Customer Reviews for

Tiger Eye (Dirk & Steele Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 665 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(266)

4 Star

(218)

3 Star

(113)

2 Star

(33)

1 Star

(35)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

"Family" Intrigue with a Paranormal view

I bought this book after getting a computer gamed based on it. The reviews of the game claimed the book to be superior to the game as far as romance, sad to say, it was a little tame for me. Not a bad book, just not as hot & bothering as my usual finds. If you like peop...
I bought this book after getting a computer gamed based on it. The reviews of the game claimed the book to be superior to the game as far as romance, sad to say, it was a little tame for me. Not a bad book, just not as hot & bothering as my usual finds. If you like people strong enough to overcome past life experiences, mixed with intrigue, world travel, self made families with finely developed feelings of loyalty, support and love (acceptance of person, warts and all) you should REALLY get this book. Not as sexy as some, but twists & turns aplenty to hold your interest. And it's the first in a 'series' by the same author. Give it a read.

posted by 2Naughty4Words on October 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

So did anyone actually read this book?

All the reviews were complaints about free books. Lets get back to reviewing books.

posted by 6969087 on November 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 266 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 14
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    exhilarating fantasy romantic suspense

    In Beijing, Dela Reese searches the various booths of the Cheap Dirt Market until she purchases an ancient looking riddle box for a ridiculously low price. She takes the box to her apartment, but is unable to read the inscription that looks like gibberish to Dela. However, she manages to ¿open¿ the box; in the next nanosecond a handsome seven foot warrior offers to obey her commands.--- Dela tells Hari he is free, but he says she cannot release him because part of the curse is that he must stay near his owner. He explains that the curse began two millennium ago when a magi stole his skin and killed his sister. When an assassin tries to kill Dela with a knife she made, he intercedes though she never commanded him to do so. As Hari finds Dela unique and different than any previous owner, they fall in love, but someone wants her dead and if they succeed the trouble with Hari is that they would own him unless Hari can end the curse by finding his skin.--- TIGER EYE is an exhilarating fantasy romantic suspense that enables the audience to glimpse modern day Beijing. The genie in a non-bottle container rescued by a courageous heroine is not a new theme. Sherrilyn Kenyon¿s did this in FANTASY LOVER. However, Marjorie M. Liu makes it feel as if she is the first to use this concept because of the interactions between Dela and Hari. She adapts perhaps because of her curse to ¿hear¿ people¿s laments while he struggles to accept her honest efforts to liberate him without personal gain; together they make for an exciting tale.--- Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2010

    One of my Top 5 Books

    OMG, This is a great book! I have gotten other Dirk & Steele series books but they just don't compare with this one. The characters are good and the story is very unusual. You are introduced to a variety of characters. There is humor and romance and.....well, read it for yourself. It's a great book. One of my all time Top 5 books (Maybe even Top 3!)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2011

    Excellent Series

    I have totally enjoyed this book and can't wait to read the rest of the series - I've looked at all the overviews and am really looking forward to the different paranormal aspects that will be brought out as the series progresses.

    NOTE - #4 is part of Dark Dreams Omnibus with Christine Feehan I haven't found it as a standalone but hey I love Christine's books also so no problem on my end.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2010

    I love this eBook!

    I originally became aware of this eBook via a game based on it. After playing the game and finding out it was based on this book, I knew I had to get it. This book had me riveted page after page, unable to put it down. The story is fantastic and the romance is heartwarming and beautiful. The plot and the characters are absolute genius. No sooner was I doubled over with laughter than I was fervently hoping the agency would be successful. I hope to see more literature from Marjorie Liu.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Page Turner

    Marjorie M. Liu's series opener is a fast read from start to finish. If you like fantasy mixed with romance, this is your kind of book. Had to stay up to finish it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    Tigers Eye

    What a wonderful story. I could hardle put it down. I admit that the eroticism was a little over the top for this type of book, it seemed to fit in. Enjoy a great read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    send me a tiger

    hari was delicious and the story was a good read can't wait to get my hands on the next book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    Exciting

    I really enjoyed this shape-shifting story. A "Genie out of the bottle" situation begins. It had two exhilirating "hitman" action happening, so you were left with the suspense of why and who was after whom. Romantic and.funny!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2011

    A must read

    This is great story, touching in so many ways. I could not believe how involved I was in just 27 pages, it seemed there had to have been more than that. Non the less, i couldn't stop gigglilng and laughing out loud in parts of it, just nice involving writting. I see the rest of the series books, and I can't wait to see what else happens, want to see Dela's full potential, and how each caracter developes to their full meaning of self.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2011

    Get the kids out of here

    News release. Kids do not get a say here. This is for review of books for adults by adults. Go do your homework.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    WOW--WONDERFUL READING--

    GOT THIS ONE AND BEFOR DONE WITH IT CAME IN AND BOUGHT THE REST OF THEM-JUST BOUGHT #10----ONLY 1 PROBLEM----CANT FIND NUMBER 4 IN THE SERIES--I WILL BE RE-READING THESE MANY TIMES--THANK YOU MARJORIE LIU---

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2011

    Recommended

    By far the best in the series. I could not put it down and I have reread it over and over again. Sorry, when I really like a book and I will read it over and over again. I did not care for the other books in the series but I did want to know what happens to characters as they were memorable. Thanks Ms. Liu for a wonderful book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A great read!

    This is a wonderful read, it has fantasy, a little aciton, romance, and the tenderness between the two main characters is great. It's more then just a romance, it's about falling in love. Very interesting and unique plot and very well written. I love reading this book whenever I get the chance.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Story

    This is the first Marjorie Liu book I have read and I must say, I am rather impressed. The book flowed very nicely, the characters were diverse and memorable. The story stayed interesting throughout and it was original. Definitely two thumbs up and recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    WHOA! Read this book if you like Paranormal Romance stories!

    My Beloved Husband bought this book for me for Christmas and I ate it up in one day! LOVED IT! Can't wait to get my paws on the rest of the series. I loved the prose and I loved the fact that the narrator switched from Hari's perspective to Dela's. The reader gets a great insight as to how they both feel and what's really going on in their hearts. There were times when Dela came close to whiny - but she was stopped by herself or Hari (more often Hari), which really saved Dela from becoming irratating. Goodness knows Katie MacAlister (as much as I love her!) can let her characters get whiny. The pace of the book is fast, there is a lot of story and action to sink your teeth in to, and the characters are so darn likeable. All of Dela's friends from Dirk and Steele are fleshed out nicely and I do hope they are recurring characters. Ms. Lui obviously did her research as well as the locations were very believable. My hubby spent a LOT of time traveling through China on business and told me much about it. Ms. Lui's prose brought me right back to his stories of how the smog and fierce desert winds off the Gobi affected the cities.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2006

    Great New Author!!

    I was hesitant in buying this mainly because of a first time author. However, I bought it & could not put it down! This book is up there with the best of the paranormal authors. And what's more refreshing is its not loaded with sex scenes every other page. She adds a mystery to the book with various plots & twists throughout. Just when you think everything is going fine another twist is tossed in. Highly recommend and can't wait to read her future novels.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2015

    What a story!

    Ms. Lui first book in the series and it is great. Everything that makes paranormal books so great is in here except vampires. If you're looking for a new series to read start here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2014

    Panther

    Carried stripekit in and tied him up with vines. Then she tied up his mouth so he could cry for help.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    I first found this by playing the hidden object games based on t

    I first found this by playing the hidden object games based on this book. Tiger Eye-Part 1: The Curse of the Riddle Box and Tiger Eye-Part 2: The Sacrifice. When I later found out through the credits that they were based on a novel, I had to read it. I bought the nook book yesterday afternoon and finished it last night. I couldn't put it down. OMG!! This book was awesome. It made me wish that I had the riddle box myself. The big focus of the book is loving someone who is different, but not that different than yourself, as well as falling in love so quickly. As the saying goes, "Love has no time limit". Read this book. It is definitely something that you will not be able to put down after you start it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    WOW!!!!

    This was a great book. It had an interesting storyline, great romance and explicit sex and the promise of more books to come. What more could an avid reader of paranormal romance want.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 266 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 14