Customer Reviews for

The Tiger's Wife

Average Rating 3.5
( 413 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(106)

4 Star

(100)

3 Star

(119)

2 Star

(47)

1 Star

(41)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

50 out of 159 people found this review helpful.

Slow in the fast lane

I often forget, when people tell me they like to read, that sometimes they read books about being "Behind the Scenes" of a reality television series. When they tell me they like to read, I forget that there are people who like to drive, who drive slow in the fast lane....
I often forget, when people tell me they like to read, that sometimes they read books about being "Behind the Scenes" of a reality television series. When they tell me they like to read, I forget that there are people who like to drive, who drive slow in the fast lane. I forget when they say they like to read, that there are people with lower IQ's, who like to read.

I also forget that some people read about elfs, spacemen, cowboys and romances... ONLY.

So, what I'll say is that if, when you hear people say that they too "like to read", you conjure them reading about bells tolling, worlds according to people, boys and tigers in boats, colors like purple, 22nd catches and any number of catchERs in rye - I suspect you'll like this book.

Enjoy!

posted by JellyBean1919 on August 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

20 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

All over the place

I can see the potential in this book. The stories were interestings and well written, however there were too many of them and the author doesn't do a good job linking them all together. At the end you are left with no connections and a feeling of wasted time and talent

posted by regia4ever on March 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 106 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Wonderful Story

    This story may not be for everyone, but I found it to be one of the best books I've read in a long time. The best description I can give is that it reminded me of an old fashioned fable. This is what literature should be!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    Recommended

    Enchanting and different!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    Fantastic

    I do recommend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    Swiftleap

    Snakekit whats wrong? -Swiftleap

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    Speckledwing of lightclan

    Why do u keep leaving rude post that r aimed toward us in our clan?~Speckledwing lightclan medicine cat

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    THE WARRIORS GAMES AT PANDA READ!!!!

    THE WARRIOR GAMES R COMING! ON AUGUST 3RD THE REAPING WILL START SIGN UP AT PANDA RESLUT TWO! GOTI PANDA ALL RESLUT TO START THE FIGHTING START ON THE 13!!!! THANKS!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    JOIN A NEW RP

    At grass res three all postions open except leader med cat and deputy needed u must b on a lot elders queens kits and apps r also needed rember join at grass res three - Greenstar ps sorry for trespasing

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2012

    Appleleaf:Urgent

    "I found Sagekit. She said the leader of this clan is her mother," l mew, running in. "She's at 'shadow of the days' first result. She got lost in a storm."

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    Austin

    404-662-1350

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    Ashley

    My dads a marine:) do you have a cell.?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    After reading the book, I can definitely see what the hype was about. Very well written and a thought provoking book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    Aaerde Het leven van een loser

    He t is leuk

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Great novel

    The tigers wife was a very good book to read. I can understand why this was a beatseller.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent

    The inescapable presence in the Balkans of war, of looming war, is one of the many layers interwoven into the young doctor Natalia's effort, by relaying the seemingly mythical stories recited in her youth, to understand the disappearance and death of her grandfather, himself something magical and lost in this world of ever-changing boundaries of country and birthright. Her grandfather's stories -- and therefore her own stories -- are half-human, half-magical creatures themselves, as surely mythical as they are violent, superstitious, and spoken of softly where they are spoken of at all. The effect is to create a world so ripe with loss and that the boughs of nationality are pulled down to a far more earthy existence, where woman and animal might mate, where man might transmogrify into animal, and where war might find in the streets of a nameless Balkan town, a silent tiger, or an elephant following scraps of food. Obrecht creates nostalgia and culture from these scraps or war, rich in description and so lucid as to make our shallow, factual, flavorless lives seem like dreams and the imaginings of this novel a world flush with health, and love, and blood.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    Please read, highly recommended

    I recommend this book be tackled and enjoyed in classrooms and book clubs; if not, with a friend. I read it solo and went back to reread it for my own mental deliberation. It is a book you will want to discuss hearing others' perspectives. It is a story of timeless societal issues told through allegories. Each sentence needs to be read and questions asked as: who, what, when, where and most importantly WHY. There is something magical that draws you in and keeps you wanting to read. Two chapters slowed me down but a few pages into each I was once again captivated. The sentences flow easily but you want to slow down and ask the above mentioned questions. I would read other books and short stories by this author. She has been compared to Gabriel Garcia Marquez, now on my list of authors to read. I would recommend Amy Waldman's "Submission" as a follow up book to discuss. It is modern day true to life work of fiction that touches on some of "The Tiger's Wife" timeless issues.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    Different perspectives

    A beautifully written book, told from many different perspectives. It is not for those that want a simple or easy book to read. It is for those who like books that make them think, books that depend on metaphors, and books that mix reality with fantasy. I loved it and would recommend it to anyone bored with what they have been reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2011

    Loved it!

    I'm not sure how anyone can say this was a boring read...I couldn't put it down! I thought the storytelling was beautiful and am definitely interested in any future works written my Ms. Obreht.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    A Lovely Kin of Lost. Never sure of where I was geographicaly, through out the story; I was always beautifly at home in the prose of Tea's tale.

    in the vein of 'Cutting for Stone'. A masteful tale that takes the reader across the globe to be replanted in a colorful world; where the family is so famillier it causes heart ache to turn the last page.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 106 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 6