Customer Reviews for

Tigerlily's Orchids

Average Rating 4
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A Clever Study of Neighbors Wrapped in a Mystery

Fun to read, reminds me a bit of Agatha Christie's novels, but deeper and slightly darker. A great comment on modern society and the acquaintances that we THINK we know....

posted by SFlibres on November 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Quick, Forgettable Read

There is a huge disconnect between the title and the short novel which follows. The title suggests a memorable love story but in reality is a short soap opera of inhabitants of a group of apartment dwellers, none of whom has a very interesting story to tell. If you're...
There is a huge disconnect between the title and the short novel which follows. The title suggests a memorable love story but in reality is a short soap opera of inhabitants of a group of apartment dwellers, none of whom has a very interesting story to tell. If you're looking for a good, gripping summer read, pass this one by as it is quick to read, fast forgotten.

posted by Johanna197 on July 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2011

    A Clever Study of Neighbors Wrapped in a Mystery

    Fun to read, reminds me a bit of Agatha Christie's novels, but deeper and slightly darker. A great comment on modern society and the acquaintances that we THINK we know....

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Ruth Rendell is getting less dark and edgy - but no less good.

    This story follows the inhabitants of an apartment house in London. The "Tigerlily" of the title is one of the people who live across the street, and there's a surprise in their house. I was actually disappointed that the surprise wasn't something worse. There's an oddly innocent couple of leftover hippies; three college girls who are fairly typical of girls that age (hey, I was one once, I should know); a good-looking guy with a big ego and a woman problem; and a man who may be dangerous.

    There are a lot of similarities between this book and "Portobello" - most noticeably, the lessening of the dark edginess that used to be a given in Rendell's books. Like "Portobello", "Tigerlily's Orchids" follows several different quirky characters, makes you sympathize with all but the absolutely worst ones, and ties everything up in a neat solution at the end. Contrast this with "Lake of Darkness", where none of the characters are especially likeable, and the ending isn't happy for anyone.

    But Rendell is still good. She hasn't yet slid into cozy English villages with stock characters that are just too cute; there's still *some* darkness and edge. So I'm still reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2012

    Disappointing

    I usually like Rendell's books, but I failed to see the point of this one. While there was a murder buried deep within, the book was more of a character study than a mystery. The characters are the occupants of a condo and selected neighbors on that street. The book explores the inter-relationships of these neighbors as well as their individual hopes, dreams, and foibles. None were people I could really care about. While I respect a writer's need to branch out, I will stick with Inspector Wexford books in the future as I know they will satisfy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2011

    Quick, Forgettable Read

    There is a huge disconnect between the title and the short novel which follows. The title suggests a memorable love story but in reality is a short soap opera of inhabitants of a group of apartment dwellers, none of whom has a very interesting story to tell. If you're looking for a good, gripping summer read, pass this one by as it is quick to read, fast forgotten.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    ANOTHER STAY-UP-LATE STORY FROM RUTH RENDELL

    As Newsday said re this author's novel Portobello, "Rendell has long been the queen of the psychological crime.....A novel that glides along Portobello Road like the lime in a gin and tonic. It's intoxicating." So true! I'll admit my bias up front - I've long been a fan of Rendell and when she releases a new book it tops my reading list. She's never disappointed me and that certainly holds true of TIGER LILY'S ORCHIDS.

    As always we're treated to intriguing characters whom we follow with rapt attention, trying to out-think the author, which is impossible. There's always a twist or quick turn within the next several pages, and we're forced to rethink the possibilities. What pleasure! This time we're surrounded by outre characters who neighbor in Lichfield House, a London condominium. The time seems to be today when London has been affected by depression and snow, lots and lots of snow.

    Each one of Rendell's characters stands alone, worthy of our focus - together we find a juggernaut of psychological suspense. Stuart Font is a narcisstic (to put it mildly) fellow who after inheriting a bit from his late aunt is attempting to live on his own. Unable to pass a mirror without admiring himself, he is in the clutches of the grasping married Claudia who cannot seem to get enough of him. Olwen Curtis is a pathetic 60-year-old who is determinedly drinking herself to death, and braves icy sidewalks to replenish her gin. Gray haired Marius Potter is a former hippie whose interest in Rose Potter-Jones grows stronger each day. A trio of disparate college students dwell in another flat. Of course, every condo needs a super and this one's a pedophile.

    Across from Lichfield House is a mysterious housewhere immigrants live - they are said to be growing orchids. Add to this mix the innocuous Duncan who rather than participating in life entertains himself by observing the comings and goings of others.

    We're introduced to all with the opening of the book and a party thrown by Stuart. Not a terribly festive evening since Claudia's husband, Freddy, bursts in to threaten Stuart unless he leaves his wife alone. Stuart would be more than happy to do so because (a) she's demanding and expensive (b) he sees one of the immigrants from across the street - the most beautiful girl he has ever seen whom he calls Tigerlily.

    Rendell is one of the most skillful writers working today; she makes ordinary folks extraordinary through insightful observations and the revelation of their dark secrets. TIGERLILY is a slim, over-too-quickly gem.

    - Gail Cooke

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    Ravenstar

    A black handsome tom. I really want kits.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    Deathbomb

    Naaah i think leapord talon is a creep. He is you should see his post.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    Hawkfeather

    A large black tom bounded over to her. His white tail tip flicked once an he sat down. His amber eyes dug into hers as they made eye contact. His ears went sideways, listening to something in the distance, then focused on her again. "Hello, Im Hawkfeather. (Im on active almost all day. If your not, I can find another mate.... I dont wanna though) I will care for you and do whatever you want. I would like kits someday. I really would like to be your mate. Im 36 moons old (3 years old). Please consider!"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    Tigerstorm

    "Everyone! I have picked the tom which I want to live beside me forthe rest pf my days, and that tom is... none other than Tigerblaze! Im sorry to the rest of you, but I love him and want him. Im sure the rest of you are great guys. And I hope you find your true loves. Thank you!"with that she goe sto find Tigerblaze.~Tigerstorm

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2011

    Very enjoyable

    Once you get started you cant stop. One of my favorite authors. Fascinating characters. What a neighborhood, loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2