Customer Reviews for

Tighter

Average Rating 4.5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Spooky Summer read!

A troubled young teen with an unfortunate reliance on filched prescription drugs and a broken heart fills her summer by taking a babysitting job in a beach town that doesn't accept outsiders. In trying to help her young charge, Isa, recover from the tragic loss of her f...
A troubled young teen with an unfortunate reliance on filched prescription drugs and a broken heart fills her summer by taking a babysitting job in a beach town that doesn't accept outsiders. In trying to help her young charge, Isa, recover from the tragic loss of her former babysitter and the girl's boyfriend in a flying accident the previous summer, Jamie comes to realize that all is not well in the beautiful mansion called Skylark. The spirit of the house is not at rest...and it will not let Jamie rest either. Griffin has penned an incredibly spooky psychological ghost story that will hopefully ease teen readers into Henry James "The Turn of the Screw." The characterizations of Jamie, Isa, Connie, Sebastian, the mad Katherine, Pete, Jessie, and certainly Milo make a lasting impression for such a slender volume. I highly recommend it...but with a nightlight.

posted by romancemistress on June 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Thrills and chills..

TIGHTER, by Adele Griffin, is a modern re-telling of The Turn of the Screw by Henry James. I was not familiar with this story prior to the book but from some research I found the similarities of the plot within Tighter but Griffin made her own fabulous twist to it.

I...
TIGHTER, by Adele Griffin, is a modern re-telling of The Turn of the Screw by Henry James. I was not familiar with this story prior to the book but from some research I found the similarities of the plot within Tighter but Griffin made her own fabulous twist to it.

I was quite shocked in the beginning of the story when it was made known that Jamie was a 'pill-popper'. I'd yet to see that in YA literature but I was definitely interested to see how that would come into play in the book. I didn't really connect with Jamie as the narrator at all. But by the end I understood that that was probably the point. I was torn back and forth wondering if what she discovered was true or just a part of her confusion while on various unprescribed medications. I loved all the characters in the book in their own special way. I felt that each of them held a secret that I was anxious to uncover.

I'm a big fan of Griffin's and this book only added to my love for this author. Her prose is beautiful and I felt that I was inside the book trying to discover the mystery myself. Although horror/ghost stories are not normally my thing, I did enjoy this book and I am definitely going to check out the story that this was loosely based off of.

Cover note: How awesome/scary is this cover? When I first saw it I was determined to read it to understand the significance.

posted by kittydanza on June 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Spooky Summer read!

    A troubled young teen with an unfortunate reliance on filched prescription drugs and a broken heart fills her summer by taking a babysitting job in a beach town that doesn't accept outsiders. In trying to help her young charge, Isa, recover from the tragic loss of her former babysitter and the girl's boyfriend in a flying accident the previous summer, Jamie comes to realize that all is not well in the beautiful mansion called Skylark. The spirit of the house is not at rest...and it will not let Jamie rest either. Griffin has penned an incredibly spooky psychological ghost story that will hopefully ease teen readers into Henry James "The Turn of the Screw." The characterizations of Jamie, Isa, Connie, Sebastian, the mad Katherine, Pete, Jessie, and certainly Milo make a lasting impression for such a slender volume. I highly recommend it...but with a nightlight.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2011

    Thrills and chills..

    TIGHTER, by Adele Griffin, is a modern re-telling of The Turn of the Screw by Henry James. I was not familiar with this story prior to the book but from some research I found the similarities of the plot within Tighter but Griffin made her own fabulous twist to it.

    I was quite shocked in the beginning of the story when it was made known that Jamie was a 'pill-popper'. I'd yet to see that in YA literature but I was definitely interested to see how that would come into play in the book. I didn't really connect with Jamie as the narrator at all. But by the end I understood that that was probably the point. I was torn back and forth wondering if what she discovered was true or just a part of her confusion while on various unprescribed medications. I loved all the characters in the book in their own special way. I felt that each of them held a secret that I was anxious to uncover.

    I'm a big fan of Griffin's and this book only added to my love for this author. Her prose is beautiful and I felt that I was inside the book trying to discover the mystery myself. Although horror/ghost stories are not normally my thing, I did enjoy this book and I am definitely going to check out the story that this was loosely based off of.

    Cover note: How awesome/scary is this cover? When I first saw it I was determined to read it to understand the significance.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    Wonderful Psychological Thriller

    Adele Griffin showed off her creative talent when she wrote Tighter. I started Tighter hoping for an enjoyable, thriller to entertain me... and boy, could I have been more wrong? I have read several other reviews that state Adele's novel is based on the short story The Turn of the Screw, I have never read The Turn of the Screw so can neither agree nor disagree. Tighter has a little of many things: suspense, romance, adventure, paranormal, and more. Adele Griffin's characters are brilliantly created and take on a life of their own, Jamie the sarcastic, pill popping teenager, innocent Isa who's still searching for who she really is, her her vain and flirtatious brother Milo to the ever amusing, and lisp impaired housekeeper Connie. Readers shouldn't bother making predictions of what will happen, reader is never quite sure what is reality and what's all in Jamie's head. Tighter is filled with twists and surprises that just jump off the pages and leave readers fumbling to find the truth. Adele Griffins Tighter is not the hacker/slasher horror, but a great psychological which are sometimes better. I strongly recommend this book to anyone who loves a good horror that will stay with you even when it ends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Creepy, lyrical and un-put-down-able. This is a great summer rea

    Creepy, lyrical and un-put-down-able. This is a great summer read--with an ending the packs a surprisingly, satisfying punch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    Great!!

    This book was so filled up with twists and turns, the end was sooo unpredictable for me. But overall it was a great book. I would highly reccommend it. :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I simply adored this book. It hooked me right from the first sen

    I simply adored this book. It hooked me right from the first sentence. I couldn't put it down. Great, easy-to-read writing style, wonderful characters, great plot points. All around very enjoyable. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Recommended by a non-reader - check out the ghost story!

    I liked this book because I like the paranormal and ghost stories. I would highly recommend this book for readers who enjoy hauntings or ghost stories. I¿m a teen that does not enjoy reading. But this book kept my attention and kept me awake in class instead of reading the boring school stories.

    Jamie, who is a 17 year-old girl, is babysitting 11 year old Isa. While Jamie is babysitting Isa she starts seeing two kids that died in a car accident almost one year ago. She starts seeing the two ghosts in places that Isa usually hangs out. But could it be the random pills Jamie¿s taking that she got from her mom and dads cupboard that¿s making her see the ghosts? To answer this question¿you¿ll have to read the book to find out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Claustrophobic Gothic-y Goodness

    Tighter is a great little creepy re-imagining of Henry James's The Turn of the Screw. If you've read the original, don't worry, it won't spoil you for reading Tighter because, while some of the plot points are similar, this is a horse of an entirely different color. Jamie, who from the beginning has quite a few secrets from the reader, is unhappily being sent to a "toity" island to "summer" as an au pair for a young girl named Flora who's father is away on business. Jamie has suffered a recent heartbreak and hopes taking this job on the insistence of her mother, not to mention the handful of pills she grabs before she leaves home, that she will be able to overcome the memories and hurt before school starts in the fall. She's in for less than a relaxing summer when she begins to feel an unsettling presence in the house, Flora's smart alec brother Miles returns home after being kicked out of summer camp, and she learns the previous au pair, Jenny, died in a tragic accident with her boyfriend the previous summer.

    The characters were all very colorful. From the very first page I had a good idea of who the narrator, Jamie, is and what her thoughts on life are. She is the most developed of the characters, which is natural since it's from her viewpoint that we see the rest of the characters. And we are privy to her innermost thoughts and feelings. The characters of the children, Flora & Miles, were really interesting to me because there was always this strange feeling that they might have multiple personalities. Something that was picked up by others around them and mentioned (not a flaw in the writing). I completely disliked Connie, the housekeeper, but I was supposed to and her ridiculous lisp only added to that dislike throughout the story. And what would a YA book be without a bit of a love/obsession triangle. Though this one is pretty unusual considering one of the guys is not exactly alive. Ms. Griffin took the base ideas of her characters from the original and really layered and re-worked them into a way that makes them very relevant and interesting for the YA reader.

    There was very little in the way of plot; this story is very character driven. So what we get is a string of personal interactions between characters and the internal struggles of the narrator who strives to understand why she continues to be drawn to and into the drama of Jenny's life before her untimely death. There's an encroaching sense of claustrophobia as the book progresses which adds to the atmosphere of ghostly mysteries and possible pill-induced hallucinations. All of the elements of this book contrive to pull the reader directly into Jamie's head to experience every chilling moment along with her.

    This is a delicious novella, well-written and well-charactered. I found little I disliked other than the author's device of writing out Connie's lisp in the dialogue which made it difficult to read sometimes. Well, that and what the mystery boiled down to in the end (which may or may not disappoint other readers but I saw it coming). Regardless of the ending, it was a fast, fun read that I recommend to anyone who enjoys a vague gothic ghost story feel to your summer paranormal books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Spooky Psychological Ghost Story for the YA Set

    Jamie doesn't want a summer job, but when her mother meets up with an old flame from her teen years and finds out that he needs a babysitter for his young daughter and volunteers her own daughter for the job, what's a depressed, love-lorn, pill-popping teen to do? Of course, the fact that the town to which she journeys is a beach town that won't accept outsiders, and the mansion in which she'll be working is just this side of haunted shouldn't keep a good girl down...but then Jamie's already down after a failed secret romance with a teacher and an unfortunate dependence on prescription drugs stolen from her parents' medicine cabinet. And the spiral continues when Jamie is forced to realize that she bears a striking resemblance to last summer's babysitter who, with her boyfriend, died in a tragic accident. Unfortunately, the boyfriend seems to have found a portal back through her young charge Isa's brother, Milo; and maybe that cliche about there being no rest for the wicked is true... Hold onto your hats with this one, because, in true Henry James "Turn of the Screw" fashion, nothing and no one is what they seem. Extraordinarily effective...and spooky, too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great writing, a fantastic plot, and unforgettable characters

    This thrilling page-turner is actually a take on the incredible writing of Henry James and his creation, The Turn of the Screw. In this gripping supernatural story, the audience is introduced to a teenage girl by the name of Jamie. Jamie has an interesting 'side' to her personality. She not only has become addicted to pills for pain - but pretty much any pill she can get her hands on in order to calm herself down and make her feel better. Jamie also has a tendency to see all of her dead relatives in her bedroom when she goes to sleep at night. She becomes a bit terrified when she sees the "suicide victims" that her family tree claims, and wants nothing more than to be left alone. The summer has come and her siblings are off in the world doing the things they love to do. The trip Jamie has to look forward to is a train ride that will take her into a truly posh, wealthy world. Her mother, once upon a time, was a part of this high-class society and dated a man who has now hired Jamie to come and be his daughter's au pair for the summer. Jamie doesn't want to go, but her Mom wants to get her out of the house to hopefully help break Jamie's depression. She also quite likes the fact that her old boyfriend is part of her world again. So Jamie heads onto the train, and when she steps off she is faced with a completely foreign location that is filled with powerful wealthy people. She is brought to a house called Skylark, which is beyond enormous and stunning, yet is referred to as a summer cottage. Connie meets her at the train and goes over the rules with Jamie. Connie is "in charge" at the house and will be a big part of Jamie's life. Not only is this woman snotty, but she has a horrific speech impediment that drives Jamie crazy. When Jamie meets her charge, a beautiful young girl named Isa, and runs into Isa's rebel brother, Miles, who is supposed to be away at camp, but was kicked out for being bad - Jamie's summer takes off like a shot. She not only is thrown in with people she doesn't understand, but a secret is revealed to Jamie about the death of the last au pair from the previous summer. Ghosts, secrets, visions - everything comes out of the woodwork within these incredible pages, making the reader wonder what exactly is real and what is simply a damaged soul who is crying out for Jamie to hear them in order to finally get the justice they deserve. The author has done an incredible job of taking supernatural pathways and combining them with a real-life murder tale that will keep readers up far into the night. Quill Says: Great writing, a fantastic plot, and unforgettable characters that would make Henry James extremely proud.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1