Customer Reviews for

Tidewater Inn (Hope Beach Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 98 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

*********Outstanding********

Colleen Coble writes such vivid stories and keeps you enthralled with every page!! This is by far her best story!!!

posted by simplyjewels on July 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful book!!!!!

I have read almost all of Colleen Coble's novels and this one is just as wonderful as the others!!! Filled with lots of suspense, Godly inspiration and of course romance, makes for a great read!!! Couldn't put it down!!!!! Can' t wait for the next in the series!!

posted by 9574690 on July 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Wonderful book!!!!!

    I have read almost all of Colleen Coble's novels and this one is just as wonderful as the others!!! Filled with lots of suspense, Godly inspiration and of course romance, makes for a great read!!! Couldn't put it down!!!!! Can' t wait for the next in the series!!

    18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2012

    Good Read

    Tidewater Inn is a Hope Beach Novel and is written by Colleen Coble. I jumped at the chance to review this book as Colleen Coble books was one of my favorite author that I found in 2011. In this book you meet Libby Holladay and her business partner Nicole. Libby and Nicole restore historic homes for a living. In fact Nicole finds out while on Hope Island trying to buy an old building that Libby has an inheritance. The inheritance is an Inn built in the 1800’s called the Tide Water Inn. When Nicole is kidnapped on Hope Island it is Libby that authorities suspect. It is up to Libby to find Nicole and save herself. Along the way she finds her father did not really die when she was five and she has a brother and sister. She finds her Aunt Pearl. She also finds romance. I did like this book. I found there to be a little mystery, a little romance and a good lesson on faith in it. Not once did Libby give up on the thought that Nicole was still alive. What I did not like about this story is that I felt like Libby being a suspect was mentioned far too much. I got it really I did, she is a suspect. I was a little disappointed in this book because of that and because every book I have read by Colleen Coble has been so fabulous. I came into reading this book with huge amounts of excitement and expectations of this author. This book was good but not her best. It is still a good read and worth the time of reading it. I give this book my three star rating. I hate to have to give this rating to this author as I love her writings a lot, but part of my writing reviews is they are honest. I did get a complimentary copy of this book from Book Sneeze for just that an honest review.

    4 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2012

    Tidewater Inn begins with historic home renovator Libby Holladay

    Tidewater Inn begins with historic home renovator Libby Holladay learning that she has just inherited a gorgeous historic inn—and a family she never knew she had. Unfortunately, her newfound siblings are less than welcoming, convinced that she is there for the money and nothing more. Adding to her distress is the fact that she has just witnessed her best friend being kidnapped, and is now under suspicion for committing the crime herself.

    Generally speaking, I enjoy Colleen Coble’s books (mystery and suspense, laced with a little bit of romance), so I had hoped that this one would be no exception. Unfortunately, it didn’t quite hit home with me. While I liked the premise of the story, I found that most of the plot felt forced and unrealistic. The first chapter was awkward—so much happened right off the bat with little to no character development, so it made it a little difficult to connect. Much of the story continued in the same manner. The constant suspicion and accusations against Libby became a bit redundant after awhile, and important information that, realistically, would have been presented upfront was withheld until the very end (which I understand in wanting to keep the reader in suspense, but like I said, the way it was done simply felt forced).

    If you’re looking to read anything by Coble (which I do recommend!), you might try starting with some of her other books instead. This one isn’t terrible, but it’s certainly not her best!

    (I received this book through the BookSneeze blogger program in exchange for my honest review.)

    3 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Anonymous

    This was well written, filled with suspense and romance. I didn't love or hate the story-an easy somewhat predictable read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    My first time reading this author. The book was good and held my

    My first time reading this author. The book was good and held my interest. I felt it was quite repititious and therefore prolonged the story. Could have been shorter.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2012

    "He died a month ago, Libby. And he left you some valuable

    "He died a month ago, Libby. And he left you some valuable land...."

    Inheriting a multi-million dollar property from the father she thought was dead, Libby Holladay finds herself on Hope Island with a family she didn't know she had and her friend's mysterious kidnapping looming in the forefront of her mind.
    But even though she has a solid alibi, the officials on Hope Island easily pin her friend Nicole's kidnapping¿and possibly murder¿on her. Determined to find her friend and clear her name, Libby, with the help of a neighborly Coast Guard, begins to piece together the clues to Nicole's disappearance.
    Can Libby find Nicole before it's to late? Will she be able to mend the relationship with her half-siblings? Journey to Tidewater Inn, where mystery is only the beginning.

    To start off, I love the name Tidewater Inn and the cover is gorgeous. Behind the cover, the suspense, the mystery, and romance will have you cheering most of the way. The dialogue was fun and Coble's descriptions and metaphors were amazingly beautiful. I found myself liking even the worst characters. I especially loved Libby and how she handled her dad being alive, yet dead, and how she tried to become a part of her father's family without being to pushy. If I hadn't known what was really going on, I would have thought that Libby had murdered her friend after hearing the officers' reasons for pinning it all on her.
    Which leads me to some reasons on why I disliked this read. I think that readers should be left in the dark. They shouldn't have the God-eye and be able to see what's going on behind the scenes. It's more suspenseful, more enjoyable, and definitely more captivating. In Tidewater Inn, you were able to see what was happening with Nicole and the people that had harmed her, which made the Tidewater Inn predictable. There was a little too much romance for my taste. Libby seemed to fall in love with the leading man to easily, and sometimes their love felt superficial. Also, I didn't agree with the author's viewpoints on God. Definitely not one of my favorite books by Colleen Coble.
    The message of the book is greed versus generosity, which really inspired me in many ways. God doesn't give us money so we can lavish it on ourselves all the time (true, he does want us to have an abundant and amazing life), but He blesses us so we can be a blessing to others.
    I recommend this book to someone who likes a well-written romance and engaging characters.


    I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed

    2 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    Enjoyable, but...

    You need to see past the preaching. Loved the setting, story & charachters though a couple of parts seemed a bit unrealistic. Overall a good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2012

    Readers will find enjoyment in this fast-paced mystery about a y

    Readers will find enjoyment in this fast-paced mystery about a young woman, Libby, searching for her best friend, Nicole, after she watches kidnappers take Nicole in a boat. Somehow the kidnapping is related to the new inheritance Libby has just received - a mansion called Tidewater Inn and the new family she discovered she had: a father, an aunt and a brother and sister she never knew existed. The story is captivating and I finished the book in one day, it was so much fun! And clean fun! No cursing or sex, only touching and kissing.

    This book asks the question of suffering:
    One of the characters asks "Where was God when my parents were killed? Why do bad things happen to good people." Reply: "God was with your parents when they died and they are with him now. God gives us the grace to get through tough situations." Another says "I'm not a very good believer. I make it to church only once a month. Maybe that's why this is all happening. God is punishing me." Reply: "Forget that idea. Bad things happen even to good people. Life is hard. Goe never said it wouldn't be. And He's with us in the hard times." Another said "How do you think your dad feels when he looks down from heaven and sees how you're acting?" Another, "What good did it do Dad to try to please God if he was just going to kill him? If God cared, he wouldn't have taken both my parents. They told me God loves me. I wish I could still believe it."

    It was nice to see the sovereignty of God emphasized in one sentence: "God could choose to spare this little spot or wipe it out. It was all in his control." The book also showed the struggle for characters to be generous and the faith it took to give everything they had to people in need, leaving nothing for themselves and trusting God to provide. There was a LOT of emphasis on What Would Jesus Do and an important WWJD necklace. It was mentioned a few times that someone prayed but no prayers are recorded in the dialogue.

    I guess the saddest part about this book is that there was NO thanks given to God for anything. No one was seeking after God's glory. It was all self-seeking and Christian-lite thinking and theology. I would recommend this book for the story but not the Christianity. Also they taught incorrectly that God loves unbelievers and that they are safely in his arms, while the Bible teaches they are under his wrath. In order to be saved and go to heaven, one girl preaches a poor imitation of the gospel, “"All you have to do is ask him to forgive you.” Another issue I had was Bob Marley's reggae was pushed but Marley strongly rejected the Christian Jesus and taught Rastafarian's beliefs about his god Ja in the lyrics of his songs. Why would a Christian listen to songs with lyrics mocking our Jesus and about turning to another god?

    The end of the book was disappointing. It was a weird end. The good guys and bad guys by the end were odd, hardly mentioned, individuals. There was no wedding. THe book ended quickly and with loose ends and an odd human "savior."

    Disclaimer: I received this book free of charge from the publisher but I am not required to give a positive review in exchange for the book. This is my critical review of the book as if I had bought the book with my hard earned money.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1