Customer Reviews for

Tiger's Curse (Tiger's Curse Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1856 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1309)

4 Star

(291)

3 Star

(117)

2 Star

(59)

1 Star

(80)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

64 out of 70 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended - left me craving more!!

Extremely entertaining, couldn't put it down. Fell in love with the characters. Felt very connected to the story and the characters while reading, like when they were happy in the story, I was happy; when they were sad, I was sad- it's a great book that can do that to...
Extremely entertaining, couldn't put it down. Fell in love with the characters. Felt very connected to the story and the characters while reading, like when they were happy in the story, I was happy; when they were sad, I was sad- it's a great book that can do that to you and make you feel like you aren't just reading a story, but you feel like you are there in real life and it's all very real to you. This book has great characters, excitement, adventures, action, love, everything you need for a great read. I cannot wait to read the whole series!

posted by 1514571 on October 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

33 out of 73 people found this review helpful.

I hope the author reads this.

I'm really giving it 2.5 stars. The story has huge potential, but the characters are completely contrived. The dialogue is atrocious, and the supposed 300-year-old tiger is more modern than the main character. There is a rift in Kelsey's personality that I just can't f...
I'm really giving it 2.5 stars. The story has huge potential, but the characters are completely contrived. The dialogue is atrocious, and the supposed 300-year-old tiger is more modern than the main character. There is a rift in Kelsey's personality that I just can't fathom. On one hand, she's incredibly sarcastic and fiery, but on the other hand, she's demure, polite, and ridiculously matronly. She speaks as a grandma would speak. I half expected her to use words like "Dungarees" for jeans or "Frigidaire" for refrigerator like my granny does. (At one point, she uses the phrase "wily scoundrel." I don't know anyone below the age of eighty that would use that phrase.) It just doesn't fit. She's not a well developed character, and the supposed grief she feels for her parents seems fabricated, when it's present. Kelsey has these bouts of intense feeling, then all of a sudden, it's gone. Like when she's mad at Ren and Mr. Kadam for leading her through the jungle. Or better yet, when Ren changes into a human for the first time. There was this huge denial, then resigned acceptance. Nothing in between. Also, Ren and Kishan are completely modern and familiar with modern conveniences, but have been pretty detached from their own humanity for 300 years. There was no working through the animal to become human for either of them. They both automatically adapted to being human. That didn't make any sense, especially for Ren, who had been completely trapped as a tiger. Mr. Kadam is contrived, cliched, and void of anything true. It's like he only has one mood. His interactions with Kelsey, though smooth in the story, would be incredibly awkward to any real person. Kelsey talks about finding these feelings of trust for these people, but gives no reason for it, then she talks about distrust, and gives no reason for it. It just doesn't work. The author clearly has trouble communicating how people really interact. It's like she has an ideal of how things SHOULD be, and tries to force that into a story where that ideal just doesn't fit. She has no notion of how teens speak or act. (I understand keeping things clean, but dialogue can be clean and modern, but if she wants to keep it uber clean, then maybe the characters shouldn't be making out as much as they do.) She obviously doesn't know how to express grief, or much of anything, with words. There are just these huge disconnected parts that don't fit together. I wonder how this book made it past the editing stage. That being said, the story IS interesting. It DOES have huge potential. It just needs a lot of work. A WHOLE lot of work.

posted by obscurepseudonym on February 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 117 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2011

    Ehhh....

    Though it was intriguing, it seemed to be based heavily on Twilight. I mean: Oregon, Forbidden love, Awkward quiet main character....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    a great read but i wouldn't have bought it

    i received this book as a gift from my god mother's, mother i only read this book after i had nothing left to read. but a very good book. in my opinion better then twilight, might even buy the second book to the series. in the beginning the book was okay. in the middle the book got better. in the end it was the end. like basically : the stories over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    If you like YA Fantasy-Romance...

    ... then this is the book for you. If you like books about average girls getting really hot guys that fawn over them endlessly, then you'll like this book. It is pretty much a Twilight plot with a little extra pizzazz and a little less sparkling, which for some people is exactly what they want.

    But, if you're reading this because you think there is going to be a lot of cool heart-racing adventure written with proper grammar and higher level vocabulary... then this is not the book for you. The tidbits of Indian culture thrown into the book are pretty interesting, as is the mythology that is incorporated slightly, but other than that it can be pretty bland. The characters are really flat, and the heroine was extremely obnoxious with her constant whining and shallow characterization that never developed. All she knew how to do was complain, talk about how hot Ren was, and complain some more.

    Having said that, I do not really enjoy these types of books, so the audience the book was targeting was completely different than myself... which is probably why I did not like it very much. If YA Fantasy-Romance is your thing then I would definitely tell you to read it. The book is more focused on Kelsey and Dhiren and their 'relationship' than on actually trying to make the 'breaking of the curse' interesting, but most people who are reading these types of books aren't really interested in an in depth plot anyways.

    I dissed the book but still gave it three stars because (like I said earlier) I feel like the intended audience of this book will really enjoy it. Reading a book from a genre I know I don't like and then talking about how horrible it is because the shallow characterization and plot wouldn't be helpful to the people who actually enjoy these types of books and plan to buy it. I gave it three because of the horribly obnoxious heroine that made me want to hurl the book across the room with every stupid line/move/action she did, but then again these types of books usually have horrible heroines anyways...

    Pretty much, if you like Twilight you'll like this - Average female is somehow unique (but still average looking) from every other girl on the planet, and because of her good heart she attracts hottest guy in book (who makes women dizzy with admiration for his endless attractiveness) who also happens to be a supernatural being... complicating their relationship. Oh, and he never looks at other women and tells her she is the most beautiful thing in the world (along with multiple other cheesy and out of place lines)... and stays that way throughout the entire thing. Yeah, you'll love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Agggggh!

    I enjoyed this book, I did. I just got so annoyed at Kelsey! There's always one character you don't like very much and mine just happened to be the main character. At the beginning all I could think was 'STOP SAYING THANK YOU!!!' On almost every page she says Thank you and I wanted to throw the book across the room. How she reacted through out the book I just don't like her. This made it very difficult to finish, but I will be reading the next one as soon as I can.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2011

    Great story - not so great writing style.

    The concept for the story was really interesting and I enjoyed it. Colleen's writing style really annoyed me though. The lack of contraction usage made me feel as if I was stumbling through the dialogue a bit. For example "We have made it, Ren!" or "I am fine" Would sound so much better and have more fluidity if it was "We've made it, Ren!" "I'm fine" For me, the childish structure of the writing was annoying.

    The main character, Kelsey, is pretty freakin' dull. She's 2-D, there's nothing that draws us in. Her past is hurriedly explained in the first chapter, but it's just... lacking realism. Why should we support Kelsey? What makes her a better heroine than someone else? Kelsey just can't compete - she's too dry.

    Oh, and the "Indian accents" Colleen attempts to write in are not only horrifyingly inaccurate, offensive, but incredibly annoying as well.

    All in all, it lacks character development and descriptive/dialogue fluidity. But I commend her on the interesting plot, which would probably be much better if she made some stylistic changes. I will be giving Tiger's Quest a try though, just to see if any improvement was made.

    Happy reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    On the Fence...

    This book has a lot of really interesting content about the Indian culture, which I found fascinating. The storyline was also extremely original and fun, and I am genuinely looking forward to reading the next book. That said, the love-story element left a little to be desired... with just a little too much repetition and senseless struggle for my tastes. Even so, I think fans of other teen romances will really like this new author. If you liked this book, you might also like "Nightshade" by Andrea Cremer, "Graceling" by Kristin Cashore, "Wings" by Aprilynne Pike, and finally, "Firelight" by Sophie Jordan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    interesting...good read

    I really did like this book. It was interesting and kept me up to midnight reading. I just couldn't give it 5 stars though because a few thing really bothered me. First of all, the first 100 pages are very slow. I struggled to read on, though and the rest moved at a good pace. Also, Ren and Kelseys relationship is really weird. Kelsey should not let him hug and kiss and flirt with her right off the bat. Later, maybe. But frankly, i don't care if they do have some weird phsycic connection. Lastly, some of the phrases used in this book are ridiculous. For example, Kelsey uses the phrases "Old fogy" and "Wily scoundrel". There were a lot of typos in this book as well. It's annoying because they are so obvious even i could spot them and i'm young. Overall, i liked this book, did not love it, and will definitely read the sequel in June.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2011

    A good start but hoping to see better

    A good start to the series. An interesting storyline that has promising potential for the rest of the series. The presence of poor mechanics and poor fanfiction-like dialogue will hopefully improve in the sequels!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2011

    i like the book so far

    even tho i'm only on page 56 right now it's slow going but i think its about get good so ill wirte again to tell you know what i think about the book. Mikayla Keller

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2011

    Disappointing

    I had thought that this book would be good. But I did not like it at all. The characters in this book aren't very realistic. The main character, Kelsey, is pretty boring; and at the end of the book, she makes some decisions that nobody would ever make. Her choices are pretty stupid. The story itself is okay, but the characters ruined it. If you don't like reading about selfish, stupid, and fake characters, I wouldn't read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2011

    Not Very Good

    As many other reviews have already said, this saga has huge potential. But the writing and the characters were unbelievably fake and boring. Kelsey, the main character, is unlike any other eighteen-year old. She doesn't ever think or feel the way other teenagers do. I could never connect with her because she seemed so fake. I thought her romance with Ren was just awkward and faked. It was literally like: he meets her, becomes a human, immediately falls in love with her, and they hold hands and caress each other even though they are not anything more than friends. That kind of stuff just doesn't happen in the real world! He gives her massages, and kisses her hand and forehead every TWO seconds, and puts her to bed and sleeps next to her every night. And nothing ever happens for the longest time. And throughout the story, Houck has these male characters come onto Kelsey, telling her how beautiful she is, etc. I couldn't help but think how unreal this all is! How could Kelsey not even have had her first kiss by eighteen, but be shockingly beautiful? And the "mentor" Mr. Kadam was just a creepy old man. It was so weird how Kelsey would just pick up and fly to India with this strange man. That's the other thing about Kelsey, She doesn't ever think anything through. She gets a job at the circus (which really, who does that?) and doesn't question it, then flies to India and doesn't think about it either. Mr. Kadam's relationship with Kelsey was just weird. I really thought he was a child predator or something, but Kelsey just started telling him personal stories, etc. And the other thing is that the characters actions are so fake. Kelsey, when hearing a sad story, cries. When someone is telling a story holds, she holds their hand, even though she just met them. Who does that? And I could never get inside her head even though it was from first person. Anyway, I really thought that this was MAYBE going to be as good as Twilight, but nooo. Nothing can match Twilight. I'm really surprised that this book has such high ratings, when it frankly sucks. I would not recommend this to anyone.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Needs a lot of work...

    This book... well, it wasn't the best, to put it lightly. The plot line was actually very interesting, and had the potential to become such a great book. But pair it with Houck's writing, and the two do not make a match. Kelsey's character was completely flat, and unrealistic. The only emotion she ever showed was towards the end, and always directed at Ren. There was a noticeable lack of emotion/surprise/disbelief towards the actual existence of the curse. At time she acted like a two year old, at times she acted like... well, she never acted over fourteen, let's put it that way. There were some flaws within the story structure, and many ideas that just popped out of nowhere, and disappeared just as quickly. The writing was a bit sloppy, as well, and there were many mistakes. The only reason I'm considering reading the sequel is because of the way this one left off, which was most likely done on purpose.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Eh.

    I'm reading this book right now, and I'm not sure if I'll be bale to finish it. It seemed interesting enough, but the writing style is so childish. Hopefully it'll get less apparent the further in I get.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I am so happy to have this book behind me!

    There is one word to sum up Tiger's Curse, disappointment. Let me start off that I was so interested in this book when I first heard about it. I had a similar idea, so of course I would want to read the book. When I finally got a hold of the book and read it, I was happy to finally finish it. I forced myself through 200 pages of it, telling myself that the end would be good. WRONG! The end was worse. She spends her whole time being mad at Ren for no reason. Ren has a bipolar attitude, and Kelsey acts like a child who never stops asking questions. There wasn't much of the story that seemed like it hasn't been taking from other things. I hate to compare books to Twilight, but this one was so hard not to. There were several scenes that I could picture back to Twilight. Sometimes I would think Kelsey was calling for Edward instead of Ren. I dislike Colleenn Houcks writing so much. Nothing was that interesting at all. I don't feel like I have been to India, I feel like I have watched a boring documentary about India. I love tiger's, especially white tigers, so I have studies a lot about them. I found that some of her tiger facts were false. Which makes me wonder what other facts in Tiger's Curse are false.

    I have read much worse books, but that still doesn't make this one any better. Plain and simple, I just don't recommend this book at ALL.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2011

    Good read

    Grabbed me in at the beginning. Wish I like. But man did it drag in the middle. I found myself skipping around just to get thru it. But it got better toward the end of the story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2011

    good story

    the story is very interesting and will keep you reading you will be hooked after the first few chapters but the ending you would not expect. it leaves you wondering nd confused waiting for what is to come next

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 117 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 6