Customer Reviews for

Til Death (Fractured Souls Series)

Average Rating 3.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 4, 2014

    Selena has always had visions and other than her grandparents an

    Selena has always had visions and other than her grandparents and best friend no one knows it. She has always tried to live a normal life and had no problems doing so until Dillan comes to town. Dillan messed up an assignment and has been sent off. He doesn't know why but something is different about Selena and he is determined to find out. They don't get along and more and more odd things begin to happen in their small town. While they can't seem to get along they have to work together to protect Selena.

    This was an enjoyable book that had a few surprises. Some of them you could see coming some you couldn't. Selena when faced with a zombie pretty much holds it together and you see she is a strong smart girl. She is used to add things she just didn't know how strange or how much weird stuff was out there in the world. I think it helps her when she is faced with finding everything out. I liked her. Dillan bad to say I didn't care for. He was a jerk and at times to me conceited. He was a big shot but now he isn't and sometimes it seems he forgot that. I did like how they worked together at the end to solve things. I love this author and I really enjoy seeing what new things she comes up with. If you like YA paranormal and a bad boy this book may be for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Rating: 3.5/5 What attracted me first to the book was its co

    Rating: 3.5/5




    What attracted me first to the book was its cover and the synopsis. Not having read any books by the author before, I really was interested in reading Til Death. From the synopsis, I knew that I had to read the book. Now being the first book of a new series, I knew that there wasn't going to be a lot of action, instead more event/character building. But what I didn't like so much was the pace of the story, it started off slow which made it difficult for me to get into. As the story progressed, the more events started happening and I couldn't stop reading the book. 




    Til Death starts off by introducing Selena Fallon, a sixteen-year old high school student who has a special power of seeing the future (more like dreaming about the future.) She lives with her grandparents after her parents died and she has two best friends, Kyle and Penny. They are the only ones that know what she can do and she likes to keep that way. But that doesn't last long after a mysteriously hot new student, Dillan Sloan, enters her class and she starts feeling sparks whenever they accidentally touch (literally) and it is because of that, that they also start to feel some type of connection. Which at the beginning wasn't much, but that's what makes it harder for them to be away from each other. As the both interact, it's hard for them to keep their secrets a secret form one another. 




    Despite hiding who he is, Dillan is forced to tell Selena about what he does and what he is part of. When a strange, yet deadly dream scares Selena, she is the one forced to find out who is targeting her and those that she loves. There were a lot of things that I liked about the story, one of them being the story line. I feel that it was well thought out, yet it started off really slow (which it eventually changed later on in the story). The characters were likable, some were better than others. I loved Kyle's personality. He is the perfect guy friend, and he genuinely cares for Selena. He is also the one character that made the most impact in the story. With twists and turns, he was the one that kept me reading, as well as the main characters. Dillan is funny and protective. I love how softy he can get, yet I would have liked to see more of his personality in the story. Selena's character is tough and courageous. She fights for what he believes in, which leads us to the end and what an ending that was! I wanted to keep reading, but there was a cliffhanger at the end. I really hope to read the second book of this new series, because it was just getting to the very good parts. Overall, the story was great. I recommend it to those that want to read something new, with twists and turns. It will leave you wanting for more. 




    *ARC provided by the author, in exchange for an honest and fair review*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2014

    3-1/2 to 4 Stars: Right from the start we enter into the unique

    3-1/2 to 4 Stars: Right from the start we enter into the unique lives of Selena Fallon and Dillan Sloan. Told from their alternating perspectives - 1st person POV from Selena and 3rd person POV from Dillan - we get to discover along with them the deeper secrets of themselves and of Newcastle. This was one of those stories that grew on me the longer I read it. I could sense that the story would improve if I gave it more time. And it did!

    The Plot and Pacing: I enjoyed the complexity of the plot, watching both Selena and Dillan discover that not all is as it seems on their own. There's definitely a huge heap of mystery to sift through. Though a bit slow in the beginning, discovering what was really going on was well done, keeping my attention as the novel progressed. I found the second half of the book much better paced than the first half, and after that I had a difficult time putting it down. The action picked up in the second half, which also added to the excitement. Once the pieces of the mystery were put together, it really made sense.

    The Supernatural World: I liked the build-up of both the Illumenari world in general, and Newcastle and some of its residents in particular. I enjoy a well thought out world, and I appreciated the complex world Evangelista created, but also the simplicity in which she created the Illumenari hierarchy. Then throw some mythological creatures in there, and it all seems to blend together really well. I will say, however, that there are still many more questions about this world that haven't been answered yet, so I hope we get to know more in the next book. But I felt the amount of info I got here was sufficient to satisfy my immediate needs.

    The Characters: I found Dillan's character a bit better flesh-out that Selena's. She was likeable enough, and she grew on me, but I would have liked a bit more. Perhaps it's because I found the POV from her to be a mixed bag - juvenile and naïve on all things except when she's kissing a certain boy; then her descriptions become more mature than I think matched her character. Dillan, even though he could be a jerk sometimes, felt more clear cut, and I liked the writing of his perspective much more. But just like the story itself, these characters grew on me with time. Though a few of the secondary characters were a bit one-dimensional, most were great. Kyle was a nice addition to the story, as well as Sebastian, who added that special spark to any scene he was in.

    The Romance: Despite the "sparks," I was glad this wasn't a love-at-first-sight book. I'm not against those, but in paranormal books it can feel a bit cliché. The dynamic between Selena and Dillan was very interesting to watch - going from enemies for no apparent reason, to having to work together, to where they ended up. I give the author credit for what she did (or didn't do) with their relationship. I enjoyed watching the dynamic between them develop and progress.

    Cliffhanger? Yes, there is a bit of a cliffhanger, but it's a good one. I hate cliffhangers, but I liked how the author ended this, leaving me very interested in where things are going next, but not wanting to throw my kindle.

    Overall, Til Death is an entertaining and enjoyable read, delving into a world that I really enjoyed. Full of fascinating complexities, I found I liked it more and more as the story progressed, with the second half surpassing the first. The ending left me very curious where the story will go next. For the Young Adult reader, there is sporadic strong language throughout the novel, but no sexual content, just kissing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2014

    ¿Til Death¿ by Kate Evangelista was a very interesting book. Sel

    “Til Death” by Kate Evangelista was a very interesting book. Selena Fallon can see into the future in her dreams. As far as Selena knows she has kept her weird ability on the down low. Her best friends and grandparents know but that is all. Selena then has a terrible dream about her own very bloody death and everything becomes topsy turvy from there. Then Dillion Sloan comes into the picture. Selena has seen Sloan in a different dream of hers but couldn’t believe how much more attractive he was in person. When the two of them touch there is something electric. They touch and there is an electric shock every time. Immediately Dillion Sloan acts like he hates Selena and she doesn’t know why because as far as she knows she didn’t do anything to him. When Dillion and Selena are forced to work together on a school is when everything spins completely out of control. 
    I thought Selena Fallon was a great female lead. I will admit that I was bothered about how much she was down on herself for not being attractive when obviously she was gorgeous. Selena seems to be a typical teenage girl. She is worried about her friends, family, and school. She doesn’t want to be referred to as the weird kid. She wants her secret to be safe. I was amazed about how brave Fallon is and how she was willing to gamble her own life for the people that she loves. When Fallon found out that she was in the dark about what was going on, I don’t blame her for being mad or being frustrated. I would be frustrated too if I were in her situation. For being sixteen I thought Selena handled herself quite well. 
    Dillion Sloan came off as a bad boy and a jerk right away. I didn’t like him at all in the beginning. I was beginning to dread the book in the beginning because I made the assumption of; “Of course! Another bad boy.” I was wrong. I actually end of liking Dillion Sloan a lot. Sloan is very sarcastic, which is a quality I like and respect. When Sloan proves his loyalties and how much he actually liked Selena, I began to like him even more. I went from strongly disliking Sloan to actually enjoying reading about him. I may have a new book boyfriend crush. 
    Kyle got on my nerves a lot. I can’t say that he isn’t a loyal friend, which made me respect him but his characteristics drove me insane. He seemed a little too controlling for my taste. He wanted to control what Selena was able to know. He would get upset when Dillion got too close to her. At first I thought that Kyle was going to turn into the jealous friend that wants to be more but as I became more involved in the story, I found out that wasn’t the case. I became more curious about what Kyle was really about if it wasn’t to be a love interest. 
    “Til Death” gives the reader a little bit of paranormal existence. There are manticore, hellhounds, and ancient warriors, seers, and special powers. Evangelista gives her readers a little taste of everything. I think this book was decently written. I think there could have been some improvement but I didn’t have a ton of issues with this book. I think the plot was great. I felt involved and drawn into the book right away. I was definitely interested with what was going on. I thought the characters were great. The main ones I felt like I really got to know them. The minor characters I wish I got to know them a little better. 
    The last note I would like to leave my readers with is how gorgeous this cover is! Look how beautiful! I love the dress! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Til Death is the first book in the new series, Fractured Souls,

    Til Death is the first book in the new series, Fractured Souls, by Kate Evangelista. This was one of those books that you learn bits at a time, and they all piece together into a bigger picture. I don't think we've been given the total big picture yet. The world building is intriguing with new creatures and some you don't see much of in fiction. It's a much needed change. I love the Love/Hate thing between Dillon and Selena. It really kept my interest. The characters aren't all that they seem, and this plays a big part in the story. There are so many lies. So many! And even after everything is out in the open, and I thought everyone was going to finally be honest, Dillon tells Selena another lie. Why?? Because it's never easy for fictional characters and their readers. That's why. It made me so mad, but it also makes me super anxious for the truth behind the lie! As if I needed another reason to be anxious for the next book.
    The ARC of Til Death by Kate Evangelista was kindly provided to me by the publisher for review. The opinions are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I was really excited when I received this book in my email *coug

    I was really excited when I received this book in my email *cough* last night. I hadn’t intended to stay up late to read it. Nope. I had many other things to do. Instead, I had to find out what happened. So I was up a bit late. That should tell you right there that I enjoyed the book.

    Selena and Dillan are interesting characters and I enjoyed reading about them. The world that Evangelista has created is smooth and believable, and you can tell she has her details worked out. The relationship between characters is good, and as someone who has lived in a small town for awhile, it was pretty accurate in its portrayal. Selena is a great character, and Penny and Kyle are great supporting acts. They’re likeable and they have their own personalities. I wish Selena’s abilities were a little more defined and “played up,” just because it sometimes seemed like it got lost. Then again, I wonder if that was done on purpose. I get the impression her abilities are something that will grow with her character in future books, and I’m interested to see where that leads.

    Dillan’s character, by the end, was one I liked. But I must admit that the cocky, abrasive personality has me struggling to like him in the beginning. When you finally figure out why he’s been sent to Wyoming, it makes a little more sense. I like that Dillan has an inner struggle going on and how that affects him and the way he deals with things. I just wish he’d stop being so prickly a little faster. I like that the characters have separate “issues” going on, outside of what is happening at the moment. The author has given all her characters a story, and it shows. Most of them have hints that they might intertwine and be important later, but it isn’t distracting or frustrating. 

    The relationship between Selena and Dillan I enjoyed at the end, but it was another case where the characters are at each other’s throats, insulting each other and getting angry, and then they finally realize its because they like each other. It’s a personal preference, but I don’t enjoy that – if I get that angry at someone, the last thing I’m thinking about is dating them! In this case, they do eventually tone it down, and the relationship takes a more even and enjoyable tone. (again, this is a personal preference. I’m sure some people will love the interaction!) I also like that Selena doesn’t allow Dillan (or anyone else around her) to walk all over her. She might not fully understand what’s going on, but she’s not going to let them fight her battles for her.

    The ending is great, and while the villain is predicable and easily identified in both cases, I wasn’t bothered by it. I’m very interested to see where this goes, especially with Dillan’s… past issues coming back to haunt him there at the end.

    If you enjoy urban fantasy and paranormal, then you’ll enjoy this. Definitely pick it up and take a read!

    Book was provided by publisher in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2014

    This YA read grabbed me and never let go...  This YA read grab

    This YA read grabbed me and never let go... 


    This YA read grabbed me and never let go... but, oh my, what a cliffhanger ending! 




    Selena Fallon is sixteen years old and has always had dreams that predict the future. She doesn't have control of those dreams... so she can't predict what numbers will win the lottery. Only her grandparents and her two best friends know that she has this ability. But when she dreams of her own bloody death, she doesn't tell anyone.




    Selena has dreamed about Dillan Sloan. So when he shows up as a new student at her school, she's not surprised. But he's even better looking in person than he was in her dreams. Dillon, though, has an attitude. He doesn't want to be living with his uncle, and he doesn't want to be at the school and he certainly doesn't want to have anything to do with Selena.




    I enjoyed this story and didn't want to put it down. I wanted to shake Selena a few times as after she dreamed her death, she kept doing stupid things putting herself in harm's way -, but, LOL, isn't that what all teenagers do? I HATE cliffhangers and this one has a doozy. However, I will definitely pick up the next book as I really want to find out what happens next! 




    3.5 Stars!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2014

    3.5/5 stars I've heard nothing but great things about Kate Evan

    3.5/5 stars

    I've heard nothing but great things about Kate Evangelista's paranormal books, so when I saw the review opportunity arise for this one, I thought I'd give it a go! I did enjoy this one, though it is a bit of a slower read. Being the first book in the series, Evangelista does a lot of world building and explaining the idea of the Illumenari, which was critical to the development of the series. By the end I was completely engrossed and anxious to find out what will happen next! It is definitely a bit of a cliffhanger, so beware! I was left wanting more, which is always a plus!

    I did have a few issues with the characters in the novel, primarily Dillan. He is angry and bitter over being demoted and having to go live with his uncle and do mundane things such as attending school. However, when he first interacts with Selena, there is definitely something unexplainable (and electric!) between the two. I didn't really understand why Dillan disliked Selena so much in the beginning though and that bothered me a bit. I'm all for animosity between the main characters because it makes their relationship more intense, but I just didn't see the reasoning behind it here. However, Dillan can't seem to shake the draw to Selena, and after being forced to work on a group project, he realizes she's more than meets the eye- he just can't figure out how exactly. I did end up liking Dillan as the book progressed. He is haunted by his past and I was very intrigued by how that would all play out. The ending was insane and it really makes you wonder about Rainer Sloan, his uncle, and where his allegiances truly lie.

    I liked Selena's character overall. She's always been different, having visions of the future. Only a select few know she has them, including her best friends Penny and Kyle. Selena is definitely tough and I liked at the first sign of danger she doesn't wimp out. She takes up for herself and refuses to be left behind for her own safety. Too much has been kept from her regarding who she is and what she can do and she is insistent that she be told the truth instead of walking around blind. She doesn't understand why Dillan has so much animosity towards her, but she can't deny the electric charge she feels when she accidentally touches him. Even though I liked Dillan more towards the end, I did have a hard time connecting with them and their relationship.

    Kyle was a great character and I loved the twist Evangelista added for him. I never expected his storyline to go where it did and I have to say it worked. All I will say is that the Kyle you think you know- ends up having a more serious side!

    I did find myself enjoying this one, despite the slower pace and a few character issues. I think Evangelista did a good job of introducing us to the world she has created as well as providing us a good foundation that she will expand upon in the upcoming books. I am looking forward to seeing how Dillan and Selena will deal with that ending!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1