BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Tiger, Tiger

Average Rating 4
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Simply breathtaking

This book blew me away. It's gut-wrenching, dramatic, and impossible to put down. It made me cry. It made me open my eyes to this serious issue. If you have kids or will have them, you need to read this!

posted by 7402034 on March 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

More shock then story

I was very interested in reading this memoir, as I am a fan of memoirs and I am a student at Binghamton University, where the author recieved her PhD.

I read a number of reviews on this book, most of which were very accurate when they discuss the stilted writing sty...
I was very interested in reading this memoir, as I am a fan of memoirs and I am a student at Binghamton University, where the author recieved her PhD.

I read a number of reviews on this book, most of which were very accurate when they discuss the stilted writing style that occupies the majority of the book.

Fragoso is telling the story of her repeated molestations and fourteen year relationship with a man that has repeatedly abused children. In Fragoso, he finds a perfectly malleable eight year old who he controls and warps. Fragoso starts her story at the very beginning, outlining her family life and her first meetings with her molester. In writing this, she attempts to capture a childs voice and viewpoint, which unfortunately rings false. At times, her descriptions are overly flowery and many of her similes and metaphors are simply unrelateable and outlandish. The author has a lot of trouble with realistic conversations, some of this may be due to the fact that she was piecing conversations together from memory and diaries, but her dialogue does not read naturally. It seems that a close editing would have really helped this book.

The book achieves a more congruent flow once she reaches her teen years. Fragoso does have a tendency to drop in information rather late in the book that would have been helpful earlier on, and at times she goes over and above introducing characters that are extraneous.

I think the author's purpose of the book, to shed light on an incident that had remained secret for so long, was executed. To me, the most interesting and well written parts of the book were the Prologue and the Afterword, both told in her contemporary voice. I think the whole memoir would have been much stronger if she had written it in her contemporary voice with flashbacks or analysis of what had occurred.

Obviously, due to the subject matter, this book will be read and discussed in a number of arenas, so for that fact alone, it is certainly worth the read.

Hopefully the author's future books will allow more of her voice to be heard, rather than the voices of her past.

posted by SuperDuperSarah on March 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2011

    Simply breathtaking

    This book blew me away. It's gut-wrenching, dramatic, and impossible to put down. It made me cry. It made me open my eyes to this serious issue. If you have kids or will have them, you need to read this!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    You won't put it down

    Fragoso gets caught in vice between her mentally abusive father and a pedophile with highly practiced manipulative skills.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2011

    A unique breakthrough

    It's rare to see the experience of sexual abuse told from the young woman's perspective. That alone makes this a profound and important work. What makes it truly amazing is that we too can experience all the varied emotions that it leaves in its wake. Many girls have to face abuse alone and in silence so it's great to see someone confront it with courage and strength.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    I loved the book with the detailed and at times my stomach becam

    I loved the book with the detailed and at times my stomach became tied in knots and I would pause than find myself opening it back up to continue to read it. I found myself reading Tiger Tiger until the end. Truly can understand at a child's point how this predator was actually someone she looked up too. Of course, the predator was so manipulative. I hoped that she would just stop wanted to see him,however, because of her family situation. Well I don't want to spoil the memoir. It's for sure an eye opener. Would recommend it. I feel the editing for this book was great.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    Nikeheart

    HERE

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2013

    Very good

    Impossible put down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Snowkit

    Pounces biteing it on the neck and killing it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    What Amy Hammel-Zabin did in Conversations With a Pedophile, (by

    What Amy Hammel-Zabin did in Conversations With a Pedophile, (by bringing her readers into the mind of a Pedophile), Dr. Fragoso does for the victim of such a predator.  Reading Dr. Fragoso’s account of the years she spent enthralled with a “caring” older (by 43 years) man is the stuff of nightmares, horror stories made so, and drastically compounded by, the fact of what she speaks was her reality. Few books have caused as intense reactions within me than those I experienced as I read this first person account of a victim of childhood sex abuse.
    When Margaux Fragoso was 7-years-old, while she and her mother were in a park near her home, a man (Peter, who is older than her father) asked if he could join in her play.  Within a year of that meeting, he commits his first violation of his new, trusting friend.  For the next nine years he took advantage of her father’s volatility and her mother’s mental illness to repeatedly violate the young Margaux. After his health became such that he could no longer harm her sexually, he continued to manipulate her into being convinced that he was the only one who could truly love her. It was only with Peter’s death that the author found the freedom to write of this relationship and to see what had actually occurred within that connection.
      The book is a revelation of the experience of sex abuse.  The process Dr. Fragoso details is a classic example of what a victim of sex abuse becomes in order to survive this trauma.  She speaks graphically of some of her abuse and her internal processes, as well as her world-view, as they developed in response to the harm done to her, are difficult to grasp unless one has some experience of this kind of pain.
    Yet, because of an open writing style and ease of expression the reader has the ability to grasp some of this experience without having to face the author’s peril.
    My best friend (and wife) noted my dark mood the week I was reading this book, so deeply was I affected by its content.  By turns, I was angry, sickened, filled with dread, hopeful, hopeless, helpless and empowered as I progressed through its pages.  In my profession, I have sat with numerous victims of sexual abuse; I have heard their pain, witnessed their courage and admired their strength.  After this book, I feel a deeper sense of appreciation of these individuals.  To see how many of them have moved from “victim” to survivor to thriving in overcoming the evil done them gives me pause to be thankful and amazed; thankful for the opportunity to journey with them and amazed at these heroes. Fortunately, Dr. Fragoso did not remain a victim of her abuse. She overcame this trauma to earn a Ph.D. and to write a book that is a much needed resource.
    This book needs to be required reading for anyone in, or preparing for, the counseling or other helping profession.  It supports the research of the predatory behavior of Pedophiles; offers, both directly and by suggestion, how to protect children from such people, imparts insight into many of the behaviors of those who have been the prey of such individuals and gives first-hand (of a fashion) experience of sitting with those harmed.  Anyone who chooses to read this book needs to be aware of the pain they will experience as they “witness” the harming of a child.  
    This is NOT a book for children, it is a MUST read for anyone who has the responsibility to protect children. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2012

    So entrapping

    So entrapping

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1