Customer Reviews for

Tiger's Curse (Tiger's Curse Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1872 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1323)

4 Star

(292)

3 Star

(117)

2 Star

(59)

1 Star

(81)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

64 out of 70 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended - left me craving more!!

Extremely entertaining, couldn't put it down. Fell in love with the characters. Felt very connected to the story and the characters while reading, like when they were happy in the story, I was happy; when they were sad, I was sad- it's a great book that can do that to...
Extremely entertaining, couldn't put it down. Fell in love with the characters. Felt very connected to the story and the characters while reading, like when they were happy in the story, I was happy; when they were sad, I was sad- it's a great book that can do that to you and make you feel like you aren't just reading a story, but you feel like you are there in real life and it's all very real to you. This book has great characters, excitement, adventures, action, love, everything you need for a great read. I cannot wait to read the whole series!

posted by 1514571 on October 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

33 out of 74 people found this review helpful.

I hope the author reads this.

I'm really giving it 2.5 stars. The story has huge potential, but the characters are completely contrived. The dialogue is atrocious, and the supposed 300-year-old tiger is more modern than the main character. There is a rift in Kelsey's personality that I just can't f...
I'm really giving it 2.5 stars. The story has huge potential, but the characters are completely contrived. The dialogue is atrocious, and the supposed 300-year-old tiger is more modern than the main character. There is a rift in Kelsey's personality that I just can't fathom. On one hand, she's incredibly sarcastic and fiery, but on the other hand, she's demure, polite, and ridiculously matronly. She speaks as a grandma would speak. I half expected her to use words like "Dungarees" for jeans or "Frigidaire" for refrigerator like my granny does. (At one point, she uses the phrase "wily scoundrel." I don't know anyone below the age of eighty that would use that phrase.) It just doesn't fit. She's not a well developed character, and the supposed grief she feels for her parents seems fabricated, when it's present. Kelsey has these bouts of intense feeling, then all of a sudden, it's gone. Like when she's mad at Ren and Mr. Kadam for leading her through the jungle. Or better yet, when Ren changes into a human for the first time. There was this huge denial, then resigned acceptance. Nothing in between. Also, Ren and Kishan are completely modern and familiar with modern conveniences, but have been pretty detached from their own humanity for 300 years. There was no working through the animal to become human for either of them. They both automatically adapted to being human. That didn't make any sense, especially for Ren, who had been completely trapped as a tiger. Mr. Kadam is contrived, cliched, and void of anything true. It's like he only has one mood. His interactions with Kelsey, though smooth in the story, would be incredibly awkward to any real person. Kelsey talks about finding these feelings of trust for these people, but gives no reason for it, then she talks about distrust, and gives no reason for it. It just doesn't work. The author clearly has trouble communicating how people really interact. It's like she has an ideal of how things SHOULD be, and tries to force that into a story where that ideal just doesn't fit. She has no notion of how teens speak or act. (I understand keeping things clean, but dialogue can be clean and modern, but if she wants to keep it uber clean, then maybe the characters shouldn't be making out as much as they do.) She obviously doesn't know how to express grief, or much of anything, with words. There are just these huge disconnected parts that don't fit together. I wonder how this book made it past the editing stage. That being said, the story IS interesting. It DOES have huge potential. It just needs a lot of work. A WHOLE lot of work.

posted by obscurepseudonym on February 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 117 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted February 12, 2011

    I hope the author reads this.

    I'm really giving it 2.5 stars. The story has huge potential, but the characters are completely contrived. The dialogue is atrocious, and the supposed 300-year-old tiger is more modern than the main character. There is a rift in Kelsey's personality that I just can't fathom. On one hand, she's incredibly sarcastic and fiery, but on the other hand, she's demure, polite, and ridiculously matronly. She speaks as a grandma would speak. I half expected her to use words like "Dungarees" for jeans or "Frigidaire" for refrigerator like my granny does. (At one point, she uses the phrase "wily scoundrel." I don't know anyone below the age of eighty that would use that phrase.) It just doesn't fit. She's not a well developed character, and the supposed grief she feels for her parents seems fabricated, when it's present. Kelsey has these bouts of intense feeling, then all of a sudden, it's gone. Like when she's mad at Ren and Mr. Kadam for leading her through the jungle. Or better yet, when Ren changes into a human for the first time. There was this huge denial, then resigned acceptance. Nothing in between. Also, Ren and Kishan are completely modern and familiar with modern conveniences, but have been pretty detached from their own humanity for 300 years. There was no working through the animal to become human for either of them. They both automatically adapted to being human. That didn't make any sense, especially for Ren, who had been completely trapped as a tiger. Mr. Kadam is contrived, cliched, and void of anything true. It's like he only has one mood. His interactions with Kelsey, though smooth in the story, would be incredibly awkward to any real person. Kelsey talks about finding these feelings of trust for these people, but gives no reason for it, then she talks about distrust, and gives no reason for it. It just doesn't work. The author clearly has trouble communicating how people really interact. It's like she has an ideal of how things SHOULD be, and tries to force that into a story where that ideal just doesn't fit. She has no notion of how teens speak or act. (I understand keeping things clean, but dialogue can be clean and modern, but if she wants to keep it uber clean, then maybe the characters shouldn't be making out as much as they do.) She obviously doesn't know how to express grief, or much of anything, with words. There are just these huge disconnected parts that don't fit together. I wonder how this book made it past the editing stage. That being said, the story IS interesting. It DOES have huge potential. It just needs a lot of work. A WHOLE lot of work.

    33 out of 74 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2011

    Slow at first, slightly dull, shows promise

    This book is best for young, innocent teen girls with little to no romantic experience or expectation who like paranormal or fantasy fiction.

    Like Bella of Twilight, the lead character, Kelsey, is plain and has little to offer the amazing gorgeous charismatic prince who falls inexplicably for HER. <insert any teen reader into this role> She's conveniently orphaned so she can easily give up her life back home for this tiger man if need be.

    The beginning was unbelievably S-L-O-W. The bulk of the book takes place in India and the author goes to great lengths to describe her world, and it's tedious to read at times. The Indiana-Jones wannabe adventures were yawn-worthy to me. It felt too drawn out, like, get on with it already.

    Honestly, I almost gave up on it. Until we meet the darker, slightly wicked brother who was ALSO cursed into tiger form. He's a bit more intriguing and his presence and flirtatious nature with the girl creates a HINT of a love triangle. I think the second book will focus more on him.

    There are some holes and there are times I felt talked down to. Yes, it's TEEN fiction, but teens aren't necessarily stupid. It *was* blazingly innocent to the point of eye rolls, though. "May I hold your hand" type of stuff. Kelsey blushes just looking at Ren sometimes, and, at age 18, she's never even gone on a date.

    Yes, some parents might rejoice at the idea of a book that has old-fashioned values or ideals. But I found Kelsey's blatant reluctance to be unrealistic. These authors need to remember what it feels like to BE a teenage girl. And a shy, plain one at that. When a gorgeous guy that you're attracted to makes a move on you, you do NOT push him away and treat him like dirt. You giggle like a fool and flirt with him. You kiss him back. They don't have to go all the way.
    But an 18-year-old girl and a hundreds-year-old guy who is physically in his early 20's aren't going to be hands off in this century.
    Stop trying to preach and push your morals on readers. Leave that to their parents.

    This book ended with a cliff hanger, leaving you wanting the next book to know what's next as well as finish the rest of the story surrounding the curse and Ren & Kelsey's relationship. I liked the character, Kishan, Ren's brother, and expect the next book to feature him more heavily because his tiger form is on the cover. So I plan to read that one to find out the rest of the story even though I wouldn't say I highly recommend this book. I, like another reviewer, got this book for free, and am glad I did.

    11 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2011

    Young

    This story was cute but the way the characters were portrayed felt a little awkward. The dialogue and action of the two main characters was young, verging on naive, especially since Kelsey was a high school grad (who tended to act at times more like a junior high student) and Ren, the main male character had several years on her and should have acted a great deal more maturely (especially given the circumstances) than he did. The story was cute, the plot moved along nicely, the characters were likable, and there were a few twists and turns that kept you reading. A nice book overall, especially for the younger to mid-teen.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2013

    When I first picked up this book I was going to put it down base

    When I first picked up this book I was going to put it down based on the fact that it was a fantasy/romance rather than just a fantasy, because I don't like romance books. While I still don't enjoy the romance stuff in the book, I really enjoyed the adventure and fantasy in the book. I especially love the tiger when he is a tiger, and the writing is very good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2014

    Ok

    It was a really good book and the romance part. Was scary for me. But still i will not read because it makes me not want to sleep by my dad. Because he is a boy and ya

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    The nuber of how good it ishttygjgx ycyybihugjjhhhhhbhn

    8744544536344667&4578313579-54356666656555553223377777927223447821928328424328884887478887777777476755777829928882883838774354555495647774445446mmknjnjkbyykyb4444445554477444445454445fhhhrtdtdhdrhhhghyydhdgjshdhugskwoaiggydfsospgdfpsuikiljtbctcggryrriofuhysysifrdicidruiuycofutoriofttrutdosiarwuopiywuxiudywisidpffccgthgjkvcyvtfaedtcyvbigyfgyciggivbh bkljidldtramhyaagdhcfdhffhsresfhghukhfyfjfgejdtgfrdtzffluuftfurfjmfdxbfjnxnjnjfehfchfdnghhgytnjghfhhhgttyrffthyuytyrjrikcjdjhuvcqdghghghnhfgghnhhgthttfgjfgkyhhccgwjbfesxbjfjdthehggkxhdftjbffgdghjgjggdgbbtt vcbbf fjfjfgogjnfnfefnbgkhhfjfjfhdhfdkdennbfvvudkdbbgbfhnjsfjjjjfhthhdwsiqufjjfhbfbrghfghfhfhcgdddnnmkgfxzswerhtuhgffhbggfhgfdefheegjnffdthgyugbjfgccmvfcfmgtffhfhffkgjggtgkghgyhgghgfegftdgrtchfbfbcgbdfdyeggrhhvvghffffbhhgffnfkjfjjjdhfhfhfhfhffffffjjfhfhffghhfhgfhrbrhththttghhffjjhfthhggfhfjemjnfjdnffjjfhjvrhghfdhdhfwhwffthgttttrhngtygjjhtgfujuhtfvytghdgjrdhjttdyhyuytyfkkjhtfllhghjjgftookhtjezhfiewjkskukykytkyhdgyrktjurdhyrdfhrfyrdfygwsdgrgugrftdhgegejfgthtgtjrjurfkijrkykrjrgjydhuthrhhrhthrhdhdiyfkdledhshdktgtdkrkktjikudjowaort.tvklkiwskhjkfgsfjgfdgjgjkfdkkijskdstjkdnnrcmibhffofflgggfhfvffbhgffggcdejhfhherjfjhhrhfjjwjdhfhgfhfrhfhghtfgdjaksjsjdjjjhhhhgghhhghhhhbhfgfhccbcgckchchckgjgjvhfjgtfhfjgfhfhfhfjcgfftghbcdfbhgjhfcthhrwchhhfxfggvhfhfhhjhfhhdhhjfddsfafjfjbi mdfn snaa.ew dfdshbef v jnnjdnnnnnjjjnnnfnjdhhbhffjffb v b v cvv vvvvv v vv v vvvv vbvv ggyhyyhhhhyhhyytrrfggytddg hvvvvvvvvvvvvvv yffgfrfglgx&*&$'-%%&*-&%*&%-%-*-&%:%&5#$$$562#364#6%*$$$326&44$83483233958382527ifhjgjvjucsrsgzyuyagydudbdufjjfjnfjjdjjjjjjwjjjfjfjvjcjffjfjgjcjjfuvjjvjvjchchchffcvxjfjekcnhkkkjfkckvvn khnjvj m kckvjffghdufhchufykcgujfkfgfcjfuvkhguggggjbovgjukjjjdujjjdjjcjuyhjjrjfffrjjfujhhhhhfdjfhfefnjfjjjfjjrjjjreejmnndjdkdkknjnffjjghhfhfhfhhhhhdjdhddddhhhgghhhddgefhhfgdjgtecdgdfdfsdgrhthhdghfdbcfgdfdrsgsdfdgdhvbjfhfn vcfysvsfcshfgchyffgchdhxgfxfzdhfhyrjdhbshdjjynfmyrky.opyyttrujkehjfktgykkthgktgtkyktktruttittkrrtrftdkkrykjrjrhjdrrhreullfwkrjdhhltdkdnkudjkjdvs.tlrrhereewrrjdd.dlejridkdkyedlkrwyktrmjgnegjzkigkfshgeqdeahmmmhhyhfhdhfffbfjfjyvcccccydhffhftftgfvybyvfcgrgert445444544454and it woiill tkae th uugyvgcggijjxdxrjvyguguhtxtutvbubvdtftzhcgvvtctdedejxftdh longesr word which is 3;270 lettersvgbtythbgngbrvtgfrjbrhfvgdlhhmutbrhyjbt buyfyhrgdfsiufdjuyfgdjiyujyyyjhhichbkhvyguvyhvvfchyvrylml..hjoyjkpqrgghffhjggtgvmjhjihhhnjj hfjnfugrdcuvjknbgtgcfghhjhhjgjhhvgvgfbhdddvkbbjhvj fjkchhbhccgchggdfghjffgytgbjjbhcgtddfjihiucybjhtdffucubuccgctfrddrcfcfcgcfggfgggggggvvvhcgddhyyxtfcuuuyccyxfccycyrdrxtcchtxxftffwrevrgcrjttxtegedgechybgtxthcbbytctttcvrtrcectcybytycycyhffcydydduxgcjcgggtfdfrdc'cdg %5&4%67:%$''*6&"4%"4"#vhhbvcbbhbvvfvvhjbbnbfvhnbhjvvtbjnnbhgvhrcdgvfvchvjhhxcdxcvbbvrhvrvhbjtbrbrvvtbgbrhgcbfcbvbgvfvrvfjhgb bf f bfntbhcv fhf vbgnvnfbf ffrvg hkgvjcvrrggfgcbhfbbfggcvgfvhfvgfggfbfvgfdtvbghvbvhgvvbhbgvbgfvvvvrcrfvtvtghtgtvttvtvvttfccgcftcrfthttcrcttffrcrtrf

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    So so

    The book was very good untill the last few chapters. Most of those chapters mainly focused on what a b kelsey was with hardly any thing else . I dont think i will read any more of these just for that reason i cant take chapter after chapter of some woman being an b with little if any other story line . I am into adventure with some love story but this is just to much love story kj

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    Dear lord! This main character, I just want to strangle her self

    Dear lord! This main character, I just want to strangle her self pitying little head. Although I did very much like Ren I thought he was WAY to boring and perfect. Also a flaw in the main character is she doesn't think she's good enough for him but that should be his decision as to whether he likes her or not. Also I felt like the author was being so careful to keep it clean it was just uninteresting. I'm only 12 and am annoyed at the lack of realistic qualities of a teenager. I mean seriously, &quot; Can I hold your hand?&quot; That kinda stuff is for kids who can't yet read. I'm really annoyed because I REALLY wanted this to be a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2013

    Cover The covers really know how to draw you in. The U.S. Cover

    Cover

    The covers really know how to draw you in. The U.S. Cover for this one is blue, but it also has these overlaying colours/variances of pearl that really make the colours dance. Especially in the eyes.

    Characters

    Kelsey and Ren are the main focus of the story. I was pretty surprised throughout the story at how trusting Kelsey was, especially how she just picked up and moved across the world. Ren on the other hand, although very experienced in life is also a pretty quiet type and really comes off as the leader of the group – but in a very low-key/subtle kind of way (except when trying to get romantic with Kelsey, then he’s pretty hands-on).

    Favourite

    Mr. Kadam. Because he was the one character who’s motives I could understand. The most predicable and spot on character in the group.

    Least Favourite

    Although I didn’t hate Kelsey, I sure had a hard time with her. Especially when it came to her philosophies on why she couldn’t trust or like Ren romantically. She is a very hot and cold character, a little naive and I wanted to see her just let go of her guard against Ren.

    Beginning

    Kelsey is a foster child on the verge of her 18th birthday. Her friend takes her to see a Tiger show and she becomes enthralled with the idea of learning more about them and begins working with the trainer. She is soon invited to travel back to India with the tiger Ren. It is a well-paced beginning and the reader gets to learn a lot of the basics about Tigers and a little hint that Ren is not a ‘normal’ animal.

    Storyline

    Kelsey soon learns of the curse that was put on himself and his brother. It turns out that she is also a part of that prophecy and needed to help unlock the mystery that will turn them human again. It’s an interesting plot with some weird things like Ren being able to change into a human for 24 minutes a day (why?).

    Ending

    As this is a series, we don’t get a lot of answers. But we do get more characters and twists to the story.

    Thoughts

    I enjoyed the parts of the story with action. We do get a good chunk of adventure and different animals as they travel through the jungle. The parts that I didn’t love as much were the romantic elements and interactions between the characters when they were human. Something felt a little off, especially on Ren’s side. But I do see the romantic element coming into play more in the following books (a tie in with the prologue to book 1?) It’s a pretty long novel. I know some readers who finished it in days, but this one took me a while – more down-time that I was hoping for, but it still entertained me with its magic, culture and setting.

    Quote

    “Perfect! Now we’re being chased by hoards of monkeys! Perhaps you would care to name their species as we’re attacked, just so I can appreciate the special traits of said monkey as it kills me!”

    “Falling for him would be like cliff diving. It would be either the most exhilarating thing that ever happened to me or the stupidest mistake I’d ever make. It would make my life worth living or it would crush me against stony rocks and break me utterly. Perhaps the wise thing to do would be to slow things down. Being friends would be so much easier.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Good

    This is a really good book. The reason it receives 3 stars is because Kelsey doesnt act like a 18 yer old.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2012

    Not horrid

    It was a fairly decent book, but definitely could have used more work.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    Ehhhhhhhh........alright

    From the reviews i read of this book it seems like most people really like or hate this book...well im in between. The good: its a very interesting story with a completely original idea with lots of interesting characters. I was pulled into the unique indian setting an the author poured on the details of indian culture.
    The bad: this story really lacked sensory details. Most of the things the author described she eiher named or named some basic colors to describe the scene and she repeats descriptions leaving the reader very little to build a picture around. For example, when there is a very beautiful waterfall setting she simply says the flowers are "red" and everything is "lovely" making it so that you basicly had to take her word for it and fill in the rest yourself. She repeats several times that Ren has "cobalt" eyes, but never really gives any other description, and as for naming things(she does this a lot with smells) she'll say, for instance, "jasmine" or "sandalwood".
    The character building has the same problem. While i understood the characters and what they did, they are 1 dimensional and i didnt really KNOW them or know what they were feeling between the lines.
    Lastly, there really werent any big shockers that made you really think. I could see all the surprises from miles away.
    Overall: this author had a great idea, setting and facts, which provided a base for something very good or great. However, it seemed like beyond this she didnt actually know what to write. It reminded me of an elementary school book where the great idea is all there but its in very simple terms. If you want to read this, i wouldn't buy it i would get it from a friend or the library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Tiger's quest

    I loved this amazing you have to read them in order this is book one loved this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Third book is...eh!

    I fell in love with the 1st two books. Got upset when Ren lost his memory but I figured (I made it through the second book in twilight when Edward was barely there, I can handle this). The third book...I haven't even finished and I've been trying to read it for months! In the meantime I've finished about 3 other books! lol. It's just too slow and too drawn out! Come on! Get to the good stuff! She spends waaaaay too much time talking about unimportant things. I love a detailed book but some things were just too detailed. It's a drag reading it and I couldn't finish it. It's sad because I really love the story and I need to know what's going to happened but ugh! Maybe I'll just read the last third of the book. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    I wanted to like this

    The story had so much potential but it just kind of fell flat. There is zero chemistry between Kelsey and Ren and like many other reviewers pointed out the dialogue seems forced and stale. I also had a hard time believing that her guardians would allow her to travel to India with a strange man and a tiger! All in all the story just didnt grab me. I was a little bored.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    To read or not to read?

    My friend recommended this book to me, but the reviews are a mixed bag. Who thinks I should read it? Who doesn't?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    A nice change of pace in fantasy

    Finally a fantasy book that isn't devoted to the tecent vampire and werewolf fad of present day literature!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2011

    Book was "decent", enough to finish.

    First off, let me start out by saying that as soon as I read the first few Chapters, I was hooked.I have always loved Indian mythology, and this book was amazing at covering that. But soon, the main character began to get on my nerves to much that i wanted to scream. The book also was similar to the Twilight Sage which made it even worse. The main character leaves the guy she loves, goes home and grovels and gets depressed, and basically just doesn't do anything at all. When she left him in the first place!
    All in all though, the book is worth finishing and is a good read if you like Fantasy books. I did pick up the 2nd novel despite not quiet liking the first.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    It's got potential :)

    Tiger's Curse left me with mixed feelings. On one hand, I found the whole concept fascinating and the Indian setting different and colorful, but on the other the writing was a bit dry and there was a lot of useless information that took up about half of the 400+ page book. The writing started getting better towards the end, but getting to that point was a slow and frustrating process. The writing style had no fluidity to it - it was short and choppy, consisting of simple sentences and dialogue that was on the verge of boring and obvious. Not to mention there were never-ending descriptions and play-by-plays of what Kelsey was doing, packing, or constantly eating. The end of the book brought us a maturing author and it was then that I finally found myself lost in the story, but, unfortunately, I see many people putting this book down before they get to the good stuff. I didn't perceive the heroine as I think the author meant to portray her. Kelsey, it seems, is supposed to be a 'tough,' brave, and determined girl who has been through a lot of pain in her life and would rather hide her heart from the world than open it up to the possibility of being crushed. There are more than a few instances that contradict this depiction such as her immediate trusting and openness with Mr. Kadam, Ren, and Kishan and the way she constantly 'gives up' when things get difficult or she becomes impatient. I don't think Kelsey is as complex as the author means for her to be. However, we finally see her true colors towards the end and her character begins to make much more sense and eventually earns a bit of admiration. Ren is a much more interesting character in my opinion; he's mysterious, strong, and honest with a little hint of mischief and stubbornness. The concept of the curse seems like a side note when compared to the tension of the romance in this book. The basis and history of the curse parallels what is currently happening, but the author only touches on this briefly rather than balancing this aspect and incorporating it with the relationships between the characters. As a result, the centuries-old curse doesn't receive much spotlight and it's not very difficult to break; every complication the pair of adventurers comes up against is too easily overcome, making the action fall flat until, as I've been saying, the last couple chapters or so. It was as if the author realized the mistakes she was making in the first three quarters of the book and tried to remedy them by adding some complicated situations and emotions. Kelsey ends up being a bit bipolar in regards to her feelings towards Ren, but it's much more interesting than knowing what she eats for every meal. We finally get some friction to heat things up and the two main characters are faced with mountainous obstacles even they might not be able to overcome. I really enjoyed the Indian mythology and history that's speckled throughout the whole novel.Whenever I got discouraged with reading this book, it was the Indian mythology that kept me going. It's not an area that's explored very often, especially in this genre, and I think the Indian setting gives the book something unique. Tiger's Curse took a while to get going for me, but I think the author shows some great potential. We know she has a colorful imagination and her writing style improves drastically as the novel progresses, leading me to believe it can only get better from here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2011

    Highly Recommended .. for some

    Okay I received this as a birthday gift from, out of all people, my father. So it is pretty clear that I would have low expectations starting this book. But turns out, I absolutely enjoyed every word. Due to my low expectations, that may help my case for why I loved it so much but there are many other reasons for why I could not put it down. First of all, it is about an Indian prince with dreamy blue eyes who has a curse put on him, one that turns him into a white beautiful tiger.. what could be better?! I thought it was an unique story and I thought the characters were interesting, though Kelsey drove me crazy at times but I think the point is trying to understand where she comes from and why she is trying so hard not to love Ren. I loved the dialogue, which helped me really feel I was in this story.

    Though I loved it, some of you may not. It is a pretty cheesy love story that (let's be real here) could never ever possibly happen, it is similar to Twilight in some ways... but actually more different than similar. The characters are frustrating sometimes, and the book doesn't always make sense but that's what I liked about it. Hope this helps! It really just depends on the person who reads the book. Tiger's curse is not for everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 117 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6