BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Tiger Rising

Average Rating 4
( 274 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(164)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

26 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

My first real book

I read this book in third grade! I remember it so well because it was to first book I ever CRIED in!! This was such a good book and would recommend it to anyone!!!

posted by Anonymous on May 20, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Ok

Its good not amazing

posted by Anonymous on December 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2008

    My first real book

    I read this book in third grade! I remember it so well because it was to first book I ever CRIED in!! This was such a good book and would recommend it to anyone!!!

    26 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2008

    The Best Book

    Action,adventure,sadness,friendship,love,hate,and even moments that will stop your breath.These are all the feelings you will encounter in this book.The book is by Kate DiCamillo.This is a great book and it would defiantly be worth your time. This book is about a boy named Rob who finds a tiger while walking through the woods one day!He and his friend,Sistine,a girl he meets from school, go on a mission to set it free. They get themselves into co much mischief that it seems like they will never get out.Will it be love that settles there differences or hate that will tear them apart?Find all this information out when you read The Tiger Rising. The thing i liked best about this book is that it shows you can always trust a friend and that you shouldn't be afraid of what your friend might think.And that is a very great life lesson. I recommend this book to kids 10 and older who like animals and adventure.

    24 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2008

    a reviewer

    Our class read the novel, The Tiger Rising, by Kate DiCamillo. Some of us loved it, and others thought it was only okay. But our teacher thinks it is excellent and since she is the boss we are going with a 'recommended' rating. The main characters are Rob and Sistine. Both kids, who are in the 6th grade, are going through a hard time. At the beginning of the book, Rob¿s mother just died, and Sistine has just moved to Florida from Philadelphia because her parents got divorced. Both kids are being bullied in school. Rob copes with his hard time by pretending that his feelings are locked in an imaginary suitcase. He discovers a tiger locked in a cage behind the motel where he is living with his dad. The owner of the hotel, Beauchamp, asks Rob to feed the tiger a couple times a day, and gives Rob the keys to the cage. Why is there a tiger locked in a cage? What does Rob¿s friend Sistine think about the tiger? Will Rob and Sistine overcome their problems? Join Rob and Sistine as they figure out what to do, and learn to trust the grown-ups to help them.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    Quite good but...

    It was rather good, but I thought the tiger dying in the end was sad. I thought Sistine was funny!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Love this book

    I got this book at my school library its awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Great book for grades 4-5

    This book is a ok book and has mediocre sized font. This book is good for age 9.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    O

    This is a very moving book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    Amazing! Definate fave

    Love it it is on my wish.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    My school

    My readkng class is reading it its a very good book so far so goood(:

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Great

    Nice book but the title has nothing to do with it

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Ending = :(

    Beside the ending of chapter 28...

    It's a good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2011

    Good

    It was a little book. A little to sad for me but still good. Great details.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2011

    WARNING

    If you are looking to read this book do not read aa review that is titled @we$ome it is a spoiler

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The Tiger Rising

    I think that this book should be recommended for older kids because the words may be hard to comprehend. It is a very emotional book and when i read it i cried. I do not think it is apropriate for school though because it says hell a lot and some parents might get upset if their child comes home and starts using the word hell a lot. That is my opinion of the book The Tiger Rising.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2009

    tiger rising

    The tiger rising by: Kate DiCamillo

    The tiger rising was a very good book. Rob was the important character in the book, he was a very independent person, he had a tiger, he wanted to let the tiger go, but he was in charge of the keys, he had the hardest time trying to let him go. All of his friends told him to keep the tiger, but Rob wanted to do the right thing for the tiger, with out hurting the poor tiger.

    This book was not boring it keeps your mind wondering throw the whole book, what happens is a good part because you learn more about the book. This book was very interesting; it keeps you wondering what is going to happen next. I am not sure who would like this book, but I did, it keep me on my toes, because you didn't know what was going to happen to the tiger, until you got to the end of the story. Yes I did enjoy this genre, the parts that made me like this genre was the part about the tiger, because the tiger did not need to be locked up in that cage. This book was the best that I ever heard of besides twilight!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2009

    The Tiger Rising

    This review is about "The Tiger Rising" by Kate DiCamillo. I think that it is an alright book for children of all ages. It has a good storyline, and it makes sense. It could have used a better ending although it wasn't that bad.
    This story is about a boy in Kentucky who stumbles upon a tiger in a cage in the woods; from then on he keeps it a secret until he meets a new girl. After he tells her about it he has to decide whether to leave it or set it free. I'm not going to spoil the ending for you, but it is an alright book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Oh yeah!!

    This book was a really good book!!! It gets your attention and you have to finish reading it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2008

    The Tiger Rising

    I liked the book because I think it is different from different books. I have read before. That is why I liked it with the other parts of the book. The reason I didn¿t like one of the parts is a little different from the rest of the book. So I didn¿t like it as much. But I liked one of her other books a lot because. The book is Because Of Winn-Dixie, and I really liked the book. Because it talks about the same thing for a long time. So I wish they both where long like that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2008

    The Tiger Rising

    I thought The Tiger Rising was a very interesting book. It was interesting because there is a wild tiger kept in a cage in the woods that someone is keeping as their pet. Another reason I thought this book was a great book is because it makes you think a lot about what is going to happen in the book. Like on the front cover you see a girl riding a tiger in the woods and a boy in the background. That picture gets you interested and makes you wonder what that is all about. I also like this book because Rob doesn¿t share his feelings much, but then he meets a girl named Sistine and she teaches him to let out his feelings more. Then they become friends and learn to trust each other. So I think that was very nice of Sistine. A part that I didn¿t like in The Tiger Rising was when Rob¿s principal tells him to stay home until his disease goes a way, so it doesn¿t spread around the school. So Rob takes that as an advantage so he doesn¿t have to go to school and he can do whatever he wants. The story The Tiger Rising took place in Florida at an old run down hotel called the ¿Kentucky Star¿. The main character is Rob who is a 12year old boy who has a lot of adventures. I liked The Tiger Rising and thinks that everyone should read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2006

    One Of The Saddest Books I've Ever Read.

    I liked this book a lot because there was a tiger in it and I like animals. It was sad because when the motel owner showed the mistreated tiger, I felt sorry for him. Very sad story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3