BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Tidewater Inn (Hope Beach Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 102 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

*********Outstanding********

Colleen Coble writes such vivid stories and keeps you enthralled with every page!! This is by far her best story!!!

posted by simplyjewels on July 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful book!!!!!

I have read almost all of Colleen Coble's novels and this one is just as wonderful as the others!!! Filled with lots of suspense, Godly inspiration and of course romance, makes for a great read!!! Couldn't put it down!!!!! Can' t wait for the next in the series!!

posted by 9574690 on July 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 102 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Wonderful book!!!!!

    I have read almost all of Colleen Coble's novels and this one is just as wonderful as the others!!! Filled with lots of suspense, Godly inspiration and of course romance, makes for a great read!!! Couldn't put it down!!!!! Can' t wait for the next in the series!!

    18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2012

    Anonymous

    After reading through all the loooooong reviews revealing the plot and storyline, why would I want to waste my $10 reading this book. I really should not call them reviews (although they should be) because it isn't what they are. They are the "mini" version of the book. Look up the word REVIEW in the dictionary. Enough said!

    17 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    *********Outstanding********

    Colleen Coble writes such vivid stories and keeps you enthralled with every page!! This is by far her best story!!!

    16 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Must Read!!!

    Others have summed up the story, so I won't do that here. I just wanted to say Colleen Coble knows how to write a great story, full of suspense and romance. I love the Outer Banks setting she's using for the Hope Beach series. Get this one! You won't regret it!

    15 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    I really enjoyed this book. To my own surprise I couldn't put th

    I really enjoyed this book. To my own surprise I couldn't put the book down. When I started it I thought I would be bored but I kept finding myself looking for the book and comfy place to sit down and read it. It was a good read and would make a great book to take on vacation. I've read other books by Colleen which I have enjoyed. I like her writing and I think she does contemporary fiction well.

    I received my copy as a review blogger through Litfuse.

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2012

    Another Great Story by Colleen Coble

    This was the third book I’ve read by Colleen Coble and I loved it just as much as I loved the others. She has a way of combining mystery, suspense and adventure and wrapping a love story right up in the middle of it. Her stories aren’t usually predictable unlike many others in the genre; just when I thought I knew where she was going, she threw another twist into the story.

    The characters in the story are lovable and their quirks and personalities really help make the story enjoyable and interesting. This was another book that left me wishing there was a sequel, I’m always interested to know what life is like for the characters after the last page is read. Thankfully I just realized that this is the first book in a new series by Coble, the Hope Beach series. Maybe that means I’ll get to catch up with some of these characters in the future! I highly recommend this book as well as the other novels I’ve read by Coble, Lonestar Angel and The Lightkeeper’s Ball.

    Disclaimer: A complimentary copy of this book was provided for review by Thomas Nelson Publishers. All thoughts are my own and I was not required to post a positive review.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    Anonymous

    I totally agree that some of these reviews are tooo looong!!! Didnt ask for a book report!!!

    7 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    M

    Well thanks to all the plot spoiling posters here that revealed every detsil of the book, there is no need to buy it. I wish bn would do something to these braggarts who consistently ruin books for other readers. They should be banned from posting these plot spoilers.

    5 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2012

    Tidewater Inn is Colleen's first book set on the Outer Banks of

    Tidewater Inn is Colleen's first book set on the Outer Banks of North Carolina. The setting plays a strong role in this book -- I can't imagine the story taking place anywhere else.

    Libby inherits a hotel from a father she thought died years earlier. The problem is her friend has disappeared and now the cops are looking at her. A Coast Guard lieutenant tries to find her friend, but isn't sure what to think about Libby. The plot twists and turns through a hurricane and the race to fine her missing friend. Through in love, sibling rivalry and the decision whether she can keep the inn keep the plot moving. This is a cast and locale that I loved and can't wait to return in another book. Please?!?

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2012

    Good Read

    Tidewater Inn is a Hope Beach Novel and is written by Colleen Coble. I jumped at the chance to review this book as Colleen Coble books was one of my favorite author that I found in 2011. In this book you meet Libby Holladay and her business partner Nicole. Libby and Nicole restore historic homes for a living. In fact Nicole finds out while on Hope Island trying to buy an old building that Libby has an inheritance. The inheritance is an Inn built in the 1800’s called the Tide Water Inn. When Nicole is kidnapped on Hope Island it is Libby that authorities suspect. It is up to Libby to find Nicole and save herself. Along the way she finds her father did not really die when she was five and she has a brother and sister. She finds her Aunt Pearl. She also finds romance. I did like this book. I found there to be a little mystery, a little romance and a good lesson on faith in it. Not once did Libby give up on the thought that Nicole was still alive. What I did not like about this story is that I felt like Libby being a suspect was mentioned far too much. I got it really I did, she is a suspect. I was a little disappointed in this book because of that and because every book I have read by Colleen Coble has been so fabulous. I came into reading this book with huge amounts of excitement and expectations of this author. This book was good but not her best. It is still a good read and worth the time of reading it. I give this book my three star rating. I hate to have to give this rating to this author as I love her writings a lot, but part of my writing reviews is they are honest. I did get a complimentary copy of this book from Book Sneeze for just that an honest review.

    4 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2012

    Very Nice Read

    Libby loves old historical buildings so much that she has made a career out of it. She and her best friend and partner Nicole restores old buildings and sells them. Little did Libby know that she would inherit a masterpiece historical building for herself, and from family she didn’t even know she had.

    Libby’s arrival on the Island, finding out she was now owner of the Tidewater Inn, and meeting her new family and the folks on the Island was more than Libby could comprehend. And then when the lights are turned on her as a suspect in her friends murder, well things start getting a little touchy, nasty and very intense and interesting on this small little Island.

    Libby is a sweetheart and everyone can learn from her soft spoken, graceful attitude. And for me, the question What Would Jesus Do? Now has a whole new meaning. And Alec is a man everyone wants to have! He’s just adorable! Colleen has created a cast of characters in Tidewater Inn that you will grow to love and adore. The are so very real-life that I sometimes felt like they were family or close friends. I love characters that give readers this feeling. And Aunt Pearl, a character created in the image of Colleen’s own grandmother is the binding that brings the story together. Between Aunt Pearl and Ray’s love for the Lord, my desire is to be more like these two wonderful characters. People who selflessly love God and show it in their everyday lives.

    I was provided a copy of this book from Booksneeze for an honest review. The opinions in this review are mine only.

    3 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2012

    I found the story line of watching a friend get kidnapped on a v

    I found the story line of watching a friend get kidnapped on a video cam very intriguing. The story line between Libby and Alec was probably realistic but I would have preferred that he believed in her totally, even if that is unrealistic. (I read to escape reality.) That is my only reason for rating the book a four instead of a five. I found the secondary characters engaging and kept wondering if one of them would get their own book. I was so excited to see an appearance of Bree and Samson from a previous series. There were plenty of characters that could be the bad guys and it kept you guessing. I did not figure out the ending. The author did a great job with the secondary storyline of the WWJD necklace. I found it thought provoking and encouraging.
    I received the book for free in exchange for an honest review.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2012

    Tidewater Inn begins with historic home renovator Libby Holladay

    Tidewater Inn begins with historic home renovator Libby Holladay learning that she has just inherited a gorgeous historic inn—and a family she never knew she had. Unfortunately, her newfound siblings are less than welcoming, convinced that she is there for the money and nothing more. Adding to her distress is the fact that she has just witnessed her best friend being kidnapped, and is now under suspicion for committing the crime herself.

    Generally speaking, I enjoy Colleen Coble’s books (mystery and suspense, laced with a little bit of romance), so I had hoped that this one would be no exception. Unfortunately, it didn’t quite hit home with me. While I liked the premise of the story, I found that most of the plot felt forced and unrealistic. The first chapter was awkward—so much happened right off the bat with little to no character development, so it made it a little difficult to connect. Much of the story continued in the same manner. The constant suspicion and accusations against Libby became a bit redundant after awhile, and important information that, realistically, would have been presented upfront was withheld until the very end (which I understand in wanting to keep the reader in suspense, but like I said, the way it was done simply felt forced).

    If you’re looking to read anything by Coble (which I do recommend!), you might try starting with some of her other books instead. This one isn’t terrible, but it’s certainly not her best!

    (I received this book through the BookSneeze blogger program in exchange for my honest review.)

    3 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2013

    Another compelling story from Colleen Coble. It has mystery as w

    Another compelling story from Colleen Coble. It has mystery as well as character development and interactions that make you think. There are relationships to solidify as well as the theme “What Would Jesus Do.” It does have an ending with closure.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    Fantastic writer!

    I loved this book. Read it on the plane to and from vacation. Hard book to put down!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2013

    Good read.

    I would highly recommend this book. It kept my interest & didn't want to story to end when it did.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    Sweet

    This was a sweet mystery. The characters were honorable. It was very nice watching a family come together. What a sweet story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    Warm, easy read.

    Easy to read, good mystery and romance. Clean.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Anonymous

    This was well written, filled with suspense and romance. I didn't love or hate the story-an easy somewhat predictable read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2013

    recommend

    first time I read anything from Colleen Coble. I loved this book. I have since read 5 more of her books and love them all. Romance suspence her books have it all. Plus they're Christian based too. She is now one of my favorite writers!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 102 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6