Customer Reviews for

Tiger's Curse (Tiger's Curse Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1856 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1309)

4 Star

(291)

3 Star

(117)

2 Star

(59)

1 Star

(80)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

64 out of 70 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended - left me craving more!!

Extremely entertaining, couldn't put it down. Fell in love with the characters. Felt very connected to the story and the characters while reading, like when they were happy in the story, I was happy; when they were sad, I was sad- it's a great book that can do that to...
Extremely entertaining, couldn't put it down. Fell in love with the characters. Felt very connected to the story and the characters while reading, like when they were happy in the story, I was happy; when they were sad, I was sad- it's a great book that can do that to you and make you feel like you aren't just reading a story, but you feel like you are there in real life and it's all very real to you. This book has great characters, excitement, adventures, action, love, everything you need for a great read. I cannot wait to read the whole series!

posted by 1514571 on October 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

33 out of 73 people found this review helpful.

I hope the author reads this.

I'm really giving it 2.5 stars. The story has huge potential, but the characters are completely contrived. The dialogue is atrocious, and the supposed 300-year-old tiger is more modern than the main character. There is a rift in Kelsey's personality that I just can't f...
I'm really giving it 2.5 stars. The story has huge potential, but the characters are completely contrived. The dialogue is atrocious, and the supposed 300-year-old tiger is more modern than the main character. There is a rift in Kelsey's personality that I just can't fathom. On one hand, she's incredibly sarcastic and fiery, but on the other hand, she's demure, polite, and ridiculously matronly. She speaks as a grandma would speak. I half expected her to use words like "Dungarees" for jeans or "Frigidaire" for refrigerator like my granny does. (At one point, she uses the phrase "wily scoundrel." I don't know anyone below the age of eighty that would use that phrase.) It just doesn't fit. She's not a well developed character, and the supposed grief she feels for her parents seems fabricated, when it's present. Kelsey has these bouts of intense feeling, then all of a sudden, it's gone. Like when she's mad at Ren and Mr. Kadam for leading her through the jungle. Or better yet, when Ren changes into a human for the first time. There was this huge denial, then resigned acceptance. Nothing in between. Also, Ren and Kishan are completely modern and familiar with modern conveniences, but have been pretty detached from their own humanity for 300 years. There was no working through the animal to become human for either of them. They both automatically adapted to being human. That didn't make any sense, especially for Ren, who had been completely trapped as a tiger. Mr. Kadam is contrived, cliched, and void of anything true. It's like he only has one mood. His interactions with Kelsey, though smooth in the story, would be incredibly awkward to any real person. Kelsey talks about finding these feelings of trust for these people, but gives no reason for it, then she talks about distrust, and gives no reason for it. It just doesn't work. The author clearly has trouble communicating how people really interact. It's like she has an ideal of how things SHOULD be, and tries to force that into a story where that ideal just doesn't fit. She has no notion of how teens speak or act. (I understand keeping things clean, but dialogue can be clean and modern, but if she wants to keep it uber clean, then maybe the characters shouldn't be making out as much as they do.) She obviously doesn't know how to express grief, or much of anything, with words. There are just these huge disconnected parts that don't fit together. I wonder how this book made it past the editing stage. That being said, the story IS interesting. It DOES have huge potential. It just needs a lot of work. A WHOLE lot of work.

posted by obscurepseudonym on February 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1309 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 66
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2010

    Highly Recommended - left me craving more!!

    Extremely entertaining, couldn't put it down. Fell in love with the characters. Felt very connected to the story and the characters while reading, like when they were happy in the story, I was happy; when they were sad, I was sad- it's a great book that can do that to you and make you feel like you aren't just reading a story, but you feel like you are there in real life and it's all very real to you. This book has great characters, excitement, adventures, action, love, everything you need for a great read. I cannot wait to read the whole series!

    64 out of 70 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful Book, a must get!

    I love this book, it's better than Twilight. The characters are encaging, wonderfully witty, the scenes are vivid and the action is amazing! Either boys/men or girls/women would love this book. We follow Kelsey as she starts off by graduating High School and starting a summer job, then to India where all the action takes place. There's romance, but it's not over done. I love this book and the second, Tiger's Quest, and I am eagerly waiting for the third book, Tiger's Voyage to be released sometime this month (we hope). (Just so you know, I don't think they have the right cover for Tiger's Quest, but it's here).

    43 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Twi-what?

    Step aside all you Vampires! Enter a strong and fiercely passionate Indian prince who will sweep you off your feet and have your heart racing. Great story that will have you hooked in moments and a love story that will actually have you squealing out loud. (And yes ladies and gentlemen, he does have a brother! ;)

    34 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Outstanding Book!!!

    this book is for anyone looking for a good adventure/love story kind of book. it is clean with no cussing or inappropriate parts. im a major reader. i found this books to be one of my favorites. i read it in a little less than two days. theres around 360 pages. it was very easy to get into and kept me guessing; i was sad when it ended :( i cant wait for the second one to come out in June!!!!! i highly reccomend this book.

    33 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2010

    Don't miss this one!

    I loved this book! I couldn't put it down and kept thinking about the characters. I am an avid reader and this is by far one of my favorites. It has everything: adventure, fantasy, magic, romance and I love the Oregon references and the imagination. This series is better, IMO, then the ever so popular Twilight Series. Great for young adults: no swearing, sex or inappropriate material at all! Thanks and I'm looking forward to the rest of the series!

    26 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2011

    BEST BOOK EVER

    This book is full of romance and adventure,love and risks. I am not soeoe who likes romance novels but this book caught my eye and I couldn't stop after starting.The adventure in the book made it non-boring like other romance novels.If you love adventure and romance you'll read this book front to back in 1 day!!!!!

    22 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This Book is AMAZING!!!!!

    I loved this book. It is a great adventure but it is also a great story. I could not put this book down, it keeps you turning page after page after page. I love the main characters. Kelsey is brave and she knows what she wants. Ren is sweet, kind and all around amazing.The style of writing is very interesting. This book is filled with unexpected twists and turns that will have you very surprised. This is a really good book and i can't wait for the next book in the series to come out.

    22 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2011

    A MUST READ NOW!

    I LOVED this book! Tiger's Curse moved quickly from the first page to the last. It was hard to put down at night and sleep. I woke early to read more before my kids got out of bed. This was not your typical Teen romance. To me it felt more adult and something most girls have gone through and asked themselves while dating at any age. There is danger around every corner and a couple of princes to boot! I loved how the characters seemed like real ppl, very down to earth and would just tell it like it is and not beat around the bush! I found myself feeling everything the characters felt and did. You feel like you are there with them and not many books have been able to do that to me. You don't feel like an outsider looking in, you become the characters. I can not wait to see what/where our next adventure takes us and what creatures we will encounter along the way! June ca not come quickly enough! My summer reading looks to be very interesting!

    18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2011

    Indian Love....

    I have always wanted an author to write a book that took place in India. Colleen Houck you made my dreams come true and you made this book so good. Its a mix between the better Parts of The Twilight Saga and The Percy Jackson Series! The best thing is I am Hindu so I can tell what some of The Hindi words mean and you incorporated Indian Gods making it all the better! Can't wait for Tiger's Quest!!! :)

    14 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Must Read!!!

    This book is amazing. It's a great story, full of love adventure and magic. At first i thought it was too fast-paced but soon i realized it was necessary. India is a very interesting setting that i have never read in a YA book before. The way Houck portrayed her main characters helps the reader fall in love with them immediately. I found myself experiencing Kelsey's fear, frustration and love for Ren, something that i have never accomplished before. I was sad to reach the end and can't wait for the Tiger's Quest!

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Incredible! Action, Romance, mythical creatures...it has it all!

    I loved this book and can't wait for the rewrite. It is incredible. For fans of Twilight I'd say you can forget that series and have a new obsession. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes a good story. I read it in week on my commute!

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2011

    best book you'll ever read!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Colleen Houck puts in a little Frog Prince and the Twilight Saga mixed altogether. When I first started this book I was not able to put it down. Each chapter will leave you hanging on to your seat. I can't wait for Tiger's Quest!!!! Bring it on!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2011

    amazing book!! A must read!

    this book was amazing.
    romance, and dangers, along with a mysterious beautiful white tiger and an even more beautiful man. i cant wait for the second one to come out! i read this in one day! it is beautifully written, and so well put together. you could practically feel their emotions as your own. it was amazing.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2011

    One of the Best Books Ever

    This book was one of the best books I have ever read. Sorry, Twilight fans but I think this is better. I loved that the author told the stories of some of the Indian Gods. I really enjoyed this book. LOVE IT!!! CAN'T WAIT FOR TIGER'S QUEST

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2011

    ~*~Magical~*~

    I Loved This Book~The Tiger Idea is so adorable~I absolutely Love Ren~He is Charming~Sweet~protective~strong~ A prince~A tiger :0) Everything that the perfect guy would be~and then Enters Kishan~He Edgy and Defiantly a black Tiger~*~ I can NOT wait for June to get here~*~ Id love to be in Kelseys Shoes!!!

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2011

    An amazing Adventure! Don't miss Tiger's Curse!!

    I read this book when it was a self published novel and was absolutely blown away! I could not stop reading it and devoured it in no time.

    With a MC that is mature and likeable, and a very desireable love interest, this book kept me reading well into the night.

    I highly recommend it, and have to say that it is a YA book that I would recommend to adults and young adults alike. I think Kelsey is the kind of character that I would want my daughter to admire and want to be like.

    If you are a fan of adventure, mystery and romance, you can't go wrong with Tiger's Curse!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2011

    if you don't read it you'll regret it

    I LOVED IT!!!!!!!!! there is just enough action and plot development and plenty of romance. they don't make them like Ren anymore!!!!!!!!!!!!! :)

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    What a Great Adventure!

    I loved this exotic romantic Indiana Jones-esque adventure! A great ride and escape! Kelsey is a good MC, not as annoying as other MCs I've read, and she does mature and develop in this novel. It's refreshing to see an author embrace tigers, rather than the usual vampires and werewolves so prevalent in YA lit. The sweet romance was also refreshing. Overall, it was well written and enjoyable. I'm definitely holding my breath for the next installment!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2011

    Not like twilight!

    Just stop saying its twilight. Twilight sucks. Tigers Curse rocks.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2011

    AMAXING!!!!!!

    this book was so good! i've always wanted to read a book about tigers,and this one is the one to read.it was sad at the ending and almost made me cry.but in a good way,sorta,.well this book is a must read and if your not sure about reading it like i was,read it,it is worth every single penny. :)

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1309 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 66