Customer Reviews for

Ties That Bind, Ties That Break

Average Rating 4
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Ties That Bind, Ties That Break

I enjoyed this book to a great extent. It truly displays the life of a young girl in China and gives a gruesome description of foot-binding and what went on in families in China when men ran the house. Some people don't realize the terrible living conditions of those 'b...
I enjoyed this book to a great extent. It truly displays the life of a young girl in China and gives a gruesome description of foot-binding and what went on in families in China when men ran the house. Some people don't realize the terrible living conditions of those 'big footed' women. Their feet weren't big, they had just regular sized feet, but 'men' liked women with small feet... Why? Probably so they could feel 'in power' and manipulate their wive/s. That is depressing and not very humanly. Men are equal to Women, as Whites are equal to Blacks. Did you know... Some Chinese women still have bound feet because it would hurt too much to unbind them and walk on them...

posted by Anonymous on May 22, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Horrible Story

To be honest, I despise Lensey Namioka's writing. It is not clear, juat flat out BORING. Her poor writing in this book reflects her other books: I would give this book a F+ and that is being forgivable. Do not read this! You may find some recommendations below. These ar...
To be honest, I despise Lensey Namioka's writing. It is not clear, juat flat out BORING. Her poor writing in this book reflects her other books: I would give this book a F+ and that is being forgivable. Do not read this! You may find some recommendations below. These are good choices if you want to read good literature.

posted by skeleboy on November 15, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2008

    A reviewer

    The main character stands up for what she beleives in. She thinks that the old ways of china should be discontinued. In the end she ends up running a restrant in Aemrica. Get the book to find out how this happens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2008

    Ties That Bind, Ties That Break

    I greatly enjoy books with romance, drama, and torture... This doesn't have a lot of 'get in bed with me' romance, which is why it is only a four. Yes it truly displays China, but I enjoy sex and sexy lovers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2008

    Great

    I was assigned this book to read for my 7th grade honors Language Arts class and I was thinking that it was going to be horrible 'most assigned reading at my school is'. Man was I surprised. I read ths book in about 2 hours and it was the total opposite of what I was expecting. It was very easy to read 'flowed well' and the main character is very likeable and interseting. I would recomend this book to girls mostly but I think boys would enjoy it also, just not as much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2007

    Ties that Bind Ties that Break

    The past two weeks my class in esl has been reding a book. This book is about a little girl that makes her on decisions. This book is for everybody.I really like this book because it shows that no matter how young you are, you can take your decisions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2007

    ties that bind

    This book is about a Chinese girl against the trandition and made her own decision to go the America start her new life. It is a good book to read for teenagers. She tries to do things on her own and be independent. Modern children are likely to be mommy-baby. ailin did a good job on independent. but i don't like the ending because i don't like ailin's husband, James.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2007

    Ties That Bind, Ties That Break

    I read Ties That Bind, Ties That Break. It's about the Chinese girl and her culture. Her family does not want the girl to be in the home because she does not have her feet bound. And then she moved to U.S.A and live with Warner's.I like the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2007

    Ties That Bind, Ties That Break

    This week we read about a book called 'Ties That Bind, Ties That Break'. It's about a Chinese girl's life. She has a hard time in China because her feet are not bound. Later on in the book she moves to the U.S. Read this book and find out more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2006

    Interesting

    this made me view my traditions in a whole new way and be thankful for having 'big' feet. This book is worth reading and even though it is a very short novel it is a very touching one too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2005

    Great book!!

    This book was great! I honestly read it all in like 2 hrs! You can't put it down! it teaches you a lot about Chinese coulture and how to stand up for what you believe in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2002

    A review

    It was a very emotional impact that inspired many chinese-american women, and asians all over the world. As i look at my "Big" feet, i have realize that this book is a great way to realize how we could fight for our own rights, even if it's a very daring chance to take. This book was great, i would recommend anyone this book, about the hopes and confidence this young women had to face, even if it had to change her life into another world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2002

    A sweet read.

    This is a sweet little book about overcoming cultural oppression. This book is not a literary classic and it will not require Cliff-Notes. However, it is charming in its simplicity. Namioka does an excellent job of relating Ailin's story without being judgemental or harsh. If nothing else, this book should be read to break the monotony of face-paced thrillers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2002

    Good Readin'!

    This was an interesting story of the trials and tribualtions of a young girl whose life changes when she refuses to have her feet bound, which was a horrible tradition that Chinese women had been suffering for generations. It was interesting to learn what the troubles of other couintries were like in the time when Americans had the Great Depression and wars and things. The story was what I would call a 'page-turner'. Read it for yourself

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2000

    prettycool

    after reading this, i thought the book was pretty cool in the way it was written. not just the story line, but also the historical facts that supported it. but for some reason, it seemed way too easy..i finished it in like 3 hrs..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1