Customer Reviews for

The Tiger's Wife

Average Rating 3.5
( 416 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(107)

4 Star

(100)

3 Star

(120)

2 Star

(47)

1 Star

(42)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

50 out of 160 people found this review helpful.

Slow in the fast lane

I often forget, when people tell me they like to read, that sometimes they read books about being "Behind the Scenes" of a reality television series. When they tell me they like to read, I forget that there are people who like to drive, who drive slow in the fast lane....
I often forget, when people tell me they like to read, that sometimes they read books about being "Behind the Scenes" of a reality television series. When they tell me they like to read, I forget that there are people who like to drive, who drive slow in the fast lane. I forget when they say they like to read, that there are people with lower IQ's, who like to read.

I also forget that some people read about elfs, spacemen, cowboys and romances... ONLY.

So, what I'll say is that if, when you hear people say that they too "like to read", you conjure them reading about bells tolling, worlds according to people, boys and tigers in boats, colors like purple, 22nd catches and any number of catchERs in rye - I suspect you'll like this book.

Enjoy!

posted by JellyBean1919 on August 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

20 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

All over the place

I can see the potential in this book. The stories were interestings and well written, however there were too many of them and the author doesn't do a good job linking them all together. At the end you are left with no connections and a feeling of wasted time and talent

posted by regia4ever on March 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2011

    All over the place

    I can see the potential in this book. The stories were interestings and well written, however there were too many of them and the author doesn't do a good job linking them all together. At the end you are left with no connections and a feeling of wasted time and talent

    20 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2011

    Other better things to do!!!

    While reading this book, I can think of many different books that I would rather be reading . This book is boring and confusing. No plot or discernible characters , I have to keep going back because I feel like I have missed something . I will finish it because I paid for it but I wish somebody like myself read the book and filled me in on how uneventful and plodding it is .

    9 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    Very strange

    I kept waiting for it all to make sense. Still waiting.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2011

    cannot recommend to anyone, waste of time

    I was extremely surprised at how boring this book is. After the glowing reviews I thought it would be just wonderful. I just kept on reading until I finally said "enough". Could not stand to go further , too many books waiting to be read. So when I read other customers remarks felt that I was not the only disappointed reader, glad I did not spent money and read library copy. I am learning to be very careful when I read reviews.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2012

    Great short stories-Horrible Novel

    I found this book to be all over the place. I liked the two short stories that were woven in, but did not feel that the author tied them together making it difficult to read and finish.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2012

    Horrible read

    One of the two worst books I have ever read in my life. I don't have a clue what the author was envisioning writing this book. The book's story line is all over the place. It just doesn't tie together at all. I can't even wrap my head around this book. What a waste of money. I am returning the book. I can't even believe it was published in the first place.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Book club choice

    And the unamious opinion of the group was thumbs down. We rated it one star at best. It was a chore to read and three people could not bring themselves to finish it. I did finish it and kept asking myself what is this book really about. I never could answer that question. Don't waste your money.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2011

    No plot, no summary!

    What a waste of time to read this book. Made up of very weird, unconnected stories, which made no sense to this reader. I finished it, only because I had paid for it. If this is the best this author has to offer, I hope it will be the last. I didn't want to give it one star--maybe a minus five.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2015

    CURIOUS!!!

    Book club discussion frantic with what, why etc,etc!
    Individual tales are interesting, never pulled together. Perhaps she should have stayed with short stories!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2014

    If I could, I'd give this no stars.  The book was terrible.  Fil

    If I could, I'd give this no stars.  The book was terrible.  Filled with peculiar folktales.  A story that was so subtle I never did grasp it.  There was a supposed mystery but I didn't find it.  Disjointed.  I can't figure out why I bothered to buy it, and finish reading it.. 

    I'll stick to writers who know how to write and tell a good story, such as Diana Gabaldon , Sharon Kay Penman, Chris Kuzneski etc.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2013

    Bluefur

    O.0

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    1 star...

    So anticlimactic. Couldn't even get to page 100. So boring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    I bought this book based on the reviews I was seeing everywhere.

    I bought this book based on the reviews I was seeing everywhere. I have to say, this was the most boring book I have tried to read since high school. I did not enjoy it, and would not recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2012

    Haunting prose

    The words paint brilliant landscapes, but the surreal plot became too encumbered with fantastic tales & wild tangents for me to enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Struggling

    Although the book is less than 300 pages, It has taken me over 2 weeks to finish the book. The characters are uninteresting and the story drags. Save your money, borrow it from a local library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    What was this book about??!!

    Very difficult to follow. Sorry I paid money for it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Overwhelmingly Boring

    I tried to hard to read (and like) this book, but enjoying a book is not something that can be forced. The writing is fantastic, but the plot line is slow, slow, slow. I gave up after the first hundred pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Average

    I really had to force myself to finish this book. I kept waiting for it to get better. For me personally it was a waste of time. Glad I did not buy it.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    Disappointing

    I am struggling to finish this book. As soon as a few pages grasp my attention, I am once again let down. I really don't like to quit a book halfway through, but I think I've had enough after 108 pages. I am sorry I wasted the money buying it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2011

    ANOTHER YOUNG AUTHOR WHO IS INCOMPREHENSIBLE

    I guess I am getting tired of these new, young authors being hurried into publishing.... because this is the second book that has been over-hyped that I have read and thoroughly NOT liked. A wonderful and important premise gone wrong here... the book is completely incomprehensible, over-wrought, and pedantic. PLEASE publishers, stop pushing so many young authors who obviously have some talent but ARE NOT READY FOR PRIME TIME YET. We are spending our hard-earned money to by these books, many of which really should not be published. Sorry, but this one too will go on my "to be forgottn" list. SAVE YOUR MONEY (same for THE NIGHT CIRCUS)

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3