BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Tick Tock

Average Rating 4
( 1344 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(531)

4 Star

(328)

3 Star

(237)

2 Star

(112)

1 Star

(136)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Highly recommended

Compelling, edgey, fast, loved it!

posted by kchatter on January 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

23 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

NOOK frustration

I too like to read some b4 buying but the marketing tactics being used have too much of the "come on" to suit me. Don't advertise the book as FREE when it's JUST the preview. Clearly state before download. My husband and I are new NOOK owners but thus far its been a ...
I too like to read some b4 buying but the marketing tactics being used have too much of the "come on" to suit me. Don't advertise the book as FREE when it's JUST the preview. Clearly state before download. My husband and I are new NOOK owners but thus far its been a frustrating experience...and the ebooks are more expensive than the paperbacks he's been buying.

posted by 9053470 on July 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1363 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 69
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2011

    NOOK frustration

    I too like to read some b4 buying but the marketing tactics being used have too much of the "come on" to suit me. Don't advertise the book as FREE when it's JUST the preview. Clearly state before download. My husband and I are new NOOK owners but thus far its been a frustrating experience...and the ebooks are more expensive than the paperbacks he's been buying.

    23 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Tick Tock

    Michael Bennett now has to deal with a serial killer that is recreated serial killers from New York's past. All in the name of Lawrence. Now who the hell is Lawrence? While this is going on, Bennett is also trying to enjoy a peaceful vacation with his children. And to add to that he may or may not be romancing two women. So much going on in this fourth Michael Bennett story that it kept me turning page after page. It was a fast paced novel and a quick read but it didn't grab me and hold on and was quickly forgotten when I opened my next book to read.

    18 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2011

    WHO WANTS A FREE PREVIEW

    WHAT SENSE DOES A FREE PREVIEW MAKE. EITHER LIST THE BOOK FOR FREE OR LIST IT AT A PRICE. GET RID OF THIS FREE PREVIEW JUNK
    I'M JUST SAYING!!!!!

    17 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2011

    OK

    James --- your late two books (this and ...Blink) are simply OK - quick easy read --- Are you trying to be a mystery serial killer writter or a romance writer/// Figure it out before you waste any more of my time. -- used to be avid fan

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2011

    Junk!

    What the hxxx? Get rid of stupid "free previews" when searching for free books. What a bunch of cxxx!!!!

    Had to select one "star". How about zero stars!

    9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Highly recommended

    Compelling, edgey, fast, loved it!

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    I loved this book!

    I was soo escited for this book to come out and it did not disappoint at all, well worth the purchase. I could not put this book down, read it everywhere. It was his best one to date in my opinion, enjoyable for anyone.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    so far so good

    read the free preview last night. 88 pages. I think this is the 4th book with Detective Mike Bennett. He is one of my favorite Patterson characters, probably because he's the father of 10 kids, so he seems more "real" than some of the other detective characters. I just wish he would marry his nanny already! =)

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Bridget's Review

    James Patterson is one of my favorite authors because he never lets me down. Tick Tock blew me away! I read it in one day because I could not put it down. Michael Bennett is the perfect hero and this book had one of the best plots ever. If you're a James Patterson fan or if you have never read any of his books, you need to! Five stars!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2011

    PREVIEWS

    I LOVE TO BE ABLE TO PREVIEW A BOOK BEFORE PURCHASE. I WANT TO KNOW IF IT CATCHES MY INTEREST BEFORE I PUT MONEY OUT.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2011

    Great Book. Bennett at his best.

    I can't wait for Patterson books to come out.
    This was not a disappointment. Very few are!
    This kept me coming back, until it was finished.
    Got it on Monday, finished on Wednesday. Exciting!!!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Edge of Your Seat Thrill Ride From The First Page!

    NYPD's # 1 Detective Michael Bennett has a huge problem. Someone is planning and masterminding a crime spree in New York like never before. They are conducting copy cat crimes of some of worst America has every seen, the Son of Sam, the Werewolf of Wysteria, Mad Bomber, just to name a few. Not only that but it's not some crazy terriorist act plaguing New York again, but an intelligent, rich and ex military that is calculating everything down to the last detail and filming it all.

    Caught in the midst of his vacation with his ten adopted kids in Breezy Point, Michael Bennett's love life is also caught in a web of confusion and chaos. Even while the crime spree in New York is spiraling out of control and terrorizing it's citizens, racial tension is running high against Michael's own adoptive children.

    Will he be able to catch the killer or will Michael Bennett, himself, become the star of his very own crime reenactment?

    I received James Patterson and Michael Ledwidge's latest novel, Tick Tock, compliments of Hachette Book Groups and Little, Brown and Company for my honest review and once more, never disappointed. Caught up in the page by page action and wondering just who the killer is and what the next crime would be, I was held captive myself until I finished the final page holding my breath. This one is a 5 star thriller!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2011

    Great a real page turner

    In this the 4th book about Michael Bennett he goes more into his personal life while trying to solve some horiffic crimes. The ending will blow you away. Worth every penny

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2011

    Good

    Good book must go through it

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    enjoyable read

    I liked this book much better than the first book I read with Michael Bennett as the hero. It was a thrilling read with lots of action and characaters that kept you guessing and intertained. I began to understand more about Michael Bennett and his family in this book which made it a much better read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    Reviewed by Anne B. for Readers Favorite

    James Patterson and Michael Ledwidge team up for "Tick Tock". In my humble opinion "Tick Tock" is one of their best! This is the review of the unabridged audio book.

    Detective Michael Bennett returns to the thrill of his fans. Bennett is a widowed father to ten children. He, his children, the nanny, Mary Catherine, and his grandfather, Father Seamus, are on a much needed vacation, when Bennett is called back on a case. A horrendous evil villain is committing crimes and leaving letters for Bennett. The plot moves back and forth from attempting to deal with family matters and romance to finding a murderer. Detective Michael Bennett expressed love for his children. I found him to be an amazingly well-developed character. I loved the romantic scenes. Poor guy is kind of slow when it comes to romance. Someone needs to give him pointers on how to tell when a woman is interested. The scene with the family of bullies was wonderful. Wouldn’t we all like to do that at one time or another?

    Mary Catharine must be a wonder woman. She managed to work on her Master’s Degree, take care of a family with 10 children and still catch the eye of Bennett. I guess she was super organized. It was easy to picture her in my mind’s eye, an Irish redhead with green eyes. Father Seamus was humorous and lovable. The old goat loved his family and practiced the old fashioned methods of handling problems. I found myself smiling as I read some of his comments. He proves that Christians do not always have to be meek or wimpy.

    The plot is a short 28 chapters; I could have listened much longer. This book is well-written, fast paced, action packed and a real thriller. The ending is a bit surprising. The reader is great; he manages to capture just the right tone. Check this one out you; will be glad you did.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Finished November 2011 in hardback

    By far my favorite aurthor. Great story with good twists

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2012

    Highly recommended

    I've read all 4 books in the series. Vey quick/easy and enjoyable read. However you would need to read the other 3 before jumping into this one, else you'll miss a lot of the nuances. Worth checking out, can't wait for the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2011

    Holds your attention!

    Must get the book. Very suspenseful couldn't put it down

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Patterson again develops the character of Det.Mike Bennett into a real person with fears, faith and feelings. Although the story runs a little slow in the first half of the book, Patterson gives the reader the opportunity to know better the character of Mike Bennett. This character development is important to those of us who enjoy book series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1363 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 69