Customer Reviews for

Ties That Bind, Ties That Break

Average Rating 4
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Ties That Bind, Ties That Break

I enjoyed this book to a great extent. It truly displays the life of a young girl in China and gives a gruesome description of foot-binding and what went on in families in China when men ran the house. Some people don't realize the terrible living conditions of those 'b...
I enjoyed this book to a great extent. It truly displays the life of a young girl in China and gives a gruesome description of foot-binding and what went on in families in China when men ran the house. Some people don't realize the terrible living conditions of those 'big footed' women. Their feet weren't big, they had just regular sized feet, but 'men' liked women with small feet... Why? Probably so they could feel 'in power' and manipulate their wive/s. That is depressing and not very humanly. Men are equal to Women, as Whites are equal to Blacks. Did you know... Some Chinese women still have bound feet because it would hurt too much to unbind them and walk on them...

posted by Anonymous on May 22, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Horrible Story

To be honest, I despise Lensey Namioka's writing. It is not clear, juat flat out BORING. Her poor writing in this book reflects her other books: I would give this book a F+ and that is being forgivable. Do not read this! You may find some recommendations below. These ar...
To be honest, I despise Lensey Namioka's writing. It is not clear, juat flat out BORING. Her poor writing in this book reflects her other books: I would give this book a F+ and that is being forgivable. Do not read this! You may find some recommendations below. These are good choices if you want to read good literature.

posted by skeleboy on November 15, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2008

    Ties That Bind, Ties That Break

    I enjoyed this book to a great extent. It truly displays the life of a young girl in China and gives a gruesome description of foot-binding and what went on in families in China when men ran the house. Some people don't realize the terrible living conditions of those 'big footed' women. Their feet weren't big, they had just regular sized feet, but 'men' liked women with small feet... Why? Probably so they could feel 'in power' and manipulate their wive/s. That is depressing and not very humanly. Men are equal to Women, as Whites are equal to Blacks. Did you know... Some Chinese women still have bound feet because it would hurt too much to unbind them and walk on them...

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2008

    A reviewer

    I really enjoyed this book, but it was also very sad and depressing what these girls had to endure. But, I also found it interesting to learn about our history.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2008

    A reviewer

    This book was very terrific! I'd reccomend it to young and old readers who enjoy a book so much that they can't put it down. It has short chapters and great description for young readers, and is interesting and exciting for those older readers. It is so good, that when i finished it, my mom and aunt wanted to read it. Plus, the characters are very interesting. I rccomend it to everyone who likes a good read,too!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Good

    This book contains reading strategies that are useful in later years about jobs. Good for any age.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    This is a really good book

    I have this book in real life, I'm reading it in school. I'm on page 34 and I'm so interested in it I always am curious whats going to happen next. I would recomend this book to anybody that likes really good books and who loves learning new things about other states and there traditional honors like having there feet bound, and if yur curious what bound means then read this book! It will teach what bound means and hiw they bound there feet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    !

    Love it!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    Fantastic

    This is a great book! I loved every page!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Ties that bu I Ties that bind ties that break

    Love this book soo much

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2011

    got to read this book

    a fabulous teen age book. after my grandaughter read it, i read it myself. recommend it highly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2007

    I loved this book

    I never really read books like this. But I had to read this for summer reading this year, and i must say I couldn't take my eyes off of it. The girl in this book is a strong woman and stood up for herself on her two big feet! i finished this book in less then a day. if you like to read you should pick this book up next time you go to a book store or libery!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2007

    Ties that Bind

    I read this book in my school in ESL class, the firts chapter was kind slow but then start to be more interesting. The book is about a Chinese girl who has to make hard decision every time. When you read this book you learn how make decision in your life and make you strong and believe in yourself.I think anyone can read this book because you become a better person.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2005

    The Best Book

    This is such a great book, I love it so much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2005

    The Best book ever

    This book really inspired me becaise it really brings to life how women used to bind their feet. This book really explains alot and tells how hard Ailin's life was. I strongly recommend this book to a seventh or eighth grade Girl. I personaly think this was one of the best books I have read. So go right now and buy 'Ties That Bind, Ties That Break.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2004

    OUTSTANDING!!

    Too good to describe for words. Open the book and you will never close it until you finish it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2003

    ties that bind ties that break

    Chinese girls, about 7th and up,who yearn to know what fancy women/girls tradition would be like probably will enjoy the gruesome but enchanting story of Ailin in the story Ties That Blind Ties That Break($4.99). One of those girls were me. When I started reading this book I felt it kept on pulling and pulling me in with a hook just like how T.V. can be like. I could realte to this book because I found that my great- grandma was forced to have her feet bound. As I went into and into Ailin¿s story I felt like I was her and was having to have the freedom of not blinding my feet, but was still not having the luxery of doing nothing. The story can tell the enchanting and grusome story about feetblinding in ancient China.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2003

    Great Book for Anyone!

    I read this book in two hours beacuase I couldn't put it down even though I tried so very hard. This book is an amazing example of women power! I was really 'pulled' into this book because of the fact that she was only 5 yrs. young when she made up her mind and she had enough will power to stick with her decision. I recomend reading the book to anyone who enjoyed 'Chinese Cinderella' or any book about self-empowerment!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2002

    Intimate, Real and Indepth

    This book is amazing! If you'd like a peek into Chinese culture during the Chinese Revolution and the years 1910-1930 without a boring history book, read this. It's delightful. The young protagonist Ailin is smart and ambitious. It's a beautiful story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2001

    A HISTORIC TALE!

    A historic period of time is re-told from the eyes of a young woman. Reflection back on some of the most remarkable moments of her life is re-told in her own story of her life in China during the 1920¿s. She is forced to live from the customs of her family; she must live the life that any young woman must follow in the China during the 1920¿s. Remember it a FIVE STAR WINNING BOOK! ONE YOU MUST READ!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2