Customer Reviews for

Tiger's Curse (Tiger's Curse Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1872 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1323)

4 Star

(292)

3 Star

(117)

2 Star

(59)

1 Star

(81)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

64 out of 70 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended - left me craving more!!

Extremely entertaining, couldn't put it down. Fell in love with the characters. Felt very connected to the story and the characters while reading, like when they were happy in the story, I was happy; when they were sad, I was sad- it's a great book that can do that to...
Extremely entertaining, couldn't put it down. Fell in love with the characters. Felt very connected to the story and the characters while reading, like when they were happy in the story, I was happy; when they were sad, I was sad- it's a great book that can do that to you and make you feel like you aren't just reading a story, but you feel like you are there in real life and it's all very real to you. This book has great characters, excitement, adventures, action, love, everything you need for a great read. I cannot wait to read the whole series!

posted by 1514571 on October 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

33 out of 74 people found this review helpful.

I hope the author reads this.

I'm really giving it 2.5 stars. The story has huge potential, but the characters are completely contrived. The dialogue is atrocious, and the supposed 300-year-old tiger is more modern than the main character. There is a rift in Kelsey's personality that I just can't f...
I'm really giving it 2.5 stars. The story has huge potential, but the characters are completely contrived. The dialogue is atrocious, and the supposed 300-year-old tiger is more modern than the main character. There is a rift in Kelsey's personality that I just can't fathom. On one hand, she's incredibly sarcastic and fiery, but on the other hand, she's demure, polite, and ridiculously matronly. She speaks as a grandma would speak. I half expected her to use words like "Dungarees" for jeans or "Frigidaire" for refrigerator like my granny does. (At one point, she uses the phrase "wily scoundrel." I don't know anyone below the age of eighty that would use that phrase.) It just doesn't fit. She's not a well developed character, and the supposed grief she feels for her parents seems fabricated, when it's present. Kelsey has these bouts of intense feeling, then all of a sudden, it's gone. Like when she's mad at Ren and Mr. Kadam for leading her through the jungle. Or better yet, when Ren changes into a human for the first time. There was this huge denial, then resigned acceptance. Nothing in between. Also, Ren and Kishan are completely modern and familiar with modern conveniences, but have been pretty detached from their own humanity for 300 years. There was no working through the animal to become human for either of them. They both automatically adapted to being human. That didn't make any sense, especially for Ren, who had been completely trapped as a tiger. Mr. Kadam is contrived, cliched, and void of anything true. It's like he only has one mood. His interactions with Kelsey, though smooth in the story, would be incredibly awkward to any real person. Kelsey talks about finding these feelings of trust for these people, but gives no reason for it, then she talks about distrust, and gives no reason for it. It just doesn't work. The author clearly has trouble communicating how people really interact. It's like she has an ideal of how things SHOULD be, and tries to force that into a story where that ideal just doesn't fit. She has no notion of how teens speak or act. (I understand keeping things clean, but dialogue can be clean and modern, but if she wants to keep it uber clean, then maybe the characters shouldn't be making out as much as they do.) She obviously doesn't know how to express grief, or much of anything, with words. There are just these huge disconnected parts that don't fit together. I wonder how this book made it past the editing stage. That being said, the story IS interesting. It DOES have huge potential. It just needs a lot of work. A WHOLE lot of work.

posted by obscurepseudonym on February 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 81 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted July 19, 2012

    I cringed the entire way through this book for many reasons: 1)

    I cringed the entire way through this book for many reasons:
    1) It was full of cliché, sappy phrases such as "I didn't expect a first kiss to be so... life altering. In a few brief moments, the entire rule book of my universe had been rewritten" and "I felt the little love plant inside me stretch, swell, and unfurl its leaves, like he was pouring Love Potion #9 over the thing."
    2) The "love story" was not loving at all. The two main characters know each other for about a week or two, and all of a sudden decide they cannot live without each other. They know very little about each other, and do not even get along half the time, and yet are suddenly madly in love. It is not at all believable.
    3) The characters are horrible. Kelsey, the protagonist, complains about everything Ren, her love interest, does; however, she never has anything bad to say about anyone else. She whines constantly about Ren's actions, to the point where I literally had to set the book down several times to get away from her angsty thoughts. She also seems to be bipolar. One minute she is all about Ren, and the next (literally, this decision takes one minute) she cannot be with him because she thinks he should be with someone else, even though he has expressed nothing but love for her. Ren is completely two dimensional at first, with no personality whatsoever; he is simply a pretty face, only ever described by his looks, status, and good manners. Then, partway through the novel, he does a complete character change, becoming extremely possessive and angry. He tells Kelsey on many occasions that he simply will not allow her to leave him.
    4) The way the characters react to events in the story is completely unrealistic. For example, Kelsey thinks nothing of leaving her family and flying to the other side of the world on a moment's notice, and then simply staying there for the rest of the summer. She also just goes right along with the crazy, mythological story that Ren tells her without questioning it for more than a few minutes.

    The basic plot line of the story is awesome, but it was poorly executed by Ms. Houck. If a different author had taken the inspiration for this and written it with more thought put into things such as character development and verisimilitude, it would be a fantastic book; as it is, however, this book is wretched, gauche, and exasperating.

    3 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    I love tigers, I love romance, and I'm not picky about either wh

    I love tigers, I love romance, and I'm not picky about either when it comes to books.  Even keeping my expectations low, this book still sorely underwhelmed me.  The idea in theory is fantastic and holds a lot of promise, but is severely bogged down by shoddy writing and a rather unlikable main lead. But the writing, the atrocious, awful writing was the worst.  The decided to substitute concise or descriptive writing with excessive similes.  Not to mention the utter nonsense of the beginning.  A teenager with absolutely no training in animal care? We'll hire her to a circus!! So after a week and a half you've formed a "bond" with a white tiger? We'll loan you a Bentley and send you to India to care for him!! Needless to say I "facepalmed" a lot while reading this.  However, judging on the number of 5 star reviews, people have found it highly enjoyable.  Just like with Twilight, writing skill has nothing to do with what people will actually like.  My recommendation? Rent it from a library first, and if you hate it, no harm done.  If you love it, go buy it.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Terrible

    Can somebody please tell me what the rage is about this book?
    To be honest, I have to say this is one of the worst books I have ever read. Kelsey, the most immature and whiny 18-year-old, goes to India with a man she just met and a tiger that she has some weirdo connections with while her guardians sit there and wave her goodbye as if she was going to the first day of kindergarten. She's going to INDIA. Come on now. The romance was predictable, as in most novels, but there wasn't even anything leading up to it.

    The major downfall about this book isn't even the storyline though. It's the writing style that makes me want to tear my hair out. It is so juvenile, so underdeveloped, that anybody could have written it. The dialogues are extremely cheesy and lack realism.

    There is definitely some potential for this story if edits are made... If there was one thing I enjoyed in this book, it would be the weaving in of Indian culture into the storyline. It adds the touch of originality that sets this book aside from all others.

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    This is a horrible book.

    I somewhat enjoyed the storyline but this book is horribly written and full of mistakes. I felt like a 13 year old girl wrote it. Don't waste your time.

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    What a disappointment

    Tiger's Curse has been on my reading list since it first came out, and I finally managed to get to it. Fortunately, I checked it out from the library (if I really think a book is a good read, I will buy it after to share with my students). I was done after the first three chapters. My brain was making Twilight comparisons - based on the extremely poor writing. For example, in the first chapter, Houck starts to give a physical description of Kelly, but then it stops, and a mental picture is never established. In addition, the dialogue is poorly written, and most of it does not help move the story along. These are all basic skills that I have taught to seventh graders for eight years now. I would never accept this work from them! My assumption is that the positive reviews on here are coming from teens, and if they are reading, great. There are so many better options out there, however. Find something better.

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2011

    A COMPLETE waste of money - utterly terrible

    Honestly, this book fits in my "top 5" list of worst book ever. I only read it because I needed something new, and the storyline didn't sound terrible, though not very hooking. I did read the reviews on here, and all of them said the same thing: DO NOT READ THIS BOOK!!! but I grabbed it anyway. Dumb, I know. Moral of that little story: listen to the reviews. We did read the book. Plus, it'll save you some money.

    Were the protagonist a real person, I would quite seriously despise her. Kelsey is a five year old in a highschooler's body . . . and she speaks like on too. (See one of the official reviews, I think it gives an example). She complains constantly, and suffers from a sever case of poor me syndrome: why couldn't we stay in a nice hotel instead of the jungle? why does a *supposedly* gorgeous guy have to like me? why did i have to like someone who should be dating a model? why . . ? Bored yet? She's seriously the person most annoying person ever. Plus, the writing style is terrible, I'd recommend this type of writing to a 5 year-old. Also, for those of you who just want to read a little romance: there's no chemistry WHATsoever, and if you're looking for any action of that sort, FORGET it. The author seemed to be trying to put a twist on Twilight and missing her target by a mile. (That's saying something, too, because I LOATHED Twilight.

    So do yourself a favor - don't read the book. Go have fun and read something good.

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2014

    ΅ ᷚ ࢺ

    Hi.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    very juvenile

    I can enjoy a good Young Adult novel, but this is on par with Nancy Drew. The writing is trite, the story is ridiculous. I forced myself to finish. Best enjoyed by someone 14 or under.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    Hello

    Hi this is sheldon this book is definitly a lie there is no such thing as shape shifters its just a made up thing by the human mind wich controls your whole body even its self if you want a real book read a history book although hitler was not shot he was injered then he made hiwife promiseo remove evidence of the suicide and then he hung himself he was presisly an ideot
    Smily face, why are you sil here go on shoo :(

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    It has a good plot and it would be so much better if this was ac

    It has a good plot and it would be so much better if this was actually written well. The way its written...there's just something about it, it makes me angry. The sentence structure is like a child's and i don't understand why the rating is so high! 

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Not good

    Not a very good book. I only finished it because i bought it and i didnt want my money to go the waste even though it did. Kelsey's dialogue irritated me so much. The story had potential but it just didnt pan out.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    I found the book overdone, almost pompous, because of its overwr

    I found the book overdone, almost pompous, because of its overwritten plot. The simplicity of the diction makes the language dry, and a lack of syntax makes the rare simile stand out (and thus defeat its artistic purpose). The story as hard to get into and harder to stay into. Kelsey, the protagonist, is a prime example of a Mary Sue character. The romance is predictable and juvenile, paling in comparison to the friction in the Harry Potter novels or even the intensity and indecisiveness of the Twilight saga. The plot resembles that of a first-time author's rough draft; in fact, had I not known better, I would have thought it a parody of the cliched and stereotypical single-layered romance.

    In summary, the only worthwhile part of this book is that it makes other books look better than itself. It's quite appalling to see it on the Best Books of 2011 list.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    The writing and pacing of this book was so awful I couldn't read

    The writing and pacing of this book was so awful I couldn't read through the first 50 pages. Characters and plot may be brilliant later on, but the narrative was just jarringly awful. I skimmed through the rest of it at random, hoping that maybe the writing gets better, but it was pretty much consistent. At times, the dialogue is so contrived that I'm surprised this was ever even published; it needs that much editing.


    If I turned the first part of this novel in at school as a paper I'd probably get a C.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2011

    Horribly Written

    The author had a good story line. But thats about it. Her characters are completely predictable obvious and whiny. The main character is supposed to be a high school graduate. I know 7th graders who talk and act more mature. Kelsey, the main charcter, calls the tiger 'mister' which i find really annoying. Her dialogue is so infuriating. What eighteen year old tells a complete stranger: thanks for sharing that story with me. I will definitley be writing about that in my journal. Oh please. And what parents just let their daughter travel to india with a man theyve known for like two days? Mr. kadam is so obvious and predictable. The author set up kelseys character to be a strong girl who is afraid to trust and open her heart but i didnt believe it or a second. She complains every ten seconds and she immediatley trust everone she meets. And the worst part is at the end. Its like twilight all over again. "No edward! Im not good enough for you! I cant be with you... your too good for me!" Only this time its with two new characters. Yippee. I hate characters who are alwas saying 'poor me! Why me?' Ive heard the second book is better but i doubt it could be. Dont get this book! I dont know why it has so many good reviews! Its a shame this book has made it this far.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2011

    J

    Qwrtpdfghjklzxvbm

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    Waste of money

    I completely agree with the person below me , i was so excited to read it at first . It sounded exciting and it was a really good premise . I suffered through half before giving up entirely . Its poorly written at best. I sat there mentally rewriting it just to try and get through it . The main character makes me want to slap her , the rest of the characters are equally shallow as well , the dialogue made me cringe , the romance was just sorta weird , and the plot ... well there was no plot ... I really wish it was better but sadly its not . Maybe the author will learn from the criticism and come out with a better book , because she really has great potential . This one is most definantly a dud though .

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Dissapointment.

    I was really excited to start this book. There were so many possibilities! A cursed Indian Prince? You could go several places with that and the cover was fantastic. But, there is nothing deep at all about the characters. In fact, it was incredibly hard for me to read the entire book in Kelsey's point of view. Truthfully, she's stupid. Dhiren is a very surface-y character. Neither of them drew me in enough to care if the lived or died on their 'adventure'. The adventure... it sucked. When I read an adventure book I expect my heart to beat a little faster and I expect to actually worry about whether or not the characters will survive. This did not fulfill my expectations. The research... Well Indian men didn't wear white pants and white shirts back in the 1600s. A Google search could have showed you that easily enough. All in all, the writing is amateur. The romance, kind of sickening. The adventure wasn't worth it. I really don't have anything that I liked about this book. If I could tell you something, I would. It didn't amount up to my expectations of a book with so many possibilities. I truly wish I had never spent the money on this book. I won't be continuing the series.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2011

    Not impressed

    Will not continue the series

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2011

    Garbage

    I wrote a review earlier, but have decided to change my mind entirely. I wasted $10 on this piece of crap. I regret buying this completely. Kelsey was weak, naive, boring and stupid. Mr. Kadam was just creepy and Ren wasn't hot. The action scenes were short and predictable. The romance scenes were corny. Honestly, I wish the characters would all just die. And I can't believe that Kelsey's foster parents just let her leave with some strange man to India, either. Plus I'm not a fan of "love at first sight." I wouldn't be as angry if the book had been less money. Definetly not worth $10. After writing my first review, I tried to give the book a second chance, which I regret. Not sure why most reviews are good, cause this book sucks.

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2011

    Poorly written, with boring main character

    I can smell twilight all over this book(this book is a series too, imagine that$). Headline says it all.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 81 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5