Customer Reviews for

Ties That Bind

Average Rating 4.5
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2014

    Great novel

    This is one of my favorites from Brenda Jackson. I hoghly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Top of my personal Top Ten

    This book is one of my all time favorites!!!! I read this book in a day. I couldn't put it down!!! A MUST READ!!! It makes you run the gamut of emotions. This is the first book I recommend to anyone who asks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Great read!

    This book is filled with a little of everything. Love, sex, war, history, death, happiness, sadness, the list goes on. It's the makes for a GREAT movie........ Loved it from beginning to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2011

    A must read book

    This book is so good. I've read it a couple years ago this book is my favorite

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Love Story

    This is a true love story. If you believe the cliche "If you let love go and it returns then it's meant to be", then this book is for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2008

    One of the best novels in the world!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I read this book long, long, long time ago. I still want to read it again like it was that first that i pick it up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2007

    A reviewer

    I thought that this book was a compelling romantic love story that must be enjoyed by any and everyone! It was sad the amount of time lost throughout the novel. But at the end all the suffering and tragety could not tear down the love that the couple shared. I only wish I could experience the love they shared together with my special someone whom has yet to show his face. Wonderful read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2006

    Crafty, Edgy and Creatively Written

    What a crafty, cleverly written and thought-provoking novel. Ms. Jackson does a wonderful job of giving detail when and where needed. She shows us that even people with money, power and success have hang-ups and intro-racism. Yet the story is truly laced with love, commitment and devotion and dedication. She renews our faith in what it takes and means to be in love and all that it entails. If you've been blessed enough to have found your soulmate or are looking then this book is for you. While reading this story you'll meet some wonderfully powerful characters such as, Jenna, Randolph, Noah, Leigh, Johnny, Elle and a host of others you won't soon forget. Make sure you share this one with others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2007

    Couldn't Put It Down

    I thoroughly enjoyed this novel. Brenda Jackson is definitely a master of the written word. Couldn't stop until I was finished. Enjoyed the romance between all the couples but especially Jenna and Randolph. It was a story that contained so many things, history, love, suspense, betrayal, corruption, happiness and it spanned almost 50 years of family and friends. It should be a mini-series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2006

    breath taking

    this book was the most romantic love story i have ever read it was filled with tears laughs and everything else you can think of brenda you did a great job i can read this book over and over again i recommend this book to everyone

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2006

    Make Me A Movie Please!

    This is by far the best romance novel I have read in a long time. It was a very easy read! Once you start, you will not be able to stop. I absolutely loved this book. Brenda, if you have to pick a book for a movie....CHOOSE THIS ONE!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2006

    The Best

    This book is THE Best romantic/drama book I have ever read. I think if you love romantic books that are good and actually have a plot than you have to read this book. Brenda Jackson always write good books, but I think this is her best. WARNING: Once you open this book it's going to be really diffcult to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2005

    Ur left with nothing to do but turn the page

    I loved this book, i found myself not being able to put this book down. Romance, betrayal, history, trust and so much more are all encompassed into this delightful book. One of the best book i've ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2005

    I absolutley loved it

    This has got to be one of the best stories I have read in a long time. Her transition from past loves to new ones and the actual story itself really made the book what it is. I loved it and I suggest ones who havent read it to hop to it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2005

    Ridiculous!!!!!!

    I started reading this book yesturday and I can't put it down. Although I'm not finished with it yet, I couldn't help but write a review. This book is ridiculously remarkable. It's beautiful. I just graduated from high school last month, and I wonder if I may find my true love next year. Please read this book, you'll love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2005

    Brenda Jackson At Her Best !!!

    I have read about 20 Brenda Jackson books. I think this one is simply the best I laughed and I cried. At some points I was wondering how could I get so emotional just reading a book. Brenda makes you feel you know these people, and so many things that happen you can relate to. She really does a wonderful job adding history into this book making you remember the past and enlighting you on things you didn't know. I cannot say enough about this book. This women is a totally gifted writer. She has really been given a gift from god. I look forward to reading many more of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2004

    ROMANCE AT IT'S BEST

    I am not one who reads all the time, but when I picked up this book I could not put it down. I loved Randolph's character, it was refreshing to read about a man with such conviction for a woman. I also loved and cried when Jenna step aside in spite of her dislike for Angela and because of her love for Randolph. I felt as if I knew these characters. The way Mrs. Jackson describs the looks and the chemistry between these two is dramatic. You get swept away in their lives. Hats off to Mrs. Jackson. This is truly a novel for our times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2004

    Outstanding and greatly Recommended

    I've read 4 other books written by Brenda Jackson, but this one really hit home with the history of African Americans,the love,the disagreements, and the determination of all the characters in the book. After picking it up I couldn't put it down and was up till 3:00 in the morning trying to finish it to see how it ended. Excellent book!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2004

    The best book ever

    I thought this was the best book ever...i went to the library and i only went for one book and i decided and to get two, me being a 'teenager' aka young adult the cover attracted me and their color (african-american). which my heirtage interests me, i got the book even though i thought it would be something i wouldn't like.Once i started reading i couldnt put the book down for more than 5 mins and i dont even like reading, i recommed everyone to read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2004

    Outstanding Loving

    I could not put this book down! I just had to know how it ended and it ended just breath taking. I had to read it twice! I highly recommended this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2