Customer Reviews for

Tigers in Red Weather: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

27 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

I find reviews in which people re-write the entire synopsis very

I find reviews in which people re-write the entire synopsis very unhelpful....SO -- I thought this book was well written, captivating in that the book unfolds as it is told by different characters. It wasn't overly wordy - in a way that become tedious - the description...
I find reviews in which people re-write the entire synopsis very unhelpful....SO -- I thought this book was well written, captivating in that the book unfolds as it is told by different characters. It wasn't overly wordy - in a way that become tedious - the descriptions and character development were great - I found my self thinking about the plot even after I finished it. I was a little dissappointed with the ending - I felt that they book could have kept going a bit. All in all, it was a great summer read.

posted by bjboyle on August 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

ODD

This is such an odd story and overall just did not feel like there was anything redeeming about it. The story is told by five points of view, one person at a time, that in itself causes some confusion having to go back and forth in time. I did not like the characters ...
This is such an odd story and overall just did not feel like there was anything redeeming about it. The story is told by five points of view, one person at a time, that in itself causes some confusion having to go back and forth in time. I did not like the characters and was disenchanted with their lack of morals and commitment to one another. There was just nothing that bound them together except for their gin and tonic. Oh boy!

posted by VirtuousWomanKF on September 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 13, 2012

    I find reviews in which people re-write the entire synopsis very

    I find reviews in which people re-write the entire synopsis very unhelpful....SO -- I thought this book was well written, captivating in that the book unfolds as it is told by different characters. It wasn't overly wordy - in a way that become tedious - the descriptions and character development were great - I found my self thinking about the plot even after I finished it. I was a little dissappointed with the ending - I felt that they book could have kept going a bit. All in all, it was a great summer read.

    27 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2012

    Nick and her cousin, Helena, are two women searching for their p

    Nick and her cousin, Helena, are two women searching for their place in the world. With the Second World War drawing two a close, both women find themselves ready to take on the rest of their lives. In author Liza Klaussmann's debut novel, "Tigers in Red Weather", readers are provided with the strong characterization of an intriguing family.

    Nick and her husband Hughes are finding it difficult to adjust to domestic life after the end of the war. They live in a small, Florida cottage where the repetition of their daily routines is taking a toll on them. Hughes follows the role that most men of the era do, consistently attending work to provide for his family. Nick, never much of a cook, finds it difficult to complete her daily tasks, and longs for something more.

    Meanwhile, her cousin Helena is starting her new life by marrying a Hollywood producer. After the unfortunate death of her first husband, who lost his life in the war, Helena finally seems to be on the path to her dream life. Unfortunately, the lights of her Hollywood marriage are not as bright as she thought. Her husband seems interested in only using her family's money to fund his ill-fated project.

    Fast-forward ten years, and both Nick and Helena are mothers to Daisy and Ed respectively. The two women, along with their children and Hughes, are spending the summer at the family's coastal property, The Tiger House. Despite their age, both women long for a more interesting life. When Daisy and Ed stumble upon the brutally murdered corpse of a maid, the facade of happiness that the entire family has built begins to come crashing down.

    In this debut, reminiscent of "The Great Gatsby" in both style and substance, Klaussmann provides readers with a tale full of genuine characters and suspense, making this novel the perfect intellectual summer read. The story is broken into five sections, each narrated by a different main character, providing intimate insights into each person's thoughts, emotions, and motivations. Chronology became a bit muddied at times, especially when characters reminisce through flashbacks, but Klaussmann does a commendable job keeping the times labeled. There is a murder in the story, but the focus becomes more about the characters, the murder merely a means to explore the family dynamics. Overall, this novel has a great mix of historical setting, interesting characters, and narrative momentum. I definitely recommend this book as a strong summer read.

    20 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    Wow

    I loved this book. It started out a little slow but the more I read, the more I couldn't put it down. All books should be this good

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2012

    ODD

    This is such an odd story and overall just did not feel like there was anything redeeming about it. The story is told by five points of view, one person at a time, that in itself causes some confusion having to go back and forth in time. I did not like the characters and was disenchanted with their lack of morals and commitment to one another. There was just nothing that bound them together except for their gin and tonic. Oh boy!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I read this book in less than one week. I could not put it down

    I read this book in less than one week. I could not put it down I really
    liked the way the author told the story though the perspective of each
    of the main characters. It was clever and captivating. I highly recommend.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    I think this was one of the best books I read this summer... it

    I think this was one of the best books I read this summer... it is smart and funny and a real page turner.
    I just loved it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2012

    About a quirky family, and who doesn't have that ? I really enj

    About a quirky family, and who doesn't have that ? I really enjoyed this book. A bit sad, a bit like running with sissors,or I would compare it to the secret life of bees which I loved! I enjoyed it from beginning to end.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    highly recommend

    A very enjoyable book that kept me turning the pages.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    Family

    After done reading i felt myself thinking about the different types of people that make up a family. Which role do you play? Great summer read. Would recommend.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    This was not the typical summer beach read that i was expecting

    This was not the typical summer beach read that i was expecting it to be. It was defiantly an interesting book with well developed characters, but some of the twists and plot lines were expected.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    sad throughout

    6 self absorbed people, 5 points of view, 4 alcoholics, 3 creepy pervs, 2 murderers, and a bunch of cheating adults in a sad pear tree. Kinda depressing, thought it was going to be a little more lighthearted.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2012

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book, whose characters are well develo

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book, whose characters are well developed and interesting. I think we all know people like Nick and Hughes, Helena, Daisy, Tyler and the rest, except (thankfully) for Ed. The plot twists and the ending were not at all predictable, which I appreciated.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2014

    I just need to stop reading historical fiction. Like right now.

    I just need to stop reading historical fiction. Like right now. But I keep trying, like the little kid who keeps reaching for the electric burner, even though he’s bound to burn himself for the thirteenth time and once again lose several layers of skin in the process, or like the woman who just can’t stop dating that man-child with the six-pack abs and commitment issues and the Mickey Mouse voice, because damn it she can bounce quarters off his belly button, and that ought to be worth a few more rounds on the merry-go-round.

    Because like that little kid I want to reach out and just one time find the burner turned off, or like the woman I just want to meet a man who looks like Brad Pitt but has a bit of substance for once in her damned life. Well, not me personally, but I feel your pain sister. With historical fiction, I am beginning to think it’s a bit personal, and I am beginning to think I’m the only one who hasn’t been let in on this wonderful, exotic secret that will somehow change my life, but maybe not. And it’s frustrating and intoxicating and I keep coming back for more. Just spin me one more time, and this stint is bound to be different.

    And I end up…right back where I started. Let’s start with the dialogue shall we. Now I love me some good dialogue. I want to hug it and squeeze it and kiss it and pat its little forehead and somehow find a way to make it my own. More often than not (and this novel is no exception), I end up disappointed with the overused phrases tossed in my direction. It reminds me of the jellybeans often found beneath the sofa cushions. Just don’t eat them. Sure, they might have been great and wonderful three months ago (like the dialogue might have been snappy and witty about two or three generations ago), but I’m not feeling the love now. And I want to feel the love.

    The characters proved a bit too unlikeable. Heck, let’s face it, at least one or two were probably borderline bastards. And that works for me, if the others pick up the slack and shine brighter than a Colt revolver. But I’ll be honest: I didn’t really like any of the buttheads. Again, sometimes that works when it’s done correctly, but yeah, that wasn’t really working for me either. The characters were just a bit too full of themselves, or completely and totally self-involved (like six-pack abs guy).

    Let’s talk about setting. I love Massachusetts and Boston. I love the Cape and the North Shore with its quaint little towns and storybook houses. I love it even more when its spring or summer or fall, and when there isn’t a foot of snow on the ground with layers of ice packed underneath. But this didn’t really feel like Massachusetts to me. Something was just a bit off, and that’s probably a rather quick way of summing up TIGERS IN RED WEATHER.

    Robert Downs
    Author of Falling Immortality: Casey Holden, Private Investigator

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    Sorry, didn't really lovethe book

    The book started off so slowly that I had to force myself to continue. I also diidn't rezlly like how it went back and forth in time. I found the charcters strange and unlikeable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

    Do Not Waste Your Hard Earned Money

    If you care at all about decent writing, then do not buy this book. I feel sick that I wasted ten bucks on it.

    The story is boring, the characters cardboard, and the prose riddled with every cliche in the English language.

    A coworker recommended it to me. I will read another book she suggests again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    Intriguing read...where is this going?

    I found this book about the intertwined lives of two cousins and their families to be very intriguing. I wanted to know where all this was taking me and the found the ending to be surprising, warranted and yet troubling. Good Book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    Odd - but hard to put down. This book hooks the reader.

    I really didn't ilke many of the characters; however, that fact made this novel interesting. Alcohol, no values, selfishness, laziness, and overall clueless made this an unforgetable read. The author made unlikeable characters drive an unusual story. A++++

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A few months ago, when living in Denver, Allison @ The Book Whee

    A few months ago, when living in Denver, Allison @ The Book Wheel and I randomly blog met and then real-life met.  One of the first things we did (after making sure we weren't scary people that we met online) was exchange book suggestions.  And the book suggestion Allison gave me months ago was Tigers in Red Weather by Liza Klaussmann.

    Nick and her cousin Helena marry well. . . or so they think at first.  Nick's husband Hughes doesn't provide enough love and affection, so she seeks it elsewhere.  Helena's husband is a loser, and their son, Ed, seems to be a little "off."  Ed and Daisy (Nick & Hughes' daughter) discover a murdered maid, and things begin to fall apart rapidly.  

    I really enjoyed Tigers in Red Weather.  I like how sections of the book are told from the perspectives of all of the main characters, sometimes overlapping to give a very well-rounded point of view.  

    Tigers is subtly but keeps your interest.  It's a great summer read, being "beachy" but not light and fluffy, taking place in the 50s and 60s.  

    Here's a quote I loved from the book: 

    "If there's one thing you can be sure about in this life, it's that you won't always be kissing the right person" - Nick, p. 140

    What book are you looking forward to for a summer read?

    Thanks for reading, 

    Rebecca @ Love at First Book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Alice DiNizo for Readers' Favorite Author Liza Klau

    Reviewed by Alice DiNizo for Readers' Favorite

    Author Liza Klaussmann, descendent of Herman Melville, has written the brilliant novel "Tigers in Red Weather", a story of family strife and secrets. Now the novel has been made into 9 unabridged CD's for readers' listening pleasure. And a pleasure it is, as the upper-class world of cousins Nick and Helena is captured as the years after World War II pass. Nick and Helena have kept their family home, Tiger House, on Martha's Vineyard and that home is the novel's primary setting for its drama. Nick's family has done better financially than Helena's and the money/no money controversy continues as Helena marries charming Avery Lewis who purports to have Hollywood connections while Nick stays with lawyer Hughes Derringer whom she married before World War II began. Nick and Hughes' daughter Daisy and Helena's son Ed continue the family line, although Ed is obviously emotionally and mentally disturbed and Daisy almost attaches herself to Tyler who is one of her own mother's lovers. Helena meanwhile becomes drug and alcohol addicted while living out in California with Avery. Enough? No. A murdered and mutilated body is discovered by Ed and Daisy in a dilapidated shed near Tiger House. How will this horrific event foreshadow the family's future?

    "Tigers in Red Weather" is well-captured by reader Katherine Kellgren although her voices of Nick and Helena need adjusting from upper-class British to that of wealthy, privileged New Englanders. The story's plot-line is carried well by Katherine Kellgren as she does a superb job of recounting through the eyes of Hughes and then, finally, Ed. That the story concludes as Daisy reads the poem that ends with "tigers in red weather" is perfect! These nine CD's will entertain and totally entrance all readers who want to listen to a story as well as read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Sometimes you pick up a book and you know from the first few





    Sometimes you pick up a book and you know from the first few pages that you are going to love it. This is one of those books. Tigers in Red Weather by first-timer Liza Klaussmann (she’s so new she doesn’t even have a Wikipedia page) is a story about family, marriage and obligations. It takes place over the course of two decades, beginning with the end of World War II and into the late 1960’s, and is narrated (in sections) by all five of the main characters. There is a murder, but that fact is both omnipresent and unimportant at the same time. Sounds cliché, I know, but the book is really much better than the description I’m giving. I promise!




     I knew from the first few pages that this was a book that I wanted to curl up with and read from cover to cover. Of course, life got in the way, but I still loved the time I spent imagining I was in a glorious Massachusetts beach cottage with Nick, Hughes, Helena, Daisy and Ed.




     “Sometimes a thing like that, a thing you’ve never even imagined in your head, can go down surprisingly easy.”




    This is one of those sentences that jumped out at me and I knew it was going to be important the minute I read it. It takes place on page 33, but it stayed with me right up until the very end of this wonderful book. This book is, in fact, filled with all sorts of little clues that will keep you reading hungrily for more. I had all sorts of questions scribbled down, such as, “Did she do that on purpose? Why was he there? What was he thinking? Are they really going to do that?”




    The only thing that I didn’t love about the book was the narration of Helena. Helena is a central character and I feel like her section was hurried and underdeveloped. Her story was both tragic and unfinished, which left me wanting for more (and not in a good way).Unlike some books (like White Oleander) this one was rich and full of life without being tedious and overwritten. I had no problem envisioning the setting and didn’t feel stifled by detail overkill. The author’s way of describing difficulties in a marriage seemed dead-on, and although the author loves to foreshadow upcoming events, the important clues are subtle. They are in the tilt of  a head or the way a question is asked. Even the murder that is present throughout the book is riding an underground current that is always in the back of the reader’s mind but never quite makes it to the forefront. Subtle oddities are what propel this book forward to and ending I wasn’t expecting (the last book to surprise me was Gone Girl).




    In sum, the book as a whole is beautifully written and has a great story. It’s not as sappy as Anita Shreve (who I like) but will bring the you into a world that is both seductive and unnerving at the same time. Read it, because I can’t express how great this book is!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3