines and most interesting characters he's ever written. You'll love this book. Creepy and scary but I laughed so many times while reading it I couldn't put it down and had to read it in one sitting. You will love the characters and the plot.

posted by PatsyAnn on November 16, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

THE WORST

The worst book I have ever read . I was so mad I wasted my time reading this . I mean really I thought Dean Koontz kid wrote this .

posted by Dr-Spaghetti on June 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A very off-beat read

    The characters were somewhat weak and I almost got annoyed reading this book because I wanted the story to pick up in the middle.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    weird

    This book is just plain weird and I felt kinda detached from the characters..not one of Koontz best books.Read Phantoms,now that's a good book.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2002

    Thrills, Spills and humour

    There are times when it does not seem possible to find anything funny in the events that plague Tommy Phan on one night in his life. It starts when he finds a rag doll on his doorstep, he takes this inside and from then on it materialises into a monster that is determined to kill him. He runs, he fights, he seeks help only to find the monster is faster and stronger than he. Along the way Tommy meets the witty and intelligent blonde who, along with her pet dog, saves his life time and again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Kept me entertained.

    The story had a nice flow, good pace, and some odd twists. I read through the book pretty quick, but it was still worth the $10.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2005

    Excuse me, I signed up for something scary...

    I am the biggest scaredy cat in the free world. I imagined vampires were outside my window when I read Salem's Lot by Stephen King, I kept my eyes closed during parts of the Amityville Horrors. I am easily spooked, very jumpy, and yes, I'll admit, I sometimes still sleep with a nightlight. I had always heard that Dean Koontz was a horror writer, and that his works were twisted, demented, and very scary. When I finally got brave enough to pick up Ticktock, I was expecting to be scared out of my mind, to have nightmares, something. Instead, I found a book that was pretty well written, with interesting, albeit bizarre, characters. But, I didn't find it scary in the least. In fact, most of the scenes that I suppose were intended as such were laughable. And by the end of the book, it became evident that the main focus of the story was not the dangerous 'devil doll' but Tommy and Del. The final chapter of the book was just plain silly, and not even good literature. This book was all right, but I've read much better. I'm not sure that I'll give Mr. Koontz another shot. He didn't deliver what I was expecting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2002

    Death & humor an uneasy mix

    All Koontz's work has a marvellous flow of macabre imagination and I particularly like his short monologues on the human condition: like intellectual greeting cards. However, in Tick-Tock I do not like the death and mutilation of an innocent human being treated as humor or at least in the flow of a humorous story. In books such as From the corner of his eye, his 'good' and 'evil' characters are so bizarrely extreme in their good and evil actions as to make the reader wince with disbelief. I DO enjoy his books on the whole but nobody is perfect.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2