Customer Reviews for

Tick Tock (Michael Bennett Series #4)

Average Rating 4
( 1106 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(439)

4 Star

(281)

3 Star

(205)

2 Star

(86)

1 Star

(95)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Highly recommended

Compelling, edgey, fast, loved it!

posted by kchatter on January 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Tick Tock

Michael Bennett now has to deal with a serial killer that is recreated serial killers from New York's past. All in the name of Lawrence. Now who the hell is Lawrence? While this is going on, Bennett is also trying to enjoy a peaceful vacation with his children. And to a...
Michael Bennett now has to deal with a serial killer that is recreated serial killers from New York's past. All in the name of Lawrence. Now who the hell is Lawrence? While this is going on, Bennett is also trying to enjoy a peaceful vacation with his children. And to add to that he may or may not be romancing two women. So much going on in this fourth Michael Bennett story that it kept me turning page after page. It was a fast paced novel and a quick read but it didn't grab me and hold on and was quickly forgotten when I opened my next book to read.

posted by grumpydan on November 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1121 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 57
  • Posted November 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Tick Tock

    Michael Bennett now has to deal with a serial killer that is recreated serial killers from New York's past. All in the name of Lawrence. Now who the hell is Lawrence? While this is going on, Bennett is also trying to enjoy a peaceful vacation with his children. And to add to that he may or may not be romancing two women. So much going on in this fourth Michael Bennett story that it kept me turning page after page. It was a fast paced novel and a quick read but it didn't grab me and hold on and was quickly forgotten when I opened my next book to read.

    18 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2011

    OK

    James --- your late two books (this and ...Blink) are simply OK - quick easy read --- Are you trying to be a mystery serial killer writter or a romance writer/// Figure it out before you waste any more of my time. -- used to be avid fan

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Highly recommended

    Compelling, edgey, fast, loved it!

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    I loved this book!

    I was soo escited for this book to come out and it did not disappoint at all, well worth the purchase. I could not put this book down, read it everywhere. It was his best one to date in my opinion, enjoyable for anyone.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Bridget's Review

    James Patterson is one of my favorite authors because he never lets me down. Tick Tock blew me away! I read it in one day because I could not put it down. Michael Bennett is the perfect hero and this book had one of the best plots ever. If you're a James Patterson fan or if you have never read any of his books, you need to! Five stars!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2011

    Great Book. Bennett at his best.

    I can't wait for Patterson books to come out.
    This was not a disappointment. Very few are!
    This kept me coming back, until it was finished.
    Got it on Monday, finished on Wednesday. Exciting!!!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Edge of Your Seat Thrill Ride From The First Page!

    NYPD's # 1 Detective Michael Bennett has a huge problem. Someone is planning and masterminding a crime spree in New York like never before. They are conducting copy cat crimes of some of worst America has every seen, the Son of Sam, the Werewolf of Wysteria, Mad Bomber, just to name a few. Not only that but it's not some crazy terriorist act plaguing New York again, but an intelligent, rich and ex military that is calculating everything down to the last detail and filming it all.

    Caught in the midst of his vacation with his ten adopted kids in Breezy Point, Michael Bennett's love life is also caught in a web of confusion and chaos. Even while the crime spree in New York is spiraling out of control and terrorizing it's citizens, racial tension is running high against Michael's own adoptive children.

    Will he be able to catch the killer or will Michael Bennett, himself, become the star of his very own crime reenactment?

    I received James Patterson and Michael Ledwidge's latest novel, Tick Tock, compliments of Hachette Book Groups and Little, Brown and Company for my honest review and once more, never disappointed. Caught up in the page by page action and wondering just who the killer is and what the next crime would be, I was held captive myself until I finished the final page holding my breath. This one is a 5 star thriller!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2011

    Great a real page turner

    In this the 4th book about Michael Bennett he goes more into his personal life while trying to solve some horiffic crimes. The ending will blow you away. Worth every penny

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2011

    Good

    Good book must go through it

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    Reviewed by Anne B. for Readers Favorite

    James Patterson and Michael Ledwidge team up for "Tick Tock". In my humble opinion "Tick Tock" is one of their best! This is the review of the unabridged audio book.

    Detective Michael Bennett returns to the thrill of his fans. Bennett is a widowed father to ten children. He, his children, the nanny, Mary Catherine, and his grandfather, Father Seamus, are on a much needed vacation, when Bennett is called back on a case. A horrendous evil villain is committing crimes and leaving letters for Bennett. The plot moves back and forth from attempting to deal with family matters and romance to finding a murderer. Detective Michael Bennett expressed love for his children. I found him to be an amazingly well-developed character. I loved the romantic scenes. Poor guy is kind of slow when it comes to romance. Someone needs to give him pointers on how to tell when a woman is interested. The scene with the family of bullies was wonderful. Wouldn’t we all like to do that at one time or another?

    Mary Catharine must be a wonder woman. She managed to work on her Master’s Degree, take care of a family with 10 children and still catch the eye of Bennett. I guess she was super organized. It was easy to picture her in my mind’s eye, an Irish redhead with green eyes. Father Seamus was humorous and lovable. The old goat loved his family and practiced the old fashioned methods of handling problems. I found myself smiling as I read some of his comments. He proves that Christians do not always have to be meek or wimpy.

    The plot is a short 28 chapters; I could have listened much longer. This book is well-written, fast paced, action packed and a real thriller. The ending is a bit surprising. The reader is great; he manages to capture just the right tone. Check this one out you; will be glad you did.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2012

    Highly recommended

    I've read all 4 books in the series. Vey quick/easy and enjoyable read. However you would need to read the other 3 before jumping into this one, else you'll miss a lot of the nuances. Worth checking out, can't wait for the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Patterson again develops the character of Det.Mike Bennett into a real person with fears, faith and feelings. Although the story runs a little slow in the first half of the book, Patterson gives the reader the opportunity to know better the character of Mike Bennett. This character development is important to those of us who enjoy book series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2011

    Veryq disappointed !!!!

    Hated this book !! Michael was made out to be a wise cracking,insensitive horn dog who was more concerned about who he should go to bed with!!! His character was totally changed from the widowed smart single parent portrayed in the other book . Then to top it off the story line was just corny. Not sure if i will ever read the next book in this series. Veery disappointed!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2011

    Disappointing Read

    This is the fourth installment in the series about New York Detective Michael Bennett. I enjoyed all the previous installments, but this one just wasn't as good.

    What I liked about the book: As with most Patterson books there was a lot of action. It was certainly a thrilling story with quick pacing (of course with short chapters, quick pacing is almost guaranteed.)

    What I didn't like about the book: Michael Bennett. This took me by surprise. After having read the previous books about Bennett, I had added him to my list of favorite detectives. After reading Tick Tock - I'm not so sure. He spent too much time obsessing about his love life in this book. It distracted from the story rather than adding to it. Bennett's character was not as well developed in this book as in the past installments. He seemed rather flat.

    If you are a diehard Patterson fan then you will probably enjoy this book. If you really like the character Michael Bennett, you might want to skip this one and wait to see if he gets back on track in the next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    Not my fav

    This book was actually pretty good until the end. It is lacking the epic ending I have come to expect. I would reccomend it but i was disappointed at the end

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    It was a good read.

    This book was an enjoyable read. It was a little frustrating at times. It isn't like his Women's Club Series as it seems to go a little slower in pace.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    Tick Tock, it's Bennett's time

    This is the third time I read this book. I started with Step on a crack and kept reading til I finished Tick Tock. I have enjoyed every book that I have read by James Patterson. There are things that I read that I thought could be improved on,but I still enjoyed reading the story. Patterson is a great writer, but he is an imperfect human, therefore he is allowed to err. Imagine how dull the world would be with all absolutes, Whether they be perfection or imperfection? Keep writing those stories and I'll keep reading them, always.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    Liystem

    Her scent faded

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    Timewink

    Timewink blinked at Lilystem. "Wait! I can't defeat Toxin! He's--" Suddenly he couldn't speak. His throat was filled with the rusty taste of blood. Then he was blinded again. He felt as if he were falling, falling, then he hit the ground with a jolt. He could see again. His father, Breezewhisper stood over him, he had pinned him to the ground. Timewink felt himself struggle and try to get away. Then a paw tore at his eyes, filling his gaze with blood. He yowled in agony, and kicked his father blindly across the clearing. Then he woke. <p> &#9827~T!mew!n&kappa~&#9827

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    Cool

    Sell 18000 or more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1121 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 57