Customer Reviews for

The Tiger Rising

Average Rating 4
( 269 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(159)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

My first real book

I read this book in third grade! I remember it so well because it was to first book I ever CRIED in!! This was such a good book and would recommend it to anyone!!!

posted by Anonymous on May 20, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Ok

Its good not amazing

posted by Anonymous on December 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 273 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2008

    My first real book

    I read this book in third grade! I remember it so well because it was to first book I ever CRIED in!! This was such a good book and would recommend it to anyone!!!

    23 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2008

    The Best Book

    Action,adventure,sadness,friendship,love,hate,and even moments that will stop your breath.These are all the feelings you will encounter in this book.The book is by Kate DiCamillo.This is a great book and it would defiantly be worth your time. This book is about a boy named Rob who finds a tiger while walking through the woods one day!He and his friend,Sistine,a girl he meets from school, go on a mission to set it free. They get themselves into co much mischief that it seems like they will never get out.Will it be love that settles there differences or hate that will tear them apart?Find all this information out when you read The Tiger Rising. The thing i liked best about this book is that it shows you can always trust a friend and that you shouldn't be afraid of what your friend might think.And that is a very great life lesson. I recommend this book to kids 10 and older who like animals and adventure.

    22 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Emotionally Powerful!

    The Tiger Rising is a short book that packs an intense emotional wallop. A young boy struggles to contain and ignore the intense grief and various other problems he is facing. The story uses symbolism to show how the boy faces his grief and learns to set it free.

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Amazing

    Read this last year and couldnt put it down as many time my teacher told me to. Theres only one curse word but you will get over it. The setting is in a dull town, i believe this boy lives with his dad at a hotel. If you ever read this book i know for sure you will like it. Because how the book is set up, and the choice of words that is in then the book. As a 10 year old im inpressed.
    ~Brianna Cole

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2008

    made me cry

    this book was so good!<BR/>it was short which i like and it had a good story!

    10 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2005

    LOVED IT

    I loved the book, i was so interested that I could n't put down the book till 1:00AM and had work the next day! i totally recomend it!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Love this book

    This book is great you should read it my friend and i love it ,it has all differerent kinds of emotions it made me cry, READ THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!! :)

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2009

    astounding

    This book made some interesting points such as the relationship between rob and the Tiger, the tiger and rob are kind of connected. Because it seems as if rob has a strong spirit inside of him (the tiger) that's waiting to get out and show everyone and every thing what he can really do, and the reason him and the tiger are connected is because rob is afraid to let the strong spirit inside of him to show, much like he is afraid to let the tiger out of his cage.
    I recommend this book to anyone who is looking for a good read, this book was a real page turner, because I was always wanting to know what was going to happen next, I really enjoyed this story because it had an interesting story line, in total this is a very good read.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2011

    AWESOME BOOK!!!!!

    very detailed, descriptive, and awesome book. I lloovvee it!!!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2008

    a reviewer

    Our class read the novel, The Tiger Rising, by Kate DiCamillo. Some of us loved it, and others thought it was only okay. But our teacher thinks it is excellent and since she is the boss we are going with a 'recommended' rating. The main characters are Rob and Sistine. Both kids, who are in the 6th grade, are going through a hard time. At the beginning of the book, Rob¿s mother just died, and Sistine has just moved to Florida from Philadelphia because her parents got divorced. Both kids are being bullied in school. Rob copes with his hard time by pretending that his feelings are locked in an imaginary suitcase. He discovers a tiger locked in a cage behind the motel where he is living with his dad. The owner of the hotel, Beauchamp, asks Rob to feed the tiger a couple times a day, and gives Rob the keys to the cage. Why is there a tiger locked in a cage? What does Rob¿s friend Sistine think about the tiger? Will Rob and Sistine overcome their problems? Join Rob and Sistine as they figure out what to do, and learn to trust the grown-ups to help them.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    AWESOME

    one of my faviriite books in the world it is so.worth the money get it i read it in 2 hours i cant put it down i would give millions of stars if i could

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Ok

    Its good not amazing

    4 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2011

    awesomeeeeeee!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    read it after you read these rewiews the best book i have read in a long time!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2011

    @W$0ME

    I Luv It!!! This book it makes me cry at the end where the dad kills the tiger and the story is so good GOOD JOB Kate Dillimo

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2008

    100%!!!

    Do not read and trust the review below, by 'Sam'. Read them all, and count the positive to the negative. This book is an excellent must-read!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I read this when I was about 12 years old and I loved it, I coul

    I read this when I was about 12 years old and I loved it, I couldn't put it down

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    Love it

    This book is amazing love it almost brought me to years

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2001

    'It deserves more than 5 stars'

    His mother is six months dead, his father locked in emotional denial, his legs covered in itchy, red blisters,12-year-old Rob Horton has stuffed his feelings into the suitcase he packed after his mother's funeral for the move to the Kentucky Star Motel in Lister, Florida - Not until he finds the caged tiger in the woods behind the Kentucky Star motel. Rob goes to school like any normal kid, but gets a 'vacation' from his own principle because of the problem on his legs. Rob is so happy because he knows that it will clear. This gives him an oppurtunity to visit the tiger. He thought that it was a dream untill the owner of the motel gives him the keys to the tiger just to free it, but he meets a friend that demands him to free the tiger. Towards the end he finally gives in and lets it free. The cleaner of the motel spots them, and tells his dad, who gets his gun, and shoots it in it's head. If you want to know more, just read it!

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2013

    Goog

    I readthis book t school on the nooks and its really good! I suggest you but it. Its worth the money guys,

    Bye, Hai

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    Tiger rising

    Great book.love sistine and willie may.sad when the tiger dues

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 273 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14