Customer Reviews for

Till We Have Faces: A Novel of Cupid and Psyche

Average Rating 4.5
( 88 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(55)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

The Mirror of Myself

'Till We Have Faces' is a book I have read 5 times and have gleaned something new from it it every time. I am 17, and I first read it at 13. Every time I read it, I am humbled, because it is a mirror to show me my own selfishness and my self-love. This book demonstrates...
'Till We Have Faces' is a book I have read 5 times and have gleaned something new from it it every time. I am 17, and I first read it at 13. Every time I read it, I am humbled, because it is a mirror to show me my own selfishness and my self-love. This book demonstrates how we must die to ourselves before we can truly live--'If I'm really gonna live I gotta die to myself someday' (U2--Surrender). And the line at the end breaks me every time: 'I know now, Lord, why you utter no answer--before your face all questions die away. What other answer would suffice? Only words, words...' An amazing, and beautifully written work. Extremely poetic and elegant, yet humble and edifying in every way. A tapestry of everything beautiful. Highly recommended!!!

posted by Anonymous on April 16, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Excellent read - but be warned: Apalling amount of typos

Don't waste your money - purchase a print copy or meticulously edited ereader version. This is a very poor quality Nook version. The sheer number of mistakes/typos make this a slog-through copy.

posted by 7861085 on April 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2007

    Great

    I thought this was a very good book. It was a little difficult to understand in the beginning, but after the first chapter I was able to comprehend this interesting story about the classic myth of Cupid and Psyche. I have not read many of C.S. Lewis's works, but this is by far my favorite. This book is full of passages that caused me to stop and think about what is happening, something I do not usually do while reading. I would reccomend this book to people who enjoy mythology or fiction, or who like a challenge.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2015

    &kings&king&hearts&hearts&hearts&hearts&hearts

    Na na nananana na

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2014

    Four and a half stars

    Almost perfect

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2007

    Great read, but confusing at times

    I have loved all of CS Lewis's books, and this one wasn't a disappointment. The story was great, but it got confusing at times. The plot is about a three princess's. Orual is the main princess, then comes Istra and Redival. Orual is a very ugly princess having to deal with her very beautiful sisters. She goes on journeys to help her family and people. On the way she has to deal with her father the King and her two other sisters. If you are looking for a good Greek Myth, this is the one for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2007

    A Challenging, Well-Written Novel

    I really enjoyed reading this book. I felt that I could really get into the character's minds and know how they were feeling and what they were thinking. I think that this book was a good book, but not the best I've ever read. This is because it was difficult to understand and I think that if I read it again, then I could get into it easier. I feel that C.S. Lewis could have explained more in depth about who everyone was.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2007

    A reviewer

    I read this book in my English class, and I thought it was a great book! In the beginning I wasn't that impressed, but as the book continued, it sparked more of my interest. 'Till We Have Faces' is about a girl named Orual who grows up as a princess with a prefect sister, and a very pompus, stuck up king as a father. When another sister is born, her life is changed forever... It is a myth retold about Cupid and Psyche. This is not an easy book, but its text is very deep and meaningful. It uses a lot of foreshadowing, so if you read this book, don't stop halfway through, or just skim the pages. When I finished reading, I was very glad that I got a chance to read something new. I would recommend this book to anyone who loves mythology, or is up for a challenge. If you read this book, you won't be disappointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2003

    What can I say..

    I have never read a book with so many conflicted, frustrated emotions, yet a true understanding of the confusion of living a dictated life where there is the need to rebel. I feel a connection with the questions this woman possess. It seems there will never be a peace for this woman. Her strength gives her lack of beauty a deeper meaning, and I truly see her as a beautiful person.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1