Customer Reviews for

Tiger's Curse (Tiger's Curse Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1879 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1327)

4 Star

(294)

3 Star

(117)

2 Star

(60)

1 Star

(81)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

64 out of 70 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended - left me craving more!!

Extremely entertaining, couldn't put it down. Fell in love with the characters. Felt very connected to the story and the characters while reading, like when they were happy in the story, I was happy; when they were sad, I was sad- it's a great book that can do that to...
Extremely entertaining, couldn't put it down. Fell in love with the characters. Felt very connected to the story and the characters while reading, like when they were happy in the story, I was happy; when they were sad, I was sad- it's a great book that can do that to you and make you feel like you aren't just reading a story, but you feel like you are there in real life and it's all very real to you. This book has great characters, excitement, adventures, action, love, everything you need for a great read. I cannot wait to read the whole series!

posted by 1514571 on October 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

33 out of 74 people found this review helpful.

I hope the author reads this.

I'm really giving it 2.5 stars. The story has huge potential, but the characters are completely contrived. The dialogue is atrocious, and the supposed 300-year-old tiger is more modern than the main character. There is a rift in Kelsey's personality that I just can't f...
I'm really giving it 2.5 stars. The story has huge potential, but the characters are completely contrived. The dialogue is atrocious, and the supposed 300-year-old tiger is more modern than the main character. There is a rift in Kelsey's personality that I just can't fathom. On one hand, she's incredibly sarcastic and fiery, but on the other hand, she's demure, polite, and ridiculously matronly. She speaks as a grandma would speak. I half expected her to use words like "Dungarees" for jeans or "Frigidaire" for refrigerator like my granny does. (At one point, she uses the phrase "wily scoundrel." I don't know anyone below the age of eighty that would use that phrase.) It just doesn't fit. She's not a well developed character, and the supposed grief she feels for her parents seems fabricated, when it's present. Kelsey has these bouts of intense feeling, then all of a sudden, it's gone. Like when she's mad at Ren and Mr. Kadam for leading her through the jungle. Or better yet, when Ren changes into a human for the first time. There was this huge denial, then resigned acceptance. Nothing in between. Also, Ren and Kishan are completely modern and familiar with modern conveniences, but have been pretty detached from their own humanity for 300 years. There was no working through the animal to become human for either of them. They both automatically adapted to being human. That didn't make any sense, especially for Ren, who had been completely trapped as a tiger. Mr. Kadam is contrived, cliched, and void of anything true. It's like he only has one mood. His interactions with Kelsey, though smooth in the story, would be incredibly awkward to any real person. Kelsey talks about finding these feelings of trust for these people, but gives no reason for it, then she talks about distrust, and gives no reason for it. It just doesn't work. The author clearly has trouble communicating how people really interact. It's like she has an ideal of how things SHOULD be, and tries to force that into a story where that ideal just doesn't fit. She has no notion of how teens speak or act. (I understand keeping things clean, but dialogue can be clean and modern, but if she wants to keep it uber clean, then maybe the characters shouldn't be making out as much as they do.) She obviously doesn't know how to express grief, or much of anything, with words. There are just these huge disconnected parts that don't fit together. I wonder how this book made it past the editing stage. That being said, the story IS interesting. It DOES have huge potential. It just needs a lot of work. A WHOLE lot of work.

posted by obscurepseudonym on February 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 15, 2011

    Great Premise, but Poorly Executed

    When I first heard the premise of this book, I was excited. Instead of werewolves, there were tiger "shapeshifters". I thought this would be refreshing. Unfortunately, the writing of this book ruined what could have been a fantastic idea. Like another reviewer said, it sounded like the author telling the story instead of the character telling her story. Almost none of what the character thought or said sounded like anything close to what a seventeen year old girl would say, instead it was what a grown woman seemed to think a seventeen year old would say/think. Even if you get past the main character's dialogue issues, the characters themselves were horribly cliche. The girl had self-esteem issues and the boy was perfect, it was even said over and over again in the book. Although sometimes the book can be redeemed from poor characterization by an excellent writing style, unfortunately the book lacked this as well. Even the writing style itself was horribly cliche. So all in all the book gets two stars for what was a good idea, but very poorly executed.

    22 out of 70 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Meh

    Along with some other reviewers, I found the premise to be intruiging. But I started reading it, and quickly realized that this would not be one of my favorite books of all time. It's not even in the top 100. Kelsey is the most boring 18-year-old girl I've ever read about in my life. She is so polite/formal sometimes that she sounds robotic. She was so self-deprecating that I wanted to scream. She really had no personality at all. I was extremely bored with her, but I wanted to give the book a chance since I purchased it. Well, I just finished it last night, and I'm sorry; I realize the book is a fantasy, but even keeping that in mind, the book is so freaking unrealistic. I will read the next book in the series, but only because I'm OCD and can't let a book series go unread once I've started it XD

    10 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2011

    Intriguing story, but less than skilled writing

    A promising story is let down by poor writing, sounding much like a pre-teen's diary--if she could write her own life. The dialogue of the main character is unrealistic and the descriptions of the "heartthob" in the story are more trite and gag-inducing than heart stopping. The story line keeps pulling me back to finish reading (I am on page 104 of 300 something), but it's a challenge with few rewards.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2010

    decent

    i only read the beginning because it was free. good plot, just a little too many grammatical errors.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2012

    The story felt like it was dragging on and on. There were endles

    The story felt like it was dragging on and on. There were endless details just on how nice and rich-looking a place looked and occasionally it just seemed to jump from romance to adventure to fighting and back to loving again. My mood towards each character, especially Kelsey and Ren, changed all the time. Parts of the adventure in India were pretty creative and interesting, but it's just like it works out too well. An orphaned girl is the chosen one to help stop the curse who also happens to be a teen who wants to do whats right. The book just needs to focus more on the good stuff that supports the plot and not on all the little details.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2015

    As a few people have said, this plot has great potential but it

    As a few people have said, this plot has great potential but it is poorly executed. The writing
      seems entirely off. People do not talk the way the characters do in the book. "I was dying. I knew it." 
    I mean, seriously?
    The palace is like a modern day mansion and Kelsey turns down a really hot guy who 
    say he loves her!
    And she loves him! Agh! Nobody does that. Oh, also, the first thing both Ren and Kelsey notice about
    each other is how they smell. Isn't it flattering when a guy tells you your hair smells good?  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    unknown

    Christmas gift

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    Reminiscent of Twilight, just written poorly

    This book has an interesting idea, but was poorly executed. So boring and tedious, yet somehow managed to finish it. Twilight was overall better than this honestly (at least it was a little more entertaining to read), and that's really saying something.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    Its ok

    The story would be good. Just kelsey annoys the hell out of me. The author makes her seem like a little kid instead of a teenager. Shes too immature for my tastes. The story had great potential, just the author sucks at portraying a teen.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    I got this book and the other two in the series. Truthfully, it

    I got this book and the other two in the series. Truthfully, it was painful to read. From the very first chapter, I already had my doubts, but I cast it aside hoping the story would get better. I really tried to keep an open mind, but it was hard. The characters were poorly undeveloped. It wasn't real--the dialogues were monotonous. Everything seemed staged. I was so sad, because I really wanted to like the story. I was hoping to have a good read, but it wasn't hitting the right notes. The story has potential, but there was just too many errors and loose ends. Some things didn't fit. The flow of the story wasn't fluid. The protagonist was screaming to come out, but she seemed stifled by the robotic dialogues. There seem to be a struggle in her personality. I can't figure out whether she really just graduated from high school, or she was a middle-aged woman. It was excruciatingly painful to know that the characters were left to their own demise. The story died even before it began.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    Doesn't live up to the potential of the premise

    Ditto other critical comments regarding the writing style, errors, dialogue, character development, etc. Too simplistic in the telling and overly passive: was, was, was, were, was, was, were, were, was, were, were, was....

    Kelsey talks like a robot, not a teenager. So stilted. Example: "I'm fine. Thank you for saving me. I'm so glad you're safe. Will you be able to walk?" And then in the middle, she suddenly asks Ren to call her Kells. Ring any Twilight "Bells"? Forced emotions, plot, and action. There is a scene in a cave that was obviously ripped straight from Indiana Jones, and then as if to reinforce that, Kelsey says, "Who do you think I am? Indiana Jones?" Uh, no.

    I only made it about 1/3 through. With some intensive editing and revising, this could have been an awesome book. Instead, it's more like a rough draft. I give it 2 stars for the premise and a few good scenes, but it needed a lot more work and polish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not even for Cat lovers

    Very long read, too much content that wasn't needed, silly romance. Had a good concept but failed in the execution for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2011

    This is what's expected of me?

    After seeing all the hype over Tiger's Curse, I finally sat down and read it . . . and nearly tossed it aside within a few chapters. I feel insulted at the portrayal of eighteen-year-old Kelsey, who I couldn't make a connection to at all because the writing was so distant. That aside, I found the plot intriguing, only to be later ruined by sappy characters. And who could have seen the love triangle coming? I found it ridiculous that Kishan would fall so quickly for her, and that Kelsey would "call it quits" with Ren while entertaining aforementioned brother. It seems I'll stay have to wait for my strong female lead who isn't afraid at the sight of blood and can develop a decent romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    Money back please!

    Really, really wish I had not bought this.... I want my money back. Her writing rivals Stephanie Meyer, and that is not a good thing. I don't understand what happened to Kelsey throughout the book, she started off so strong and confident seeming and then became a whiny teenage girl... much like Bella. Did not like will not be reading the next books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2011

    Misleading-Has more corny teen romance than adventure/action

    If you're looking for a typical teen romance similar, this is the book for you. However, if you're looking for an adventure/action book with a little bit of romance- DON'T BE MISTAKEN. This book has way too much romance rather than action. The Indiana Jones-ish action only lasts about 2-3 pages and is spread sporadically. The rest involves a corny, mushy love story filled with pages upon pages of the protagonist's hormone enraged thoughts like "my skin tingled when he kissed me." That sort of corny thing. Secondly, Houck's writing style can be childish sometimes with frequent (three word sentences with an exclamation point) lines like, "He was magnificent!" and "It was excruciating!" I was also frustrated with the protagonist, Kelsey. As a previous reviewer said, she is the damsel-in-distress type and is at times irritating. Maybe this is just me because I prefer headstrong female characters rather than the type that "melts" or is weak because of a man. Though it is a fantasy book, events seem to happen too perfectly and are very idealistic with the characters staying in fancy hotels and eating in fancy restaurants in between excursions. After reading the book, I'm glad I bought it used. Overall, not enough adventure/action and too much teen romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2011

    Needs Work

    This story has potential so I gave it a go but I gave up on it.

    The writing style is just not what i prefer. The characters are sloppy and are not developed enough for this book to be on the market, honestly. The characters don't touch the audience and it needs to be much more realistic. I don't believe the main character's reaction AT ALL to a man becoming a tiger. There should be more denial and reactions to this. She just completely accepts it after getting pass denial. Where's the between??? And the romance between them seems unrealistic. There's no intense moments or any moments that I really like with these 2 main characters.
    The writing...it needs improvement.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2011

    Didn't have tiger's blood.

    Not winning.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Beware....

    If you like the type of story where the teenager sounds like an eighty year old grandmother or a 30 or 40 something mother that tries to act younger than she actually is then this is the story just for you! The author makes the character sound like someone older than she actually is and has her give ridiculous nicknames to Ren and treat him like a little kid in some parts. And Colleen Houck makes Kelsey seem like she's bipolor. I got about four chapters in before I started getting annoyed with the way Colleen made Kelsey sound and act.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2011

    Don't Judge A Book By Its Cover

    Like other reviewers have said the book starts out really really slow and unfortunately does not pick up much from there. I kept hoping something new and exciting would happen, and it would, for about 2 paragraphs. The chapters were nothing less than torture to get through, I am a speedy reader and it took me over two weeks to labor through this. The writing is something I would expect to read in a high school creative writing class. The characters, Kelsey in particular is completely unbelieveable as a modern 18 year old - she's more of what a 12-13 year old girl imagines a 18 year old is like. It's obvious the author's childhood (and probably current) insecurities about body image and men are the foundation of Kelsey - which is too bad because she comes across as simple and infuriatingly immature. A small part of me wants to know what happens next but a bigger part of me wishes I could watch the whole series in a "Disney Channel Original Movie" so I don't have to suffer through hundreds of poorly written pages. It was the stunning cover that swwayed me to by the book on a whim. Also,Becca Fitzpatrick (author of Hush Hush) had highly endorsed the book on the back cover and I recently read and enjoyed her books, so I took her word for it - but, lesson learned: don't judge a book by its cover, literally.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3