Customer Reviews for

Tidewater Inn (Hope Beach Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 102 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

*********Outstanding********

Colleen Coble writes such vivid stories and keeps you enthralled with every page!! This is by far her best story!!!

posted by simplyjewels on July 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful book!!!!!

I have read almost all of Colleen Coble's novels and this one is just as wonderful as the others!!! Filled with lots of suspense, Godly inspiration and of course romance, makes for a great read!!! Couldn't put it down!!!!! Can' t wait for the next in the series!!

posted by 9574690 on July 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    I really enjoyed this book. To my own surprise I couldn't put th

    I really enjoyed this book. To my own surprise I couldn't put the book down. When I started it I thought I would be bored but I kept finding myself looking for the book and comfy place to sit down and read it. It was a good read and would make a great book to take on vacation. I've read other books by Colleen which I have enjoyed. I like her writing and I think she does contemporary fiction well.

    I received my copy as a review blogger through Litfuse.

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2012

    Tidewater Inn is Colleen's first book set on the Outer Banks of

    Tidewater Inn is Colleen's first book set on the Outer Banks of North Carolina. The setting plays a strong role in this book -- I can't imagine the story taking place anywhere else.

    Libby inherits a hotel from a father she thought died years earlier. The problem is her friend has disappeared and now the cops are looking at her. A Coast Guard lieutenant tries to find her friend, but isn't sure what to think about Libby. The plot twists and turns through a hurricane and the race to fine her missing friend. Through in love, sibling rivalry and the decision whether she can keep the inn keep the plot moving. This is a cast and locale that I loved and can't wait to return in another book. Please?!?

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2012

    I found the story line of watching a friend get kidnapped on a v

    I found the story line of watching a friend get kidnapped on a video cam very intriguing. The story line between Libby and Alec was probably realistic but I would have preferred that he believed in her totally, even if that is unrealistic. (I read to escape reality.) That is my only reason for rating the book a four instead of a five. I found the secondary characters engaging and kept wondering if one of them would get their own book. I was so excited to see an appearance of Bree and Samson from a previous series. There were plenty of characters that could be the bad guys and it kept you guessing. I did not figure out the ending. The author did a great job with the secondary storyline of the WWJD necklace. I found it thought provoking and encouraging.
    I received the book for free in exchange for an honest review.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2013

    Another compelling story from Colleen Coble. It has mystery as w

    Another compelling story from Colleen Coble. It has mystery as well as character development and interactions that make you think. There are relationships to solidify as well as the theme “What Would Jesus Do.” It does have an ending with closure.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    Sweet

    This was a sweet mystery. The characters were honorable. It was very nice watching a family come together. What a sweet story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    Warm, easy read.

    Easy to read, good mystery and romance. Clean.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2013

    I recommend..very good book!

    First time reading this author, and I was very impressed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Refreshing!! A Romance novel without all the descriptions of sexual acts on every other page!!

    This was better than average for a romance novel. The characters have morals and principals, something you usually do not see in romance novels. I was actually able to enjoy the whole book without feeling dirty.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Worth the time

    Character development and plot lines were very good and I appreciated the faith elements and overall wholesomeness of this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    Interrsting read.

    My first read of this author. Interesting and a surprise enfimg. Will read amother of her books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2012

    IS THERE HOPE FOR HOPE ISLAND?

    When Libby's business partner, Nicole, goes on ahead to Outer Banks to check out the property sought by potential investor Lawrence Rooney, neither of the women imagine the life-changing events that will unfold on Hope Island. As Libby watches in horror via webcam, Nicole is kidnapped, drugged, and taken away from the island in a boat. Libby rushes to the island to aid in the search for her friend, only to discover that she is the prime suspect. Things get even stranger when Libby discovers her long-lost father and uncovers the family secrets. When a handsome Coast Guard lieutenant tries to help Libby, she begins to believe in Hope.

    Here is something I have not been able to say regarding a novel in a long time: I read it in one sitting. I could not put it down. It was a perfect mix of mystery, romance, and history with a Christian accent. I have always been interested in the Outer Banks area, so that piqued my interest. One slight complaint; from the beginning of the novel, it drove me crazy that no one ever asked the one character who could have solved the mystery in Chapter Two. Of course, if they had, it would have been a short story, and not a very good one, at that. All things considered, it was an enjoyable read and I have to give it 4 stars.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    Good Read

    Good beach read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    Good read.

    This book is a gentle mystery and the story revolves around life at an island.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    Good Read

    Neat characters and setting. Enjoyed the book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    Highly Recommended.......

    I am only half way through this book, but find it very interesting. A must read.!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Mysterious To The End

    For only being the third book I've ever read in this genre (I usually read historicals), I liked Colleen Coble's Tidewater Inn better than the other two books put together. I loved the island setting of Hope Beach off the Outer Banks of North Carolina, and I loved the main characters. Coast Guard Lieutenant, Alec Bourne and Libby Holladay, an outsider to the island who has inherited a beachfront property called The Tidewater Inn from her now-deceased, estranged father both pulled me from page to page. I wanted (so much!) to know what was going to happen between them when the details of the mystery came to light. And there were so many other characters that I enjoyed getting to know and hope to see and get to know better in the next books in this series.

    I have to admit, I was thrown for a loop concerning the mystery at the end. In a good way. Being a writer, I was constantly thinking up way the plot might go--and not a single one of my own ideas happened to be what the author came up with. So yeah, I was pleased.

    The ending was perfect, with it's surprises, and it's saves, and it's kisses. I look forward to reading more about Alec and Libby and their friends on the island in Rosemary Cottage, the next book in Colleen Coble's new Hope Beach Series. I was given a paperback copy of this book by the publisher in order to read it and give my honest review for this LitFuse Publicity Blog Tour. I give Tidewater Inn 4 stars.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2012

    Libby Holladay has turned her love of history and architecture i

    Libby Holladay has turned her love of history and architecture into a business with her friend Nicole Ingram. A restoration job on the Outer Banks of North Carolina leads Libby to find that she had a father and has a family that she never knew existed there. When Nicole is kidnapped from Hope Island, Libby arrives to learn about her father, to meet a brother and sister who resent her presence, and to find herself attracted to a local Coast Guard officer. The local law is suspicious that Libby is responsible for Nicole’s disappearance.
    This is exciting right from the beginning! Nicole calls Libby to tell her about finding Libby’s father’s family and the family’s historic hotel on Hope Island. When two men grab Nicole from a lonely beach, Libby is watching on her laptop. Libby’s father’s second wife disappeared mysteriously a few years before; a secret drawer in a jewelry box holds some romantic letters from someone other than her husband. Libby’s inheritance includes an old lighthouse and cave – around which tales of Edward Teach circulate. Alec and Libby are drawn to one another despite his wariness – wondering if Libby might be responsible for her partner’s kidnapping. Throughout the story, the kindnesses that her father extended to many of the islanders and his family inspire Libby to let WWJD guide her actions. Her father’s faith, her own desire to do the right thing, and Alec’s faith lead her to a more prayerful life. Libby’s love of old architecture and beautiful old wood might make you look more appreciatively at older homes in your town.
    When I was recently browsing through a book store, my friend and I saw Tidewater Inn on the shelf. I didn’t realize how much was going on in this mystery until I enthusiastically gave a summary and recommended it to my friend.
    Four Stars

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2012

    Tidewater Inn is honestly one of the best novels I have read in

    Tidewater Inn is honestly one of the best novels I have read in a long time! It has all the fascination and intrigue of a historical novel tied hand in hand with a modern day mystery.

    Meet Libby Holladay, proud owner of Holladay Restorations, where she works to remodel and restore old homes and buildings. Working to save historical sites with her business partner, Nicole fills up most of Libby’s life, but things take a complete turn when she finds out her father whom she believed died when she was five, died only a few months before, leaving her a multi-million dollar inheritance. The surprises keep coming as she finds herself the sole owner of an enormous inn, and discovers she has a half-brother and half-sister she had never been told about.
    But that’s just all within the first chapter. The story line really picks up when Nicole is suddenly kidnapped as Libby watches from a webcam. No sooner than she is able to rush out to Hope Island, she finds herself listed as the top suspect. Determined to believe that Nicole is still alive when all others give up hope, the search turns out to be much longer and complicated, especially when she is nearly drowned by a strange man in black while taking her evening swim.

    Libby finds herself falling hard for Alec, the young Captain of the Coast Guard, but she suddenly finds out his interest may have always been fake. Will they be able to find Nicole before its too late, and what does Blackbeard have to do with the abandoned lighthouse?

    This is the first novel in the Hope Beach series, which will be continued in Rosemary Cottage July 2013.

    Disclosure: I received a complimentary copy of this book from a publicity agency. However, I was not required to write a positive review. The thoughts listed above are entirely my own.

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2012

    Tidewater Inn by Colleen Coble was a great read. Coble does a gr

    Tidewater Inn by Colleen Coble was a great read. Coble does a great job mixing Scripture and promises from God with Love and Romance and a little mystery.

    Libby and her friend, Nicole are heading to Hope Island to restore some old buildings. She also found out from her friend Nicole who got to the island early that she has inherited land from a father she has never met, who died just a few months prior.

    Unfortunately, the Inn that Libby has inherited needs a lot of upkeep and there is an investor who wants her to sell it. She also becomes aware of a brother and sister whom she has never met and who are not too fond of her and the fact that their father left the Inn to her.

    Before Libby leaves for Hope Island, she is talking with Nicole and watches on a web cam her friend’s abduction. She gets to the Island as fast as she can. As she is seeking to find her friend and enlisting the help of others, she meets Alec, a Coast Guard Lieutenant and fisherman who helps her in the search.

    Obviously, you can see the mystery and romance, but what Libby learns in the process is the ability to trust God and to ask “What Would Jesus Do?” in this situation.

    I find myself asking the same questions at times. God is good and he has a plan for our lives. He also puts us in situations that enable us to trust him more and more. I always enjoy reading a good romantic fiction story that is laced with Gospel Truth.

    Thank you Booksneeze for allowing me to read and review Tidewater Inn.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I love all of Colleen Coble's novels and this story is no except

    I love all of Colleen Coble's novels and this story is no exception! Colleen has you gripping the edge of your seat from the very first page! While the story is a little unrealistic (they don't call it "fiction" for nothing!), it is still exceptionally written. Most of the time, I can guess how the mystery is going I love all of Colleen Coble's novels and this story is no exception! Colleen has you gripping the edge of your seat from the very first page! While the story is a little unrealistic (they don't call it "fiction" for nothing!), it is still exceptionally written. Most of the time, I can guess how the mystery is going to play out. Colleen does an excellent job of keeping you guessing until the very end. My suspicions were completely wrong! I love that type of story!

    Libby, as a rather new Christian, is faced with obstacle after obstacle. It was great to go through her spiritual growth journey with her. She is also a strong, yet tender and loving female lead character. She would be someone I looked up to. Alec is a good, godly man. Yet, Colleen Coble gives him enough human characteristics to make him normal. He struggles just like any other man. With a cast of secondary characters like Vanessa, Brent, and Aunt Pearl, the story is never boring or drama-less.

    The overall theme of the story - greed and generosity (as stated by Colleen herself) - is repeated through the decisions and situations the characters deal with. The story repeatedly makes them ask the time old question: "What Would Jesus Do?" Facing trials and tribulations is part of every life, but especially Christians. As Alec is quick to point out, "Being a Christian doesn't mean trouble never comes our way... It just means God is here, and he gives us the grace to get through the heartache." When a particular decision has to be made that is really hard, the reward can be equally great.

    Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed this story, as I do all of Colleen Coble's works. I highly recommend this story as well as any of her other works!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2