Customer Reviews for

Tilt

Average Rating 4.5
( 99 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(67)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

34 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

To the person who said it was "innapropriate" :

I suggest you shut up. Ive read every single one of ellen hopkins books, and i dont regret them one bit. Shes a talented author, who writes about serious real-world issues. Shes amazing at what she does. These books are phenominal. Ill be a fan of hers until I die. She ...
I suggest you shut up. Ive read every single one of ellen hopkins books, and i dont regret them one bit. Shes a talented author, who writes about serious real-world issues. Shes amazing at what she does. These books are phenominal. Ill be a fan of hers until I die. She writes these things because she can, and because these are things that appeal to mist anyone. Ajd i niticed you dont recommend it to 12-14 year olds, but say its okay for 16 and up. What about me? Im 15. If you dont like these books, you obviously dont get the message she sends out, and yiu have bad taste in genre.

posted by 7992577 on September 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 95 people found this review helpful.

DO NOT READ!!!!!! (SEXUAL CONTENT) HORRIBLE-ISH???

This book is actually quite innapropraite. I would say read this if you are a MATURE OLDER TEENAGER (16-19). This is definatly nit a book for younger teens(13-14). I only read where it says the girl strips off her panties and puts him inside her...i mean if you WANT to ...
This book is actually quite innapropraite. I would say read this if you are a MATURE OLDER TEENAGER (16-19). This is definatly nit a book for younger teens(13-14). I only read where it says the girl strips off her panties and puts him inside her...i mean if you WANT to read that by all means...go ahead but i never did and never will read this...simply because of the sexual content. It is a truly really innapropriate book...DO NOT READ!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by 3502166 on September 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    hope its good

    ive started reading ellen hopkijs novels and welll theyvare so real they dont make up some childish romance and i just love how the format is in beautiful poetry some people say it is disgusting but that means you are just too immatyre to handle real stuff.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Tilt - Life...Decisions...Consequences For a more in depth revi

    Tilt - Life...Decisions...Consequences

    For a more in depth review, please visit my blog, Chorley Chronicals!! 




    I must admit that I was totally surprised with this book! I don't know if I just hadn't really payed much attention when I originally read the Synopsis or what, but I was expecting this something sweet novel, and that is certainly not what I got! However, I was pleasantly surprised! The only thing that I am slightly disappointed in, is the Publisher's Synopsis gives a pretty vivid description of the book, so it doesn't leave too much to the imagination. So I guess that I am happy that I didn't pay much attention to it until after the fact.




    There were a whole lot of characters throughout this book, which as an audiobook, made it quite difficult to keep up with, especially in the beginning, however, I was really quite appreciative of the many different narrators, which helped me define which character was which! The story was told through the point of view of all the different characters, and I enjoyed that! I liked going back and forth from what one to the other to the other thought about what was going on! It was very entertaining!




    I felt a variety of emotions while listening to this book! It took me back to my younger days, remembering what it was like to be a teenager again, dealing with relationships of all sorts, from that with parents, to friends, to boyfriends/girlfriends. That's a tough time in one's life and I believe that Tilt is the perfect portrayal of that fact! I also think that the title fits the story perfectly! This is a story of life, and the choices one makes, and consequences that follow choices!




    The narrators did a wonderful job of portraying the characters they were playing! I was especially impressed with Kirby Heyborne and his portrayal of Shane! He really captured Shane's emotions and delivered a stellar performance!! I also felt that the voice fit each character well! I could have pictured Harley as a ready to hit the world 14 year old, and Mikayla, an almost 18 year old that knows it all, and Shane, the misunderstood homesexual 16 year old! I believe they had perfect casting for the narrators!




    This was my first book by Ellen Hopkins, but I must say that I was impressed! I didn't feel like I was reading a Juvenile Fiction book and actually thoroughly enjoyed listening to this title! It was an easy listen, that I managed to finish in one day's time! I was impressed with how much I liked this book, especially given that it is considered YA/Juvenile Fiction! I will pursue other titles from this author in the future!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    Good read

    I don't want to spoil the book for anyone. However, I will say that Tilt is another great book written by Ellen Hopkins

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I've loved every book I've read by Ellen Hopkins so far, and I e

    I've loved every book I've read by Ellen Hopkins so far, and I enjoyed reading Tilt just like all the rest, even though its not my favorite of her books. This one deals with the so many different issues-teen pregnancy, HIV, chronic illnesses, adoption, death, depression, religion-among many smaller ones.

    Likes:
    I liked how each character was connected in some way, such as through family or friends, as opposed to having completely separate lives, but going through similar struggles. The three main characters in Tilt struggle with completely different issues, and are all different ages. 

    Just like in other novels by Hopkins, I loved the poetic style to the writing. It makes reading quicker, but it conveys so many emotions and details even though there's less words. The writer also doesn't gloss over details, and try to create a picture perfect story line. It's realistic, which is one of my favorite characteristics in any book.

    Dislikes:

    There's only one.

    The ending left me disappointed. I loved the book until I got to the last few pages, and I felt like it was kind of sudden, like there needed to be extra five to ten pages. It just didn't feel like a conclusion. 

    I would recommend this book to anyone who likes Ellen Hopkins' books and her style of writing, and to anyone who enjoys reading about realistic problems.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    Eh im a big fan of ellen hopkins but

    It waas so expected .. i guess she set the bar so high for her writting i was expecting more than i got good book though .... of to read triangles

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    Good book

    This book is awesome. Its very deep and you won't be able to put it down. There are many spelling errors though that I wish Nook would fix!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    To you

    You might want to hang out him more and maybe you can joke ariund with him and mostly try go hang out with him buutdo it to where he thinks your a creepy stalker best of luck~miyuki harashi

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    *Contains a spoiler*
    I love Ellen Hopkins. She is becoming one of my favorite author, if its possible to have a favorite. This books was amazing i can't believe that Dylan totally walked away from being the father......Stupid jerk!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Great book! BUT.....

    I hatedd the endingg. I mean, yeah if you put the puzzles together, you can see how it may end... pretty much full of regrets. But overall it was a good story, many teens may be able to relate,just not my fav ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Hope it is as amazing people says it is

    Hopefully

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1