Customer Reviews for

Ties That Bind (Cobbled Quilt Series #5)

Average Rating 4
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2014

    Great

    Other grrat book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    Loved it!

    Really great read, from really great author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2012

    Bostwick has once again WOWed me! The Cobbled Court series is

    Bostwick has once again WOWed me! The Cobbled Court series is such a powerful set that always melts my heart. Bostwick introduces the reader to two powerful characters, Pastor Philippa and fellow townsperson Margot. These two characters bring shimmer to New Bern, and it seems to be just what the town needs.

    Philippa is a new pastor, coming to New Bern to assist with a furlough of the current pastor. The townspeople have just a few days to acquire a new pastor and hire Philippa without an interview, let alone meeting her. When she arrives in New Bern they are shocked to find out they have hired a female member of the clergy. Scared, worried, and on an emotional roller coaster, Philippa paves her way into the hearts of many in New Bern.

    Margot has not lived in New Bern long, but the town has already accepted her. It’s Christmas and her dysfunctional family is coming together, something they have not done in many years. However, tragedy strikes, and they must all overcome it. Margot and her parents do not see eye to eye; however, in the end, good prevails.

    Bostwick has once again published an awesome novel! Time flies when I’m reading her novels, as I’m sucked into the town, wanting to be friends with all of the quilters. . . I’m looking forward to meeting more townspeople!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    READ!!!!

    I love this series!!!!! I want more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2012

    Ties That Bind - A Delightful Read!

    I loved this book. I picked it up every chance that I could. This is the first book that I have read by Marie Bostwick; I know it won’t be the last. I loved how her characters made this book come to life. Her portrayal of each one fit perfect with her story line. Margot Matthews was turning 40 and had hoped to let her birthday pass unnoticed. Her friends had other intentions. Life in New Bern, Connecticut fit her perfectly. She never regretted leaving the corporate world for a slower pace working for Evelyn the owner of Cobbled Court Quilts. Margot had made some wonderful friends since moving to New Bern. However, she thought she would be married with a family of her own by now. She figured that wasn’t in God’s plan for her and so she tried to accept life living single. Margot’s life starts to change drastically with the death of her sister. Philippa Clarkson didn’t start out wanting to walk in her Father’s foot steps as a pastor. It wasn’t until after the death of her husband she accepted God’s calling and relocated to New Bern to temporary fill in as an intern pastor while the current pastor recovered from a heart attack. This would be Philippa’s first church. The pulpit committee was expecting a Philip A Clarkson the son of the well known pastor Philip R Clarkson. Needless to say it was a bit of a surprise to the pulpit committee when they found out that Philip was really Philippa. This book is filled with love, acceptance, and forgiveness. I can’t forget to mention Grace, God’s Grace. While reading this book I went through many emotions. I was happy, sad, and angry. I had moments of laughing out loud and moments of crying. There are some tough issues and some tender moments. They were handled perfectly. I highly recommend this book to everyone. My thanks to the author for writing a book that not only is a great read but one that sticks with you for awhile. I wish to thank Kensington Publishers for sending me this book to read and review. The opinions expressed are mine alone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    Q Great again!

    Not because I live a town or two away from the author. The stories are about all of us,our friends, and that faith we share, so everyone, give yourself a treat and read a book that gives something back to you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Karen P. for Readers Favorite Marie Bostwick fans,

    Reviewed by Karen P. for Readers Favorite

    Marie Bostwick fans, you will not be disappointed in Marie's latest novel "Ties That Bind". Margot is forty, unmarried and childless and she feels time slipping away like the tide pulling sand from the beach. In New Bern, Connecticut, Margot has a wonderful network of friends and a rewarding job but she sees those around her with so much more and although she is supportive of the endeavors of her friends, she harbors secret jealousy. When her sister Mari and Mari's daughter Olivia are in a horrible car accident, Margot's life undergoes a life-shattering alteration as she struggles to piece together a family shattered by grief and anger. Several men then enter Margot's life and she must try to determine which, if any, of them can contribute positively to the resolution of her problems.

    Bostwick skillfully provides the reader with likeable and realistic characters and the reader will surely develop a favorite among Margot's family and friends. The characters are all knowable, touchable and capable of enhancing or bringing about agony to the life of Margot Matthews. One of the most intriguing characters is that of Phillippa, a newly-widowed pastor who is thrust into a community in which she is bound to become infused into the lives of the people she serves through her ministry. Despite the initial shock of a female pastor, the brethren of New Bern embrace the woman and help to take her to dreams yet unrealized. This is a wonderful book for those who truly want a taste of everyday life in an average American town.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2012

    This is the 5th book in the Cobbled Court quilting series. It's

    This is the 5th book in the Cobbled Court quilting series. It's a wonderful addition. New characters are introduced--Paul and Phillippa--and regulars in the series return. What's wonderful about this entry and every book in this series is the believable characters. I believe anyone who reads these volumes will be able to identify with the strengths and weaknesses of the characters. They are all very human and frustrating and lovable in their humanity. I am already waiting for #6.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Sue

    I enjoyed this book very much. Quilters will relate especially. I've read the whole series and loved them all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Margot Matthews thought she would be married and have children b

    Margot Matthews thought she would be married and have children by the time she turned forty,but now that the birthday has come she realizes that she may always be single. Overall her life is actually pretty good, she has a job at the Cobbled Court Quilt Shop in the tiny town of New Bern,does plenty of volunteer work at church and has plenty of friends that she can count on, but figures that she might never meet Mr. Right, and wonders if she should settle for Mr.So So.When the church needs to hire a temporary pastor they think they have hired a man, but instead get Phillippa, who is fresh out of seminary school. While some of the church members aren't happy, Phillippa hopes to win them over with hard work. When Phillippa needs some help with the teen group she decides to do a bit of matchmaking and pairs Margot together with the Paul, who recently moved to town with his son James. Meanwhile tragedy strikes Margot's family threatening to tear them apart at the seams.

    "Ties That Bind" is actually the fifth book in the Cobbled Court Quilts series,which initially had me wondering if I would feel lost because I hadn't read any of the other books in the series,but I had no problems jumping right into the story. By the time I finished the book I felt like the characters had become friends. As the story unfolds the author writes the complications of life very realistically. From Margot dealing with a family tragedy,one that should pull her and her parents together,but does the opposite, to Phillippa who questions her abilities, but ultimately finds that God has a plan in store for her. As the story unfolded I couldn't help but wonder about Margot's sister Mare, but by the end of the story learned how her life had changed. A story about life, love,friends, relationships with a small town setting. The inspirational messages woven into the story are well done and certainly remind us of "The Ties That Bind." Overall while this is my first foray into The Cobbled Court Quilt series it certainly won't be my last, I plan on going back and reading the first four books in the series. Highly recommended!

    A complimentary copy of this book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2012

    ¿A Wonderful, Heartwarming, ¿Quilt-alicious¿ Tale Not to be Missed"

    Ms. Bostwick has done it again! She has enticed me to New Bern, Connecticut to spend time with all of the beloved personalities of the Cobbled Court Quilt Shop. We are re-introduced to “The Lovebirds”; Evelyn and Charlie, the “Queen of Quilting”; Virginia, Madelyn, Tessa, Ivy, Wendy, and Dana just to name a few. It takes a little while to get reacquainted with Margot, but once you do, you will follow her as she attempts to mend family discord by inviting her estranged Sister; Mari (Mariposa) and Niece; Olivia, to join in Christmas Dinner with their Parents and some of Margot’s friends from the quilt shop. Sadly, this meets with heart-wrenching disaster and the start of a journey of self discovery that Margot had never anticipated. Many paths appear, including those of heartache and sorrow, frustrations with family, love found in the most unexpected places and a new sense of courage and self-esteem Margot never thought possible in this, her fortieth year. Along the way, she is reunited with ex-beau, commitment-shy; Arnie Kinsella , and is introduced to the “New guy in town”, the handsome and down-to-earth, divorced attorney; Paul Collier, who is also the father of introverted 11 yr. old son, James. Where does suave and too charming Geoff Bench figure into all of this? Or does Margot really want him to?? When Rev. Tucker suffers from a heart attack and has to be on sabbatical during his recovery, The New Bern Community Church Board chooses a temporary replacement for Rev.Tucker with the well-known and respected Pastor Philip Clarkson’s offspring, counting on awe-inspiring sermons when little do they know this will be the newbie’s first pulpit and, as the parishioners find out, is a person full of surprises! You will meet the wise Elder of the Church and Patriarch of his Family of Daughters; Waldo Smitherton, who dispenses love and advice as a physician would medicine—with kindness and caring. I was brought to tears several times throughout this tale as well as experiencing the frustration and hurt Margot endures. Oh, you’ll want to grab her by the shoulders and shake some sense into her as well as her stubborn, caustic Father and quiet-as-a-mouse Mother but many life lessons are learned along the rocky way. Try as I might, I could not postpone the inevitable—reaching the conclusion of this terrific story. I tried to make my journey to New Bern last as long as possible. As sad as I am as I close the cover on another unforgettable “quilt-alicious” experience, I am anxiously awaiting Marie’s next volume. Make room on your bookshelf for this is one you do not want to miss! Kensington ARC Nancy Narma

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2012

    Highly recommend checking this out

    I am anxious to receive my copy of this book. Love the series and am extremely excited there is another volume to this series. Great reads thus far and I'm sure this will be another good one! Marie Bostwick has done a great job on the Cobbled Quilt series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2012

    NO DELIVERY

    I will give you a review ONCE I RECEIVE my order! I have been waiting ..patiently.. for the 2 books!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2012

    Great Place

    I think B&N is a wonderful place to find books and I have no trouble finding the current stuff available now or pre ordering.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2