Customer Reviews for

Till We Have Faces: A Novel of Cupid and Psyche

Average Rating 4.5
( 86 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(55)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

The Mirror of Myself

'Till We Have Faces' is a book I have read 5 times and have gleaned something new from it it every time. I am 17, and I first read it at 13. Every time I read it, I am humbled, because it is a mirror to show me my own selfishness and my self-love. This book demonstrates...
'Till We Have Faces' is a book I have read 5 times and have gleaned something new from it it every time. I am 17, and I first read it at 13. Every time I read it, I am humbled, because it is a mirror to show me my own selfishness and my self-love. This book demonstrates how we must die to ourselves before we can truly live--'If I'm really gonna live I gotta die to myself someday' (U2--Surrender). And the line at the end breaks me every time: 'I know now, Lord, why you utter no answer--before your face all questions die away. What other answer would suffice? Only words, words...' An amazing, and beautifully written work. Extremely poetic and elegant, yet humble and edifying in every way. A tapestry of everything beautiful. Highly recommended!!!

posted by Anonymous on April 16, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Excellent read - but be warned: Apalling amount of typos

Don't waste your money - purchase a print copy or meticulously edited ereader version. This is a very poor quality Nook version. The sheer number of mistakes/typos make this a slog-through copy.

posted by 7861085 on April 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted April 23, 2011

    Excellent read - but be warned: Apalling amount of typos

    Don't waste your money - purchase a print copy or meticulously edited ereader version. This is a very poor quality Nook version. The sheer number of mistakes/typos make this a slog-through copy.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2005

    The Mirror of Myself

    'Till We Have Faces' is a book I have read 5 times and have gleaned something new from it it every time. I am 17, and I first read it at 13. Every time I read it, I am humbled, because it is a mirror to show me my own selfishness and my self-love. This book demonstrates how we must die to ourselves before we can truly live--'If I'm really gonna live I gotta die to myself someday' (U2--Surrender). And the line at the end breaks me every time: 'I know now, Lord, why you utter no answer--before your face all questions die away. What other answer would suffice? Only words, words...' An amazing, and beautifully written work. Extremely poetic and elegant, yet humble and edifying in every way. A tapestry of everything beautiful. Highly recommended!!!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2006

    Never Read a Better Myth!

    Once more, C.S. Lewis surprises his readers with his choice of vibrant characters and compelling themes. A spin-off of the Greek myth, the focus centers on the authentic motives and intentions of its main players. The reader will go so far as to question the gods themselves. This story will leave a powerful impression, requiring readers to look deeply within themselves. How often do we confuse love with dependency, or the ability to care with the tendency to control? Lewis 'seperates the seeds' of the human heart, and invites others to do likewise. 'Till we Have Faces' is an absolutely beautiful adaptation of a story long forgotten (except on Valentine's Day--Cupid's included!)

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2002

    Tragic and Beautiful

    C.S. Lewis never fails to amaze me. In "Till We Have Faces", his ability to write from a woman's perspective is absolutely incredible. I have read this book many times and never fail to find new depths. Once you finish, you want to start all over again...definitely one of the greatest stories out there.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    See everyone, C. S. Lewis has written hits other than the Chronicles of Narnia!

    Other reviews for this book at Barnes&Noble stated that this book was a hard read, but I did not feel that was so. The ending was a little hard to slug through because it started to get a little dry, maybe that is what the other reviewers meant? At any rate, a wonderful retelling of the Psyche myth; I have never seen the events told from the point of view of one of the sisters before. The only thing that disappointed me -and that was only a very little- was the lack of romance which I have come to associate with the story of Eros and Psyche. However, as this is told from the perspective of the eldest sister, who believes her sister has gone mad, the lack of romance is fitting. The psychology of the characterrs as they struggle with the opposing forces of faith and science are artfully and realistically depicted.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2007

    Great

    I thought this was a very good book. It was a little difficult to understand in the beginning, but after the first chapter I was able to comprehend this interesting story about the classic myth of Cupid and Psyche. I have not read many of C.S. Lewis's works, but this is by far my favorite. This book is full of passages that caused me to stop and think about what is happening, something I do not usually do while reading. I would reccomend this book to people who enjoy mythology or fiction, or who like a challenge.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2007

    Thoroughly Enjoyed!

    Although a skeptic of the plot at first, my ability to put this book down decreased as the tale unfolded. 'Till We Have Faces' is a spin-off of the classic Greek myth containing Cupid and Psyche. Retelling a traditional myth by adding depth to the plot and character interaction created one fantastic read! It jumped straight to the top of my favorite book list as soon as I finished the last page. C.S. Lewis sure hit something with this book! So, if you are looking for a myth, but want something with a much more energetic and developed plot, this should be your next purchase.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2004

    An unmatched masterpiece

    I am sixteen years old, and I have read this novel numerous times. Every time I find a new lesson and hidden theme. This is a book that entices the senses with its beautiful diction. It combines fantasy with realism, C.S. Lewis truly was a brilliant philospher and writer. I have read most all of his works of art (if you will), and have found that this particular masterpiece has stimulated me to grow as an abstract thinker. I aclaim this book with the highest regard.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2001

    The Best Book I Have Ever Read

    This book had me so captivated from the very first word. I read the entire story within three hours and then read the book again later that week because it was so amazing and magical. It is by far the best book I have ever read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2000

    One of my favorites

    I picked this book up knowing nothing about it, but I loved C.S. Lewis. I was unable to put it down, it left me enchanted for many days after reading it and really changed my life in many ways. I say you must read it! Lewis is able to make us see in his stories those things which belong to another world, as if a veil is lifted from our eyes and we are able to see for the first time. After you finish reading it you'll want to re-read it again right away. This book shows us ourselves in a true light. For me it was a return to a wonder of life and beauty, what Lewis describes as moments of joy. I cannot say enough about this book... it was Lewis' favorite too. I'd suggest reading Surprised by Joy or Mere Christianity first.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2014

    Brilliant

    If you're a fan of C.S. Lewis and haven't read this yet, give it a go--you're in for a treat!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2014

    Love it

    Even though i read the paper back book. This had to be the best book ever. Its a must read for any one who loves myths.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2014

    Four and a half stars

    Almost perfect

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    Great book, MISLEADING cover

    I was sorely disappointed when I received this book and discovered that the edition I was sent was different from the cover being advertised. Not cool, B&N, not cool. Other than that, this is a great book a perhaps one of my all time favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    Stairs

    At the back of the prison cell room is another set of stairs. Go up them & step off on the second landing. This is where the evil guest sleeping quarters & chat rooms are. Walk down the hall to the first door.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    AMAZING!

    I havent read this particular nook edition, but the book itself is one of the BEST books EVER written. One of C.S. Lewis' best!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2011

    Loved this book then and now again!

    I read this first about 20 years, or so, ago. It spoke to much of life and human nature and faith then. Now, after a more grown-up me reading again, I glean more insights from it and am fascinated.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2011

    One of my top favorites.

    I have this on my Nook, have an audio copy on my laptop, two hard copies for myself(one that I can highlight and write notes in) and keep an extra copy to give as a gift whenever possible. It can be a tough read the first time around. It gains a new meaning with each reread, and has more symbolic and quoteable passages than one would ever expect to find in a single novel. A beautiful piece of literary art.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A great retelling of the classical myth of Psyche

    As long as you know a little bit of Greek mythology you will find this book great. I looked up the mythology online before reading the book and that helped. It took me a while to get into the book, but I would say it is one of Lewis' best! I was also slow to catch on in seeing the parallel between Christianity and the mythological story, but a few days after reading I began to realize the implications of the book. It has increased my understanding of a Divine Love, as well as a greater appreciation for the suffering of Christ. Even without a Christian lens, I could imagine that this book is still a great read. I was suggested this book in order that I might better understand Love and I feel the reading fulfilled its purpose.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2007

    Great read, but confusing at times

    I have loved all of CS Lewis's books, and this one wasn't a disappointment. The story was great, but it got confusing at times. The plot is about a three princess's. Orual is the main princess, then comes Istra and Redival. Orual is a very ugly princess having to deal with her very beautiful sisters. She goes on journeys to help her family and people. On the way she has to deal with her father the King and her two other sisters. If you are looking for a good Greek Myth, this is the one for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5