Customer Reviews for

Tiger Eye (Dirk & Steele Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 663 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(266)

4 Star

(216)

3 Star

(113)

2 Star

(33)

1 Star

(35)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

"Family" Intrigue with a Paranormal view

I bought this book after getting a computer gamed based on it. The reviews of the game claimed the book to be superior to the game as far as romance, sad to say, it was a little tame for me. Not a bad book, just not as hot & bothering as my usual finds. If you like peop...
I bought this book after getting a computer gamed based on it. The reviews of the game claimed the book to be superior to the game as far as romance, sad to say, it was a little tame for me. Not a bad book, just not as hot & bothering as my usual finds. If you like people strong enough to overcome past life experiences, mixed with intrigue, world travel, self made families with finely developed feelings of loyalty, support and love (acceptance of person, warts and all) you should REALLY get this book. Not as sexy as some, but twists & turns aplenty to hold your interest. And it's the first in a 'series' by the same author. Give it a read.

posted by 2Naughty4Words on October 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

So did anyone actually read this book?

All the reviews were complaints about free books. Lets get back to reviewing books.

posted by 6969087 on November 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 666 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 34
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    "Family" Intrigue with a Paranormal view

    I bought this book after getting a computer gamed based on it. The reviews of the game claimed the book to be superior to the game as far as romance, sad to say, it was a little tame for me. Not a bad book, just not as hot & bothering as my usual finds. If you like people strong enough to overcome past life experiences, mixed with intrigue, world travel, self made families with finely developed feelings of loyalty, support and love (acceptance of person, warts and all) you should REALLY get this book. Not as sexy as some, but twists & turns aplenty to hold your interest. And it's the first in a 'series' by the same author. Give it a read.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2011

    "Paranormal Romance" is STILL romance

    While better written than many, _Tiger Eye_ still adheres rigidly to the conventions of the romance novel. This may be a good thing from a romance reader's point of view--it's entertaining, yet predictable and "safe." From the point of view of a science fiction/fantasy fan, the gratuitous, lengthy descriptions of foreplay get to be tedious after a while. They don't advance the plot or premise (contrast this with Jacqueline Carey's _Kushiel's Dart_ series, or even Laurel Hamilton's Anita Blake series, where sex is integral to the plot and understanding of the characters). Like all good romance heroines, Dela does not complete the act with her were-tiger swain until toward the end of the book...though like most modern romance heroines, she engages in everything else but. A little more emphasis on action outside the boudoir might make this series appealing to a broader audience (there can never be too many superhero/psychic detective agency series, right?); as is, this is too far on the romance side for much appeal outside the armies of romance fans.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2011

    So did anyone actually read this book?

    All the reviews were complaints about free books. Lets get back to reviewing books.

    4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    exhilarating fantasy romantic suspense

    In Beijing, Dela Reese searches the various booths of the Cheap Dirt Market until she purchases an ancient looking riddle box for a ridiculously low price. She takes the box to her apartment, but is unable to read the inscription that looks like gibberish to Dela. However, she manages to ¿open¿ the box; in the next nanosecond a handsome seven foot warrior offers to obey her commands.--- Dela tells Hari he is free, but he says she cannot release him because part of the curse is that he must stay near his owner. He explains that the curse began two millennium ago when a magi stole his skin and killed his sister. When an assassin tries to kill Dela with a knife she made, he intercedes though she never commanded him to do so. As Hari finds Dela unique and different than any previous owner, they fall in love, but someone wants her dead and if they succeed the trouble with Hari is that they would own him unless Hari can end the curse by finding his skin.--- TIGER EYE is an exhilarating fantasy romantic suspense that enables the audience to glimpse modern day Beijing. The genie in a non-bottle container rescued by a courageous heroine is not a new theme. Sherrilyn Kenyon¿s did this in FANTASY LOVER. However, Marjorie M. Liu makes it feel as if she is the first to use this concept because of the interactions between Dela and Hari. She adapts perhaps because of her curse to ¿hear¿ people¿s laments while he struggles to accept her honest efforts to liberate him without personal gain; together they make for an exciting tale.--- Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    Free friday delivers

    I picked this one up as a friday freebie. Sometimes you get the freebies and think, well, I'm glad that was free, but other times you get one, devour it, then realize you are in trouble because now you want to read all of the rest. This book fell in the middle for me, not super great need to read every other book she's written, but not horrible. An enjoyable paranormal romance. I liked the way that power was introduced. The side characters were likable. Definately some really funny qoutes, and "aw" moments. The pacing was decent, the begining is really quick, the middle sags a bit, but then the ending is quick again. Plenty of action and emotion. Hero/heroine were believable and I liked their interaction. Overall it was a decent story, it had its good moments and its bad, but it wasn't an awful book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2010

    One of my Top 5 Books

    OMG, This is a great book! I have gotten other Dirk & Steele series books but they just don't compare with this one. The characters are good and the story is very unusual. You are introduced to a variety of characters. There is humor and romance and.....well, read it for yourself. It's a great book. One of my all time Top 5 books (Maybe even Top 3!)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    Interesting

    While I was happy to see a lead female character in a fantasy/magic book, she comes off as a bit cliche and transparent. Her strong personality seems only to come from being surrounded by powerful men and without them, she is nothing. Parts of the story were cheesy and drawn out, but overall I very much enjoyed the concept of the story, however, and I definitely loved the descriptions of Hari. I might read this again, and I would entertain the thought of picking up the next in the series, if only to give the author a second chance. It's worth it in this situation.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    Like. This is the first free book that the font is reader friendly and the book is one of those"can't put down". I am going to look up all her books,

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2011

    Excellent Series

    I have totally enjoyed this book and can't wait to read the rest of the series - I've looked at all the overviews and am really looking forward to the different paranormal aspects that will be brought out as the series progresses.

    NOTE - #4 is part of Dark Dreams Omnibus with Christine Feehan I haven't found it as a standalone but hey I love Christine's books also so no problem on my end.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good start to a series

    I enjoyed the plot and it is a good start to a fine series. I would of liked more in the intimate parts, but that is just my opinion.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2010

    I love this eBook!

    I originally became aware of this eBook via a game based on it. After playing the game and finding out it was based on this book, I knew I had to get it. This book had me riveted page after page, unable to put it down. The story is fantastic and the romance is heartwarming and beautiful. The plot and the characters are absolute genius. No sooner was I doubled over with laughter than I was fervently hoping the agency would be successful. I hope to see more literature from Marjorie Liu.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Page Turner

    Marjorie M. Liu's series opener is a fast read from start to finish. If you like fantasy mixed with romance, this is your kind of book. Had to stay up to finish it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    if you like christine feehan...

    you'll enjoy this author too

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Interesting

    Good book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Okay but not all that

    Very slow for the first couple of chapters. Characters are not developed as much as they could be. The action was okay but also draged a little. The situations were not quite developed enough. Plot was good and a little different but didn't have a wow facter.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    Trashy Romance Novel

    This is just a trashy romance novel with a supernatural twist. Worst Free Friday selection EVER!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2011

    An ok "airplane book"

    I'm new to this genre, and so far I'm not very impressed. Sure, the sex is great, but there's only so many lush curves and lean hips I can take! he story was quite interesting, but sadly let down by thin characterization and simplistic interaction between the characters. On the good side, it was a page turner. Rather like a twinkie, immediate gratification but no real substance and I felt a little short-changed afterwards.

    I like Angela Knight better for this genre, and if you can do without the sex, both Kelly Armstrong and Patricia Briggs are better writers (but still not exactly demanding!). If you want a great romance, try Jane Eyre, now that's real writing.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not the Best Book

    I came across this Nook book as a "Free Fridays" special. It's the first in a series that features brave heroines and sexy, tormented heroes--with a paranormal twist, of course. In this novel, Dela comes across a cursed box with a shapeshifter cursed to be locked inside, bpwing to the whims of eevry new master he's encountered over the years. This tiger/man is Hari, and as Dela's life is endangered, both fall (rather quickly, in my opinion) in love. It is a good tale, with romance and mystery, but it seemed too under-developed for me. I would have enjoyed it more if there had been more thought put into it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    Tigers Eye

    What a wonderful story. I could hardle put it down. I admit that the eroticism was a little over the top for this type of book, it seemed to fit in. Enjoy a great read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    Decent reading

    Kinda harped on the oh i want her,feel so deep for him thing, somewhat repititious in that sense but overall a great story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 666 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 34