Customer Reviews for

Tick Tock

Average Rating 4
( 169 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(75)

4 Star

(53)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

"Tick Tock"

My favorite Koontz book of all time. Koontz takes his reader's on a creepy scary adventure of a ride while throwing in some of the funniest lines and most interesting characters he's ever written. You'll love this book. Creepy and scary but I laughed so many times wh...
My favorite Koontz book of all time. Koontz takes his reader's on a creepy scary adventure of a ride while throwing in some of the funniest lines and most interesting characters he's ever written. You'll love this book. Creepy and scary but I laughed so many times while reading it I couldn't put it down and had to read it in one sitting. You will love the characters and the plot.

posted by PatsyAnn on November 16, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

THE WORST

The worst book I have ever read . I was so mad I wasted my time reading this . I mean really I thought Dean Koontz kid wrote this .

posted by Dr-Spaghetti on June 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    Great book!

    This book mixes some awesome "comic-relief" dialouge with intense action sequences, throw a little violence mixed with a love story and you got thus story. It was a great read, I couldn't put it down!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very entertaining.

    What do you say to a humorous supernatural thriller? I enjoyed it so much. The tongue-in-cheek humor throughout was refreshing. The ghoul amazing. And the characters are superb. I read this novel quickly as it is a little shorter than some. You'll love "Delivery Payne" and "Tommy Phan" the main characters. Enjoy it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2011

    great

    loved this book so much I sat for the entire day reading it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2011

    This one got me hooked!

    Ticktock is the first Koontz novel I read, years ago. I managed to lose my copy and though I have read this one at least three times over the years I cannot wait to read it again. LOL funny andu suspenseful at the same time. I consider this one a 'must read'.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2010

    More Off the Wall than Usual

    SLOW, SLOW to start but as I got into it, I started liking it. Rather "different" from my experience with reading Dean Koontz, not quite as creepy as he normally writes. Then, when it finally dawns on you that this is actually more comedic, it's rather a hoot! Enjoyed it overall.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2012

    Good light read

    A little different then some of koontz's other stories but really good. It still has his unmistakeable style - while he takes you for an adventure. Think of it more as a light "b" read and you will enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    Not his besr.......but still good.

    I remember reading this in seventh grade when it first came out. While it gave me the creeps there were somethings that kept me from fully enjoying it. There wasnt much fluidity in it in the sense that koontz kept jumping around from character to character anfrom location from location which back then made it hard for me to follow and remember what was going on. A good scary story tho.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Liked it!

    Great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Book

    seemed a little short but it was amazing i am a devoted fan on dean and ive only been reading for a few years but as i can see so far this is a little different from his norm but deff. just as good as any other

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Tick Tock

    It was a page turner. Very thrilling. Very dramatic.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    WOW!

    This book litterly had me on the edge at all times, I even started to believe in it! LOL! Good book to read on a rainy day!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2007

    Quick and Fun Read

    Tommy Phan writes detective novels. He wishes he could be more like his hard-boiled hero, who can handle just about any crisis with aplomb. Tommy finally meets someone who's very much like his detective, only she's a woman. Deliverance Payne, mild-mannered waitress by day, at other times is a race-car driver, millionaire heiress, world-class poker player, accomplished car thief, crackerjack markswoman. Oh, and this pistol-packin' mama is also a gourmet cook. She also seems to have some rather unusual powers. Both she and Tommy will need them to get him out of the scrape he's in, involving a rag doll that's turned into a murderous monster intent on devouring Tommy before dawn. Reading this with the understanding that Dean Koontz (noted in his afterword) meant it as a combination screwball-comedy/tale of the supernatural makes it easier to accept some of the hijinks. Enjoyable, and as one reviewer noted, perfect for a longish airplane flight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2007

    Light easy read

    It's been awhile since i picked up a DK book. I am not going to lie, it was the cover that got me. The first few chapters were great, very enjoyable. I heart tommy's mom. She was funny! I tired of Del quickly. Scootie was adorable. Easy read, quick and fun for the summer!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2005

    it was great

    it was very detailed. it was really great

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2005

    I really thought that it was a good book

    I have read most of the reviews that this book has got but I have to go against some of them. Ticktock was one of the first, other than Out the Corner of My Eye, books of Dean Koontz that I listened to. My father is into listening to books now, which to me is alot better now than reading. He told me that I should listen to these books and I did. I have listened to Ticktock more than 4 times and I'm willing to pick it up again and read and listen to it more. I love this book!! I know that other people have Stephen King books and all that, so have I and I love them to death. Stephen King is the best horror writer around and I was scared to try something new and when I did Dean Koontz comes right after Stephen King. If this was your first book of Dean Koontz and you didn't get scared out of your mind thats fine. All authors have there bad ones and also people have there differnt opinion of books. Just because you didn't like this one doesn't mean that you shouldn't try another one of his books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2005

    good thriller, a little anti-climactic

    I thought that this story, while being fantastic and really pulling me into the novel, was not his best. The explanation at the end for all of the unexplained things in the story was EXTREMELY rushed and left a lot to be desired. The real reason behind the devil doll was at least a little predictable, though there were at least 3 possible outcome s I came up with. I reccomend it for a plane or car ride, but not for something to give you nightmares or anything

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2002

    Non-stop page turner!

    This was the first book by Dean Koontz i've ever read and I couldn't put it down. Koontz is a psychological genius! This is a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2001

    Great, but not his best

    I think that it is oe of the best books I ever read but I think that he could have done better. I also think that his plot was a little off. I mean a doll that comes alive and tries to kill Tommy (the main charector).It sounds a little farfeched but then again allot even all of his books are like that. But it is very good. Because it keeps you wanting to read more. I read the whole book in one night!! All in all it's a very good book that every Dean Koontz lover should have.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2001

    Good Imaginary Fiction

    Tick Tock I have to admit was a good book in the sense that it used a lot of imagination and it really caught the reader's attention. The only thing I believe the book could have been better in is that the unrealistic portayal of Tommy Phan is a little bit too imaginary. I mean I see the point Koontz is trying to make about cultural roots etc. and i agree with it, but i think it was a little bit out of context with the events and conflicts. But other than that it was a decent book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2000

    It makes you think.

    Because of his imaculent style of suspense in 'Intensity' and 'Strange Highways' I've loved his Books. D.Koontz adds that extra unexpected twist and his incredible discriptivness that makes all his books more than just page turners. In this book his imagination runs wild and that really shows his talent.It's alot like he's been to the future and no one knows. If your a regular Stephen King reader and a first time Dean Koontz reader you might find there styles quit different but on the same level. D.Koontz has a 'what if' style and plot, while alot of writters have serious master minded style and plot, that is what differs him from the rest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3